Limited Liability Companies

Bulletin 4009
Published: March 2004
Content last reviewed: September 2012
ISBN: 0-7794-3339-4 (PDF)

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: Effective January 1, 2009, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) administers Ontario's corporate income tax, capital tax, corporate minimum tax, and the special additional tax on life insurers.

As a result, the Corporations Tax Act provisions described on this page and in other publications are only applicable to taxation years ending December 31, 2008 and prior.

For taxation years beginning January 1, 2009, the Taxation Act rules apply.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.


This bulletin replaces Information Bulletin Number 2753 originally published April 1997.

The bulletin sets out the policy of the Corporations Tax Branch (Branch) regarding the status of a U.S. limited liability company (LLC) for the purposes of the Corporations Tax Act (Ontario) (CTA). It is important to determine the status of an LLC because the application of many of the provisions of the CTA is dependent on the classification of an entity (i.e., corporation, partnership).


  1. An LLC is an unincorporated organization, created under the laws of a particular state of the United States, that can generally offer its members the features and benefits of both a corporation (e.g., separate legal personality, limited liability to its members, etc.) and a partnership (e.g., flow-through taxation for U.S. tax purposes where the LLC is treated as a partnership under the Internal Revenue Code).

Corporation Versus Partnership

  1. For Canadian taxation purposes, the distinction between a corporation and a partnership is an important one. A corporation is a separate, taxable legal entity, whereas in the case of a partnership, it is generally the individual partners who are subject to tax, not the partnership itself.

"Corporation" for Federal Tax Purposes

  1. Federal Interpretation Bulletin IT-343R, issued by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), describes a corporation as an entity created by law, having a legal personality and existence separate and distinct from the personality and existence of those who caused its creation or those who own it. Where an entity has such a separate identity and existence, the CRA will consider it to be a corporation for taxation purposes under the Income Tax Act (Canada) (ITA).

State LLCs Considered as Corporations

  1. Based on the description of a corporation in paragraph 3, the CRA has reviewed the following statutes, and has determined that LLCs formed thereunder are to be treated as corporations for purposes of the ITA:

    Delaware (*)
    Chapter 18, subtitle II of Tier 6 of the laws of Delaware

    Florida Limited Liability Company Act

    Indiana Business Flexibility Act

    Chapter 275 Limited Liability Companies (known and cited
    as the "Kentucky Limited Liability Company Act").

    Michigan Limited Liability Company Act

    New Hampshire
    New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated, Chapter 304C

    New York
    Chapter 34 of the Consolidated Laws of New York (1994)
    (known and cited as the "New York Limited Liability Company Law")

    Section 1705 of the Ohio Revised Code

    Oregon Revised Statutes, Chapter 63

    Tennessee Limited Liability Company Act

    Texas Limited Liability Company Act

    Wyoming Limited Liability Company Act

    (*) Except partnerships formed under the Delaware Revised Uniform Partnership Act. The CRA considers such entities to be partnerships for Canadian tax purposes.

Ontario Treatment of LLCs

  1. The CTA parallels the ITA in its definition of a corporation. It has also been the practice of the Branch to follow federal interpretation bulletins in cases where the CTA parallels the ITA.
  2. It is therefore the position of the Branch to treat LLCs formed under the statutes of those states mentioned in paragraph 4, as corporations for the purposes of the CTA. Several other jurisdictions now have legislation or proposed legislation designed to form LLCs based on one of the models in the above-noted states. Based on the current legislation, the Branch will continue to follow any further determinations made by the CRA relating to the status of an LLC for the purposes of the ITA.
Page: 485  |

Sociétés par actions à responsabilité limitée

Bulletin d'information 4009FR
Bulletin 4009
Date de publication : mars 2004
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2012
ISBN: 0-7794-3341-6 (PDF)

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : A compter du 1er janvier 2009, l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) administre l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés, l'impôt sur le capital, l'impôt minimum des sociétés, et l'impôt supplémentaire spécial des compagnies d'assurance-vie de l'Ontario.

En conséquence, les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés décrites sur cette page et dans d'autres publications sont applicables qu'aux années d'imposition se terminant le ou avant le 31 décembre 2008.

