General Adjustments to Ontario Income Tax Payable

Bulletin 4008
Published: November 2004
Content last reviewed: September 2012
ISBN: 0-7794-2695-9 (PDF)

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: Effective January 1, 2009, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) administers Ontario's corporate income tax, capital tax, corporate minimum tax, and the special additional tax on life insurers.

As a result, the Corporations Tax Act provisions described on this page and in other publications are only applicable to taxation years ending December 31, 2008 and prior.

For taxation years beginning January 1, 2009, the Taxation Act rules apply.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

References: Sections 41, 41.1, 43 and subsection 51(4)


This bulletin replaces portions of Information Bulletins 2748 and 2738 originally published October 1994 and February 1986, respectively.

The bulletin is provided as a guide to taxpayers and is not intended as a substitute for the relevant legislation. Any references to legislation are to the provisions of the Corporations Tax Act (Ontario) (CTA) and its Regulations, unless otherwise noted.


  1. Ontario offers various tax incentives to different types of corporations in order to encourage and promote certain specific economic activities within the province. While some of these incentives are deductions from income (e.g., the Ontario current cost adjustment for pollution control equipment), most are in the form of tax credits against Ontario income tax payable. This bulletin describes some general tax credits offered to broad categories of corporations.

Incentive Deduction for Small Business Corporations (IDSBC)

IDSBC - Section 41

  1. It is generally recognized that small, private corporations do not have the same access to capital markets that large, public corporations do. Therefore, in order to assist small corporations to retain their capital, section 41 offers the IDSBC to "Canadian-controlled private corporations" (CCPCs).


  1. Though structured as a deduction from income tax payable, the impact of the IDSBC is to effectively reduce the income tax rate of a CCPC, on its active business income, thereby allowing the corporation to retain a larger portion of its income for business expansion purposes. The IDSBC applies only to income below the minimum threshold amount, as shown in Table 2.

IDSBC Rates - Table 1

  1. Table 1 shows the general income tax and the IDSBC rates for 2001 to 2004:

    Applicable Period (*) General Income Tax IDSBC Rates Net CCPC Income Tax
    January 1, 2001 and before October 1, 2001 14.0% 7.5% 6.5%
    After September 30, 2001 and before January 1, 2003 12.5% 6.5% 6.0%
    2003 calendar year 12.5% 7.0% 5.5%
    2004 and thereafter 14.0% 8.5% 5.5%

    (*) For taxation years straddling these dates, the general income tax and IDSBC rates are pro-rated on a daily basis.

Surtax on CCPC's

Surtax - Section 41.1

  1. Section 41.1 imposes a surtax to claw back the low tax rate benefit of the IDSBC from more profitable CCPCs. The surtax equals a specified percentage of the excess of a corporation's taxable income over the minimum threshold amount, not exceeding the IDSBC claimed. The IDSBC will be fully clawed back whenever taxable income reaches the maximum threshold amount. These thresholds and rates are shown in Table 2.

Associated Corporations

  1. When a CCPC is a member of an associated group of corporations, the taxable incomes of all of those corporations must be considered in calculating the surtax payable. This measure prevents the group from effectively "splitting" its collective taxable income amongst all of the group members with each one benefiting from the full IDSBC rate.

Associated Group Limits - Amounts Included

  1. Under subsection 41.1(1), the income threshold limits for surtax purposes include the taxable income of each associated corporation for the last taxation year which ends on or before the last day of the corporation's taxation year. Under paragraph 41.1(2)3, where an associated corporation has more than one taxation year ending within the corporation's taxation year, the total amount of the taxable income for each of those taxation years is prorated by the ratio of 365 to the total number of days in those taxation years.

Short Taxation Years

  1. Pursuant to paragraph 41.1(2)1, where the taxation year of a corporation or an associated corporation is less than 51 weeks, the taxable income of those years must be multiplied by the ratio of 365 to the number of days in the taxation year, in order to consider the income on an annualized basis.

