Inter-Provincial Asset Transfers

Bulletin TDLB 96-3
Published: December 1996
Content last reviewed: September 2012

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: Effective January 1, 2009, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) administers Ontario's corporate income tax, capital tax, corporate minimum tax, and the special additional tax on life insurers.

As a result, the Corporations Tax Act provisions described on this page and in other publications are only applicable to taxation years ending December 31, 2008 and prior.

For taxation years beginning January 1, 2009, the Taxation Act rules apply.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

Introduction

In order to prevent corporations from avoiding tax on inter-provincial asset transfers, Ontario is changing the way its income tax legislation adopts the elective income tax rollover provisions of section 85 of the federal Income Tax Act (ITA).

Inter-Provincial Avoidance Transactions

Under certain circumstances, corporations have entered into inter-provincial asset transfers to avoid provincial taxes on the sale of assets. This is done by first transferring the asset to a non-arm's length corporation located in another province, and then selling the asset to the ultimate purchaser.

These avoidance transactions are accomplished by using the elective provisions of section 85 of the ITA, which are adopted for Ontario Corporations Tax Act (CTA) purposes. Under these elective provisions, corporations can transfer assets on a tax deferred basis from one province to another without necessarily making provincial elections in both provinces. Additionally, when corporations do elect to transfer assets for federal and provincial purposes, they can choose different provincial elected amounts in different provinces.

The Ontario CTA tie-in provisions to ITA section 85 have permitted the above flexibility to ensure that corporate reorganizations are not impeded by provincial income tax considerations. In the avoidance transactions, however, these flexible rules have been inappropriately used to eliminate rather than defer provincial taxes.

Rules to Prevent the Avoidance Transactions

Ontario will adopt rules to specifically prevent the reduction or elimination of provincial taxes through the manipulation of the ITA section 85 rollover provisions. These new anti-avoidance rules will prevent corporations from increasing the cost of an asset when transferring it to a non-arm's length corporation located in another province on a tax deferred basis. In such cases, either the corporation's proceeds of disposition will be adjusted or the cost to the non-arm's length corporation will be adjusted to eliminate any loss of provincial income taxes.

This measure will apply to any transactions or series of transactions which commenced on or after December 19, 1996, and to any transactions or series of transactions which commenced prior to December 19, 1996 and are completed after this date.

Further Changes to How ITA Section 85 Applies for Ontario Purposes

Ontario will also enact technical changes to the Ontario CTA which will adopt the elective rules under ITA section 85 in a more rigid fashion. For instance, where a corporation transfers an asset and makes an election under ITA section 85 for federal purposes, Ontario will deem the election to have been made for Ontario purposes, and when a corporation transfers assets but does not make an election for federal purposes, it will not be allowed to make an election for Ontario purposes. In addition, the choice of elected amounts in certain circumstances will be restricted.

Further details of these changes will be released at a future date. These new rules will not apply until the details are released, except to the extent that they are applicable for purposes of the anti-avoidance rules discussed above.

Interprovincial Co-ordination

Ontario will continue to work with other Canadian jurisdictions to develop rollover rules which prevent provincial tax avoidance but continue to permit corporations to freely restructure their operations in order to meet their business needs.

General Anti-Avoidance Rule

Section 5 of the CTA contains a general anti-avoidance rule (GAAR) which parallels ITA section 245. Ontario will be working with other Canadian jurisdictions in reviewing asset rollover transactions completed prior to December 19, 1996 where provincial tax was avoided. The GAAR provisions will be applied to these transactions where appropriate.

Corporations voluntarily disclosing that they have previously avoided provincial taxes on asset transfers to a non-arm's length corporation in another province can do so without incurring any interest or penalties on the taxes avoided for periods prior to December 19, 1996. The voluntary disclosure must be made prior to June 30, 1997, and must be made before any audit activities have been initiated with respect to the particular asset transfer transaction.

Ontario Reporting Requirements on Section 85 Transfers

Effective for taxation years ending on or after December 19, 1996, all corporations electing under ITA section 85 to transfer assets to or from a non-arm's length corporation with a permanent establishment in a Canadian jurisdiction other than Ontario will be required to provide the following information with their CT23 returns in order to make a corresponding CTA election:

  • a copy of the federal form T2057;
  • amounts elected for Ontario purposes;
  • the name of the non-arm's length corporation to or from which the asset was transferred, a list of all provinces in which the non-arm's length corporation has a permanent establishment, and the allocation ratio to those provinces for the year; and
  • the non-arm's length corporation's cost of the assets for tax purposes in the other provinces.
 
Page: 483  |

Transferts interprovinciaux de biens

Bulletin TDLB 96-3
Date de publication : décembre 1996
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2012

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : A compter du 1er janvier 2009, l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) administre l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés, l'impôt sur le capital, l'impôt minimum des sociétés, et l'impôt supplémentaire spécial des compagnies d'assurance-vie de l'Ontario.

En conséquence, les dispositions de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés décrites sur cette page et dans d'autres publications sont applicables qu'aux années d'imposition se terminant le ou avant le 31 décembre 2008.

Pour les années d'imposition commençant le 1er janvier 2009, les dispositions de la Loi de 2007 sur les impôts s'appliquent.

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Introduction

Afin d'empêcher que les sociétés évitent de payer l'impôt sur les transferts interprovinciaux de biens, l'Ontario modifie la manière dont sa loi tient compte des dispositions de choix de roulement de l'impôt sur le revenu prévues à l'article 85 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (LIR) du gouvernement fédéral.

