Tax Instalments and Payments

Bulletin 4007
Published: January 2004
Content last reviewed: September 2012
ISBN: 1-4249-1850-2 (PDF)

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: Effective January 1, 2009, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) administers Ontario's corporate income tax, capital tax, corporate minimum tax, and the special additional tax on life insurers.

As a result, the Corporations Tax Act provisions described on this page and in other publications are only applicable to taxation years ending December 31, 2008 and prior.

For taxation years beginning January 1, 2009, the Taxation Act rules apply.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

References: clause 79(8)(c), subsection 48(3.2), 74.4(1), 78(2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (9), (11) and 82(2), Regulation 183 (section 507)

Application

The bulletin sets out the policy of the Ministry. It is provided as a guide to taxpayers and is not intended as a substitute for the relevant legislation. Any references to legislation are to the provisions of the Corporations Tax Act (Ontario) (CTA) and its Regulations, unless otherwise noted.

This bulletin replaces portions of Information Bulletin 4007R, originally published January 2004. It has been updated to reflect amendments to Regulation 183 of the Corporations Tax Act, (CTA), which were filed December 8, 2005. These amendments parallel the calculation of instalments under the federal Income Tax Act (ITA), when a corporation has been involved in an amalgamation, wind-up, rollover or has a preceding short taxation year that is less than 183 days. The amendments come into force for taxation years beginning on or after January 1, 2006.

Introduction

  1. Generally, a corporation is required to make periodic instalments throughout a taxation year with respect to its estimated tax liability for that period.

    The requirements for instalments and other payments under the CTA vary depending on the type of corporation and its total tax liability. It is important for corporations to establish the timing and amount of their minimum instalments and payments, if any. In this way corporations will avoid being assessed for interest and penalties on late or insufficient instalments and payments.

Tax Payments

  1. Tax payments, payable to the Minister of Finance, should be sent to:

    Ministry of Finance
    33 King Street West, PO Box 620
    Oshawa ON  L1H 8E9
  2. Under clause 79(3)(a), an amount paid by a corporation is deemed to be paid on the day prescribed by subsection 503(5) of Regulation 183. This day is the day of receipt of the payment by the Ministry or its authorized agent (i.e., a bank or other financial institution).

Application of Payments Received

  1. Pursuant to subsection 78(7), payments received by the Minister on account of amounts owing for a taxation year by a corporation are applied in the following order:
    1. tax payable
    2. penalty payable
    3. interest payable, and finally
    4. any other amount payable under the CTA.

Monthly Instalments

  1. Except for corporations eligible for the small business instalment exemption (discussed in paragraphs 12 to 14) and corporations that qualify for the quarterly instalment option (discussed in paragraph 15), all corporations are required by clause 78(2)(a) to make monthly instalment payments. Corporations are able to calculate their tax instalments in one of three ways, whichever is the least:
    • 1/12th of the current taxation year's estimated tax, or
    • 1/12th of the first instalment base, or
    • for the first two months, 1/12th of the second instalment base and for the next 10 months, 1/10th of the difference between the first instalment base and the amount paid for the first two instalments.

    In general the first instalment base is the previous year's tax payable and the second instalment base is the tax payable for the second preceding year. This general rule is elaborated on in paragraphs 7 to 11.

  2. Corporations are permitted under clause 79(8)(c) to select the method that results in the lowest total amount of instalments for a taxation year without being charged interest. In addition, a corporation eligible to a tax credit under sections 43.2 to 43.13, or a mutual fund corporation entitled to a capital gains refund under section 48, may reduce their instalment requirements for a particular year (as computed under paragraph 5) by 1/12th of any tax credits or capital gains refunds for the particular year. However, pursuant to subsection 506(6) of Regulation 183, a corporation's minimum instalment requirements for a particular year are not recalculated and reduced by any loss carried back from a subsequent taxation year.

Calculation of the instalment base for a short preceding year

  1. When calculating instalments, as described in paragraph 5, if one of the prior taxation years used to calculate the instalment base was less than 365 days, the tax payable for the year must be grossed up to a full 365 day year. For taxation years beginning after December 31, 2005, if one of the prior taxation years used in the calculation of instalments was less than 183 days, the tax for that year is substituted by the greater of:
    1. That year's tax payable grossed up to a full 365 days; and
    2. The tax payable for the last preceding year that did exceed 182 days, grossed up to a full 365 days.