Surtax Rates and Income Threshold Limits - Table 2

  1. Table 2 shows the threshold amounts and the surtax rates for the years 2001 to 2004:

    Applicable Period (*) Threshold Amounts (*) Surtax Rates
      Minimum Maximum  
    January 1, 2001 and before October 1, 2001 $ 240,000 $ 600,000 5.000%
    After September 30, 2001 and before January 1, 2003 $ 280,000 $ 700,000 4.333%
    2003 calendar year $ 320,000 $ 800,000 4.667%
    2004 and thereafter $ 400,000 $ 1,128,519 4.667%

    (*) For taxation years straddling these dates, the threshold amounts and surtax rates are pro-rated on a daily basis.

Surtax Formula

  1. The surtax is determined by the following formula:

    S = R × A × B / T, where

    is the amount of surtax payable for the taxation year,
    is the surtax rate per Table 2,
    is the amount subject to surtax (which cannot be less than nil), calculated as:
    • the taxable income of the corporation for the taxation year, plus
    • the taxable income of each corporation with which the corporation was associated at any time during the taxation year, minus
    • T,
    is the least of amounts determined under paragraphs 125(1)(a), (b) and (c) of the Income Tax Act (Canada) (ITA) for the taxation year, for the purpose of the federal small business deduction, multiplied by the Ontario small business allocation factor. The Ontario small business allocation factor, as defined in subsection 41(4), is the ratio that the corporation's taxable income earned in Ontario is to the total amount of taxable income earned in provinces of Canada, and
    is the minimum Threshold Amount per Table 2.

Surtax Example

  1. Consider the following facts for a small business corporation:

    1. Ontario taxable income = $350,000
    2. Taxable income of associated corporation = $ 75,000
    3. Canadian active business income (paragraph 125(1)(a) of the ITA) = $ 300,000
    4. Federal taxable income, less adjustment for foreign tax credit (paragraph 125(1)(b) of the ITA) = $ 350,000
    5. Business limit for the year (subsection 41(3.2) of the CTA) = $ 280,000
    6. Ontario small business allocation factor (subsection 41(4) of the CTA) = 75%
    7. Year end is December 31, 2002
    IDSBC claim allowed  
    (75% × $280,000*) × 6.5% = $210,000 × 6.5% = $ 13,650
    * the least of (c), (d) and (e), above  
    Calculation of surtax  
    Ontario taxable income $ 350,000
    Add: Taxable income of associated corporation 75,000
    Aggregate of taxable incomes 425,000
    Less: Low threshold of Business Limit for 2002 280,000
    Difference: Amount subject to surtax $ 145,000
    S = 4.333% × $145,000 × $210,000/$280,000 = $ 4,712

Manufacturing and Processing Profits Credit (M&P)

M&P Credit - Section 43

  1. All corporations actively engaged in certain qualifying business activities in Canada, are eligible to claim the M&P tax credit against income tax otherwise payable. These activities include manufacturing and processing (as referred to in section 125.1 of the ITA and regulation 5202 of the ITA), as well as farming, fishing, logging, and mining (all as referred to in subsection 505(3) of Regulation 183 of the CTA). The credit is calculated by multiplying the applicable M&P credit rate (shown in Table 3, below) times the lesser of:

    • the amount of Eligible Canadian Profits (ECP) that exceeds its "Adjusted Ontario small business income", and
    • adjusted taxable income.

M&P Credit Table 3

  1. Table 3 shows the general income tax rate and M&P credit rate for 2001 to 2004.

    Applicable Period (*) General Income Tax M&P Credit Rate Net Income Tax Rate
    January 1, 2001 and before October 1, 2001 14.0% 2.0% 12.0%
    After September 30, 2001 and before January 1, 2004 12.5% 1.5% 11.0%
    2004 and thereafter 14.0% 2.0% 12.0%

    (*) For taxation years straddling these dates, the general income tax and M&P credit rates are pro-rated on a daily basis.

