Requirements for Interjurisdictional Transporters under the Fuel Tax Act and the Gasoline Tax Act

Bulletin FT/GT 2-2003
Published: April 2003
Content last reviewed: September 2009
ISBN: 0-7794-4346-2 (Print), 0-7794-4348-9 (PDF)

  • This bulletin contains important information for interjurisdictional transporters under the Fuel Tax Act and the Gasoline Tax Act.

Highlights

  • Every person transporting fuel in bulk, gasoline in bulk, aviation fuel in bulk or propane in bulk (collectively referred to as "product") into or out of Ontario must be registered as an interjurisdictional transporter and must file returns.
  • Interjurisdictional transporters must maintain required documentation, including a completed uniform manifest form, their certificate of registration (or a notarial copy if the transporter has more than one motor vehicle), and a notarial copy of the certificate of registration of the importer or exporter for whom they are transporting the product.
  • Increased fines and penalties come into effect July 1, 2003 for failure by interjurisdictional transporters to comply with the registration and filing requirements.
  • The information in this bulletin does not replace the law found in the Fuel Tax Act, the Gasoline Tax Act and related Regulations.

Definitions

Aviation Fuel in Bulk

"Aviation fuel in bulk" means aviation fuel stored, transported or transferred by any means other than in the fuel tank of an aircraft or motor vehicle in which aviation fuel for generating power in an aircraft or the motor vehicle is kept.

Fuel in Bulk

"Fuel in bulk" means fuel transported or transferred by any means other than in the fuel tank of a motor vehicle in which fuel for generating power in the motor vehicle is kept.

Gasoline in Bulk

"Gasoline in bulk" means gasoline stored, transported or transferred by any means other than in a fuel tank of a motor vehicle in which gasoline for generating power in the motor vehicle is kept.

Interjurisdictional Transporter

An "interjurisdictional transporter" is the registered owner (or lessee where lease exceeds 30 days) of a motor vehicle, the operator or shipping agent of record of a vessel, the operator of railway equipment on rails or the owner or operator of a pipeline facility who engages in the transportation or transfer of any product and who operates for such purposes,

  1. one or more motor vehicles inside and outside Ontario to which number plates are attached as required by the Highway Traffic Act,
  2. one or more vessels under the Canada Shipping Act,
  3. railway equipment on rails in connection with and as part of a public transportation system inside and outside Ontario, or
  4. a pipeline facility inside and outside Ontario.

Propane in Bulk

"Propane in bulk" means propane stored, transported or transferred by any means other than in a fuel tank of a motor vehicle in which propane for generating power in the motor vehicle is kept.

Registration and Filing Requirements

Registration Certificate

Every interjurisdictional transporter must apply for and obtain a certificate of registration from the Minister of Finance. The Minister may impose such reasonable conditions and restrictions as the Minister considers appropriate.

Filing Requirements - Fuel

Every registered interjurisdictional transporter of fuel in bulk must deliver to the Minister a Fuel Tax Interjurisdictional Transporter Return on or before the 25th day of each month with respect to all fuel in bulk transported into and out of Ontario in the immediately preceding month.

Filing Requirements - Gasoline, Aviation Fuel and Propane

Every registered interjurisdictional transporter of gasoline in bulk, aviation fuel in bulk, or propane in bulk must deliver to the Minister a Gasoline Tax Interjurisdictional Transporter Return on or before the 21st day of each month with respect to all gasoline in bulk, aviation fuel in bulk and propane in bulk transported into and out of Ontario in the immediately preceding month.

