Ontario School Bus Safety Tax Incentive

Bulletin CCTB 003
Published: July 2000
Content last reviewed: November 2010

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: The Ontario School Bus Safety Tax Incentive ceased to be in effect as of January 1, 2006. This incentive is not available for school buses acquired after December 31, 2005.

This publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

Introduction

The 1999 Ontario Budget announced the Ontario School Bus Safety Tax Incentive. The purpose of the incentive is to encourage school bus operators to replace old buses with buses that meet the new 1998 standard set by the Canadian Standards Association (CSA).

The rules discussed in this bulletin are contained in section 13.4 of the Corporations Tax Act. This bulletin is provided as a guide for taxpayers. It is not intended as a substitute for the legislation. For precise details, the reader should consult the Corporations Tax Act.

General

Corporations purchasing an eligible school bus after May 4, 1999 and before May 5, 2002 may be eligible for a one-time deduction from Ontario income tax for the cost of acquiring the bus. The new bus must be used in Ontario to transport children or to transport adults with a developmental disability.

Tax Incentive

The Ontario School Bus Safety Tax Incentive (OSBSTI) is a tax deduction equal to 30 per cent of the capital cost of an eligible school bus acquired by a corporation. It is a once-only claim and is in addition to the normal capital cost allowance available for the eligible school bus.

Where a corporation allocates part of its taxable income to a jurisdiction other than Ontario, the deduction is grossed-up to provide a full deduction from Ontario source income. This is achieved by dividing the capital cost of the eligible school bus by the Ontario allocation factor as follows:

OSBSTI = (A / B) × 30%, where

A = the capital cost of an eligible school bus acquired during the taxation year, and

B = the Ontario allocation factor for the taxation year.

For example: If during a taxation year a corporation purchases eligible buses at a cost of $150,000 and the corporation's Ontario allocation factor is 50 per cent, its OSBSTI for the taxation year would be $90,000 (($150,000 / 50%) × 30%). After applying the Ontario allocation factor in computing the corporation's portion of taxable income attributed to Ontario, the actual deduction from Ontario income is $45,000 ($90,000 × 50%).

Eligible School Bus

An eligible school bus is a vehicle acquired by a corporation after May 4, 1999 and before May 5, 2002 that meets the following criteria:

  1. It is new and has not been used by any person prior to its acquisition by the corporation;
  2. It is a school bus as defined under subsection 175 (1) of the Highway Traffic Act that meets the requirements stipulated under sections 1 and 3 of Regulation 612 made under that Act and conforms to the CSA Standard D250 - 1998;
  3. It is used in Ontario to transport children or to transport adults with a developmental disability; and
  4. The capital cost of the vehicle is included by the corporation in Class 10 of Schedule II to the regulations made under the Income Tax Act (Canada).

4. Reduction of Capital Cost

If a corporation has received or expects to receive federal, provincial or municipal government assistance for the eligible school bus at the time the corporation is required to deliver its Ontario tax return for the taxation year, the corporation must reduce the capital cost of the eligible school bus by the amount of the assistance before calculating the incentive for the taxation year. However, if any portion of the government assistance is repaid in a subsequent year, the corporation is entitled to an additional OSBSTI equal to 30 per cent of the repayment in the year the repayment is made.

5. Corporate Partner

A corporation may, in computing its OSBSTI for a taxation year, include its portion of the capital cost of an eligible school bus acquired by a partnership in which the corporation is a member. The eligible school bus must be acquired during the partnership's fiscal period ending in the corporation's taxation year.

No OSBSTI may be claimed by a corporation if the school bus is purchased by a limited partnership in which the corporation is a member.

6. Recapture

A portion of the OSBSTI claimed will be recaptured if, within 36 months after the day the eligible school bus is acquired, the corporation or partnership in which the corporation is a member:

  1. Disposes of the eligible school bus; or
  2. Begins to use the eligible school bus primarily for a purpose other than transporting, in Ontario, children or adults with a developmental disability.

The recapture is included in computing the corporation's income in the taxation year in which either event 1 or 2 above occurs.

The amount of the recapture is determined using the following formula:

Recapture = [(A / B) × 30%] × [(1096* − C) / 1096*], where

* 1096 = number of days in 36 months after the day the eligible school bus is acquired.

A = the amount of the corporation's capital cost of the eligible school bus that was previously included in determining the corporation's OSBSTI,

B = the corporation's Ontario allocation factor for the taxation year in which either event 1 or 2 above occurs, and

C = the number of days that the corporation owned the eligible school bus before disposing of it or began to use it for a purpose other than transporting, in Ontario, children or adults with a developmental disability.

For example: A corporation acquires eligible school buses for $150,000 on June 1, 1999 and sells the buses on May 31, 2000. The corporation's taxation year ends on December 31 and its Ontario allocation factor for the 2000 taxation year is 50 per cent. The recapture to be included in calculating income for the 2000 taxation year is:

[($150,000 / 0.5) × 0.3] × [(1096 − 366) /1096] = $59,945

After applying the Ontario allocation factor in computing the corporation's taxable income attributed to Ontario, the actual recapture is $29,973 ($59,945 × 50%).

