Penalties and Fines

Bulletin 4004
Published: March 2004
Content last reviewed: September 2009
ISBN: 0-7794-2166-3 (PDF)

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: Effective January 1, 2009, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) administers Ontario's corporate income tax, capital tax, corporate minimum tax, and the special additional tax on life insurers.

As a result, the Corporations Tax Act provisions described on this page and in other publications are only applicable to taxation years ending December 31, 2008 and prior.

For taxation years beginning January 1, 2009, the Taxation Act rules apply.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

References: sections 76, 77, 95, 96, 97, 108, 110, subsections 1(2), 66.1(4.12), 74.2(7), 75(1), (4), (14), clause 79(7)(a),
Regulation 183-clause 503(5)(a)


This bulletin replaces the discussion on "Penalties and Fines" in Information Bulletin Number 2742 originally published February 1993 and is updated for changes in legislation and comments contained in Information Bulletin 2743-R1.

The bulletin sets out the policy of the Corporations Tax Branch (Branch). It is provided as a guide to taxpayers and is not intended as a substitute for the relevant legislation. Any references to legislation are to the provisions of the Corporations Tax Act (Ontario) (CTA) and its Regulations, unless otherwise noted.


  1. To ensure fairness and encourage compliance and administrative efficiency, several provisions in the CTA impose or permit the Ontario Minister of Finance (Minister) to assess penalties on corporations, individuals and other persons. In addition to the penalties that may be assessed by the Minister, persons convicted of serious offences under the CTA are liable to substantial fines and, or imprisonment.
  1. Penalties, by their nature, are determinable monetary amounts and may be imposed by the Minister in the absence of court proceedings. Fines and, or imprisonment, on the other hand, are imposed by the courts. The maximum fine and term of imprisonment that can be imposed is specified in the CTA.
  1. This bulletin describes the penalties and fines associated with:
    • failure to file a return
    • making of false statements and omissions
    • failure to provide a notice on the sale of assets
    • false certification by a small business
    • non-collection of tax on uninsured benefit arrangements
    • general offence, and
    • offence of officers, directors and agents.

Failure to Deliver a Return: First Occurrence [Subsection 75(1)]

  1. Under subsection 75(1), every corporation, other than a corporation exempt from tax under section 57 and section 71 (e.g., a municipal, provincial, or federally owned corporation, a registered charity or a non-profit organization), is required to deliver a tax return within six months after the end of the taxation year. A return is deemed to be delivered on the day the Minister receives the return if it is mailed, or on the day the Minister acknowledges receipt and acceptance of the return, if it is filed electronically.
  2. As defined in subsection 1(2), a return must meet specified requirements pertaining to form, medium, content, accompanying documents, and manner of delivery. Unless the return is filed electronically, a return will include financial statements prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. For a discussion on the financial statements to be attached to the return and the filing requirements under the CTA refer to Information Bulletins 4001 to 4003.
  3. On a corporation's initial failure to file a return as and when required under the CTA, subsection 76(1) provides a penalty computed as follows:
    • 5% of the "balance of tax owing for the taxation year including interest and penalties" (balance of tax) as at the return due date, plus
    • 1% of the balance of tax as at the return due date times the number of complete months (not exceeding twelve) from the return due date to the date the return is actually delivered.
  4. The maximum penalty that can be assessed under subsection 76(1) is 17% of the balance of tax at the return due date excluding any penalty under this subsection.