Document Requirements

Possession of Documents

Every interjurisdictional transporter must keep in the possession of the driver of the motor vehicle or the master of the vessel in which the interjurisdictional transporter is transporting or transferring product:

  • the interjurisdictional transporter's certificate of registration as a transporter (or a notarial copy of it).
  • the completed uniform manifest form for that shipment. Every interjurisdictional transporter must complete a uniform manifest form in respect of every shipment of product transported or transferred by it into or out of Ontario.
  • a notarial copy of the transporter's registration as an importer or exporter, if the interjurisdictional transporter is also a registered importer or exporter.
  • a notarial copy of the certificate of registration that the registered importer or exporter is required to provide to the interjurisdictional transporter, if product is being transported or transferred for a registered importer or exporter. The copy must be obtained before transporting product into or out of Ontario.
  • in some cases, evidence of payment of an amount equal to tax, as required on entry into Ontario from outside Canada (see Border Obligations below).

Seizure

A vehicle or vessel may be stopped and detained if an inspector has reasonable and probable grounds to believe that either the interjurisdictional transporter or the importer or exporter he is transporting the product for does not hold a certificate of registration.

Upon detention, if the driver of the motor vehicle or the master of the vessel fails to produce the documents required to be in his possession, the Minister may seize, impound, hold and dispose of the product.

Offence and Fines

Every interjurisdictional transporter transporting or transferring product into or out of Ontario who fails to produce any of the documents required to be kept in the possession of the driver or the master is guilty of an offence and on conviction is liable to a fine of not less than $150 (if fuel in bulk) or $200 (if gasoline in bulk, aviation fuel in bulk or propane in bulk) and not more than $1,000 for each document not produced.

Border Obligations when Entering Ontario from Outside Canada

Transporting as or for an Unregistered Importer

If an interjurisdictional transporter is transporting product as or for an unregistered importer, or if the interjurisdictional transporter does not have in his possession a notarial copy of the importer's certificate of registration issued by Ontario, then the interjurisdictional transporter, on entry into Ontario from outside Canada, must pay an amount equal to tax to the customs officer and file with the customs officer a properly completed Ontario Fuel and Gasoline Tax (Border) FGTB-1 form.

Record Keeping Requirements

Records and Books

Every interjurisdictional transporter must keep at its principal place of business records and books of account. This information is to be kept for a period of seven years following the end of the person's fiscal year to which the records relate.

Demand to Keep Records and Books

The Minister may demand a person keep records and books of account for such additional length of time as the Minister requires.

Offence of Failure to Keep Adequate Records and Books

If an interjurisdictional transporter fails to keep adequate records and books of account for seven years, following the end of its fiscal year to which the records relate, then the interjurisdictional transporter is guilty of an offence and on conviction is liable to a fine of not less than $200 and not more than $5,000.

If an interjurisdictional transporter fails to keep adequate records and books of account for the length of time which the Minister has required, then the interjurisdictional transporter is guilty of an offence and on conviction is liable to a fine of $50 for each day during which the default occurs or continues.

Increased Penalties and Fines

Penalty for Failure to Register

Effective July 1, 2003, every interjurisdictional transporter transporting or transferring product into or out of Ontario who fails to register with the Minister shall pay a penalty, when so assessed, equal to $500 plus 5% of the tax that would be payable on all the product transported or transferred by the transporter into or out of Ontario during the period the transporter was not a registered interjurisdictional transporter, as if the product was received or used by a purchaser in Ontario to generate power in a motor vehicle.

Offence of Failure to Register

Effective July 1, 2003, every interjurisdictional transporter transporting or transferring product into or out of Ontario who fails to register with the Minister is guilty of an offence and on conviction is liable to a fine of not less than $1,000 and not more than $10,000.

Penalty for Failure to Deliver a Return

Effective July 1, 2003, every interjurisdictional transporter who fails to deliver a return shall pay a penalty, when assessed, of $1,000 per return which is not delivered.

Offence of Failure to Deliver a Return

Effective July 1, 2003, every interjurisdictional transporter who fails to deliver a return is guilty of an offence and on conviction is liable to a fine of not less than $200 and not more than $5,000.

