Workplace Child Care Tax Incentive

Bulletin TDLB 99-2
Published: August 1999
Content last reviewed: August 2010

Publication Archived

Notice to the reader: On January 1, 2005 the Workplace Child Care Tax Incentive ceased to be in effect. This incentive cannot be applied against expenditures incurred after December 31, 2004.

Effective January 1, 2005 this publication was archived and kept for historical purposes. Use caution when you refer to it, since it reflects the law in force at the time it was released and may no longer apply.

Introduction

In the 1998 Budget, Ontario announced the Workplace Child Care Tax Incentive (the "WCCTI") to support businesses that create additional licensed child care facilities or improve existing licensed child care facilities for children of working parents. The rules discussed in this bulletin are contained in section 13.2 of the Corporations Tax Act (CTA) and subsection 8(15.2) and section 8.3 of the Ontario Income Tax Act. This bulletin is provided as a guide for taxpayers. It is not intended as a substitute for the legislation. For precise details, the reader should consult the appropriate statute.

Table of Contents

1. General

The WCCTI is available to businesses (other than those in the business of providing child care services) that incur qualifying expenditures to create additional licensed child care facilities or to improve existing licensed child care facilities in Ontario. This includes businesses that make contributions to unrelated licensed child care operators that use the contributions to create additional child care facilities or improve existing child care facilities in Ontario.

The business must operate out of a permanent establishment in Ontario and be subject to tax on its income, i.e., non-profit and other tax-exempt businesses do not qualify.

2. Tax Incentive

For corporations, the incentive is a deduction in computing income and for unincorporated businesses it is a refundable tax credit. The incentive is in addition to any other deductions in respect of the qualifying expenditures that the businesses may claim for income tax purposes.

2.1 Corporations

For a corporation, the WCCTI is an additional 30 per cent deduction for qualifying expenditures for the taxation year. Where a corporation allocates part of its taxable income to another jurisdiction, the deduction is grossed-up to provide a full deduction from Ontario source income. This is achieved by dividing the qualifying expenditures by the Ontario allocation factor as follows:

WCCTI = (A / B) × 30%

where ,

A = qualifying expenditures for the taxation year; and

B = Ontario allocation factor for the taxation year.

For example, if a corporation's qualifying expenditures for a taxation year are $100,000 and its Ontario allocation factor is 50%, its WCCTI for the year would be $60,000 (($100,000 / 50%) × 30%). However, after applying the Ontario allocation factor in computing the corporation's portion of taxable income attributed to Ontario, the actual deduction from Ontario income is $30,000 (60,000 × 50%).

2.2 Unincorporated Businesses

For an unincorporated business, the WCCTI is a refundable tax credit of 5% of the individual's qualifying expenditures for the taxation year. It must be claimed on the Ontario Tax Credit form, TIC(ONT.) and is displayed on line 36 of that form.

3. Qualifying Expenditure

A business's qualifying expenditures for a taxation year are expenditures incurred after May 5, 1998 which are:

  1. Capital costs incurred in the construction or renovation of a licensed child care facility that are included by the business in the taxation year in the undepreciated capital cost of Class 1, 3, 6, or 13 assets of Schedule II to the Income Tax Act (Canada) (ITA).

  2. Capital costs incurred to acquire equipment fixed to a playground of a licensed child care facility that are included in the taxation year by the business in the undepreciated capital cost of Class 8 assets of Schedule II to the ITA.

    (Note The "available for use" rules apply in determining the timing of the inclusions in 1 and 2 above)

  3. Cash payments and qualified contributions made by the business to an unrelated licensed child care facility and used by the operator of the facility in the business's taxation year to construct a new child care facility, to renovate an existing licensed child care facility, or to acquire playground equipment.

The unused portion of cash payments and qualified contributions will be qualifying expenditures in the business's taxation year when the facility uses them for the above purposes.

If the business has received or expects to receive government assistance in respect of the qualifying expenditures at the time it is required to deliver its tax return, the qualifying expenditures for the taxation year must be reduced by the government assistance. A repayment of any portion of the government assistance in a subsequent year will be treated as a qualifying expenditure in the year the repayment is made.