Opérations d'évitement interprovinciales

Il arrive, dans certaines circonstances, que des sociétés effectuent des transferts interprovinciaux de biens dans le but d'éviter l'impôt provincial sur la vente de ces biens. À cette fin, elles transfèrent d'abord les biens à une société avec lien de dépendance située dans une autre province puis les vendent à l'acheteur final.

Ces opérations d'évitement se font par le biais des dispositions de choix de l'article 85 de la LIR, qui sont adoptées aux fins de la Loi sur l'imposition des corporations (LIC) de l'Ontario. En vertu des dispositions de choix, les sociétés peuvent transférer des biens d'une province à une autre, avec report d'impôt, sans nécessairement effectuer de choix provinciaux dans les deux provinces. En outre, lorsque des sociétés choisissent effectivement de transférer des biens aux fins fédérales et provinciales, elles peuvent appliquer différentes sommes choisies dans différentes provinces.

Les dispositions de renvoi à l'article 85 de la LIR que renferme la LIC de l'Ontario accordent cette souplesse pour garantir que les considérations en matière d'impôt provincial sur le revenu n'empêchent pas les réorganisations de sociétés. Dans le cas des opérations d'évitement, cependant, ces règles souples sont utilisées de façon inappropriée

pour éliminer plutôt que reporter les impôts provinciaux.

Règles visant à empêcher les opérations d'évitement

L'Ontario adoptera des règles visant à empêcher de façon précise la réduction ou l'élimination des impôts provinciaux par la manipulation des dispositions de roulement prévues à l'article 85 de la LIR. Ces nouvelles règles anti-évitement empêcheront les sociétés de majorer le coût d'un bien transféré à une société avec lien de dépendance située dans une autre province sur une base de report d'impôt. Dans de tels cas, le produit que touche la société à la disposition ou le coût pour la société avec lien de dépendance sera rajusté de manière à éliminer toute perte d'impôt provincial sur le revenu.

Cette mesure s'appliquera à toute opération ou à toute série d'opérations entreprise le 19 décembre 1996 ou par la suite, ainsi qu'à toute opération ou à toute série d'opérations entreprise avant le 19 décembre 1996 mais terminée après cette date.

Autres modifications à la manière dont l'article 85 de la LIR s'applique en Ontario

L'Ontario apportera également des modifications techniques à la LIC afin de rendre plus rigoureuse l'application des règles de choix en vertu de l'article 85 de la LIR. Par exemple, lorsqu'une société transfère un bien et fait un choix en vertu de l'article 85 de la LIR aux fins fédérales, le choix sera réputé avoir été fait aux fins de l'Ontario; de même, lorsqu'une société transfère un bien mais ne fait pas de choix aux fins fédérales, elle ne sera pas autorisée à faire un choix aux fins de l'Ontario. En outre, l'application de sommes choisies sera limitée dans certaines circonstances.

De plus amples renseignements concernant ces modifications seront communiqués plus tard. Les nouvelles règles ne s'appliqueront pas avant que tous les renseignements nécessaires aient été communiqués, sauf dans la mesure où elles concernent les règles anti-évitement susmentionnées.

Coordination interprovinciale

L'Ontario continuera de collaborer avec les autres provinces et territoires canadiens afin d'élaborer des dispositions de roulement pour empêcher l'évitement de l'impôt provincial tout en permettant aux sociétés de réorganiser librement leurs activités de manière à répondre à leurs besoins commerciaux.

Disposition générale anti-évitement

L'article 5 de la LIC renferme une disposition générale anti-évitement qui équivaut à celle de l'article 245 de la LIR. L'Ontario collaborera avec les autres provinces et territoires canadiens pour examiner les opérations de roulement de biens qui ont pris fin avant le 19 décembre 1996 et qui ont donné lieu à l'évitement d'impôt provincial. Le cas échéant, la disposition générale anti-évitement s'appliquera à ces opérations.

Les sociétés qui veulent déclarer de leur plein gré qu'elles ont évité de l'impôt provincial sur le transfert de biens à une société avec lien de dépendance d'une autre province peuvent le faire sans avoir à payer d'intérêt ni de pénalité sur l'impôt évité avant le 19 décembre 1996. La déclaration de plein gré doit être faite avant le 30 juin 1997 et avant que des activités de vérification ne soient entreprises relativement à l'opération de transfert visée.

Exigences de déclaration de l'Ontario relativement aux transferts en vertu de l'article 85

En ce qui concerne les années d'imposition se terminant le 19 décembre 1996 et par la suite, toutes les sociétés qui choisissent, en vertu de l'article 85 de la LIR, d'effectuer un transfert de biens avec une société avec lien de dépendance qui a un établissement permanent dans une province ou un territoire canadien autre que l'Ontario seront tenues de fournir les renseignements et documents suivants avec leur déclaration CT23 de manière à effectuer un choix correspondant en vertu de la LIC :

  • une copie du formulaire T2057 du gouvernement fédéral;
  • les sommes choisies en ce qui concerne l'Ontario;
  • le nom de la société avec lien de dépendance qui est l'auteur ou le destinataire du transfert des biens, la liste des provinces où la société avec lien de dépendance a un établissement permanent et le ratio d'affectation à ces provinces pour l'année;
  • le coût des biens, pour la société avec lien de dépendance, aux fins de l'impôt dans les autres provinces.
 
Page : 483  |