Application of Failure to Deliver Penalty

  1. The penalty under subsection 76(1), does not apply to late-filed returns if, at the time the return was due, it was reasonable to consider that the corporation was exempt from filing under subsection 75(5). A corporation is exempt from filing a return, if the corporation in the taxation year:
    • was a Canadian controlled private corporation throughout the year
    • was not a financial institution or insurance corporation
    • was not subject to corporate minimum tax (either alone or as part of an associated group) and had no taxable income or tax payable under the CTA
    • filed a federal T2 return with the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), and
    • provided the Ministry of Finance its CRA business number.
  2. The word "reasonable" is not defined in the CTA. Accordingly, the particular facts of each situation would be examined to determine reasonableness. Generally, if a corporation does not otherwise have a capital tax liability, it would be reasonable to conclude that the corporation is exempt from filing where it has filed a return with either no income or a loss with CRA and the corporation has not intentionally avoided compliance with the CTA through errors, omissions or false statements.
  3. Pursuant to clause 79(7)(a), a late filing penalty assessed under subsection 76(1) is not impacted by the application of a loss from a subsequent taxation year. The penalty is computed on the tax payable when the return was required to be filed and not on the reduced tax payable after the application of a loss carried back from a subsequent taxation year.
  4. Under section 77, a corporation may avoid the imposition of a late filing penalty by requesting an extension of time to file the corporation's return. A request for an extension of time under section 77 should be made in writing to the Director of the Branch. A time extension is normally considered only before the return is filed and is granted only in exceptional circumstances.
  5. In addition, the late filing penalty under subsection 76(1) may be waived for a taxation year if the return is accepted under Ontario's voluntary disclosure policy. The ministry's policy is described in a Tax Information Bulletin titled Voluntary Disclosure.

Failure to File a Return: Second and subsequent Occurrence [Subsection 76(2)]

  1. Subsection 76(2) provides a penalty for repeated failure to file or for filing an incomplete return. The penalty applies to a corporation that has:
    • failed to deliver a return on time as and when required by the provisions of the CTA
    • received a demand for a return for the taxation year under subsection 75(4), and
    • failed to deliver a return as and when required under the CTA for any of the three previous taxation years.
  2. Subsection 76(2) parallels subsection 162(2) of the Income Tax Act (Canada) (ITA). Consistent with the federal approach under subsection 162(2), administratively the Branch will not apply a penalty under subsection 76(2) unless a late filing penalty was actually assessed (irrespective of whether the late filing penalty was subsequently reversed or eliminated) for any of the three previous taxation years.
  3. The penalty levied under subsection 76(2) is computed as follows:
    • 10% of the balance of tax owing as at the return due date, plus
    • 2% of the balance of tax as at the return due date times the number of complete months (not exceeding twenty) from the return due date to the date the return is actually delivered.
  4. The maximum penalty that can be assessed under subsection 76(2) is 50% of the balance of tax excluding any penalty payable under this subsection.

Comparison Table: Penalties for Failure to Deliver Returns

  1. The following table summarizes and provides a comparison on the penalties associated with the late filing of returns:

    Item/Penalty First Occurrence Second or Repeat Occurrence
    Relevant provision 76(1) 76(2)
    Paragraphs in this bulletin 4 to 12 13 to 16
    Calculation of Penalty:    
    % of "balance of tax" at the return due date 5% 10%
    % of "balance of tax" at the return due date
    number of months return is late (to the maximum cited)
    Maximum Penalty 17% 50%

False Statements or Omissions

  1. A person convicted of tax evasion (false statements or entries, destroying records, wilful evasion, etc.) as described in subsection 76(4) is subject to a fine under subsection 76(5). A fine of not less than the greater of $500 and 50% of the tax sought to be evaded is charged, to a maximum of not more than double the amount of such tax. Alternatively, a prison term of up to two years may be imposed, or, both the fine and imprisonment. This fine and imprisonment are in addition to any other penalty assessed under the CTA.
  2. Subsection 76(6) imposes a penalty upon a corporation, where a person knowingly, or under circumstances amounting to gross negligence, makes an incorrect statement or omission (false statement). The penalty is the greater of:
    • $100, and
    • the sum of 50% of the applicable tax that would be payable on the understatement of income and 50% of the overstated amount of tax credits claimed under subsections 43.2 to 43.12. The understatement of income in loss years is determined using the rules of subsection 163(2.1) of the ITA and is deemed by subsection 76(8) not to be less than nil.
  3. Pursuant to subsection 76(7), the corporate penalty under subsection 76(6) does not apply if a person has been convicted of an offence described in paragraph 18 for the same evasion of tax, unless the penalty was imposed on the corporation before proceedings commenced against that person.