Additional Information and Forms

To obtain an Application for Registration as an Interjurisdictional Transporter, a Uniform Manifest Form, an Ontario Fuel and Gasoline Tax (Border) FGTB-1 form, a Fuel Tax Interjurisdictional Transporter Return or a Gasoline Tax Interjurisdictional Transporter Return, please contact:

Ministry of Finance
Client Services Branch
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Fax: 905 433-5680
  • 1 800 263-7776 for teletypewriter (TTY)
Page: 531  |

Exigences à l'égard des agents interterritoriaux en application de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants et de la Loi de la taxe sur l'essence

Bulletin FT/GT 2-2003
Date de publication : avril 2003
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2009
ISBN: 0-7794-4347-0 (Imprimé), 0-7794-4349-7 (PDF)

  • Ce bulletin contient d'importants renseignements pour les agents interterritoriaux en application de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants et de la Loi de la taxe sur l'essence.

Points saillants

  • Chaque personne transportant du carburant en vrac, de l'essence en vrac, du carburant aviation en vrac ou du propane en vrac (collectivement désignés sous le nom de « produit », afin de l'amener en Ontario ou de l'en sortir, doit s'inscrire en tant qu'agent interterritorial et, à ce titre, doit produire des déclarations.
  • Les agents interterritoriaux sont obligés de tenir certains documents, y compris un manifeste normalisé dûment rempli, leur certificat d'inscription (ou une copie notariée si l'agent a plus d'un véhicule automobile) et une copie notariée du certificat d'inscription de l'importateur ou de l'exportateur pour le compte duquel ils transportent le produit.
  • Une hausse des amendes et pénalités prend effet le 1er juillet 2003 pour les agents interterritoriaux qui ne se conforment pas aux exigences relatives à l'inscription et à la production de déclarations.
  • L'information contenue dans le présent bulletin ne remplace aucunement les dispositions de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants, de la Loi de la taxe sur l'essence et des règlements afférents.

Définitions

Carburant aviation en vrac

« Carburant aviation en vrac » s'entend du carburant aviation stocké, transporté ou transféré autrement que dans le réservoir à carburant d'un aéronef ou d'un véhicule automobile où est conservé le carburant servant à produire l'énergie dans l'aéronef ou le véhicule automobile.

Carburant en vrac

« Carburant en vrac » s'entend du carburant transporté ou transféré autrement que dans le réservoir d'un véhicule automobile où est conservé le carburant servant à produire l'énergie dans le véhicule automobile.

Essence en vrac

« Essence en vrac » s'entend de l'essence stockée, transportée ou transférée autrement que dans le réservoir à carburant d'un véhicule automobile où est conservée l'essence servant à produire l'énergie dans le véhicule automobile.

Agent interterritorial

Un « Agent interterritorial » est le propriétaire inscrit (ou le locataire, lorsqu'une location dépasse 30 jours) d'un véhicule automobile, l'utilisateur ou l'agent maritime officiel d'un bâtiment, l'utilisateur de matériel de chemin de fer sur rails ou le propriétaire ou l'utilisateur d'installations d'oléoduc qui se livre au transport ou au transfert de tout produit ou qui utilise à cette fin, selon le cas,

  1. à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur de l'Ontario, un ou plusieurs véhicules automobiles auxquels une plaque d'immatriculation est fixée tel que l'exige le Code de la route,
  2. un ou plusieurs bâtiments aux termes de la Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada,
  3. à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur de l'Ontario, du matériel de chemin de fer sur rails, dans le cadre d'un réseau de transport en commun dont ce matériel fait partie, ou
  4. des installations d'oléoduc à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de l'Ontario.

Propane en vrac

« Propane en vrac » s'entend du propane stocké, transporté ou transféré autrement que dans le réservoir à carburant d'un véhicule automobile où est conservé le propane servant à produire l'énergie dans le véhicule automobile.

