Capital Tax - Implications of Rollovers and Other Corporate Reorganizations

Bulletin 3019
Published: October 2001
Content last reviewed: November 2010
ISBN: 0-7794-2163-9 (PDF)

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: Capital Tax was fully eliminated on July 1, 2010. It was eliminated effective January 1, 2007 for Ontario corporations primarily engaged in manufacturing or resource activities.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

References: clauses 62(7)(b) & 62(7)(c)

Application

The bulletin replaces Interpretation Bulletin 2619, originally published April 1985 and is updated for current legislative references and for information contained in former Interpretation Bulletin L-16.

The bulletin sets out the policy of the Corporations Tax Branch (Branch) regarding the capital tax implications of rollovers. It is provided as a guide to taxpayers and is not intended as a substitute for the legislation. Any references to legislation are to the provisions of the Corporations Tax Act (Ontario) (CTA) and its Regulations, unless otherwise noted.

Asset Transfers - Rollovers

Introduction

  1. The Income Tax Act (Canada) (ITA) contains provisions to permit a deferral of income tax in certain asset transfers (i.e. "rollovers"). The tax effect of the transaction on the transferor is deferred and assumed by the transferee. This bulletin deals with the capital tax, as distinguished from the income tax, implications of assets being transferred (rolled over) to a corporation.
  2. Ontario is generally tied-in with the federal rollover rules for income tax purposes. Subject to the inter-provincial anti-avoidance provisions in sections 5.1, 29.1 and 31.1, a taxpayer may elect a different amount than that used for federal purposes within the rollover rules, to achieve a deferral of Ontario income tax. There is no corresponding capital tax provision to permit a deferral of Ontario capital tax or the transfer of a transferor's capital tax position to the transferee.

Section 85 ITA Rollovers - Property Transferred to a Corporation

  1. Section 85 of the ITA provides special rules that establish the tax values of assets that are transferred to a taxable Canadian corporation by an individual, a partnership or a corporation. A joint election is made by the transferor and the corporation. Consideration for the assets transferred must include shares in the corporation. The value of the shares as shown on the balance sheet is included in paid-up capital. There is no provision within the CTA to reduce this amount for capital tax purposes where the value of the assets received as consideration for the shares issued differs for tax and book purposes.

Different Depreciation Booked and Capital Cost Allowance Claimed - Clauses 62(7)(b) and (c)

  1. A corporation is required to include in paid-up capital any amount by which the value of an asset has been written down and deducted from income or retained earnings if that amount is not deductible or has not been deducted in computing income for tax purposes. Accordingly, the excess of accumulated depreciation booked over accumulated capital cost allowance (CCA) claimed for income tax purposes must be included in computing paid-up capital. Conversely, by administrative concession, the excess of accumulated CCA claimed over accumulated depreciation booked is deducted in computing paid-up capital. Further information on this subject is contained in Interpretation Bulletin 3012.
  2. A similar adjustment to paid-up capital may apply where depreciable property is rolled over to a corporation under section 85 of the ITA, but only in so far as the amounts are deducted by the transferee corporation itself. No adjustment should be made for the difference in accumulated depreciation and accumulated CCA deducted by the transferor. The reason for this is that surplus has not been transferred to the transferee corporation and an adjustment to restore surplus to a tax position is not necessary. The amount relevant for the capital tax adjustment is the actual CCA deducted by the transferee corporation and not any CCA deemed to have been claimed for income tax purposes.

Deemed Depreciation Adjustment

  1. Where the transferee corporation records the asset in its financial statements at a value greater than the amount jointly elected under section 85 of the ITA or subsection 29. (4), whichever applies, (for example, the undepreciated capital cost (UCC) to the transferor), the difference is not deductible from paid-up capital. However, as an administrative concession, the transferee corporation is allowed to amortize the difference between the financial statement value and the elected amount for income tax purposes at the effective rate used to claim CCA.
  2. The effective rate is determined as follows:

    (CCA claimed for the year on the CCA class) / (UCC before CCA claim on the CCA class)

    This applies to reduce paid-up capital for capital tax purposes only. Based on the ratio above, where no CCA is claimed for income tax purposes, no depreciation adjustment is allowed for capital tax purposes. The adjustment is calculated on a cumulative annual basis for each class of assets where there is a difference between the financial statement value and the elected amount for income tax purposes.