Repeated Failure to Report

  1. If a corporation has failed repeatedly to report an amount in a return delivered under section 75, it is liable under subsection 76(9) for a penalty equal to 25% of the amount of tax applicable to the unreported amount. The unreported amount includes amounts relevant to the computation of all CTA taxes including capital tax, corporate minimum tax and premium tax.
  2. This provision parallels subsection 163(1) of the ITA for failure to report an amount in a taxation year where failure also occurred in any of the preceding three taxation years.
  3. Examples of situations where a penalty under subsection 76(9) may apply include the following:
    • the corporation was previously audited and assessed with respect to the same amount and the issue is not being considered by the Objections and Appeals Branch
    • previous instructions on noncompliance resolution have been disregarded by the corporation, and
    • a voluntary disclosure by the corporation is intentionally incomplete and does not include an amount which the corporation previously failed to report.
  4. Pursuant to subsection 76(10), the penalty under subsection 76(9) does not apply if a penalty has been assessed with respect to a false statement or omission concerning the same amount under subsection 76(6).

Additional Fines

  1. Section 95 imposes a fine on conviction of $200 per day on the following offences:
    • failure to file a return
    • failure to keep books and records
    • failure to produce information and books and records, and
    • hindering an audit or investigation.
  2. The fine on conviction for failure to file a return applies to the corporation while other fines under section 95 apply to any person including the corporation and its officers. These fines are in addition to any other penalty charged under the CTA.

Failure to Provide a Notice of Sale of Assets

  1. Where a corporation has an outstanding liability on an assessment or reassessment for a period exceeding three years, subsection108(1) requires that the Minister be notified in writing by registered mail at least 10 days prior to the sale of any assets of the corporation.
  2. Any person who fails to notify the Minister at least 10 days prior to the date of sale is subject to a penalty under subsection 108(2). The penalty is equal to the corporation's outstanding liability under the CTA as at the date of the sale of the assets.

Non-Collection of Tax on Uninsured Benefit Arrangements

  1. Under the CTA, a two percent premium tax is payable on uninsured benefit arrangements. The CTA also requires that the Ontario administrator of the plan collect and remit the taxes to the Minister.
  2. Subsection 74.2(7) imposes a penalty on an administrator of the plan that fails to collect the premium tax as required under the CTA. The penalty is equal to the amount of the tax that the administrator failed to collect less the total of the following:
    • amounts recovered by the Minister by directly assessing the members or the planholder(s) of the benefit plan, and
    • amounts paid to the Minister on account of the tax.

False Certification by a Small Business

  1. A small business investment tax credit is available to a financial institution on certain investments made by related financial institutions, specified corporations or insurance corporations such as a below-prime loan in a qualifying small business. Eligibility for this credit is dependent on the size of, the activities of, and the use of funds by the small business.
  2. To simplify the eligibility criteria of claiming the small business investment tax credit, the financial institution may obtain certification from the small business that it meets the various eligibility criteria (size, activities and use of funds).
  3. Subsection 66.1(4.12) imposes a penalty where a small business makes a false certification and the Minister considers that the individual stating the false facts enclosed therein should reasonably have known that they were false. The penalty is equal to the lesser of $2,000 and the credit claimed by the financial institution.

General Offence

  1. Every person or corporation that does not comply with the provisions of the CTA or the Regulations, for which no other fine is provided, is liable on conviction to a fine under section 110 that is not less than $50 or more than $5,000.

Liabilities of Officers, Directors, or Agents for Corporate Offences

  1. Pursuant to section 96, where a corporation is guilty of an offence under the CTA, any officer, director or agent of the corporation who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in, or participated in the commission of the offence is considered to be party to and guilty of the same offence. On conviction, the officer, director or agent is liable to the same fine, applicable to the corporation for the particular offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted.

Time Limit for Offences

  1. Under section 97, prosecution for an offence under the CTA must be instituted within six years of the offence.
Page: 490  |

Pénalités et amendes

Bulletin d'information 4004FR
Bulletin 4004
Date de publication : mars 2004
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2009
ISBN: 0-7794-1735-6 (PDF)

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : A compter du 1er janvier 2009, l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) administre l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés, l'impôt sur le capital, l'impôt minimum des sociétés, et l'impôt supplémentaire spécial des compagnies d'assurance-vie de l'Ontario.

En conséquence, les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés décrites sur cette page et dans d'autres publications sont applicables qu'aux années d'imposition se terminant le ou avant le 31 décembre 2008.

Pour les années d'imposition commençant le 1er janvier 2009, les dispositions de la Loi de 2007 sur les impôts s'appliquent.