Eligible Canadian Profits (ECP)

  1. For each type of qualifying active business listed in paragraph 12, above, its ECP are determined by the following formula:

    ECP = MC + M L × ADJUBI , where
            C + L
    is "adjusted business income"
    is "cost of capital"
    is "cost of labour"
    is "cost of manufacturing and processing capital"
    is "cost of manufacturing and processing labour"

    All of these terms are defined in Regulation 5202 of the ITA, but are modified for farming, fishing, logging and mining under section 505 of Regulation 183 of the CTA. ADJUBI is calculated per the federal definition, however using relevant Ontario amounts, where they differ from the corresponding federal values, in the computation of active business income.

Small M&P Active Business Income

  1. Where a corporation has active business income, from non-M&P sources, which does not exceed 20% of its total active business income and that total does not exceed $ 250,000, then all of the corporation's active business income will qualify as ECP, by virtue of subsection 505(2) of Regulation 183. This provision is made to reduce the administrative requirements of small manufacturing corporations in making their M&P claims.

Adjusted Ontario Small Business Income

  1. Adjusted Ontario small business income is defined in subsection 43(4). It can generally be described as the amount of income on which the IDSBC has been claimed, but not clawed back by the surtax on CCPCs.

Adjusted Taxable Income

  1. For purposes of eligibility for the M&P Profits Credit, discussed in paragraph 12, above, "adjusted taxable income" is the maximum income eligible for the credit. It is computed as Ontario taxable income less:

    • Adjusted Ontario small business income
    • the portion of taxable income earned in a foreign jurisdiction, and
    • the excess of investment income over net capital losses.

Additional Tax Deduction for Credit Unions

Additional Deduction - Subsection 51(4)

  1. Subsection 51(4) allows credit unions a special deduction from income tax otherwise payable, designed to reduce their overall income tax rate to the same net rate paid by small business corporations which claim the IDSBC. This additional deduction from tax is calculated using the following formula:

    R × (T - A), where

    is the IDSBC rate per Table 1, (except that the 7.5% rate is effective from May 1, 2000, not January 1, 2001)

    is the lesser of

    • taxable income, and
    • 4/3 of its "maximum cumulative reserve" at the year-end, less its "preferred rate amount" for the preceding taxation year. (These terms are defined in section 137 of the ITA.), and
    is the "Adjusted Ontario small business income"
Page: 480  |

Redressements généraux de l'impôt ontarien sur le revenu à payer

Bulletin 4008
Date de publication : novembre 2004
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2012
ISBN: 0-7794-2705-X (PDF)

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : A compter du 1er janvier 2009, l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) administre l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés, l'impôt sur le capital, l'impôt minimum des sociétés, et l'impôt supplémentaire spécial des compagnies d'assurance-vie de l'Ontario.

En conséquence, les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés décrites sur cette page et dans d'autres publications sont applicables qu'aux années d'imposition se terminant le ou avant le 31 décembre 2008.

Pour les années d'imposition commençant le 1er janvier 2009, les dispositions de la Loi de 2007 sur les impôts s'appliquent.

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Références : articles 41, 41.1 et 43, et paragraphe 51(4)

Application

Le présent bulletin remplace les Bulletins d'information 2748 et 2738, publiés pour la première fois en octobre 1994 et en février 1986, respectivement.

Ce bulletin se veut un guide pour les contribuables et ne vise pas à remplacer les mesures législatives auxquelles il se rapporte. À moins d'indication contraire, toute mention d'un texte de loi renvoie aux dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (Ontario) (LIS) et des règlements pris en application de celle-ci.

Introduction

  1. L'Ontario offre des incitatifs fiscaux à diverses catégories de société pour favoriser et promouvoir certaines activités économiques dans la province. Bien que certains de ces incitatifs soient offerts sous forme de déduction du revenu (p.ex. le redressement ontarien en fonction du coût de remplacement actuel du matériel antipollution), la plupart sont des crédits d'impôt à déduire de l'impôt ontarien à payer. Le présent bulletin décrit quelques crédits d'impôt généraux offerts à diverses grandes catégories de sociétés.

