Sales of Kerosene

Bulletin FT 1-2000
Published: June 2000
Content last reviewed: September 2009


The purpose of this tax bulletin is to clarify the rules governing the sale of kerosene under Fuel Acquisition Permits (known as FAPs).

Who is the audience?

The information in this bulletin will be of interest to fuel tax collectors and holders of FAPs.

General Notes

1-K Kerosene & the Fuel Tax Act

Effective January 1, 1992, kerosene became subject to the Fuel Tax Act (the "Act") and regulations. This means that all kerosene is taxable under the Act, except kerosene sold to the holder of a valid FAP.

1-K kerosene means kerosene, which, according to the American Society for Testing and Material (ASTM) standards, contains 0.04% or less sulphur and has a flashpoint of 130 degrees Fahrenheit or higher. (The flashpoint is the temperature at which vapours will ignite and burn spontaneously). According to the ASTM, 1-K kerosene is suitable for use in flue-less, or unvented, portable kerosene lights, stoves, and heaters.

Acquiring clear kerosene

Clear kerosene which is certified as 1-K may be acquired, untaxed, by a packager holding a valid Fuel Acquisition Permit issued for this purpose.

Coloured Kerosene

Coloured kerosene (also called 'dyed' kerosene) may be purchased without paying fuel tax, for non-taxable uses, such as heating, lighting, and cooking. Coloured kerosene means kerosene dyed to the specifications established by the Minister of Finance.

Sales of clear kerosene to FAP holders

Who is a kerosene packager?

A packager of kerosene is, for the purpose of this bulletin, a person who packages 1-K kerosene, acquired in bulk, into any container that holds 210 litres or less (other than a fuel tank of a motor vehicle). The 1-K kerosene referred to here must be for resale to a consumer for use in cooking, heating, or lighting appliances designed to be used indoors and without venting.

"Kerosene in bulk" defined

Kerosene (fuel), in bulk, means fuel transported, or transferred, by any means other than in a fuel tank of a motor vehicle (in which fuel for generating power in the motor vehicle is kept).

Purchase of kerosene by packagers

Designated fuel tax collectors may sell clear 1-K kerosene, without collecting fuel tax, to packagers holding a valid FAP. The sale must respect all of the restrictions and conditions stated on or attaching to the packager's FAP. The collector must certify that the product sold is, in fact, 1-K kerosene.

What Are The Packaging Requirements for FAP Holders?

A packager may apply for a packager's FAP to acquire, without paying fuel tax, clear 1-K kerosene in bulk, as long as certain conditions are met: The packager will package the kerosene in containers of 25 litres or less and/or containers of between 25 and 210 litres (see details below). The kerosene must be packaged for resale to consumers, and be used in certain lighting, heating or cooking appliances designed to be used, indoors, without venting.

Note Packagers may repack 1-K kerosene in any size up to 210 litres. Each packager will hold only one FAP, permitting the packager to repack in one of the following three categories:

Category 1

exclusively into containers up to 25 litres; or

Category 2

exclusively into containers between 25 litres and 210 litres; or

Category 3

into containers of both sizes (up to 25 litres and between 25 litres and 210 litres).

How much kerosene can a packager acquire?

Packagers holding a FAP in category 1 will have no acquisition limit.

All other packagers (categories 2 and 3) will be able to acquire up to a maximum of 200,000 litres of 1-K kerosene each calendar year. Acquisitions by all related or associated companies (i.e., non arm's length) are included in the annual 200,000 litre limitation.

What if a packager goes over the limitation?

If a packager reaches or exceeds 200,000 litre annual limitation for kerosene, the ministry will suspend the packagers FAP for the remainder of the calendar year and notify all fuel tax collectors. In addition, the ministry will assess the packager an amount equal to the fuel tax, plus penalty and interest on the volume of untaxed fuel acquired which was over the limit.

Manufacturer's FAP

Industrial manufacturers who have a valid Fuel Acquisition Permit may buy untaxed clear kerosene, as well as other clear fuel, from designated fuel tax collectors. The manufacturer's purchase of clear kerosene must respect the restrictions and conditions outlined in the FAP.

What are the conditions for getting a manufacturer's FAP?

An industrial manufacturer may apply for a manufacturer's FAP to buy clear kerosene (or other middle distillate fuel) exempt of tax. To qualify for this tax exemption, the purchased fuel must be delivered to an authorized location for use by the FAP-holder as a raw material which will either be made into or become part of goods for sale, and provided that the fuel or the manufactured product will not be used to generate power in a motor vehicle.
No acquisition limit is placed on this type of permit.