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Références: articles 76, 77, 95, 96, 97, 108, 110, paragraphes 1(2), 66.1(4.12), 74.2(7), 75(1), (4), (14), alinéa 79(7) a),
règlement 183-alinéa 503(5) a)

Application

Le présent bulletin remplace les points de vue portant sur les « Pénalités et amendes » exposés dans le Bulletin d'information 2742 publié en février 1993, et a été mis à jour à la suite des modifications apportées à la loi afférente et des observations formulées dans le Bulletin d'information 2743-R1.

Il expose la politique du ministère des Finances, Section de l'imposition des sociétés. Ce bulletin se destine à servir de guide à l'intention des contribuables et ne remplace aucunement la loi pertinente. Toute référence à la loi porte sur les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (Ontario) et les règlements afférents, à moins d'indication contraire.

Introduction

  1. Afin d'assurer l'équité et de favoriser l'observation de la loi et l'efficacité administrative, plusieurs dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (la Loi) obligent ou autorisent le ministre des Finances de l'Ontario (le ministre) à imposer des pénalités à des sociétés, des particuliers ou à toute autre personne. Outre les pénalités pouvant être imposées par le ministre, les personnes reconnues coupables d'infractions graves au titre de la Loi sont passibles de fortes amendes et (ou) d'une peine d'emprisonnement.
  2. Par nature, les pénalités sont imputées sous forme de somme monétaire déterminable et peuvent être imposées par le ministre lorsqu'aucune action en justice n'a été intentée. Par contre, les amendes et (ou) les peines d'emprisonnement sont attribuées par les tribunaux. L'amende ou la peine d'emprisonnement maximale pouvant être infligées sont précisées dans la Loi.
  3. Le présent bulletin décrit les pénalités et amendes associées aux infractions suivantes :
    • omission de produire une déclaration,
    • fausse déclaration et omission,
    • omission de produire un avis de vente d'actif,
    • attestation fausse par une petite entreprise,
    • non-perception de la taxe sur les arrangements pour des régimes d'avantages sociaux non assurés,
    • infraction générale,
    • infraction par des administrateurs, dirigeants ou mandataires.

Omission de produire une déclaration : première contravention [paragraphe 75(1)]

  1. En vertu du paragraphe 75 (1), toute société, autre qu'une société exonérée d'impôt en vertu des articles 57 et 71 (par ex. une société municipale, provinciale ou fédérale, un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré, ou un organisme sans but lucratif), est tenue de produire une déclaration d'impôt dans les six mois suivant la fin de son année d'imposition. Une déclaration est réputée avoir été produite le jour où le ministre la reçoit, si elle est envoyée par la poste, ou le jour où le ministre en accuse réception et l'accepte, si elle est produite par voie électronique.
  2. Tel que précisé au paragrahe 1(2), une déclaration doit répondre aux exigences prescrites quant à la présentation, au support de données, au contenu, aux documents justificatifs, ainsi qu'à la méthode de livraison. À moins qu'elle ne soit produite électroniquement, toute déclaration devra être accompagnée des états financiers pertinents, préparés selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus. Pour plus de précisions sur les états financiers qu'il importe de joindre à la déclaration ainsi que sur les exigences de production sanctionnées par la Loi, consulter les Bulletins d'information 4001 à 4003.
  3. Lorsqu'une société omet de produire une déclaration pour la première fois et lorsque la Loi l'exige, la pénalité prévue au paragraphe 76 (1) est calculée comme suit :
    • 5 % du « solde d'impôt à payer pour l'année d'imposition, augmenté des intérêts et pénalités » (solde d'impôt) à la date d'échéance de la déclaration, plus
    • 1 % du solde d'impôt à la date d'échéance de la déclaration, multiplié par le nombre de mois entiers (jusqu'à concurrence de 12) compris dans la période qui commence le jour où la déclaration devait être remise et qui se termine le jour où elle l'est effectivement..
  4. La pénalité maximale pouvant être imposée en vertu du paragraphe 76 (1) correspond à 17 % du solde d'impôt à la date d'échéance de la déclaration, exclusion faite de toute pénalité imposée en vertu du présent alinéa.