3.1 Licensed Child Care Facility

A licensed child care facility is a day nursery operated under a licence issued by the Ministry of Community and Social Services under the Day Nurseries Act. Every eligible child care facility under that Act is assigned a Day Nurseries Number by the Ministry of Community and Social Services.

3.2 Qualified Contributions

A qualified contribution is one made by the business to a licensed child care operator to be used for the construction or renovation of a licensed child care facility or for the acquisition of playground equipment. The amount of a qualified contribution will be equal to:

  1. The fair market value of material or property transferred by the business to the child care facility;
  2. The fair market value of services performed by the business for the purpose of constructing or renovating the child care facility; or
  3. The reasonable monetary value of a benefit derived from a loan or loan guarantee given by the business to the child care facility.

4. Partnerships

Corporate Partners

Where a corporation is a member of a partnership (other than a limited partnership), and the partnership incurs a qualifying expenditure for the fiscal year that ends in the taxation year of the corporation, the corporation may include its share of the partnership's qualifying expenditure in computing its qualifying expenditures for the taxation year. The corporation's share of the qualifying expenditures of the partnership is based on the percentage of the corporation's income or loss of the partnership.

Individual Partners

Where a business is carried on by a partnership, the individual members of the partnership may claim a tax credit based on the member's reasonable share of the partnership's qualifying expenditures. Limited partners are prohibited from claiming the credit.

5. Reduction of Non-Capital Loss

Where a corporation's WCCTI deduction creates a non-capital loss which is then applied to reduce the income of other taxation years, the amount of the non-capital loss may be subject to reduction. Under section 35 of the CTA, the Minister may reduce the non-capital loss applied if the Ontario allocation factor for the taxation year to which the loss is being applied exceeds 120% of the Ontario allocation factor for the taxation year in which the loss is incurred. This reduction is to prevent a corporation from applying grossed-up losses in a low allocation year to unduly reduce income in a high allocation year.

6. Confirmation

To claim the WCCTI in respect of cash payments and qualified contributions, the business must obtain written confirmation from the child care operator of:

  1. the amount of money and qualified contributions that have been used by the operator in the taxation year of the business for the purpose of constructing or renovating a child care facility or acquisition of playground equipment; and
  2. the operator's licence number under the Day Nurseries Act.

Businesses need not attach this confirmation to their tax return. However, they must retain the document in their records for any subsequent review by the Ministry of Finance.

 
Page: 2311  |

Incitatif fiscal pour les garderies en milieu de travail

Bulletin TDLB 99-2
Date de publication : août 1999
Dernière mise à jour : août 2010

Publication archivées

Avis aux lecteurs : Le 1er janvier 2005, la Incitatif fiscal pour les garderies en milieu de travail n'est plus en vigueur. Cet incitatif ne peut être appliqué contre les dépenses engagées après 31 décembre 2004.

A compter du 1er janvier 2005, cette publication fait partie des archives pour des raisons historiques. Puisque ce document reflète la loi qui était en vigueur au moment où il fut publié et peut ne plus être valide, veuillez l'utiliser avec prudence.

Introduction

Dans le budget de 1998, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a annoncé la création du l'incitatif fiscal pour les garderies en milieu de travail en vue d'aider les entreprises qui créent de nouvelles installations de garderie autorisées en milieu de travail ou qui améliorent des installations existantes en Ontario à l'intention des enfants des travailleurs. Les règles abordées dans le présent bulletin son énoncées à l'article 13.2 de laLoi sur l'imposition des corporations et au paragraphe 8(15.2) ainsi qu'à l'article 8.3 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Ontario). Le présent bulletin est publié à titre de guide à l'intention des contribuables, et ne remplace aucunement la loi. Pour plus de précisions, consulter la loi appropriée.

Table des matières

1. Généralités

L'incitatif fiscal pour les garderies en milieu de travail s'adresse aux entreprises (autres que celles dont l'objet est d'offrir des services de garde d'enfants) qui engagent des dépenses admissibles en vue de créer de nouvelles installations de garderie autorisées en milieu de travail ou d'améliorer les installations existantes à l'intention des enfants des travailleurs en Ontario. Cela comprend les entreprises qui versent des cotisations à des entreprises non liées, dont l'objet est d'offrir des services de garde d'enfants, et qui utilisent ces cotisations pour créer de nouvelles installations de garderie autorisées ou pour améliorer les installations existantes en Ontario.

