Educational technology tax incentive : Appendix one : Ontario educational technology tax incentive certificate

Bulletin
Information Notice
Tax Tip
Published:  
Content last reviewed: December 1899
ISSN:
ISBN: (Print), (PDF), (HTML)

Appendix 1

Ontario corporations are eligible for an additional 15 per cent tax deduction and Ontario unincorporated businesses are eligible for a 5 per cent refundable tax credit on donations made or price discounts given after May 2, 2000, to eligible Ontario universities and community colleges in respect of new eligible teaching equipment or eligible learning technologies. To qualify for this incentive, taxpayers are required to obtain and retain this certificate from the eligible educational institution.

Name of educational institution__________________________________________________________

Name of taxpayer_________________________________________________________________________

Corporate, Social insurance or Partnership No.___________________________________________

Date of donation/sale____________________________________________________________________

Eligible equipment donated or sold or learning technologies donated, sold or licensed
(attach a schedule if necessary)

Description QTY.
______________________________________________________________________________ _____
______________________________________________________________________________ _____
______________________________________________________________________________ _____
______________________________________________________________________________ _____
______________________________________________________________________________ _____
______________________________________________________________________________ _____
Certification by eligible educational institution

I certify that the above listed equipment and/or learning technologies are eligible equipment and/or eligible learning technologies for purposes of section 13.5 of the Corporations Tax Act or section 8.4.1 of the Income Tax Act (Ontario).

________________________________________ __________________________
Authorized officer of educational institution

Date and Signature

Name of person to contact Telephone No
_______________________ ______________

OTHER INFORMATION

How do I claim this tax incentive?

Qualifying businesses that donate or provide special discounts on eligible equipment or eligible learning technologies after May 2, 2000, to an eligible educational institution will get the benefit of this incentive when they file their income tax returns. Corporations will claim the tax deduction on their CT23 or CT8 tax return. Unincorporated businesses will claim their tax credit on the Ontario T1 General tax return (Ontario Credits form ON479).

What businesses qualify for this incentive?

All corporations or unincorporated businesses that carry on a business in Ontario through a permanent establishment and are subject to Ontario income tax qualify.

What is eligible equipment?

Eligible equipment is new computer, electronic or telecommunications equipment used primarily to enhance and expand delivery of an eligible course by enabling better communication between instructors and students, either inside or outside the classroom, or is new instructional equipment or tools, including specialized supplies essential to the operation of the equipment, used primarily to deliver an eligible course.

What are eligible learning technologies?

Eligible learning technologies are custom or pre-packaged computer programs primarily used to deliver an eligible course to students or instructors; or custom computer programs primarily used to provide digital library services to students or instructors; or instructional aids consisting of collections of images, sounds or animated pictures that are archived and shared through the Internet and can be accessed and used in an eligible course.

What is an eligible course?

An eligible course is a course of study offered by an eligible educational institution that provides credit towards a post-secondary degree, diploma, certificate or an apprentice training program approved by the Director of Apprenticeships under the Apprenticeship and Certification Act, 1998 or the Trades Qualifications and Apprenticeship Act.

What are eligible educational institutions?

An eligible educational institution is a college of applied arts and technology or a university in Ontario whose enrolment is counted for the purposes of its entitlement to annual operating grants entitlements from the Ontario Government. Eligible educational institutions also include the Michener Institute of Applied Health Sciences and the Ontario College of Art and Design.

How do I get more information?

For enquiries concerning eligible equipment and learning technologies contact:

The Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities

Telephone for universities 416 325-1953
Telephone for colleges 416 325-1816
Facsimile for both 416 327-1853

For all other enquiries contact:

The Ministry of Finance
Telephone 905 433-6513
Facsimile 905 433-6747

Related topics

Incitif fiscal de l'Ontario pour la technologie éducative : Annexe 1 : Incitif fiscal de l'Ontario pour la technologie éducative certificat

Bulletin
Avis d'information
Conseil fiscal
Date de publication :  
Dernière mise à jour : décembre 1899
ISSN:
ISBN: (Imprimé), (PDF), (HTML)

Annexe 1

En faisant des dons ou en accordant des rabais, après le 2 mai 2000, relativement à du nouveau matériel pédagogique ou des technologies d'apprentissage admissibles, afin d'aider des universités et des collèges communautaires admissibles de l'Ontario, les sociétés ontariennes ont droit à une déduction fiscale supplémentaire de 15 % et les entreprises non constituées en personne morale ont droit à un crédit d'impôt remboursable de 5 %. Afin de se prévaloir de cet incitatif, les contribuables doivent se procurer le présent certificat auprès de l'établissement d'enseignement admissible.