Reorganizations

  1. Amalgamations

    A corporation formed by an amalgamation is required to pay tax instalments beginning with its first taxation year. In calculating its instalments, the aggregate tax paid in the last taxation year by the predecessor corporations are treated as the new corporation's first instalment base. The aggregate tax of the taxation year preceding the last taxation year of the predecessor is treated as the new corporation's second instalment base.

  2. Wind-ups

    For taxation year's beginning on or after January 1, 2006, when a corporation is wound up into a parent corporation and subsection 88(1) of the federal ITA applies, the parent corporation will have to include, in addition to its own instalment bases, the instalment bases of its subsidiary.

  3. Rollovers

    Where all or substantially all, of the property of one corporation has been transferred to a nonarm's length corporation and subsection 85(1) or (2) of the federal ITA applies, the transferee must take into account the instalment bases of the transferor.

  4. Reorganizations and short taxation years

    Where any of the predecessor's or transferor corporations prior taxation year is a short taxation year, the rules outlined in paragraph 7 apply. The rules will apply to calculate the instalment bases of the successor, parent or transferee corporation.

Exemption from Instalment Requirement

  1. Under subsection 78(4), a corporation with tax payable less than $2,000 for the taxation year or the immediately preceding taxation year is not required to make monthly instalments. Instead, as explained in paragraph 17, the corporation would be required to pay its total tax liability for the taxation year within two or three months from the corporation's taxation year end.
  2. For purposes of determining whether a corporation is entitled to an exemption from the monthly instalment requirement, tax payable for the taxation year is computed net of any tax credits under subsections 43.2 to 43.13 (mining reclamation trust tax credit and refundable specified tax credits) or, if the corporation is a mutual fund corporation, net of any capital gains refund for the year. Tax payable for the immediately preceding taxation year is computed net of any mining reclamation trust tax credit and in the case of a mutual fund corporation, net of any capital gains refund for that taxation year.
  3. Corporations, filing for the first time do not have a tax payable for a preceding taxation year. Accordingly such corporations are not required to make monthly instalments and may, as explained in paragraph 17, pay their total tax for the taxation year within 2 or 3 months of the corporation's first taxation year end.

Quarterly Instalments

  1. For December 31, 2001, corporations with tax payable for the current or immediately preceding taxation year of at least $2,000 but less than $10,000 are allowed to calculate and pay their instalments on a quarterly basis.

Balance of Tax Due

  1. If a corporation's actual tax liability for a taxation year exceeds the amounts paid by instalments under clause 78(2)(a), the difference is referred to as the "balance of tax due".
  2. The balance of tax due must be paid on or before the last day of the:
    • third month after the end of the corporation's taxation year if the corporation:
      • was a Canadian-controlled private corporation throughout the taxation year, and
      • had taxable income in the preceding taxation year of not more than the corporation's "Ontario business limit" (described in paragraphs 18 and 19), or
    • the second month after the end of the corporation's taxation year, for all other corporations.
  3. Pursuant to subsection 41(3.2), effective January 1, 2001, a corporation's "Ontario business limit" has increased from $200,000 to $400,000. The following table summarizes the "Ontario business limit" during the period of the increase:
    For portion of taxation year ending Ontario business limit
    2000 or prior $200,000
    After December 31, 2000 and before October 1, 2001 $240,000
    After September 30, 2001 and before January 1, 2003 $280,000
    2003 $320,000
    2004 $400,000
  4. For purposes of determining the balance of tax due date, the Ontario business limit is prorated for taxation years straddling the 2000 to 2004 calendar years based on the number of days in each calendar year. In addition, pursuant to subsection 78(3), where the preceding taxation year is less than 51 weeks, the Ontario business limit is apportioned by multiplying the business limit by the ratio of the number of days in the immediately preceding taxation year to 365. For example, consider a corporation having a preceding taxation year of 91 days ending on November 30, 2001. The relevant Ontario business limit for the preceding taxation year is $66,520 computed as follows:

    [($240,000 × 30/91) + ($280,000 × 61/91 )] × 91/365 = $66,520

Payment Due Dates

  1. If a corporation's preceding taxation year ends on the last day of a calendar month, each monthly tax instalment and the balance of tax payment is due on the last day of the applicable calendar month. Where the corporation's preceding taxation year ends on a day other than the last day of a calendar month, pursuant to clause 78(9)(a), monthly instalment payments and the balance of tax payment are due on the day of the month corresponding to the day of the month on which the previous taxation year ended.
  2. For example, consider a corporation that is not a Canadian-controlled private corporation whose 2001 taxation year ended April 15, 2001. The corporation's monthly instalments for the ensuing taxation year are due on the 15th of each month commencing May 15, 2001. Assuming a 2002 taxation year of 12 months duration, any balance of tax payable for 2002 will be due on June 15, 2002.
  3. If the preceding taxation year ends on the 29th, 30th or 31st day of a month, any monthly instalment payment or balance of tax payment due in February is due on the last day of February.
  4. Pursuant to clause 78(9)(b), twelve monthly instalments are required where the taxation year of the corporation is more than 350 days. The last instalment is required to be paid on or before the last day of the taxation year. For example, if a corporation is required to make monthly instalments and it has successive taxation years ending on December 31, 2000 and December 20, 2001, the 12th monthly instalment for the December 20, 2001 taxation year will be due on December 20, 2001.
  5. When the last day of a month is a non-business day (i.e., Saturday, Sunday or a statutory holiday) the monthly tax instalment is due on the first business day following the non-business day.

Refund of Tax Instalments

  1. Pursuant to subsection 82(2), the Ministry may make a refund of instalments before assessing a corporation's return for the year if a request has been made in writing. The corporation may request a refund of all or part of instalments paid for the year. A request for refund will normally be made in situations where a corporation, having paid instalments for a few months of a year, realizes it has overestimated its tax for the year. The Branch may, in certain situations, require forecast financial statements in support of the request.

Exception: Insurance Exchange

  1. An insurance exchange is defined under subsection 74.4(1) of the CTA as a reciprocal or interinsurance exchange within the meaning of the Insurance Act. An insurance exchange is not required to pay tax instalments. Accordingly, the comments in paragraphs 1 to 24 do not apply to insurance exchanges. Pursuant to subsection 78(11) an insurance exchange is required to remit to the Minister of Finance within two months following the end of its taxation year, the net amount of premiums and deposits paid on account of premiums with respect to individuals and property situate in Ontario that have been collected by the exchange during the taxation year.
 
Page: 493  |

Acomptes provisionnels et versements d'impôt

Bulletin 4007
Date de publication : janvier 2004
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2012
ISBN: 1-4249-1852-9 (PDF)

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : A compter du 1er janvier 2009, l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) administre l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés, l'impôt sur le capital, l'impôt minimum des sociétés, et l'impôt supplémentaire spécial des compagnies d'assurance-vie de l'Ontario.

En conséquence, les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés décrites sur cette page et dans d'autres publications sont applicables qu'aux années d'imposition se terminant le ou avant le 31 décembre 2008.

Pour les années d'imposition commençant le 1er janvier 2009, les dispositions de la Loi de 2007 sur les impôts s'appliquent.

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Références : alinéa 79(8)c), paragraphes 48(3.2), 74.4(1), 78(2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (9), (11) et 82(2), Règlement 183 (article 507)

Application

Ce bulletin expose la politique du ministère, Section de l'imposition des sociétés. Il se veut un guide à l'intention des contribuables et ne vise pas à remplacer les mesures législatives auxquelles il se rapporte. À moins d'indication contraire, toute référence à la loi porte sur les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (Ontario) (LIS) et les règlements afférents.

Ce bulletin remplace certaines parties du Bulletin d'information 4007FR, initialement publié en janvier 2004. Des mises à jour y ont été apportées, qui reflètent les modifications sanctionnées par le règlement 183 de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés, déposées le 8 décembre 2005. Ces modifications s'alignent sur le calcul des acomptes provisionnels en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (fédérale) dans le cas d'une société ayant fait l'objet d'une fusion, d'une liquidation ou d'un roulement, ou lorsqu'une année d'imposition précédente comptait moins de 183 jours. Ces modifications sont entrées en vigueur pour les années d'imposition débutant à compter du 1er janvier 2006.

Introduction

  1. Une société est habituellement tenue de verser des acomptes provisionnels pour les obligations prévues de l'année fiscale en cours. Les exigences relatives aux acomptes et autres versements aux termes de la LIS varient en fonction du type de société et de son obligation fiscale totale. Il est important que les sociétés établissent le montant de leurs acomptes et versements minimaux, le cas échéant, et la date à laquelle elles doivent les remettre. De cette manière, elles n'auront pas à verser d'intérêts ni de pénalités pour des acomptes et des versements tardifs ou insuffisants.