Exception

The recapture does not apply in the following situations:

  1. The corporation or partnership sells the business in which the school bus was used and the purchaser continues to carry on that business;
  2. The corporation is in bankruptcy or receivership or is insolvent, and the school bus is disposed of in the course of liquidating the business; or
  3. The eligible school bus is transferred to another corporation as a result of an amalgamation or merger or a winding-up of a subsidiary into its parent corporation.

7. Reduction of Non-Capital Loss

Where a corporation's OSBSTI creates or increases a non-capital loss which is then applied to reduce the income of other taxation years, the amount of the non-capital loss may be subject to a reduction. The Ministry may apply the reduction where the Ontario allocation factor for the taxation year to which the loss is being applied exceeds 120 per cent of the Ontario allocation factor for the taxation year in which the loss was incurred. This reduction prevents a corporation from applying grossed-up losses in a low allocation year to unduly reduce income in a high allocation year.

 
Page: 582  |

Incitatif fiscal de l'Ontario pour la sécurité des autobus scolaires

Bulletin CCTB 003
Date de publication : juillet 2000
Dernière mise à jour : novembre 2010

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : L'incitatif fiscal de l'Ontario pour la sécurité des autobus scolaires n'est plus en vigueur à compter du 1er janvier 2006. Cette déduction n'est pas disponible pour les autobus scolaires acquis après 31 décembre 2005

Cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Introduction

Le budget de l'Ontario 1999 a annoncé l'instauration de l'incitatif fiscal de l'Ontario pour la sécurité des autobus scolaires. Cette mesure incitative a pour but d'encourager les exploitants d'une entreprise d'autobus scolaires à remplacer leurs vieux autobus par des véhicules conformes à la nouvelle norme de 1998 publiée par l'Association canadienne de normalisation.

Les règles consignées dans le présent bulletin sont exposées plus en détail à l'article 13.4 de la Loi sur l'imposition des corporations. Ce bulletin est publié à titre de guide à l'intention des contribuables. Il ne vise nullement à remplacer les mesures législatives existantes. Pour plus de précisions, consulter la Loi sur l'imposition des corporations.

1. Généralités

Toute corporation qui fait l'acquisition d'un autobus scolaire admissible après le 4 mai 1999, mais avant le 5 mai 2002 peut avoir droit à une déduction unique applicable à l'impôt sur le revenu de l'Ontario pour le coût d'acquisition de l'autobus. Le nouvel autobus doit servir, en Ontario, au transport d'enfants ou au transport d'adultes atteints d'un trouble du développement.

2. Incitatif fiscal

L'incitatif fiscal de l'Ontario pour la sécurité des autobus scolaires est une déduction fiscale correspondant à 30 % du coût en capital engagé par une corporation pour faire l'acquisition d'un autobus scolaire admissible. Il s'agit d'un avantage unique qui vient s'ajouter à la déduction pour amortissement normale, offerte à l'acquisition d'un autobus scolaire admissible.

Lorsqu'une partie du revenu imposable d'une corporation est attribuée à un territoire autre que l'Ontario, la déduction est majorée afin de procurer une déduction complète sur le revenu provenant de l'Ontario. Le montant de la déduction est obtenu en divisant le coût en capital de l'autobus scolaire admissible par le coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario, comme suit :

Incitatif fiscal = (A / B) × 30 %, où :

A représente le coût en capital d'un autobus scolaire admissible que la corporation a acquis pendant l'année d'imposition;

B représente le coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario pour l'année d'imposition.

Par exemple, si durant une année d'imposition, une corporation achète des autobus scolaires admissibles au coût de 150 000 $ et que le coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario affecté à la corporation est de 50 %, l'incitatif fiscal de l'Ontario pour la sécurité des autobus scolaires auquel elle a droit pour l'année d'imposition est de 90 000 $ [(150 000 $ / 50 %) × 30 %). L'application du coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario dans le calcul de la partie du revenu imposable de la corporation attribuée à l'Ontario porte alors à 45 000 $ la déduction réelle du revenu de l'Ontario (90 000 $ × 50 %).

3. Autobus scolaire admissible

Un véhicule que la corporation a acquis après le 4 mai 1999, mais avant le 5 mai 2002 est un autobus scolaire admissible si les conditions suivantes sont remplies :

  1. il s'agit d'un véhicule neuf, n'ayant jamais été utilisé par qui ce que soit avant son acquisition par la corporation;
  2. il s'agit d'un autobus scolaire, au sens du paragraphe 175 (1) du Code de la route, qui satisfait aux exigences des articles 1 et 3 du Règlement 612 pris en application du Code de la route et qui est conforme à la norme D250-1998 de l'Association canadienne de normalisation;
  3. il est utilisé en Ontario pour transporter des enfants ou pour transporter des adultes atteints d'un trouble du développement; et
  4. la corporation inclut le coût en capital du véhicule aux fins de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) dans la catégorie 10 de l'annexe II des règlements pris en application de cette loi.