Exigences relatives à l'inscription et à la production de déclarations

Certificat d'inscription

Chaque agent interterritorial doit demander et obtenir un certificat d'inscription auprès du ministre des Finances. Le ministre peut assujettir la délivrance du certificat d'inscription aux conditions et restrictions raisonnables qu'il ou elle estime appropriées.

Exigences relatives à la production de déclarations - Carburant

Chaque agent interterritorial inscrit qui transporte du carburant en vrac doit remettre au ministre une Déclaration relative à la taxe sur les carburants à remplir par les agent interterritoriaux pour le 25 de chaque mois au plus tard en rapport avec tout le carburant en vrac amené en Ontario ou sorti de l'Ontario au cours du mois immédiatement précédent.

Exigences relatives à la production de déclarations - Essence, carburant aviation et propane

Chaque agent interterritorial inscrit qui transporte de l'essence en vrac, du carburant aviation en vrac ou du propane en vrac doit remettre au ministre une Déclaration relative à la taxe sur l'essence à remplir par les agents interterritoriaux pour le 21 de chaque mois au plus tard en rapport avec toute l'essence en vrac, le carburant aviation en vrac et le propane en vrac amené en Ontario ou sorti de l'Ontario au cours du mois immédiatement précédent.

Documents Requis

Possession de documents

Chaque agent interterritorial doit faire en sorte que le conducteur du véhicule automobile ou le capitaine du bâtiment dans lequel il transporte ou transfert le produit ait en sa possession les documents suivants :

  • le certificat d'inscription de l'agent interterritorial en sa qualité de transporteur (ou une copie notariée dudit certificat);
  • le manifeste normalisé dûment rempli pour l'expédition concernée. Chaque agent interterritorial doit remplir un manifeste normalisé pour chaque expédition du produit qu'il amène en Ontario ou qu'il en sort, soit par transport soit par transfert;
  • une copie notariée de l'inscription de l'agent en tant qu'importateur ou exportateur, si l'agent interterritorial est également un importateur ou un exportateur inscrit;
  • une copie notariée du certificat d'inscription que l'importateur ou l'exportateur inscrit doit fournir à l'agent interterritorial, si le produit est transporté ou transféré pour le compte d'un importateur ou d'un exportateur inscrit. La copie doit être obtenue avant de transporter le produit afin de l'amener en Ontario ou de l'en sortir; et
  • dans certains cas, des preuves du paiement d'un montant égal à la taxe sont exigées à l'entrée en Ontario d'un point situé à l'extérieur du Canada (voir la rubrique sur les obligations à la frontière ci-dessous).

Saisie

Un véhicule ou un bâtiment peut être arrêté et retenu si un inspecteur a des motifs raisonnables et probables de croire que l'agent interterritorial ou l'importateur ou l'exportateur pour le compte duquel il transporte le produit n'est pas titulaire d'un certificat d'inscription.

Si, à la suite d'une telle détention, le conducteur du véhicule automobile ou le capitaine du bâtiment ne produit pas les documents qu'il est tenu d'avoir en sa possession, le ministre peut saisir, détenir et aliéner le produit.

Infractions et amendes

Chaque agent interterritorial transportant ou transférant le produit afin de l'amener en Ontario ou de l'en sortir qui omet de produire les documents que le conducteur du véhicule automobile ou le capitaine du bâtiment est tenu d'avoir en sa possession commet une infraction et, s'il est reconnu coupable, est passible d'une amende d'au moins 150 $ (dans le cas de carburant en vrac) ou 200 $ (dans le cas d'essence en vrac, de carburant aviation en vrac ou de propane en vrac) et d'au plus 1 000 $ pour chaque document non produit.

