Financial Statement Requirements

Bulletin 4002
Published: November 2003
Content last reviewed: September 2012
ISBN: 0-7794-2404-2 (PDF), 978-1-4249-3152-1 (HTML)

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: Effective January 1, 2009, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) administers Ontario's corporate income tax, capital tax, corporate minimum tax, and the special additional tax on life insurers.

As a result, the Corporations Tax Act provisions described on this page and in other publications are only applicable to taxation years ending December 31, 2008 and prior.

For taxation years beginning January 1, 2009, the Taxation Act rules apply.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

References: section 93, subsections 57.1(2), 75(5), (6), (9), (10), (11), (12)

Application

This bulletin replaces Information Bulletin 4002R1 originally published October 2002. This bulletin has been updated to clarify the Ministry of Finance's policy with respect to the General Index of Financial Information (GIFI).

The bulletin sets out the policy of the Ministry of Finance (Ministry) regarding the requirements for financial statements filed with a corporation's tax return. It also provides the ministry's policy with respect to accepting a hard copy of the GIFI in lieu of financial statements where a corporation files a paper tax return or a return on diskette . It is provided as a guide to taxpayers and is not intended as a substitute for the relevant legislation. Any references to legislation are to the provisions of the Corporations Tax Act (Ontario) (CTA) and its Regulations, unless otherwise noted.

Introduction

  1. Financial statements play an integral part in computing a corporation's income tax, corporate minimum tax (CMT), capital tax, premium tax and special additional tax liabilities. Financial statements are also utilized to determine whether small business corporations are eligible for an exemption from capital tax and whether corporations are subject to CMT. Accordingly, the CTA contains several provisions which specify the form and content of the financial statements that are required to be filed with a corporation's tax return.

Legislation

  1. Subsection 75(9) specifies the following requirements for financial statements filed with a corporation's CT23 or CT8 Corporations Tax Return:
    • All financial statements should be prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) in Canada. However, consolidated statements are not allowed.
    • The financial statements should be complete and include all notes to the statements. In addition, if an auditor has reported on the financial statements, the auditor's report should be included.
    • If the corporation is a member of a partnership, financial statements of the partnership prepared in accordance with Canadian GAAP should be included for all fiscal periods of the partnership ending in the taxation year of the corporation.
    • If the corporation is a bank or a life insurance company, the financial statements should be prepared in accordance with the statute incorporating, continuing or governing the corporation and all applicable Canadian GAAP.
  2. The financial statements to be filed with the return should be those prepared for reporting to shareholders, owners or partners and, pursuant to subsection 75(6), should be in agreement with the books of account of the corporation.

Financial Statements of Small Business Corporations

  1. The intent of these requirements is to ensure that the Ministry of Finance (Ministry) receives complete and consistent information with all corporate tax returns. At the same time, the Ministry recognizes that many small corporations do not currently prepare a full set of financial statements in accordance with GAAP. Therefore, subsection 75(10) allows the Minister of Finance (Minister) to use discretion and accept financial statements which do not meet the criteria outlined in subsection 75(9).
  2. If a corporation has not prepared a statement of changes in financial position in the past, or all the notes to the financial statements as required under GAAP, the Ministry will accept such departures from GAAP, provided the departures do not hinder the ability of the Ministry to verify the correct amount of taxes payable under the CTA.
  3. The acceptance of the financial statements will also DEPEnd on the past filing practice of a particular corporation. Factors such as whether the corporation has always filed in a certain way and whether the Ministry has previously experienced a compliance problem with respect to the company's financial statements, will have a bearing on the decision to accept less than GAAP financial statements. In other words, it is not intended that smaller companies incur additional administrative costs where financial information of the same nature as previously provided has been sufficient for purposes of assessment of tax.

Minimum Financial Statement Requirements

  1. However, as a minimum, financial statements for all companies must include an income statement and a balance sheet that accurately reflect the financial position and results of operations. In addition, pursuant to subsection 57.1(2), any corporation subject to the CMT is required to calculate its net income or loss for the year in accordance with GAAP and must file full financial statements.
  2. It should be noted that under section 93 the Ministry has the authority to request additional information as needed for purposes of its administration of the CTA.

Audited Financial Statements

  1. As noted in paragraph 2, where an auditor has reported on a corporation's financial statements, the auditor's report and the audited financial statements are required. Nevertheless, subsection 75(11) allows the Minister to demand, at least 180 days before the end of a taxation year, audited financial statements for that and following taxation years.
  2. Audited statements are requested only in situations where the information currently being provided is not satisfactory. The request is made in writing, and is effective until such time as the Minister notifies the company, in writing, that audited financial statements are no longer required. A requirement for audited financial statements will be determined after a review of all the facts of each particular case.