L'entreprise doit être exploitée à partir d'un établissement permanent établi en Ontario et être assujettie à l'impôt sur le revenu (i.e. les entreprises à but non lucratif et autres entreprises exonérées d'impôt ne sont pas admissibles).

2. Incitatif fiscal

Dans le cas des corporations, l'incitatif prend la forme d'une déduction appliquée au revenu calculé, alors qu'il s'agit d'un crédit d'impôt remboursable dans le cas des entreprises non constituées en personne morale. Cet incitatif s'ajoute à toute autre déduction relative aux dépenses admissibles que l'entreprise peut demander aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu.

2.1 Corporations

Dans le cas d'une corporation, l'incitatif fiscal pour les garderies en milieu de travail correspond à une déduction supplémentaire de 30 % sur les dépenses admissibles pour l'exercice financier. Lorsqu'une corporation alloue une partie de son revenu taxable à un autre territoire, la déduction est majorée de manière à procurer une déduction complète sur le revenu à la source de l'Ontario. On obtient cette déduction en divisant les dépenses admissibles par le coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario :

Incitatif = (A / B) × 30 %

où ,

A = dépenses admissibles pour l'exercice financier; et

B = coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario pour l'exercice financier.

Par exemple, si les dépenses admissibles engagées par une corporation pendant l'exercice financier s'élèvent à 100 000 $ et que son coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario est de 50 %, l'incitatif fiscal pour les garderies en milieu de travail auquel elle a droit s'élève à 60 000 $ ((100 000 $ / 50 %) × 30 %). Toutefois, après avoir appliqué le coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario au calcul de la portion du revenu imposable de la corporation attribuée à l'Ontario, la déduction réelle du revenu en Ontario est de 30  000 $ (60 000 $ × 50 %).

2.2 Entreprises non constituées en personne morale

Dans le cas des entreprises non constituées en personne morale, l'incitatif fiscal pour les garderies en milieu de travail correspond à un crédit d'impôt remboursable de 5 % des dépenses admissibles engagées par le particulier au cours de l'exercice. Ce crédit doit être demandé au moyen de la formule de crédit d'impôt de l'Ontario TIC(ONT.) et indiqué à la ligne 36 de cette formule.

3. Dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses admissibles d'une entreprise pour un exercice donné sont celles engagées après le 5 mai 1998, comme suit :

  1. les dépenses en immobilisations engagées pour la construction ou la rénovation d'installations de garderie autorisées en milieu de travail et qui sont déclarées pour cet exercice en tant que fraction non amortie du coût en capital de l'actif de catégorie 1, 3, 6 ou 13 selon l'annexe II de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada);
  2. 2. les dépenses en immobilisations engagées pour l'acquisition d'équipement de terrain de jeux destiné à la garderie et qui sont déclarées par l'entreprise pour cet exercice en tant que fraction non amortie du coût en capital de l'actif de catégorie 8 selon l'annexe II de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada);

    (Nota : Les règles “relatives aux biens prêts à être mis en service” s'applique dans l'établissement des périodes d'inclusion des dépenses décrites en 1 et 2 ci-dessus.)
  3. les versements en espèces ainsi que les cotisations admissibles effectués par l'entreprise auprès d'une entreprise non liée dont l'objet est d'offrir des services de garde d'enfants et utilisés pendant l'exercice pour construire de nouvelles installations de garderie, rénover des installations de garderie existantes, ou faire l'acquisition d'équipement de terrain de jeux.

Toute portion inutilisée du versement en espèces ou de la cotisation admissible constitue une dépense admissible pour l'exercice financier durant lequel elle a été engagée aux fins décrites ci-dessus.