Déduction d'encouragement accordée aux petites entreprises (DEPE)

DEPE - article 41

  1. On admet généralement que les petites entreprises privées n'ont pas le même accès que les grandes sociétés publiques aux marchés financiers. Par conséquent, et pour aider les petites entreprises à conserver leur capital, l'article 41 offre la DEPE aux « sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien » (SPCC).
  2. Bien qu'elle soit structurée comme une déduction de l'impôt à payer sur le revenu, la DEPE vise sentiellement à réduire le taux d'imposition d'une SPCC sur son revenu tiré d'une entreprise exploitée activement, et permet donc à une société de conserver une plus grande part de son revenu aux fins d'expansion commerciale.

Taux de la DEPE - tableau 1

  1. Le tableau 1 donne le taux général d'imposition et le taux de la DEPE pour les années 2001 à 2004 :
Période d'application (*) Taux d'imposition général Taux de la DEPE Taux d'imposition net des SPCC
À partir du 1er janvier 2001 et avant le 11er octobre 2001 14 % 7,5 % 6,5 %
Après le 30 septembre 2001 et avant le 1er janvier 2003 12,5 % 6,5 % 6,0 %
Année civile 2003 12,5 % 7,0 % 5,5 %
2004 et par la suite 14 % 8,5 % 5,5 %

(*) Pour les années d'imposition qui chevauchent ces dates, le taux d'imposition général et le taux de la DEPE sont au prorata quotidiennement.

Surtaxe des SPCC

Surtaxe - article 41.1

  1. L'article 41.1 impose une surtaxe qui récupère l'avantage du taux d'imposition conféré par la DEPE auprès des SPCC aux bénéfices élevés. La surtaxe est équivalente à un pourcentage donné de l'excédent du revenu imposable d'une société qui dépasse le seuil minimum, sans dépasser le montant de la DEPE demandée. La DEPE sera entièrement récupérée une fois que le revenu imposable atteint le seuil maximum. Les seuils et les taux figurent au tableau 2.

Sociétés associées

  1. Lorsqu'une SPCC est membre d'un groupe de sociétés associées, il faut tenir compte du revenu imposable de toutes ces sociétés dans le calcul de la surtaxe payable. Cette mesure vise à empêcher le groupe de « diviser » son revenu imposable collectif entre tous les membres du groupe, et de permettre à chacune des sociétés de profiter du taux maximum de la DEPE.

Plafond des groupes associés montants inclus

  1. Aux termes du paragraphe 41.1(1), la limite du seuil de revenu aux fins de la surtaxe englobe le revenu imposable de chaque société associée, pour la dernière année d'imposition qui s'est terminée au plus tard le dernier jour de l'année d'imposition de la société. Aux termes de l'alinéa 41.1(2)3, lorsque la société associée comptait plus d'une année d'imposition qui s'est terminée durant l'année d'imposition de la société, le montant total du revenu imposable de chacune de ces années d'imposition est calculé au prorata, de 365 par rapport au nombre total de jours dans chacune de ces années d'imposition.

Années d'imposition abrégées

  1. Aux termes de l'alinéa 41.1(2)1, lorsque l'année d'imposition de la société ou de la société associée compte moins de 51 semaines, le revenu imposable de ces années d'imposition doit être multiplié par le rapport entre 365 et le nombre de jours compris dans l'année d'imposition, de manière à tenir compte du revenu selon un montant annualisé.

Taux de urtaxe et seuils de revenu - tableau 2

  1. Le tableau 2 donne le montant des seuils et le taux de surtaxe pour les années 2001à 2004 :
Periode d'application (*) Seuil (*) Taux de surtaxe
  Minimum Maximum  
À partir du 1er janvier 2001 et avant le 1er octobre 2001 240 000 $ 600 000 $ 5 %
Après le 30 septembre 2001 et avant le 1er janvier 2003 280 000 $ 700 000 $ 4,333 %
Année civile 2003 320 000 $ 800 000 $ 4,667 %
2004 et par la suite 400 000 $ 1 128 519 $ 4,667 %

(*) Pour les années d'imposition qui chevauchent ces dates, le montant du seuil et le taux de surtaxe sont calculés au prorata quotidiennement.