Nom de l'établissement d'enseignement__________________________________________________________

Nom du contribuable_________________________________________________________________________

Numéro de la société, d'assurance sociale ou de la société en nom collectif___________________________________________

Date du don/de la vente____________________________________________________________________

Matériel admissible donné ou vendu, ou technologies d'apprentissage données, vendues ou accordées sous licence (joindre une annexe au besoin)

Description Quantité
__________________________________________________________________________ _____
__________________________________________________________________________ _____
__________________________________________________________________________ _____
__________________________________________________________________________ _____
__________________________________________________________________________ _____
__________________________________________________________________________ _____
Attestation par l'établissement d'enseignement admissible

J'atteste que le matériel et(ou) les technologies d'apprentissage énumérées ci-dessus constituent du matériel admissible et(ou) des technologies d'apprentissage admissibles aux fins de l'article 13.5 de la Loi sur l'imposition des corporations ou de l'article 8.4.1 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Ontario).

________________________________________ __________________________
Signataire autorisé de l'établissement d'enseignement

Date et signature

Nom de la personne à contacter_______________________ Téléphone______________

AUTRES RENSEIGNEMENTS

Comment dois-je procéder pour demander cet incitatif fiscal?

Les entreprises admissibles qui ont fait des dons ou accordé des rabais admissibles, après le 2 mai 2000, relativement à du matériel ou des technologies d'apprentissage admissibles, afin d'aider un établissement d'enseignement admissible, pourront se prévaloir de cet incitatif au moment de remplir leur déclaration de revenus. Les sociétés demanderont la réduction fiscale sur leur déclaration de revenus CT23 ou CT8; et les entreprises non constituées en personne morale réclameront leur crédit d'impôt sur la déclaration de revenus générale T1 de l'Ontario (formulaire des crédits d'impôts de l'Ontario ON479).

Quelles entreprises sont admissibles à cet incitatif?

Toutes les sociétés ou les entreprises non constituées en personne morale qui exercent une activité commerciale en Ontario par l'entremise d'un établissement permanent et qui sont soumises à l'impôt sur le revenu de l'Ontario sont admissibles.

Qu'entend-on par matériel admissible?

Le matériel admissible doit être à l'état neuf et englobe du matériel informatique, électronique ou de télécommunications, servant principalement à renforcer et favoriser l'enseignement d'un cours admissible en améliorant l'interaction entre le personnel enseignant et les étudiants, en salle de classe ou dans un cadre extérieur, ou peut comporter du matériel ou des outils d'enseignement à l'état neuf, y compris des fournitures spécialisées essentielles au fonctionnement du matériel, et servant surtout à l'enseignement d'un cours admissible.

Qu'entend-on par technologies d'apprentissage admissibles?

Les technologies d'apprentissage admissibles englobent des programmes informatiques personnalisés ou préprogrammés, servant principalement à l'enseignement d'un cours admissible à des étudiants ou du personnel enseignant; ou des programmes informatiques personnalisés servant principalement à fournir des services de bibliothèque virtuelle à des étudiants ou du personnel enseignant; ou des auxiliaires d'enseignement se composant de collections d'images fixes, de sons ou d'images animées, archivées par l'entremise d'Internet que l'on peut accéder et utiliser dans un cours admissible.

Qu'entend-on par cours admissible?

Par cours admissible, on entend tout cours offert par un établissement d'enseignement admissible accordant un crédit d'études pour l'obtention d'un grade, diplôme ou certificat postsecondaire, ou un programme d'apprentissage approuvé par le directeur de l'apprentissage, en vertu de la Loi de 1998 sur l'apprentissage et la reconnaissance professionnelle ou de la Loi sur la qualification professionnelle et l'apprentissage des gens de métier.

Qu'entend-on par établissement d'enseignement admissible?

Par établissement d'enseignement admissible, on entend une université ou un collège d'arts appliqués et de technologie de l'Ontario, dont les inscriptions servent au calcul des versements de subventions annuelles d'exploitation accordées par le gouvernement de l'Ontario. Les établissements d'enseignement admissibles comprennent aussi le Michener Institute of Applied Health Sciences ainsi que l'Ontario College of Art and Design.

Où puis-je obtenir d'autres renseignements?

Pour toute question concernant le matériel et les technologies d'apprentissage admissibles, s'adresser au :

Ministère de la Formation, des Collèges et des Universités

Téléphone pour les universités, 416 325-1953
Téléphone pour les collèges, 416 325-1816
Télécopieur pour les deux, 416 327-1853

Pour tout autre renseignement, s'adresser au :

Ministère des Finances
Téléphone 905 433-6513
Télécopieur 905 433-6747

Sujets connexes