Application de la pénalité pour omission de produire une déclaration

  1. La pénalité prévue par le paragraphe 76 (1) ne s'applique pas aux déclarations produites en retard si, à la date d'échéance de la déclaration, il était raisonnable de présumer que la société était dispensée de remettre une déclaration en vertu du paragraphe 75 (5). Une société est dispensée de remettre une déclaration si, durant l'année d'imposition :
    • elle était une société privée sous contrôle canadien pendant l'année entière,
    • elle n'était pas une institution financière ou une compagnie d'assurance,
    • elle n'était pas assujettie à l'impôt minimum sur les sociétés (soit seule ou en tant que membre d'un groupe de sociétés) et n'avait aucun revenu imposable ni impôt payable aux termes de la Loi,
    • elle a produit une déclaration fédérale T2 auprès de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC),
    • elle a fourni au ministère des Finances son numéro de compte d'entreprise attribué par l'ARC.
  2. Le terme « raisonnable » n'est pas défini par la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés. Par conséquent, les faits particuliers à chaque situation sont examinés afin de déterminer le caractère raisonnable. En règle générale, si une société n'est pas assujettie à l'impôt sur le capital, il serait raisonnable de conclure qu'elle est dispensée de produire une déclaration lorsqu'elle a remis une déclaration à l'ARC, sans revenu à déclarer ou en déclarant une perte, et qu'elle n'a pas omis volontairement de se conformer à la Loi par des erreurs, des omissions ou des faux énoncés.
  3. Conformément à l'alinéa 79 (7) a), une pénalité pour production tardive imposée en vertu du paragraphe 76 (1) n'est pas affectée par l'application d'une perte survenue lors d'une année d'imposition ultérieure. La pénalité est calculée sur l'impôt à payer au moment où la déclaration devait être remise, et non sur l'impôt réduit payable après l'application d'une perte reportée rétrospectivement à partir d'une année d'imposition ultérieure.
  4. Aux termes de l'article 77, une société peut éviter l'imposition d'une pénalité pour production tardive en demandant une prorogation du délai fixé pour remettre sa déclaration. Une telle demande de prorogation en vertu de l'article 77 doit être présentée par écrit au directeur des services et des dossiers clients.. En général, une prorogation de délai est envisagée seulement avant la date de production de la déclaration et n'est accordée que dans des circonstances exceptionnelles.
  5. En outre, la pénalité pour production tardive prévue par le paragraphe 76 (1) peut être levée si la déclaration est acceptée aux termes de la politique de divulgation volontaire de l'Ontario. La politique préconisée par le ministère est énoncée dans un Bulletin d'information fiscale daté de janvier 2000 et intitulé « Divulgation volontaire ».

Omission de produire une déclaration : deuxième infraction et infractions répétées [paragraphe 76(2)]

  1. Le paragraphe 76 (2) prévoit une pénalité pour omissions répétées de produire une déclaration, ou pour production d'une déclaration incomplète. La pénalité s'applique à une société qui :
    • a omis de remettre une déclaration de la manière et au moment prévus par la Loi,
    • a reçu une demande formelle de déclaration pour l'année d'imposition aux termes du paragraphe 75 (4),
    • a omis de remettre une déclaration de la manière et au moment prévus par la Loi pour l'une ou l'autre des trois années d'imposition antérieure.
  2. Le paragraphe 76 (2) correspond au paragraphe 162 (2) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada). Parallèlement à l'approche fédérale énoncée au paragraphe 162 (2), le ministère n'appliquera pas de pénalité en vertu du paragraphe 76 (2) à moins qu'une pénalité pour production tardive n'ait déjà été imposée (que cette pénalité ait ou non été renversée ou éliminée par la suite) pour l'une ou l'autre des trois années d'impositions antérieures.
  3. La pénalité imputée aux termes du paragraphe 76 (2) est calculée comme suit :
    • 10 % du solde d'impôt à payer à la date d'échéance, plus
    • 2 % du solde d'impôt à la date d'échéance de la déclaration, multiplié par le nombre de mois entiers (jusqu'à concurrence de 12) compris dans la période qui commence le jour où la déclaration devait être remise et qui se termine le jour où elle l'est effectivement.
  4. La pénalité maximale pouvant être imputée aux termes du paragraphe 76 (2) correspond à 50 % du solde d'impôt, en sus de toute pénalité imposée en vertu du présent alinéa.