Numeric Example

  1. For example, a building having a fair market value (FMV) of $250,000 was rolled over on December 31, 1999 at an 'elected amount' of $100,000, being equal to its UCC at this date. The difference of $150,000 between the FMV and the elected amount (i.e., $250,000 - $100,000) may be "depreciated" for capital tax purposes as follows, (10% diminishing rate of CCA assumed):

    Year Difference Between FMV And 'Elected' Amount CCA Rate Applicable To The Asset Acquired Depreciation Amount Cumulative Depreciation Amount
    1 $150,000 10 % $15,000 $15,000
    2 $135,000 10 % $13,500 $28,500
    3 $121,500 10 % $12,150 $40,650

    The cumulative depreciation amount may be deducted from paid-up capital as shown above (i.e., 1st year deduction $15,000, 2nd year deduction $28,500, third year deduction $40,650 and so on).

Eligible Capital Expenditures

  1. The same concession also applies to eligible capital expenditures (ECE) which are being written-off for income tax purposes. In such cases, the transferee corporation may amortize the difference between three-quarters of the amount booked and the amount elected for income tax purposes at the effective rate used for claiming the deduction for cumulative eligible capital (not exceeding 7%), on a cumulative basis. Where no amortization of ECE is claimed for income tax purposes, no deprecation adjustment is allowed for capital tax purposes.

Corporate Reorganization

Section 87 and 88 ITA Rollovers - Amalgamation and Winding-up of a Subsidiary

  1. Assets may also be rolled over to a new corporation created as a result of an amalgamation (section 87 of the ITA) or to a parent corporation following winding-up of a subsidiary (section 88 of the ITA). In such situations the acquiring corporation may report the assets at a higher value or at the book value of the predecessors or subsidiary, as the case may be.

Assets Transferred at Values Higher than Previous Book Values

  1. Where the transferee corporation reports the assets at a value higher than the predecessors/ subsidiary's book values, that higher value is recognized for capital tax purposes. In such cases, the transferee corporation is allowed a concession in the same manner as the concession for section 85 rollovers.

Assets Transferred at SameValues as Previous Book Values

  1. Where assets are transferred at the predecessors/subsidiary's book values to the transferee corporation, these same values are recognized for capital tax purposes. In such cases, the concession is not needed by the new/parent corporation.

Surplus Adjustments Brought Forward

  1. Under these corporate reorganization transactions, the surpluses (retained earnings) of the predecessor/subsidiary corporations may be transferred to the continuing corporation. In such cases, surplus adjustments of the predecessor/subsidiary corporations should be carried forward to the new/parent corporation for purposes of adjusting its paid-up capital.

Section 97 ITA - Contribution of Property to a Partnership

  1. Assets transferred to a partnership may be reported for financial statement purposes by the partnership at a value higher than the elected tax value. In such situations, the foregoing principles should be used to determine if the concession will apply.

Effect of the Push- Down Accounting Technique on Capital Tax

  1. When the push-down accounting technique is used to revalue the assets and liabilities of the "acquired" corporation, there is a consequential adjustment to the shareholders equity of the "acquired" corporation; usually a credit balance. This surplus is required to be included in the "acquired" corporation's paid-up capital for capital tax purposes.
  2. The deemed depreciation adjustment is available to corporations which, as a result of push-down accounting, have increased the value of their depreciable assets. The corporation is allowed to amortize the difference between the revised book value (up to FMV) and the tax value at the effective rate used to claim CCA or to amortize cumulative eligible capital on a cumulative basis.
 
Page: 467  |

Impôt sur le capital - Incidence des roulements et autres réorganisations de sociétés

Bulletin 3019
Date de publication : octobre 2001
Dernière mise à jour : novembre 2010
ISBN: 0-7794-2176-0 (PDF)

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : L'impôt sur le capital a été complètement éliminé le 1er juillet 2010. Il a été éliminé à compter du 1er janvier 2007 pour les sociétés ontariennes exerçant des activités principalement dans les secteurs de la fabrication ou des ressources.

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Références : alinéas 62(7) b) et 62(7) c)

Application

Le présent bulletin remplace le Bulletin d'interprétation 2619, publié en avril 1985, et a été mis à jour à la suite des modifications apportées à la loi afférente et des observations formulées dans le Bulletin d'interprétation L-16.

Il expose la politique du ministère, Section de l'imposition des sociétés (le ministère) concernant l'incidence des roulements sur l'impôt sur le capital. Ce bulletin se destine à servir de guide à l'intention des contribuables et ne remplace aucunement la loi pertinente. Toute référence à la loi porte sur les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (Ontario) et les règlements afférents, à moins d'indication contraire.