Sales of kerosene by a collector to a FAP holder

What are the collector's responsibilities?

A designated fuel tax collector may sell untaxed clear kerosene to FAP holders who are entitled to receive the product without paying tax. The collector must ensure that the purchaser presents him with a valid fuel acquisition permit at the time of sale. Collectors are required to report such sales on their monthly return to the ministry. Additional information required on the invoice delivered to the purchaser includes the collector's registration number and the purchaser's fuel acquisition permit number.

The collector and the FAP-holder who buys the untaxed clear kerosene must ensure that the conditions stated in his permit are met.

Sales of kerosene by a non-collector to a FAP holder

What are a non-collector's responsibilities?

A dealer who is not an authorized fuel tax collector must pay the tax on clear fuel purchased from his supplier.

If such a dealer sells clear fuel, untaxed, to a Fuel Acquisition Permit holder, the dealer may qualify for a refund of the tax paid by the dealer to his supplier, by application to the ministry under section 13 of Ontario Reg. 464. (Or the dealer may recover the tax from the dealer's supplier, as long as the supplier is a designated fuel tax collector.)

A collector, as agent of the Minister, is required to exercise due diligence in an effort to ensure that untaxed clear fuel sold is not for a taxable use. The collector will not be held responsible for fuel tax on clear fuel delivered to a holder of, and in accordance with, a valid FAP, where the collector maintains:

  1. a copy of the FAP valid for the period of time in question, and
  2. copies of all bills of lading, uniform manifests, or invoices indicating the volume of fuel delivered to the FAP-holder at the authorized location(s) during that time period. Certification of the fuel delivery by the driver(s) is also required.

Posting of security

What is required?

The Act requires that the holder of a FAP, post security in an amount equal to the tax that, except for the FAP, would have been payable on the FAP-holder's average three months receipts of clear fuel, or $100,000.00, whichever is greater.

Restrictions and penalties

What restrictions apply to FAP-holders?

A FAP holder must not use kerosene or other fuel acquired under a Fuel Acquisition Permit, for any purposes other than those authorized by the permit.

Each FAP holder must, by the 25th of the month, send the ministry a fuel tax return (Form FT814), which reports all fuel acquired under the FAP. Form FT814 also reports the fuel sold or used in the preceding calendar month.

What are the penalties?

Failure to abide by a condition, or a limitation, under a Fuel Acquisition Permit can result in a fine of up to $10,000. This fine will be in addition to the ministry's assessment for fuel tax, penalties, and interest.

Coloured kerosene

A Fuel Acquisition Permit is not required for purchases of coloured kerosene for non-taxable uses, such as lighting, heating, and cooking.

How to obtain a Fuel Acquisition Permit?

To request a Fuel Acquisition Permit application form, contact:

Ministry of Finance
Client Services Branch
33 King Street West
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Fax: 905 433-5680
  • 1 800 263-7776 for teletypewriter (TTY)

Related topics

Page: 533  |

Vente de Kérosène

Bulletin FT 1-2000
Date de publication : juin 2000
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2009

FT 1-2000 Juin 2000

Introduction

Le présent bulletin a pour objet de clarifier les règles régissant la vente de kérosène en vertu des permis d'acquisition de carburant (PAC).

À qui s'adresse-t-il?

L'information contenue dans le présent bulletin s'adresse aux percepteurs de taxe sur les carburants ainsi qu'aux détenteurs de PAC.

Généralités

Le kérosène 1-K et la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants

Le kérosène est assujetti à la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants (la « Loi ») et aux règlements afférents depuis le 1er janvier 1992. Ainsi, tout le kérosène est désormais taxable en vertu de la Loi, à l'exception du kérosène vendu au détenteur d'un PAC valide.

Par kérosène 1-K, il faut entendre du kérosène qui, selon les normes de l'American Society for Testing and Material (ASTM), contient 0,04 % ou moins de soufre et dont le point d'éclair se situe à 130 degrés Fahrenheit ou plus. (Le point d'éclair correspond à la température d'inflammation ou de combustion des vapeurs). Selon l'ASTM, le kérosène 1-K peut être utilisé dans des lampes, poêles ou réchauds portatifs au kérosène sans cheminée ou tuyau. 

Acquisition de kérosène incolore

On peut se procurer du kérosène incolore homologué 1-K, exempt de taxe, auprès d'un conditionneur qui détient un permis d'acquisition de carburant valide délivré à cette fin.