Versements d'impôt

  1. Il faut envoyer les versements d'impôt, à l'ordre du ministre des Finances, à l'adresse suivante :

    Ministère des Finances
    CP 620, 33, rue King Ouest
    Oshawa (Ontario) L1H 8E9
  2. En vertu de l'alinéa 79(3)(a), un montant remis par une société est réputé être payé le jour prescrit par le paragraphe 503(5) du Règlement 183. Ce jour constitue le jour de réception du versement par le ministère ou par son représentant autorisé (soit une banque ou un établissement financier).

Affectation des versements reçus

  1. En vertu du paragraphe 78(7), les versements reçus par le ministère au titre de montants payables par une société pour une année d'imposition donnée sont affectés selon l'ordre de priorité suivant :
    1. à l'impôt payable,
    2. aux pénalités payables,
    3. aux intérêts payables,
    4. à tout autre montant payable aux termes de la LIS.

Acomptes mensuels

  1. Exception faite des sociétés admissibles à l'exonération d'acomptes des petites entreprises (abordée aux paragraphes 12 à 14 du présent bulletin) et des sociétés admissibles aux acomptes trimestriels (abordés au paragraphe 15), toutes les sociétés sont tenues par l'alinéa 78(2)(a) de verser des acomptes mensuels.

    Les sociétés ont trois façons de calculer leurs acomptes, selon le montant qui est le moindre :

    • 1/12 de l'impôt prévu pour l'année d'imposition en cours, ou
    • 1/12 de la première base des acomptes provisionnels, ou
    • pour les deux premiers mois, 1/12 de la deuxième base des acomptes provisionnels, et pour les 10 mois suivants, 1/10 de la différence entre la première base des acomptes provisionnels et le montant versé des deux premiers acomptes provisionnels.

    En général, la première base des acomptes provisionnels correspond à l'impôt à payer pour l'année précédente et la deuxième base des acomptes provisionnels correspond à l'impôt à payer pour l'avant-dernière année d'imposition. Cette règle générale est expliquée plus en détail aux paragraphes 7 à 11 du présent bulletin.

  2. En vertu de l'alinéa 79(8)c), les sociétés peuvent choisir la méthode qui donne le total le moins élevé d'acomptes provisionnels pour une année d'imposition sans encourir d'intérêts. De plus, une société admissible à un crédit d'impôt aux termes des articles 43.2 à 43.13 ou une société de placement à capital variable admissible à un remboursement des gains en capital aux termes de l'article 48 peut réduire le montant des acomptes exigibles pour une année donnée (telles qu'ils ont été calculés au paragraphe 5 du présent bulletin) d'un douzième de tout crédit d'impôt ou de tout remboursement des gains en capital pour cette année-là. Cependant, aux termes du paragraphe 506(6) du Règlement 183, le montant des acomptes provisionnels exigibles par une société pour une année donnée n'est pas recalculé et réduit pour tout report rétrospectif de perte d'une année d'imposition ultérieure.

Calcul des acomptes dans le cas d'une année d'imposition abrégée

  1. Dans le calcul des acomptes provisionnels, tels que décrits au paragraphe 5 du présent bulletin, si l'une des années d'imposition précédentes utilisée dans le calcul des acomptes provisionnels comptait moins de 365 jours, le montant de l'impôt à payer pour telle année doit être majoré afin de refléter celui qui aurait été exigible pour une année complète de 365 jours. Dans le cas des années d'imposition débutant après le 31 décembre 2005, si l'une des années d'imposition précédentes utilisée dans le calcul des acomptes provisionnels comptait moins de 183 jours, l'impôt exigible pour l'année en question est remplacé par le plus élevé des montants suivants :
    • le montant exigible pour l'année, majoré en fonction d'une année complète de 365 jours; et
    • le montant exigible pour la dernière année précédente dépassant 182 jours, majoré afin de refléter celui qui aurait été exigible pour une année complète de 365 jours.

Réorganisations

  1. Fusions

    Une société formée à la suite d'une fusion est tenue de verser des acomptes provisionnels à compter de sa première année d'imposition. Dans le calcul de ses acomptes provisionnels, l'impôt cumulatif versé au cours de la dernière année d'imposition par les sociétés remplacées sera traité comme la première base des acomptes provisionnels de la nouvelle société. L'impôt cumulatif de l'avant-dernière année d'imposition des sociétés remplacées sera traité comme la deuxième base des acomptes provisionnels de la nouvelle société.