Obligations à la frontière à l'entrée en Ontario d'un point situé à l'extérieur du Canada

Transport en qualité d'importateur non inscrit ou pour le compte d'un tel importateur

Si un agent interterritorial transporte le produit en qualité d'importateur non inscrit ou pour le compte d'un tel importateur, ou si l'agent interterritorial n'a pas en sa possession une copie notariée du certificat d'inscription de l'importateur délivré par l'Ontario, à son entrée en Ontario d'un point situé à l'extérieur du Canada, l'agent interterritorial doit payer au douanier un montant égal à la taxe et remettre au douanier un formulaire Taxe ontarienne sur les carburants et sur l'essence - (Frontière) - FGTB-1 dûment rempli.

Exigences relatives à la tenue de dossiers

Dossiers et livres comptables

Chaque agent interterritorial doit tenir, à son lieu d'affaires commercial principal, des dossiers et des livres comptables. Ces renseignements doivent être conservés pendant une période de sept ans suivant la fin de l'exercice auquel se rapportent les dossiers.

Demande de tenir des dossiers et des livres comptables

Le ministre peut demander à une personne de tenir des dossiers et livres comptables pendant toute durée additionnelle qu'il fixera.

Défaut de tenir des dossiers et livres comptables appropriés constituant une infraction

Si l'agent interterritorial omet de tenir des dossiers et livres comptables appropriés pendant une période de sept ans suivant la fin de l'exercice auquel les dossiers se rapportent, il sera coupable d'une infraction et, sur déclaration de sa culpabilité, il sera passible d'une amende d'au moins 200 $ et d'au plus 5 000 $.

Si l'agent interterritorial omet de tenir des dossiers et livres comptables appropriés pendant la durée fixée par le ministre, il sera coupable d'une infraction et, sur déclaration de sa culpabilité il sera passible d'une amende de 50 $ pour chaque journée pendant laquelle l'infraction se commet ou se poursuit.

Hausse des pénalités et des amendes

Pénalité pour non inscription

À compter du 1er juillet 2003, chaque agent interterritorial, transportant ou transférant le produit afin de l'amener en Ontario ou de l'en sortir qui omet de s'inscrire auprès du ministre sera passible d'une pénalité qui, lorsqu'une cotisation à cet égard est établie, sera égale à 500 $ plus 5 % de la taxe qui serait payable sur tout le produit transporté ou transféré par le transporteur afin de l'amener en Ontario ou de l'en sortir au cours de la période pendant laquelle il n'était pas un agent interterritorial inscrit, comme si le produit était reçu ou utilisé par un acheteur en Ontario pour produire l'énergie dans un véhicule automobile.

Non inscription constituant une infraction

À compter du 1er juillet 2003, chaque agent interterritorial, transportant ou transférant le produit afin de l'amener en Ontario ou de l'en sortir qui omet de s'inscrire auprès du ministre sera coupable d'une infraction et, sur déclaration de sa culpabilité, il sera passible d'une amende d'au moins 1 000 $ et d'au plus 10 000 $.

Pénalité pour défaut de produire une déclaration

À compter du 1er juillet 2003, chaque agent interterritorial qui omet de produire une déclaration sera passible d'une pénalité qui, lorsqu'une cotisation à cet égard est établie, sera égale à 1 000 $ par déclaration non produite.

Défaut de produire une déclaration constituant une infraction

À compter du 1er juillet 2003, chaque agent interterritorial qui omet de produire une déclaration sera coupable d'une infraction et, sur déclaration de sa culpabilité, il sera passible d'une amende d'au moins 200 $ et d'au plus 5 000 $.

Renseignements supplémentaires et formulaires

Pour obtenir une demande d'inscription d'un agent interterritorial, un manifeste normalisé, un formulaire Taxe ontarienne sur les carburants et sur l'essence(Frontière) FGTB-1, une déclaration relative à la taxe sur les carburants à remplir par les agents interterritoriaux ou une déclaration relative à la taxe sur l'essence à remplir par les agents interterritoriaux, communiquez avec le :

Ministère des Finances
Direction des services à la clientèle
33, rue King Ouest
CP 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Téléc. : 905 433-5680
  • 1 800 263-7776 pour la appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS)
Page : 531  |