Kérosène coloré

On peut acheter du kérosène coloré sans payer la taxe sur les carburants, pour l'utiliser dans des applications non taxables, comme le chauffage, l'éclairage et la cuisine. Le kérosène coloré est un kérosène auquel on a ajouté du colorant selon des normes établies par le ministère des Finances.

Vente de kérosène incolore à des détenteurs d'un PAC

Qu'entend-on par conditionneur de kérosène?

Aux fins du présent bulletin, un conditionneur de kérosène est une personne qui se charge d'emballer du kérosène 1-K acheté en vrac, dans des contenants pouvant contenir 210 litres ou moins (autres que le réservoir à carburant d'un véhicule). Le kérosène 1-K en question doit être destiné à des fins de revente à un consommateur en vue d'être utilisé dans des appareils de cuisine, de chauffage ou d'éclairage destinés à un usage intérieur et sans ventilation.

Définition de « kérosène en vrac »

Par kérosène (carburant) en vrac, on entend du carburant transporté, ou transféré, par des moyens autres que le réservoir à carburant d'un véhicule motorisé (lequel contient du carburant servant à alimenter le véhicule).

Achat de kérosène par les conditionneurs

Les percepteurs désignés de taxe sur les carburants peuvent vendre du kérosène 1-K incolore, sans percevoir la taxe sur les carburants, à des conditionneurs qui détiennent un PAC valide. La vente doit respecter toutes les restrictions et conditions énoncées sur le permis du conditionneur ou jointes à ce permis. Le percepteur doit attester que le produit vendu est bel est bien du kérosène 1-K.

Quelles sont les exigencesde conditionnement pour les détenteurs d'un PAC?

Un conditionneur peut soumettre une demande de PAC en vue de pouvoir acheter, exempt de taxe sur les carburants, du kérosène 1-K incolore en vrac, pourvu que certaines conditions soient respectées : le conditionneur doit transférer le kérosène dans des contenants de 25 litres ou moins et(ou) dans des contenants de 25 à 210 litres (voir détails ci-dessous). Le kérosène doit être conditionné à des fins de revente aux consommateurs, et servir à alimenter certains appareils d'éclairage, de chauffage ou de cuisine destinés à un usage intérieur et sans ventilation.

Nota : Les conditionneurs peuvent reconditionner le kérosène 1-K dans des contenants d'un maximum de 210 litres. Chaque conditionneur ne doit détenir qu'un seul PAC, lui permettant de reconditionner le carburant dans l'une des trois catégories suivantes :

Catégorie 1

exclusivement dans des contenants d'un maximum de 25 litres; ou

Catégorie 2

exclusivement dans des contenants de 25 litres à 210 litres; ou

Catégorie 3

dans des contenants des deux catégories (jusqu'à 25 litres et entre 25 et 210 litres).

Combien de kérosène un conditionneur peut-il acheter?

Dans le cas des conditionneurs qui détiennent un PAC de catégorie 1, aucune limite n'est imposée.

Tous les autres conditionneurs (catégories 2 et 3) pourront acheter jusqu'à 200 000 litres de kérosène 1-K par année civile. Les achats effectués par toutes les compagnies affiliées ou associées (c'est-à-dire avec lien de dépendance) sont compris dans le plafond de 200 000 litres.

Qu'arrive-t-il si un conditionneur dépasse la limite autorisée?

Si un conditionneur atteint ou dépasse la limite annuelle de 200 000 litres de kérosène, le ministère suspendra son PAC pendant le restant de l'année civile, et en informera tous les percepteurs de la taxe sur les carburants. De plus, le ministère cotisera auprès du conditionneur un montant égal à la taxe sur les carburants, augmenté des pénalités et intérêts, applicable au volume de carburant non taxé dépassant la limite autorisée.

PAC du fabricant

Tout fabricant industriel qui détient un permis d'acquisition de carburant valide peut acheter du kérosène incolore, exempt de taxe, ainsi que d'autre carburant incolore, auprès des percepteurs désignés de taxe sur les carburants. L'achat de carburant incolore par un fabricant doit respecter les restrictions et conditions décrites dans le PAC.

Quelles sont les conditions régissant l'obtention d'un PAC de fabricant?

Un fabricant industriel peut demander un PAC de fabricant pour acheter du kérosène incolore (ou autre combustible de distillat moyen), exempt de taxe. Pour donner droit à cette exemption, le carburant acheté doit être livré à un lieu d'affaires autorisé afin d'être utilisé par le détenteur du PAC en tant que matière première destinée soit à être transformée en produit commercial, soit à en faire partie, pourvu que le carburant ou le produit manufacturé ne serve pas à alimenter un véhicule motorisé.