General Index of Financial Information (GIFI)

  1. The GIFI is an initiative of the federal government which was introduced by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) in order to capture financial information electronically. The GIFI is a standardized template on which corporate taxpayers file their financial statement information. When the GIFI is used, financial statements are not submitted to CRA with the federal T2 tax return. For federal purposes the GIFI is mandatory for all corporations filing the T2 tax return, except insurance corporations, for taxation years ending in or after the year 2000.
  2. The ministry's policy regarding the GIFI is provided below in paragraphs 13 and 16.

Financial Statements Required with Paper Returns and D-Filed Returns

  1. Where a corporation is filing a tax return on either paper or a diskette (D-File) the Ministry prefers it to file the financial statements prepared for the shareholders of the corporation as explained in paragraph 3 above. However, where a corporation does file a hard copy of the GIFI, in lieu of financial statements, the Ministry will accept the GIFI where there is sufficient information in the GIFI to validate any taxes payable as allowed by subsection 75(10). Since there can be a wide range in the quality of information submitted in the GIFI, the Ministry reserves the right to request the financial statements in the form specified by the legislation (see paragraphs 2 and 3) where this is needed to verify the correct amount of a corporation's tax liability under the CTA.
  2. Corporations that D-File their tax return are still required to attach a copy of the certification to the floppy disk regardless of whether they file a hard copy of the GIFI or the financial statements prepared for the shareholders of the corporation.
  3. Where a corporation is involved in a partnership or joint venture, it must file the financial statements of the partnership or joint venture with the Ministry. This is required regardless of whether the corporation is filing a hard copy of the GIFI or the financial statements prepared for the shareholders of the corporation.

Financial Statements Required by EFF Corporations When Loss Carried Back

  1. Under subsection 75(5), certain small business corporations with no tax payable under the CTA are exempt from filing (EFF) a Corporations Tax Return and financial statements. Nevertheless, where an EFF corporation is claiming a refund of taxes from the application of a loss to one or more prior year(s), the corporation is required to file financial statements and supporting documentation for the year in which the loss was incurred. As well, in certain situations a corporation may be required to file a tax return and financial statements where a loss is being carried forward and applied to a subsequent taxation year. Where a corporation files the loss year tax return on either paper or diskette and files a hard copy of the GIFI in lieu of financial statements, the Ministry will accept the GIFI if there is sufficient information contained in the GIFI to support the loss. For further discussion on EFF corporations, refer to Information Bulletin 4001R1.
  2. EFF corporations should maintain adequate records including financial statements for non-filing years to support any claim made in other years. For example, an EFF corporation applying losses to prior or subsequent years must keep the records needed to prove those losses as well as the income for the applicable year. For additional information on the ministry's record retention requirements, corporations should refer to the ministry's Tax Information Bulletin on "Retention/Destruction of Books and Records" dated April 2000.

Forecast Financial Statements to Obtain Refund of Instalments

  1. Occasionally, a corporation may request, prior to the date that its tax return is otherwise due, that all or part of its instalments paid for the year be refunded. Such a request is normally made in a situation where a corporation, having paid instalments for a few months of a year, realizes it has overestimated its tax liability for the year. The Branch will normally process such requests but may, in certain situations, require forecast financial statements to support the corporation's request for a refund of instalments paid.
 
Page: 479  |

Exigences relatives aux états financiers

Bulletin d'information 4002FR1
Bulletin 4002
Date de publication : novembre 2003
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2012
ISBN: 0-7794-2405-0 (PDF), 978-1-4249-3153-8 (HTML)

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : A compter du 1er janvier 2009, l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) administre l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés, l'impôt sur le capital, l'impôt minimum des sociétés, et l'impôt supplémentaire spécial des compagnies d'assurance-vie de l'Ontario.

En conséquence, les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés décrites sur cette page et dans d'autres publications sont applicables qu'aux années d'imposition se terminant le ou avant le 31 décembre 2008.

Pour les années d'imposition commençant le 1er janvier 2009, les dispositions de la Loi de 2007 sur les impôts s'appliquent.

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Références : article 93, paragraphes 57.1 (2), 75 (5), (6), (9), (10), (11), (12)

Application

Le présent bulletin remplace le bulletin d'information 4002RF1 publié en octobre 2002. Ce bulletin a été mis à jour afin de clarifier la politique du ministre des Finances à l'égard de l'Index général des renseignements financiers (IGRF).

Ce bulletin expose la politique du ministère des Finances (le ministère) concernant les exigences relatives aux états financiers accompagnant une déclaration d'impôt des sociétés. Il expose également la politique du ministère quant à l'acceptation d'une copie imprimée de l'IGRF au lieu des états financiers dans le cas d'une société qui produit une déclaration sur papier ou sur disquette. Il se destine à servir de guide à l'intention des contribuables et ne remplace aucunement la loi pertinente. Toute référence à la loi porte sur les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (Ontario) et les règlements afférents, à moins d'indication contraire.