Formule de surtaxe

  1. La surtaxe est calculée selon la formule suivante :

    S = R × A × B / T, où
S
est le montant de la surtaxe à payer pour l'année d'imposition
R
est le taux de surtaxe conformément au tableau 2
A
est le montant visé par la surtaxe (qui ne peut être un montant négatif), calculé comme suit :
  • le revenu imposable de la société pour l'année d'imposition, plus
  • le revenu imposable de chaque société à laquelle la société était associée durant l'année d'imposition, moins
  • T
B
est le moindre des montants établis en vertu des alinéas 125(1)a), b) et c) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) (LIR) pour l'année d'imposition, aux fins de la déduction fédérale accordée aux petites entreprises, multiplié par le coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario pour les petites entreprises. Le coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario pour les petites entreprises, tel qu'il est défini au paragraphe 1(4), est la fraction que constitue la partie du revenu imposable gagné en Ontario par la société par rapport au total du revenu imposable gagné dans toutes les provinces canadiennes
T
est le montant du seuil minimum conformément au tableau 2.

Exemple de calcul de la surtaxe

  1. Prenons les montants suivants pour une petite entreprise :
  1. revenu imposable en Ontario = 350 000 $
  2. revenu imposable d'une société associée = 75 000 $
  3. revenu canadien d'une entreprise exploitée activement (alinéa 125(1)a) de la LIR) = 300 000 $
  4. revenu imposable au niveau fédéral, déduction faite du crédit pour impôt étranger (alinéa
    125(1)b) de la LIR) = 350 000 $
  5. limite commerciale pour l'année (paragraphe 41(3.2) de la LIS)) = 280 000 $
  6. coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario pour les petites entreprises (paragraphe 41(4) de la LIS) = 75 %
  7. l'année d'imposition prend fin le 31 décembre 2002.
Montant de la DEPE autorisé  
(75 % × 280 000 $*) × 6,5 % = 210 000 $ × 6,5 % = 13 650 $
* le moindre des montants c), d) et e) ci-dessus.  
Calcul de la surtaxe  
Revenu imposable en Ontario 350 000 $
Plus : revenu imposable de la société associée 75 000 $
Total du revenu imposable 425 000 $
Moins : seuil inférieur du plafond commercial en 2002 280 000 $
Écart : montant visé par la surtaxe 145 000 $
SURTAXE À PAYER :  
S = 4,333 % × 145 000 $ × 210 000 $/280 000 $ = 4 712 $
 

Crédit pour bénéfices de fabrication et de transformation (F et T)

Crédit F et T article 43

  1. Toutes les sociétés qui exploitent activement une entreprise admissible au Canada sont autorisées à demander le crédit pour bénéfices de fabrication et de transformation en déduction du revenu imposable qui serait payable par ailleurs. Ce crédit s'applique aux activités de fabrication et de transformation (telles qu'elles sont mentionnées à l'article 125.1 de la LIR et dans le Règlement 5202 pris en application de la LIR), ainsi qu'aux activités agricoles, de pêche, d'exploitation forestière et minière (telles qu'elles sont mentionnées au paragraphe 505(3) du Règlement 183 pris en application de la LIS). On calcule ce crédit en multipliant le taux de crédit F et T (donné au tableau 3 ci-dessous) par le moindre des deux montants suivants :
  • le montant des bénéfices canadiens admissibles (BCA) qui dépasse le « montant redressé du revenu ontarien tiré d'une petite entreprise »
  • le revenu imposable modifié.