Aucune limite d'acquisition n'est imposée à ce type de permis.

Vente de kérosène par un percepteur au détenteur d'un PAC

Quelles sont les responsabilités du percepteur?

Un percepteur désigné de taxe sur les carburants peut vendre du kérosène incolore exempt de taxe à des détenteurs d'un PAC autorisés à recevoir le produit sans payer la taxe. Le percepteur doit s'assurer que l'acheteur lui présente un permis d'acquisition de carburant valide au moment de la vente. Les percepteurs sont tenus de déclarer ces ventes sur la déclaration mensuelle produite auprès du ministère. La facture remise lors de la livraison à l'acheteur doit également inclure le numéro d'enregistrement du percepteur ainsi que le numéro du permis d'acquisition de carburant de l'acheteur.

Le percepteur ainsi que le détenteur du PAC qui achète le kérosène incolore exempt de taxe doivent s'assurer que les conditions énoncées sur le permis sont effectivement respectées.

Vente de kérosène par un non-percepteur au détenteur d'un PAC

Quelles sont les responsabilités du non-percepteur?

Un distributeur qui n'est pas un percepteur autorisé de la taxe sur les carburants doit verser la taxe sur tout carburant incolore acheté auprès de son fournisseur.

Si un tel distributeur vend du carburant incolore, exempt de taxe, à un détenteur de permis d'acquisition de carburant, il peut avoir droit à un remboursement de la taxe versée à son fournisseur, en soumettant une demande auprès du ministère en vertu de l'article 13 du règlement 464 de l'Ontario. (Ou encore, le distributeur peut récupérer la taxe auprès de son fournisseur, pourvu que ce dernier soit un percepteur désigné de taxe sur les carburants.)

À titre de représentant du ministère, tout percepteur est tenu de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable afin que le carburant incolore vendu exempt de taxe ne soit pas utilisé à des fins taxables. Le percepteur ne pourra pas être tenu responsable de la taxe sur les carburants applicable à du carburant incolore livré au détenteur d'un PAC, ou en vertu d'un PAC, si le percepteur conserve :

une copie du PAC valide pendant la période en question,

et

des copies de toutes les lettres de transport, manifestes, ou factures faisant état du volume de carburant livré au détenteur du PAC au lieu d'affaires (aux lieux d'affaires) autorisé(s) durant cette période. Une attestation de livraison du carburant par le(s) conducteur(s) est également requise.

Garanties

Quelles sont les garanties exigées?

La Loi stipule que le détenteur d'un PAC est tenu de verser une garantie d'un montant égal à la taxe qui, sans PAC, aurait été exigible sur la moyenne des achats de carburant incolore effectués par le détenteur du PAC sur une période de trois mois, ou 100 000,00 $, selon le plus élevé des deux montants.

Restrictions et pénalités

Quelles restrictions sont imposées aux détenteurs d'un PAC?

Le détenteur d'un PAC ne doit utiliser le kérosène ainsi que tout autre carburant achetés en vertu d'un permis d'acquisition de carburant, à aucune autre fin que celle autorisée par le permis.

Chaque détenteur d'un PAC doit, au plus tard le 25 du mois, faire parvenir une déclaration de taxe sur les carburants (formulaire FT814) au ministère, faisant état de tout le carburant acheté en vertu du PAC. Ce formulaire précise également la quantité de carburant vendu ou utilisé durant le mois précédent.

Quelles sont les pénalités imposées?

Tout manquement à respecter l'une ou l'autre des conditions ou restrictions imposées en vertu d'un permis d'acquisition de carburant risque d'entraîner une amende pouvant atteindre 10 000 $. Cette amende s'ajouterait alors à la cotisation établie par le ministère relativement à la taxe sur les carburants, aux pénalités et aux intérêts applicables.

Kérosène coloré

Aucun permis d'acquisition de carburant n'est requis pour les achats de kérosène coloré à des fins d'utilisation non taxables, telles que pour l'éclairage, le chauffage et la cuisine.

Comment se procurer un permis d'acquisition de carburant?

Pour obtenir un formulaire de demande de permis d'acquisition de carburant, communiquez avec le :

Ministère des Finances
Direction des services à la clientèle
33, rue King Ouest
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Téléc. : 905 433-5680
  • 1 800 263-7776 pour la appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS)

Sujets connexes

Page : 533  |