Introduction

  1. Les états financiers font partie intégrante du calcul de l'impôt sur le revenu d'une société, de l'impôt minimum sur les sociétés, l'impôt sur le capital, l'impôt sur les primes ainsi que tout impôt additionnel spécial. Les états financiers servent également à déterminer si les petites entreprises sont admissibles à une exemption de l'impôt sur le capital et si les sociétés sont assujetties à l'impôt minimum sur les sociétés (IMS). En conséquence, la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés renferme plusieurs dispositions qui précisent la forme et le contenu des états financiers que doivent joindre les sociétés à leur déclaration d'impôt.

Mesures législatives

  1. Le paragraphe 75 (9) précise les exigences suivantes concernant les états financiers devant accompagner la déclaration CT23 ou CT8 d'une société :
    • Tous les états financiers doivent être dressés conformément aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada. On ne doit cependant pas présenter des états financiers consolidés.
    • Les états financiers doivent être complets et comprendre toutes les notes afférentes. De plus, si un vérificateur a rédigé un rapport sur les états financiers, celui-ci doit être remis avec les états.
    • Si la société est un associé d'une société de personnes, les états financiers doivent être accompagnés d'une copie des états financiers de ladite société, dressés conformément aux principes comptables généralement reconnus, pour toutes les périodes comptables se terminant pendant l'année d'imposition de la société.
    • Si la société est une banque ou une compagnie qui fait souscrire de l'assurance-vie, les états financiers doivent être dressés conformément à la loi qui la constitue, la maintient ou la régit et à tous les principes comptables généralement reconnus applicables.
  2. Les états financiers accompagnant la déclaration doivent être ceux qui ont été préparés à l'intention des actionnaires, propriétaires ou associés et, conformément au paragraphe 75 (6), doivent être conformes aux registres et livres comptables de la société.

États financiers des petites entreprises

  1. Ces exigences ont pour but d'assurer que l'information envoyée au ministère des Finances (le ministère) soit complète et uniforme pour toutes les déclarations d'impôt des sociétés. Par ailleurs, le ministère reconnaît que bien des petites entreprises ne préparent pas d'états financiers complets conformément aux principes comptables généralement reconnus. Par conséquent, le paragraphe 75 (10) permet au ministre des Finances d'accepter, à sa discrétion, des états financiers qui ne satisfont pas aux critères mentionnés au paragraphe 75 (9).
  2. Si une société n'a encore jamais préparé d'état de l'évolution de la situation financière, ou n'a pas soumis toutes les notes afférentes aux états financiers, tel que requis en vertu des principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCGR), le ministère acceptera de tels écarts, pourvu qu'ils n'enfreignent pas sa capacité de vérifier les montants d'impôt payables en vertu de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés.
  3. L'acceptation des états financiers dépendra également des antécédents de production des déclarations d'une société donnée. Divers facteurs tels que la méthode de production habituelle d'une société ainsi que les problèmes éprouvés par le ministère à l'égard de la conformité des états financiers de la société, entreront en ligne de compte dans la décision d'accepter des états financiers non conformes aux PCGR. En d'autres mots, il n'est pas nécessaire que les petites entreprises engagent des frais administratifs supplémentaires lorsque l'information financière de même nature qu'auparavant semblait suffisante aux fins de l'établissement des cotisations d'impôt.

Exigences minimales relatives aux états financiers

  1. Toutefois, à titre d'exigences minimales, les états financiers de toutes les sociétés doivent inclure un état des résultats ainsi qu'un bilan reflétant avec précision la situation financière et les résultats d'exploitation de la société. De plus, conformément au paragraphe 57.1 (2), toute société assujettie à l'IMS est tenue de calculer son revenu net ou ses pertes nettes pour l'année, conformément aux PCGR et doit produire des états financiers complets.
  2. Il importe de noter qu'en vertu de l'article 93, le ministère peut, au besoin, demander des renseignements additionnels aux fins de l'administration de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés.

États financiers vérifiés

  1. Tel qu'indiqué au paragraphe 2, lorsqu'un vérificateur a rédigé un rapport sur les états financiers, ce dernier ainsi que les états financiers vérifiés doivent accompagner la déclaration. Néanmoins, aux termes du paragraphe 75 (11), le ministre peut exiger, au moins 180 jours avant la fin de l'année d'imposition, des états financiers vérifiés pour l'année d'imposition en question ainsi que les années suivantes.
  2. Des états financiers vérifiés sont exigés uniquement dans certaines situations lorsque l'information fournie n'est pas satisfaisante. La demande est formulée par écrit, et demeure en vigueur jusqu'à ce que le ministre informe la société, par écrit, que des états financiers vérifiés ne sont plus requis. La nécessité de produire des états financiers vérifiés sera établie après un examen de tous les faits relatifs à chaque cas en particulier.