Crédit F et T - tableau 3

  1. Le tableau 3 donne le taux général d'imposition et le taux du crédit F et T pour les années 2001 à 2004 :
Période d'application (*) Taux d'imposition général Taux du Crédit F et T Taux d'imposition Net
À partir du 1er janvier 2001 et avant le 1er octobre 2001 14,0 % 2,0 % 12,0 %
Après le 30 septembre 2001 et avant le 1er janvier 2004 12,5 % 1,5 % 11,0 %
Année civile 2004 et par la suite 14,0 % 2,0 % 12,0 %

(*) Pour les années d'imposition qui chevauchent ces dates, le taux de surtaxe est calculé au prorata quotidiennement.

Bénéfices canadiens admissibles (BCA)

  1. Pour chaque type d'entreprise en exploitation admissible qui est mentionnée au paragraphe 12, les BCA sont calculés à l'aide de la formule suivante :
BCA = MC + M L × ADJUBI , où
      C + L
ADJUBI
est le « revenu rajusté tiré d'une entreprise »
C
est le « coût du capital »
L
est le « coût de la main-d'oeuvre »
MC
est le « coût du capital de fabrication et de transformation »
ML
est le « coût de la main-d'oeuvre de fabrication et de transformation ».

Tous ces termes sont définis dans le Règlement 5202 de la LIR, mais ils sont modifiés pour les activités agricoles, de pêche, et d'exploitation forestière et minière en vertu de l'article 505 du Règlement 183 pris en application de la LIS. Le revenu rajusté d'une entreprise est calculé selon la définition fédérale, mais on utilise pour le calculer les montants ontariens pertinents, lorsqu'ils sont différents des valeurs fédérales correspondantes.

Revenu de moindre taille tiré d'une entreprise de F et T exploitée activement

  1. Lorsqu'une société comprend un revenu d'une entreprise exploitée activement provenant de sources qui ne sont pas de fabrication ou de transformation, mais que ce revenu ne dépasse pas 20 % du revenu total tiré d'une entreprise exploitée activement, et que ce total ne dépasse pas 250 000 $, tout le revenu de la société tiré d'une entreprise exploitée activement sera admissible aux BCA, en vertu du paragraphe 505(2) du Règlement 183. Cette disposition est prise pour réduire les formalités administratives des petites sociétés de fabrication qui demandent un crédit F et T.

Revenu ajusté tiré d'une petite entreprise exploitée en Ontario

  1. Le revenu rajusté tiré d'une petite entreprise exploitée en Ontario est défini au paragraphe 43(4). De manière générale, il représente le montant de revenu sur lequel se fonde la DEPE, mais qui n'est pas récupéré par la surtaxe des SPCC.

Revenu imposable modifié

  1. Aux fins d'admissibilité du crédit pour bénéfices de fabrication et de transformation, abordé au paragraphe 12 plus haut, le « revenu imposable modifié » représente le revenu maximum admissible au crédit. Il est calculé en prenant le revenu imposable en Ontario, déduction faite des montants suivants :
  • le montant redressé du revenu ontarien tiré d'une petite entreprise,
  • la part du revenu imposable gagné dans un territoire étranger,
  • l'excédent du revenu de placements sur les pertes en capital nettes.

Déduction d'impôt supplémentaire pour les caisses populaires

Déduction supplémentaire - paragraphe 51(4)

  1. En vertu du paragraphe 51(4), les caisses populaires ont droit à une déduction spéciale de l'impôt payable par ailleurs, qui vise à ramener leur taux d'imposition global au même taux net que les petites entreprises qui demandent la DEPE. Cette déduction supplémentaire est calculée comme suit :

    R × (T - A), où

R
est le taux de DEPE conformément au tableau 1 (à cette exception près que le taux de 7,5 % est en vigueur à compter du 1er mai 2000 et non du 1er janvier 2001)
T

est le moindre des montants suivants :

  • le revenu imposable
  • les 4/3 de sa « réserve cumulative maximale » à la fin de l'année, moins le « montant imposable à taux réduit » de l'année d'imposition précédente (ces termes sont définis à l'article 137 de la LIR),
A
est le « revenu rajusté tiré d'une petite entreprise exploitée en Ontario ».
 
Page : 480  |