Transferts de biens - Roulements

Introduction

  1. La Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) renferme des dispositions prévoyant le report de l'impôt sur le revenu dans certains cas de transferts de biens (« roulements »). L'incidence fiscale d'une telle transaction sur l'auteur du transfert est ainsi reportée et assumée par le bénéficiaire du transfert. Le présent bulletin traite de l'incidence sur l'impôt sur le capital, pris indépendamment de l'impôt sur le revenu, d'un transfert de biens (roulement) à une société.
  1. En règle générale, l'Ontario est assujetti aux règles fédérales sur les roulements en ce qui a trait à l'impôt sur le revenu. Aux termes des dispositions d'anti-évitement interprovincial énoncées aux articles 5.1, 29.1 et 31.1, un contribuable peut choisir d'appliquer un montant autre que celui utilisé au titre des règles fédérales sur les roulements, pour effectuer un report d'impôt sur le revenu en Ontario. Aucune disposition fiscale correspondante ne permet le report de l'impôt sur le capital de l'Ontario ou le transfert, au bénéficiaire, de l'impôt sur le capital de l'auteur d'un transfert.

Article 85 Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) - Roulements et transferts de biens à une société

  1. L'article 85 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) prévoit des règles spéciales établissant la valeur fiscale des biens transférés à une société canadienne imposable par un contribuable, une société de personnes ou une société. L'auteur du transfert et la société conviennent mutuellement de cette valeur. La contrepartie sur les biens transférés doit comprendre des actions dans ladite société. La valeur des actions, telle qu'indiquée sur le bilan, doit être incluse dans le capital versé. Aucune disposition de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés ne prévoit une réduction de ce montant aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital lorsque la valeur des biens reçus en contrepartie des actions émises diffère à des fins fiscales et comptables.

Différence entre l'amortissement comptabilisé et la déduction pour amortissement déclarée - alinéas 62(7) b) et c)

  1. Toute société est tenue d'inclure dans son capital versé toute réduction de la valeur d'un élément d'actif qui est déduite de son revenu ou de ses bénéfices non répartis, si le montant de la réduction n'est pas déductible ou s'il n'a pas été déduit dans le calcul de son revenu aux fins d'impôt. Ainsi, l'excédent du montant de l'amortissement cumulé inscrit dans ses livres comptables par rapport à la déduction pour amortissement cumulé déclarée aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu doit être inclus dans le calcul du capital versé. Par contre, en vue d'une concession administrative, l'excédent de la déduction pour amortissement cumulé déclaré par rapport au montant de l'amortissement cumulé comptabilisé est déduit lors du calcul du capital versé. Pour plus de précisions à cet égard, consultez le Bulletin d'interprétation numéro 3012FR.
  2. Un rajustement similaire du capital versé peut également s'appliquer lorsqu'un bien amortissable est transféré à une société en vertu de l'article 85 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada), mais seulement dans la mesure où les montants sont déduits par la société bénéficiaire du transfert. Aucun rajustement ne doit être effectué quant à la différence entre le montant de l'amortissement cumulé et la déduction pour amortissement cumulée, déduite par l'auteur du transfert. Cette règle découle du fait que le surplus n'a pas été transféré à la société bénéficiaire et qu'aucun rajustement n'est nécessaire pour restaurer le surplus d'une situation fiscale. Le montant devant faire l'objet d'un rajustement aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital correspond au montant de la déduction pour amortissement réellement effectuée par la société bénéficiaire et non à quelque déduction pour amortissement réputée avoir été déclarée aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Rajustement d'amortissement réputé

  1. Lorsque la société bénéficiaire déclare l'actif dans ses états financiers à une valeur supérieure au montant mutuellement convenu en vertu de l'article 85 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) ou du paragraphe 29.1 (4), selon celui qui s'applique (par exemple, la fraction non amortie du coût en capital pour l'auteur du transfert), la différence ne peut être déduite du capital versé. Toutefois, selon une concession administrative, la société bénéficiaire est autorisée à amortir la différence entre la valeur déclarée dans les états financiers et le montant convenu aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu, au taux effectif utilisé pour la déduction pour amortissement.
  2. Le taux effectif est établi comme suit :

    (Déduction pour amortissement déclarée pour l'année) / (Fraction non amortie du coût en capital avant déduction pour amortissement)

    Cette formule sert à réduire le capital versé aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital seulement. Selon le taux obtenu ci-dessus, et lorsque aucune déduction pour amortissement n'est déclarée aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu, aucun rajustement d'amortissement n'est autorisé aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital. Le rajustement est calculé annuellement sur une base cumulative pour chaque catégorie de biens où l'on observe une différence entre la valeur inscrite aux états financiers et le montant « convenu » aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Exemple