  2. Liquidations

    Dans le cas des années d'imposition débutant le ou après le 1er janvier 2006, lorsqu'une société est liquidée et intégrée à une société mère et que les dispositions du paragraphe 88 (1) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (fédérale) s'appliquent, la société mère doit, outre ses propres bases des acomptes provisionnels, inclure celles de sa filiale.

  3. Roulements

    Lorsque la totalité ou la quasi-totalité des biens d'une société a été cédée à une société liée et que les dispositions des paragraphes 85 (1) ou (2) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (fédérale) s'appliquent, la société cessionnaire doit tenir compte des bases des acomptes provisionnels de la société cédante.

  4. Réorganisations et années d'imposition abrégées

    Lorsque l'une ou l'autre des années d'imposition précédentes de la société remplacée, mère ou cédante est une année abrégée, les règles décrites au paragraphe 7 du présent bulletin s'appliquent. Ces règles s'appliquent également au calcul des bases des acomptes provisionnels de la société remplaçante, mère ou cessionnaire.

Exonération de versement d'acomptes

  1. Aux termes du paragraphe 78(4), une société dont l'impôt payable pour l'année d'imposition ou l'année d'imposition précédente est inférieur à 2 000 $, n'est pas tenue de verser des acomptes mensuels. Tel qu'il est expliqué au paragraphe 17, elle n'est tenue de verser la totalité de son obligation fiscale pour l'année d'imposition que dans les deux à trois mois qui suivent la fin de son année d'imposition.
  2. Pour déterminer si une société est admissible à l'exonération de versement d'acomptes, il faut calculer l'impôt payable pour l'année d'imposition, déduction faite de tout crédit d'impôt aux termes des paragraphes 43.2 à 43.13 (crédit d'impôt au titre d'une fiducie de restauration minière et crédits d'impôt remboursables déterminés) ou, si la société est une société de placement à capital variable, déduction faite de tout remboursement de gains en capital pour l'année. L'impôt payable pour l'année d'imposition qui précédait immédiatement celle-ci est calculée, déduction faite de tout crédit d'impôt au titre d'une fiducie de restauration minière et, dans le cas d'une société de placement à capital variable, déduction faite de tout remboursement de gains en capital pour l'année d'imposition en question.
  3. Les sociétés qui versent de l'impôt pour la première fois, autres que les sociétés issues d'une fusion, n'ont pas d'impôt payable pour une année d'imposition antérieure. Par conséquent, ces sociétés ne sont pas tenues de verser des acomptes mensuels et peuvent donc, tel qu'il est expliqué au paragraphe 17 du présent bulletin, verser la totalité de l'impôt pour l'année d'imposition dans les deux à trois mois qui suivent la fin de leur première année d'imposition.

Versements trimestriels

  1. Pour les années d'imposition qui débutent après le 31 décembre 2001, toute société dont l'impôt payable pour l'année d'imposition en cours ou précédente est de 2 000 $ mais inférieur à 10 000 $, peut calculer et remettre ses versements d'acomptes sur une base trimestrielle.

Solde d'impôt exigible

  1. Lorsque l'obligation fiscale réelle d'une année d'imposition donnée dépasse les versements d'acomptes aux termes de l'alinéa 78(2)(a), on appelle la différence le « solde d'impôt exigible ».
  2. Le solde d'impôt exigible doit être versé au plus tard le dernier jour du :
    • troisième mois qui suit la fin de l'année d'imposition si la société répondait à tous les critères suivants :
      • elle était une société privée sous contrôle canadien tout au long de l'année d'imposition;
      • son revenu imposable de l'année d'imposition précédente ne dépassait pas le « plafond des affaires au titre de l'Ontario » (décrit aux paragraphes 18 et 19); ou
    • deuxième mois qui suit la fin de l'année d'imposition de la société, pour toutes les autres sociétés.
  3. Aux termes du paragraphe 41(3.2), à compter du 1er janvier 2001, le montant du « plafond des affaires au titre de l'Ontario » a été augmenté de 200 000 $ à 400 000 $. Le tableau suivant donne le montant du « plafond des affaires au titre de l'Ontario » tout au long de la période d'augmentation :
    Pour la tranche de l'année d'imposition qui se termine Plafond des affaires au titre de l'Ontario
    en 2000 ou avant cette date 200 000 $
    après le 31 décembre 2000 et avant le 1er octobre 2001 240 000 $
    après le 30 septembre 2001 et avant le 1er janvier 2003 280 000 $
    en 2003 320 000 $
    en 2004 et suivant 400 000 $
  4. Pour déterminer la date de versement du solde d'impôt exigible, le plafond des affaires au titre de l'Ontario est calculé au prorata pour les années d'imposition chevauchant les années civiles de 2000 à 2004, en fonction du nombre de jours dans chaque année civile. De plus, aux termes du paragraphe 78(3), lorsque l'année d'imposition précédente est de moins de 51 semaines, le plafond des affaires au titre de l'Ontario est réparti en multipliant le plafond des affaires par le coefficient du nombre de jours de l'année d'imposition précédente par rapport à 365. Prenons par exemple une société dont l'année d'imposition précédente comptait 91 jours et se terminait le 30 novembre 2001. Le plafond des affaires au titre de l'Ontario pour l'année d'imposition précédente est de 66 520 $ et est calculé comme suit :