Tableau comparatif : pénalités pour omission de produire des déclarations

  1. Le tableau qui suit présente un résumé et une comparaison des pénalités associées à la production tardive d'une déclaration :


    Article/pénalité

    Première
    infraction
    Deuxième
    infraction ou
    infractions
    répétées
    Disposition pertinente 76(1) 76(2)
    Paragraphes du présent bulletin 4 à 12 13 à 16
    Calcul de la pénalité :    

    % du « solde d'impôt » à la date d'échéance de la déclaration
    5% 10%
    plus    
    % du « solde d'impôt » à la date d'échéance de la déclaration
    multiplié par
    le nombre de mois de retard de la déclaration (jusqu'à
    concurrence du maximun indiqué)
    1%
     
    12
    2%
     
    20
    Pénalité maximale 17% 50%

Faux énoncés ou omissions

  1. Toute personne reconnue coupable d'évasion fiscale (faux énoncés ou fausses inscriptions, destruction de dossiers, évasion volontaire, etc.) telle que décrite au paragraphe 76 (4) est passible d'une amende aux termes du paragraphe 76 (5). Une amende d'au moins 500 $ ou, si ce montant lui est supérieur, de 50 % de l'impôt payable dont la personne a cherché à éluder le paiement, est imposée, jusqu'à concurrence d'une amende d'au plus le double du montant de cet impôt. Une peine d'emprisonnement d'au plus deux ans peut également être imposée, ou les deux, soit l'amende et la peine d'emprisonnement. L'amende et la peine d'emprisonnement s'ajoutent à toute autre pénalité imposée aux termes de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés.
  2. Aux termes du paragraphe 76 (6), toute société est passible d'une pénalité si une personne, sciemment ou dans des circonstances équivalant à une faute lourde, fait une affirmation inexacte ou commet une omission (faux énoncé). La pénalité équivaut au plus élevé des montants suivants :
    • 100 $ ou,
    • la somme correspondant à 50 % de l'impôt applicable qui serait payable sur le revenu déclaré en moins, et à 50 % du montant total des crédits d'impôt déclarés en trop aux termes des paragraphes 43.2 à 43.12.
    • Le revenu déclaré en moins au cours des années de perte est établi en fonction des règles énoncées au paragraphe 163 (2.1) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu et est réputé, aux termes du paragraphe 76 (8) ne pas être inférieur à zéro.
  3. Conformément au paragraphe 76 (7), la pénalité imposée à la société en vertu du paragraphe 76 (6) ne s'applique pas si une personne a été déclarée coupable d'une infraction décrite au paragraphe 18 pour la même évasion fiscale, à moins qu'une pénalité ne soit imposée à la société avant qu'une instance ne soit introduite contre cette personne.

Omission répétée de produire une déclaration

  1. Si une société omet à plusieurs reprises de déclarer un montant dans une déclaration remise en vertu de l'article 75, elle est passible, aux termes du paragraphe 76 (9) d'une pénalité égale à 25 % du montant de l'impôt applicable au montant non déclaré. Ce montant non déclaré englobe tout montant devant être inclus dans le calcul de tous les impôts prévus par la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés, y compris l'impôt sur le capital, l'impôt minimal sur les sociétés, et l'impôt sur les primes.
  2. Cette disposition s'aligne sur celle énoncée au paragraphe 163 (1) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu dans le cas d'une omission de déclarer un montant au cours d'une année d'imposition, lorsqu'une omission a également eu lieu lors de l'une ou l'autre des trois années d'imposition antérieures.
  3. Voici certains exemples de situations où une pénalité pourrait s'appliquer aux termes du paragraphe 76 (9) :
    • la société a déjà fait l'objet d'une vérification ayant entraîné une cotisation relativement au même montant, et la situation ne fait pas l'objet d'un réexamen par la Direction des appels en matière fiscale,
    • la société n'a pas tenu compte de directives antérieures relativement à une résolution de non-respect,
    • une divulgation volontaire de la part de la société a intentionnellement été effectuée de manière incomplète et ne comprend pas un montant que la société a antérieurement omis de déclarer.
  4. Conformément au paragraphe 76 (10), la pénalité prévue au paragraphe 76 (9) ne s'applique pas si une pénalité a été imposée à la société aux termes du paragraphe 76 (6) en raison d'un faux énoncé ou d'une omission portant sur le même montant.
    • omission de produire une déclaration,
    • manquement à conserver les livres et registres,
    • manquement à remettre de l'information ainsi que les livres et registres,
    • entrave à une vérification ou une enquête.