  1. Par exemple : Un bâtiment dont la juste valeur marchande s'élève à 250 000 $ a été transféré le 31 décembre 1999 selon un « montant convenu » de 100 000 $, soit un montant équivalent à la fraction non amortie du coût en capital à cette date. La différence de 150 000 $ entre la juste valeur marchande et le montant convenu (250 000 $ - 100 000 $) peut être « amortie » aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital comme suit (taux décroissant de la déduction pour amortissement supposé de 10 %) :

    AnnéeDifférence entre la juste valeur marchande et le montant « convenu »Taux de déduction pour amortissement applicable à l'actif acquisMontant de l'amortissementMontant cumulatif de l'amortissement
    1150 000 $10 %15 000 $15 000 $
    2135 000 $10 %13 500 $28 500 $
    3121 500 $10 %12 150 $40 650 $

    Le montant cumulatif de l'amortissement peut être déduit du capital versé tel qu'indiqué ci-dessus (c.-à-d. déduction de 15 000 $ la 1re année, 28 500 $ la 2e année, 40 650 $ la 3e année, et ainsi de suite).

Dépenses en capital admissibles

  1. La même concession s'applique également aux dépenses en capital admissibles qui sont radiées aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu. Dans de tels cas, la société bénéficiaire peut amortir la différence entre les trois quarts du montant comptabilisé et le montant convenu aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu, au taux effectif utilisé pour demander la déduction sur le capital cumulatif admissible (sans dépasser 7 %), et ce, sur une base cumulative. Lorsque aucun amortissement des dépenses en capital admissibles n'est demandé aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu, aucun rajustement d'amortissement n'est autorisé aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital.

Réorganisations de sociétés

Articles 87 et 88 Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu - Roulements - Fusion et liquidation d'une filiale

  1. Il est également possible de transférer des biens à une nouvelle société créée à la suite d'une fusion (article 87 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu) ou à une société mère à la suite de la liquidation d'une filiale (article 88 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu). Dans de tels cas, la société acheteuse peut déclarer le bien à une valeur supérieure ou à la valeur comptable inscrite par la société remplacée ou la filiale, selon le cas.

Biens transférés à une valeur supérieure à la valeur comptable précédente

  1. Lorsque la société bénéficiaire déclare les biens à une valeur supérieure à la valeur comptable inscrite par la société remplacée ou la filiale, cette valeur supérieure est prise en compte aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital. Dans de tels cas, la société bénéficiaire est autorisée à une concession au même titre que celle accordée pour les transferts prévus par l'article 85.

Biens transférés à une valeur correspondant à la valeur comptable précédente

  1. Lorsque des biens sont transférés à la société bénéficiaire à la valeur comptable de la société remplacée ou de la filiale, cette même valeur est prise en compte aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital. Dans de tels cas, la nouvelle société/société mère n'a pas besoin de concession.

Report prospectif de rajustements d'excédents

  1. En vertu de telles transactions de réorganisation, les surplus (bénéfices non répartis) des sociétés remplacées/filiales peuvent être transférés à la société assurant la continuation. Dans de tels cas, les rajustements de surplus des sociétés remplacées/filiales doivent être reportés à un exercice ultérieur de la nouvelle société/société mère afin de rajuster son capital versé.

Article 97 - Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu - Apport de biens dans une société de personnes ou en commandite

  1. Les biens transférés à une société de personnes ou en commandite peuvent être déclarés dans les états financiers de ladite société à une valeur supérieure à la valeur fiscale convenue. Dans de tels cas, il faut se fonder sur les principes qui précèdent afin de déterminer si une concession s'applique.

Effet de la technique de réévaluation des comptes sur l'impôt sur le capital

  1. Lorsqu'on a recours à la technique de réévaluation des comptes afin de réévaluer l'actif et le passif de la société « acquise », on assiste généralement à un rajustement corrélatif de l'avoir des actionnaires de ladite société « acquise », habituellement sous forme de solde créditeur. Cet excédent doit être inclus dans le capital versé de la société « acquise » aux fins de l'impôt sur le capital.
  2. Le rajustement d'amortissement réputé s'applique aux sociétés qui, à la suite d'une réévaluation des comptes, ont augmenté la valeur de leur actif amortissable. La société est autorisée à amortir la différence entre la valeur comptable révisée (jusqu'à concurrence de la juste valeur marchande) et la valeur fiscale au taux en vigueur utilisé pour demander la déduction pour amortissement ou pour amortir le capital admissible cumulatif, et ce, sur une base cumulative.
 
Page : 467  |