    [(240 000 $ × 30/91) + (280 000 $ × 61/91 )] × 91/365 = 66 520 $

Date d'échéance des paiements

  1. Lorsque l'année d'imposition précédente d'une société se termine le dernier jour d'un mois civil, chaque versement mensuel d'acomptes et le solde d'impôt doivent être remis le dernier jour du mois civil en question. Lorsque l'année d'imposition précédente de la société se termine un autre jour que le dernier jour d'un mois civil, aux termes de l'alinéa 78(9)a), les versements mensuels d'acomptes et le solde d'impôt doivent être remis le jour du mois qui correspond au jour du mois où prenait fin l'année d'imposition précédente.
  2. Prenons à titre d'exemple une société qui n'est pas une société privée sous contrôle canadien et dont l'année d'imposition 2001 prenait fin le 15 avril 2001. Les versements d'acomptes mensuels pour l'année d'imposition suivante doivent être remis le 15 du mois, à compter du 15 mai 2001. En partant de l'hypothèse que l'année d'imposition 2002 aura 12 mois, tout solde d'impôt exigible pour l'année 2002 devra être remis le 15 juin 2002.
  3. Lorsque l'année d'imposition précédente tombe le 29, le 30 ou le 31 du mois, le versement mensuel d'acompte ou le solde d'impôt exigible en février doit être remis le dernier jour de février.
  4. Aux termes de l'alinéa 78(9)b), il faut remettre 12 acomptes mensuels lorsque l'année d'imposition de la société compte plus de 350 jours. Le dernier versement doit être remis au plus tard le dernier jour de l'année d'imposition. Ainsi, lorsqu'une société est tenue de verser des acomptes mensuels et que ses années d'imposition se terminaient respectivement le 31 décembre 2000 et le 20 décembre 2001, le 12e acompte mensuel de l'année d'imposition se terminant le 20 décembre 2001 devra être versé le 20 décembre 2001 au plus tard.
  5. Lorsque le dernier jour du mois tombe un jour qui n'est pas ouvrable (soit un samedi, un dimanche ou un jour férié), l'acompte mensuel d'impôt doit être remis le premier jour ouvrable suivant le jour non ouvrable.

Remboursement des acomptes provisionnels

  1. Aux termes du paragraphe 82(2), le ministère peut faire un remboursement des acomptes provisionnels avant d'établir la cotisation de la société pour l'année lorsque cette dernière en fait la demande par écrit. Elle peut demander un remboursement de la totalité, ou d'une partie, des acomptes versés pendant l'année. Elle peut habituellement présenter une demande de remboursement dans les situations où, après avoir versé plusieurs acomptes, elle réalise qu'elle a surestimé ses impôts pour l'année. Le ministère pourra exiger, dans certaines situations, des états financiers prévisionnels à l'appui de la demande.

Exception : bourse d'assurance

  1. Une bourse d'assurance, aux termes du paragraphe 74.4(1) de la LIS, est une bourse d'assurance réciproque ou d'interassurance au sens de la Loi sur les assurances. Une bourse d'assurance n'est pas tenue de verser des acomptes provisionnels. Par conséquent, les commentaires des paragraphes 1 à 24 du présent bulletin ne s'appliquent pas aux bourses d'assurance. Aux termes du paragraphe 78(11), une bourse d'assurance est tenue de verser au ministre des Finances, dans les deux mois qui suivent la fin de son année d'imposition, le montant net des primes et des dépôts versés sur les primes à l'égard de particuliers et de biens-fonds établis en Ontario, et qui ont été perçus par la bourse au cours de l'année d'imposition.
 
Page : 493  |