Pour les années d'imposition commençant le 1er janvier 2009, les dispositions de la Loi de 2007 sur les impôts s'appliquent.

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Application

Le présent bulletin remplace le bulletin d'information numéro 2753 publié en avril 1997.

Il expose la politique du ministère, Section de l'imposition des sociétés concernant le statut d'une société par actions à responsabilité limitée (SARL) des É.-U. aux fins de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (Ontario). Il importe de déterminer le statut d'une SARL car l'application de nombreuses dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (Ontario) dépend de la classification d'une société (c.-à-d. société, société de personnes).

Introduction

  1. Une SARL est une organisation non constituée en personne morale, créée en vertu des lois d'un état des États-Unis, et qui offre généralement à ses membres les caractéristiques et avantages d'une société (par ex., personnalité juridique distincte, responsabilité limitée envers ses membres, etc.) et aussi d'une société de personnes (par ex. impôts exigibles aux fins de l'imposition aux É.-U. lorsque la SARL est traitée en tant que société de personnes en vertu du code des taxes intérieures).

Société versus société de personnes

  1. Aux fins du régime d'imposition canadien, il existe une distinction importante entre une société et une société de personnes. Une société est une personne morale distincte, imposable, alors que dans le cas d'une société de personnes, ce sont généralement les associés, individuellement, qui sont assujettis à l'impôt et non la société elle-même.

« Société » aux fins de l'impôt fédéral

  1. Le bulletin d'interprétation fédéral IT-343R, publié par l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC), décrit une société comme une entité créée en vertu de la loi, possédant une personnalité juridique et une existence séparée et distincte de la personnalité et de l'existence de ceux et celles qui en ont causé la création ou qui en sont propriétaires. Lorsqu'une entité jouit d'une telle identité et existence distinctes, l'ARC considère qu'il s'agit d'une société aux fins d'impôt en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) (ITA).

SARL considérées comme des sociétés

  1. Selon la description d'une société au paragraphe 3, l'ARC a examiné les lois suivantes et a établi que les SARL formées en vertu desdites lois doivent être traitées comme des sociétés aux fins de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) :

    Delaware (*)
    Chapitre 18, sous-titre II du sixième palier (6) des lois du Delaware

    Floride
    Florida Limited Liability Company Act

    Indiana
    Indiana Business Flexibility Act

    Kentucky
    Chapitre 275, sociétés par actions à responsabilité limitée (loi connue et employée sous le nom de « Kentucky Limited Liability Company Act »).

    Michigan
    Michigan Limited Liability Company Act

    New Hampshire
    New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated, chapitre 304C

    New York
    Chapitre 34 des Consolidated Laws of New York (1994) (lois connues et employées sous le nom de « New York Limited Liability Company Law »)

    Ohio
    Article 1705 du Ohio Revised Code

    Oregon
    Oregon Revised Statutes, chapitre 63

    Tennessee
    Tennessee Limited Liability Company Act

    Texas
    Texas Limited Liability Company Act

    Wyoming
    Wyoming Limited Liability Company Act

    (*) À l'exception des sociétés de personnes formées en vertu de la Delaware Revised Uniform Partnership Act. L'ARC considère de telles entités comme des sociétés de personnes aux fins du régime fiscal canadien.

Traitement des SARL en Ontario

  1. La Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés (Ontario) s'aligne sur la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (fédéral) dans sa définition d'une société. Le ministère a également pour politique de suivre les bulletins d'interprétation fédéraux dans les cas où la loi ontarienne s'aligne sur la loi fédérale.
  1. Le ministère a donc pour politique de traiter les SARL formées en vertu des lois en vigueur dans les états mentionnés au paragraphe 4 comme des sociétés aux fins de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés. Plusieurs autres territoires ont maintenant adopté des lois ou projets de loi sanctionnant la formation de SARL en fonction de l'un des modèles des états susmentionnés. Selon la loi actuelle, le ministère continuera de suivre toute autre détermination de l'ARC concernant le statut d'une SARL aux fins de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada).
 
Page : 485  |