Amendes additionnelles

  1. L'article 95 prévoit, sur déclaration de culpabilité, une amende de 200 $ par jour pour les infractions suivantes :
    • omission de produire une déclaration,
    • manquement à conserver les livres et registres,
    • manquement à remettre de l'information ainsi que les livres et registres,
    • entrave à une vérification ou une enquête.
  2. L'amende imposée sur déclaration de culpabilité pour manquement à produire une déclaration s'applique à la société, tandis que les autres amendes imputées aux termes de l'article 95 s'appliquent à toute personne, y compris la société et ses dirigeants. Ces amendes s'ajoutent à toute autre pénalité imposée en vertu de la Loi.

Omission de remettre un avis de vente d'actif

  1. Si une société n'a pas payé un montant payable aux termes d'un avis de cotisation ou de nouvelle cotisation pendant une période de plus de trois ans, le paragraphe 108 (1) stipule que le ministre doit en être informé par courrier recommandé au moins dix jours avant la date de la vente de tout élément d'actif de la société.
  2. Toute personne qui omet d'informer le ministre au moins dix jours avant la date de la vente est passible d'une pénalité aux termes du paragraphe 108 (2). Cette pénalité correspond au montant payable par la société en vertu de la Loi en date de la vente de l'actif.

Non-perception de la taxe sur les arrangements pour des avantages sociaux non assurés

  1. En vertu de la Loi, un impôt de deux pour cent sur les primes est payable sur les arrangements pour des avantages sociaux non assurés. La Loi oblige également l'administrateur du régime en Ontario à percevoir et à remettre les taxes au ministre.
  2. Le paragraphe 74.2 (7) prévoit une pénalité à l'endroit de tout administrateur d'un régime qui omet de percevoir l'impôt sur les primes, tel que requis en vertu de la Loi. La pénalité est égale au montant de l'impôt que l'administrateur a omis de percevoir, moins le total des montants suivants :
    • montants recouvrés par le ministre par une cotisation directe imposée aux participants au régime d'avantages sociaux,
    • montants versés au ministre au titre de l'impôt.

Fausse attestation par une petite entreprise

  1. Un crédit d'impôt à l'investissement dans les petites entreprises est accordé aux institutions financières pour certains placements réalisés par une institution financière liée, une société désignée ou une compagnie d'assurance, tels qu'un prêt consenti à un taux d'intérêt inférieur au taux préférentiel à une petite entreprise admissible. L'admissibilité à ce crédit dépend du montant des fonds, des activités de la petite entreprise et de l'utilisation des fonds.
  2. Afin de simplifier les critères d'admissibilité à l'égard du crédit d'impôt à l'investissement dans les petites enreprises, l'institution financière peut obtenir une attestation de la part de la petite entreprise spécifiant qu'elle répond aux différents critères d'admissibilité (montant, activités et utilisation des fonds).
  3. Le paragraphe 66.1 (4.12) prévoit une pénalité dans le cas où une petite entreprise soumet une fausse attestation et si le ministre est d'avis que la personne ayant énoncé les faits jugés faux aurait dû savoir qu'ils étaient faux. La pénalité s'élève à 2 000 $ ou au montant du crédit demandé par l'institution financière, selon le moindre des deux montants.

Infraction générale

  1. Toute personne ou société qui omet de se conformer aux dispositons de la Loi ou des règlements afférents, et à laquelle aucune autre amende n'est imputée, est passible, aux termes de l'article 110 et sur déclaration de culpabilité, d'une amende d'au moins 50 $ et d'au plus 5 000 $.

Responsabilité des administrateurs, dirigeants ou mandataires en cas d'infraction de la société

  1. Conformément à l'article 96, si une société est coupable d'une infraction prévue par la Loi, on estime que tout dirigeant, administrateur ou mandataire qui a ordonné ou autorisé l'infraction ou qui y a consenti, acquiescé ou participé, a effectivement contribué à l'infraction, en est coupable et est passible, sur déclaration de culpabilité, de la peine prévue pour l'infraction, que la société ait ou non été poursuivie.

Délai

  1. Aux termes de l'article 97, toute poursuite relative à une infraction à la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés doit être intentée dans les six années suivant l'infraction.
 
Page : 490  |