Index général des renseignements financiers (IGRF)

  1. L'IGRF est une initiative du gouvernement fédéral instaurée par l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) dans le but de favoriser la saisie électronique des renseignements financiers. L'IGRF représente un modèle normalisé sur lequel les contribuables constitués en société entrent leurs renseignements financiers. Lorsque l'IGRF est utilisé, il n'est pas nécessaire de joindre des états financiers à la déclaration de revenus T2 du fédéral. Aux fins de l'impôt fédéral, l'IGRF est obligatoire pour toutes les sociétés qui produisent une déclaration de revenus T2, à l'exception des compagnies d'assurance, pour les années d'imposition se terminant en 2000 ou après.
  2. La politique du ministère concernant l'IGRF est énoncée ci-dessous, aux paragraphes 13 et 16.

États financiers exigés dans le cas des déclarations produites sur papier ou sur disquette

  1. Lorsqu'une société produit une déclaration sur papier ou sur disquette, le ministère préfère qu'elle joigne à cette déclaration les états financiers préparés pour les actionnaires de la société, tel qu'expliqué au paragraphe 3 ci-dessus. Toutefois, lorsqu'une société produit une copie papier de l'IGRF à la place des états financiers, le ministère accepte l'IGRF si ce dernier renferme suffisamment de renseignements pour justifier tout impôt payable, aux termes du paragraphe 75 (10). Étant donné que la qualité des renseignements fournis par le biais de l'IGRF peut grandement varier, le ministère se réserve le droit de demander les états financiers sous une forme prescrite par la loi (voir paragraphes 2 et 3), lorsqu'il est nécessaire de vérifier l'exactitude du montant d'impôt payable par la société en vertu de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés.
  2. Les sociétés qui produisent leur déclaration sur disquette doivent également joindre une copie de l'attestation, indifféremment du fait qu'ils joignent une copie papier de l'IGRF ou les états financiers préparés pour les actionnaires.
  3. Lorsqu'une société fait partie d'une société de personnes ou d'une coentreprise, elle doit soumettre les états financiers de ladite société de personnes ou coentreprise au ministre. Cette exigence s'applique indifféremment du fait que la société ait fourni une copie papier de l'IGRF ou les états financiers préparés pour les actionnaires.

États financiers exigés de la part des sociétés dispensées de produire en cas de report de perte

  1. Aux termes du paragraphe 75 (5), certaines petites entreprises n'ayant aucun impôt payable en vertu de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés sont dispensées de produire une déclaration d'impôt des sociétés ainsi que leurs états financiers. Néanmoins, lorsqu'une société demande un remboursement d'impôt à la suite du report d'une perte à une ou plusieurs années d'imposition antérieures, la société est tenue de remettre des états financiers ainsi que tout document justificatif pour l'année au cours de laquelle la perte est survenue. Par ailleurs, dans certains cas, une société peut être tenue de produire une déclaration accompagnée d'états financiers lorsqu'une perte est reportée et appliquée à une année d'imposition ultérieure. Lorsqu'une société produit sa déclaration pour l'année de la perte sur papier ou sur disquette, et y joint une copie papier de l'IGRF au lieu des états financiers, le ministère acceptera l'IGRF s'il contient des renseignements suffisants pour justifier la perte. Pour plus de précisions sur les sociétés dispensées de produire, consultez le bulletin d'information 4001FR1.
  2. Les sociétés dispensées de produire doivent conserver des dossiers à jour, y compris les états financiers pertinents, pour les années où aucune déclaration n'est produite, afin de soutenir toute demande déclarée sur d'autres années. Par exemple, une société dispensée de produire une déclaration et qui applique des pertes à des années antérieures ou ultérieures doit conserver les dossiers justifiant les pertes ainsi que le revenu pour l'année applicable. Pour plus de précisions sur les exigences du ministère concernant la conservation des dossiers, les sociétés doivent consulter le bulletin d'information fiscale du ministère intitulé « Conservation/Destruction des livres et dossiers » daté d'avril 2000.

États financiers prévisionnels en vue de l'obtention d'un remboursement d'acomptes provisionnels

  1. À l'occasion, une société peut demander, avant la date d'échéance de sa déclaration d'impôt, qu'une partie ou la totalité de ses acomptes provisionnels versés pour l'année lui soit remboursée. Une telle demande est généralement présentée lorsque, après avoir versé des acomptes provisionnels pendant quelques mois de l'année, une société se rend compte qu'elle avait surestimé le montant de son impôt payable pour l'année. Le ministère acquiesce normalement à de telles demandes mais pourrait, dans certains cas, exiger des états financiers prévisionnels à l'appui de la demande de remboursement des acomptes provisionnels présentée par la société.
 
Page : 479  |