4. Réduction du coût en capital

Si une corporation a reçu ou s'attend à recevoir de l'aide financière du gouvernement fédéral, provincial ou municipal à l'égard de l'autobus scolaire admissible au moment où la corporation doit déposer sa déclaration d'impôt de l'Ontario pour l'année d'imposition, elle doit réduire le coût en capital de l'autobus scolaire admissible du montant de l'aide financière avant de calculer son incitatif fiscal pour ladite année d'imposition. Toutefois, si une partie de l'aide gouvernementale est remboursée lors d'une année ultérieure, la corporation a droit à un montant additionnel d'incitatif équivalant à 30 % du remboursement, applicable à l'année pendant laquelle est effectué le remboursement.

5. Associé d'une société en nom collectif ou en commandite

Une corporation peut, dans le calcul de son incitatif fiscal pour une année d'imposition donnée, inclure sa portion du coût en capital d'un autobus scolaire admissible, acquis par une société en nom collectif ou en commandite dont elle est un associé. L'autobus scolaire admissible doit avoir été acquis durant l'exercice de ladite société se terminant pendant l'année d'imposition de la corporation.

Aucun incitatif fiscal de l'Ontario pour la sécurité des autobus scolaires ne peut être demandé par une corporation à l'égard d'un autobus scolaire acquis par un commanditaire auquel la corporation est associée.

6. Récupération

Une partie de l'incitatif fiscal de l'Ontario pour la sécurité des autobus scolaires sera récupérée si, dans les 36 mois qui suivent le jour où l'autobus scolaire admissible est acquis, la corporation ou la société en nom collectif ou en commandite dont elle est un associé :

  1. dispose de l'autobus scolaire admissible; ou
  2. commence à l'utiliser principalement à une fin autre que le transport d'enfants en Ontario ou le transport, en Ontario, d'adultes atteints d'un trouble du développement.

Le montant de la récupération est inclus dans le calcul du revenu de la corporation pour l'année d'imposition où l'une ou l'autre des situations 1 ou 2 ci-dessus s'est produite.

Le montant de la récupération est calculé selon la formule suivante :

Récupération = [(A / B) × 30 %] × [(1096* − C) / 1096*], où :

A représente le coût en capital de l'autobus scolaire admissible de la corporation précédemment inclus dans le calcul du montant de l'incitatif fiscal de l'Ontario pour la sécurité des autobus scolaires de la corporation,

B représente le coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario affecté à la corporation pour l'année d'imposition où l'une ou l'autre des situations 1 ou 2 ci-dessus s'est produite, et

C représente le nombre de jours pendant lesquels la corporation était propriétaire de l'autobus scolaire admissible avant d'en disposer ou de commencer à l'utiliser, en Ontario, à une fin autre que le transport d'enfants ou le transport d'adultes atteints d'un trouble du développement.

Exemple : Une corporation achète des autobus scolaires admissibles au coût de 150 000 $ le 1er juin 1999 et les revend le 31 mai 2000. L'année d'imposition de la corporation se termine le 31 décembre et son coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario pour l'année d'imposition 2000 est de 50 %. Le montant de la récupération à inclure dans le calcul du revenu pour l'année d'imposition 2000 est établi comme suit :

[(150 000 $ / 0,5) × 0,3] × [(1096 − 366) / 1096] = 59 945 $

Une fois le coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario appliqué au calcul du revenu imposable de la corporation attribué à l'Ontario, le montant réel de la récupération est de 29 973 $ (59 945 $ × 50 %).

Exception

La clause de récupération ne s'applique pas dans les situations suivantes :

  1. la corporation ou la société vend l'entreprise qui utilisait l'autobus, et la personne qui acquiert l'entreprise continue d'exploiter l'entreprise;
  2. la corporation a fait faillite, est mise sous séquestre ou est insolvable, et la disposition de l'autobus a lieu dans le cadre de la disposition de l'actif de l'entreprise;
  3. l'autobus scolaire admissible est cédé à une autre corporation à la suite d'une fusion ou d'une unification, ou d'une liquidation d'une filiale au profit de sa corporation mère.

7. Réduction de la perte autre qu'en capital

Lorsque l'incitatif fiscal de l'Ontario pour la sécurité des autobus scolaires d'une corporation produit ou augmente une perte autre qu'en capital qui est alors affectée à la réduction du revenu d'autres années d'imposition, le montant de la perte autre qu'en capital peut être assujetti à une réduction. Le ministère peut appliquer la réduction lorsque le coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario pour l'année d'imposition à laquelle la perte est appliquée dépasse 120 % du coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario pour l'année d'imposition durant laquelle la perte est survenue. Cette réduction empêche une corporation d'appliquer des pertes majorées à une année de répartition faible dans le but de réduire indûment le revenu d'une année de répartition élevée.

 
Page : 582  |