Si l'entreprise a reçu ou prévoit recevoir de l'aide gouvernementale relativement aux dépenses admissibles au moment de produire sa déclaration de revenus, elle doit déduire cette aide gouvernementale du montant des dépenses admissibles pour l'exercice financier. Le remboursement de toute partie de l'aide gouvernementale au cours d'un exercice ultérieur pourra être imputé comme une dépense admissible à l'exercice au cours duquel le remboursement a été versé.

3.1 Installations de garderie autorisés

Les installations de garderie autorisées s'entendent de toute garderie exploitée en vertu d'un permis délivré par le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires conformément à laLoi sur les garderies. Le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaire assigne un numéro de garderie à chaque installation de garderie autorisée admissible en vertu de la Loi.

3.2 Cotisations admissibles

Une cotisation est jugée admissible lorsqu'elle est versée par une entreprise à un organisme autorisé dont l'objet est d'offrir des services de garde d'enfants et qu'elle est destinée à la construction ou la rénovation d'installations de garderie autorisées, ou à l'acquisition d'équipement de terrain de jeux. Le montant de la cotisation admissible sera établi en fonction des éléments suivants :

  1. la valeur marchande du bien-fonds, dont le titre de propriété est transféré par l'entreprise à la garderie;

  2. la valeur marchande des services fournis par l'entreprise à l'égard de la construction ou de la rénovation des installations de garderie; ou

  3. la valeur pécuniaire raisonnable de l'intérêt d'un prêt ou d'une garantie d'emprunt accordée par l'entreprise à la garderie.

4. Sociétés en nom collectif

Sociétés en nom collectif - constituées

Lorsqu'une entreprise fait partie d'une société en nom collectif (autre qu'une société en commandite) et que cette société a droit à l'incitatif fiscal pour les garderies en milieu de travail, elle est autorisée à demander sa part de l'incitatif en calculant son revenu en tant que pourcentage du revenu ou des pertes de la société en nom collectif. Si l'entreprise est exploitée en Ontario ainsi qu'à l'extérieur de la province, la majoration de l'incitatif est calculée en fonction du coefficient de répartition appliqué à l'entreprise en Ontario.

Sociétés en nom collectif – non constituées

Lorsqu'une entreprise non constituée en personne morale fait partie d'une société en nom collectif, chacun des membres de ladite société peut demander un crédit d'impôt correspondant à sa part raisonnable du crédit d'impôt accordé à cette société. Les associés commanditaires ne peuvent pas demander ce crédit.

5. Réduction d'une perte autre qu'en capital

Lorsque l'incitatif fiscal pour les garderies en milieu de travail d'une entreprise crée une perte autre qu'en capital, qui est ensuite appliquée à la réduction du revenu d'autres exercices financiers, le montant de la perte autre qu'en capital peut faire l'objet d'une réduction. En vertu de l'article 35 de la Loi sur l'imposition des corporations, le ministre peut réduire une perte autre qu'en capital si le coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario pour l'exercice auquel la perte est appliquée dépasse 120 % du coefficient de répartition de l'Ontario pour l'exercice au cours duquel la perte est survenue. Cette réduction a pour but d'empêcher une entreprise d'appliquer des pertes majorées à un exercice assujetti à un taux de répartition plus faible en vue de réduire injustement le revenu d'un exercice assujetti à un taux de répartition plus élevé.

6. Confirmation

Pour pouvoir se prévaloir de l'incitatif fiscal pour les garderies en milieu de travail à l'égard des versements en espèces et des cotisations admissibles, l'entreprise doit obtenir une confirmation écrite de la part de l'organisme qui dispense les services de garde d'enfants, faisant état :

  1. du montant du versement et des cotisations admissibles ayant été utilisés par l'organisme durant l'exercice financier de l'entreprise à des fins de construction ou de rénovation d'installations de garderie, ou d'acquisition d'équipement de terrain de jeux; et
  2. du numéro de permis de l'organisme qui dispense les services de garde d'enfants en vertu de la Loi sur les garderies.

Il n'est pas nécessaire de joindre ces documents à la déclaration de revenus, mais l'employeur doit les conserver dans les dossiers de l'entreprise et, au besoin, les mettre à la disposition du ministère des Finances à des fins de vérification.

 
Page : 2311  |