Bankruptcy and Insolvency

Published: April 2007
Content last reviewed: September 2009
ISBN: 1-4249-0182-0 (Print)

PDF Version [ 92 KB / 3 pages | Download Adobe Reader ]

The information contained in this bulletin will be useful if you are one of the following:

  • a trustee in bankruptcy
  • a monitor
  • a receiver
  • a secured creditor
  • a landlord, or
  • an agent for any person who conducts business in Ontario.

This bulletin outlines your responsibilities and describes the Ministry of Finance's policies and procedures related to insolvency and liquidation proceedings.

The federal Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA) and Companies' Creditors Arrangements Act (CCAA) are administered by the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) and the Courts respectively. Once passed, amendments to the CCAA will affect the administration of CCAA files and bring them under the control of the OSB. The Ontario Ministry of Finance (ministry) established the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Unit (BIU) to represent the ministry in all insolvency proceedings where provincial taxes are outstanding.

Trustees in Bankruptcy

A trustee in bankruptcy (trustee) is responsible for administering the affairs of the bankrupt estate. This involves, inter alia, preparing an inventory of existing assets, releasing assets to the secured creditors, gathering and liquidating existing assets, reviewing claims to the assets, and paying dividends to creditors in accordance with the scheme of distribution in Section 136 of the BIA.

Trustees are required to collect and remit the applicable retail sales tax (RST) on the sale of the bankrupt's assets and/or during their operation of the bankrupt's business. Unless trustees obtain a properly completed Purchase Exemption Certificate (PEC) from the purchaser, they must collect and remit the applicable RST. Refer to RST Guide 204 - Purchase Exemption Certificates for more information.

Where a bankruptcy occurs mid-month, both the pre-bankruptcy and post-bankruptcy return(s), if any, should be forwarded to the BIU for processing. The existing RST Vendor Permit number should be used. If a trustee operates the bankrupt's business, the bankrupt's RST Vendor Permit number should be used for filing all post-bankruptcy RST returns and remittances, until the estate has been finalized.

The BIU will file a consolidated proof of claim for all tax arrears owing under each of the statutes administered by the ministry, including the Retail Sales Tax Act (RSTA). Where a personal or real property lien has been registered under the personal property or real property registration systems, the ministry will file its proof of claim as a secured creditor.

In a bankruptcy and for proceedings under the CCAA, the ministry lien takes priority to subsequently registered security interests, with the exception of a valid Purchase Money Security Interest.

In the event that a trustee intends to disclaim its interest in any property (real or personal) belonging to a bankrupt business, the ministry requires written confirmation from the trustee, together with documentation to confirm the property's fair market value. This usually takes the form of an independent appraisal.

Proposals (BIA and Plans of Arrangement (CCAA))

The BIU examines all Proposals and Plans filed under the BIA and CCAA to determine their merits and how the ministry will vote its claim. There may be occasions when the ministry will ask for an adjournment to obtain further documentation and information prior to voting.

The ministry has a secured claim for any Personal Property Security Act (PPSA) and Real Property liens registered for any proceedings under the BIA or the CCAA provided the lien was registered before the respective Notice of Intention, Proposal or Initial Order was filed.

Receivers and Secured Creditors

Receivers are required to collect and remit the applicable RST on the sale of the debtor's assets. Unless receivers obtain a valid PEC from the purchaser, they must collect and remit the applicable RST, using the debtor's existing RST Vendor Permit number. Refer to RST Guide 204 - Purchase Exemption Certificates for more information.

A claim for RST collected or collectable plus penalties and interest accrued after January 1, 1998 takes full priority over all security interests, whether or not the security interest was acquired before that date. All security interests are affected, including, but not limited to, an interest created by, or arising from any of the following:

  • a debenture
  • a mortgage
  • a lien
  • a pledge
  • a charge, deemed or actual trust, or
  • an assignment or encumbrance.


Under subsection 22(5) of the RSTA, an assignee, liquidator, receiver, receiver-manager, secured creditor, or agent of the creditor, who takes control or possession of a vendor's property, must obtain a Clearance Certificate from the ministry before distributing such property or the proceeds from the realization of the property. Failure to obtain this certificate will result in the personal liability of such person for the amount owing by that vendor to the ministry.

When a receivership occurs mid-month, both the pre-receivership and post-receivership return(s) and payment should be forwarded to the BIU for processing. The debtor's existing RST Vendor Permit number should be used. If a receiver/ manager/secured creditor continues to operate the business, the debtor's existing RST Vendor Permit should be used to file all post-receivership returns and remittances, until the receivership has been finalized and the assets have been sold. Trustees and Receivers (BIA) and Monitors (CCAA) should forward all Notices of First Creditor Meetings and insolvency correspondence for the Ministry of Finance to the following address:

Ministry of Finance
Collections Branch
Bankruptcy and Insolvency Unit
6th Floor, 33 King Street West
Oshawa ON   L1H 8H5

Trustees should add the Ministry of Finance to the supplementary mailing lists for all filings where debtors may have tax accounts with the ministry for retail sales tax, corporation tax, employer health tax, motor fuel tax, or tobacco tax, regardless of whether or not there is an outstanding balance. Please include the ministry account numbers, if known.

Landlords in Possession

Pursuant to the Commercial Tenancies Act (CTA) a landlord in Ontario has the right to either terminate the lease or distrain on the tenant's goods where the tenant is in default. The RSTA gives the ministry a priority over the landlord's lien. Given the confidential nature of the tax debtor's account, the ministry is constrained on releasing certain taxpayer information. The landlord or agent may, prior to proceeding, fax the BIU at 905 436-4524 a request that the ministry file an updated PPSA lien to determine the amount owing to the ministry.

In the event that a landlord or agent has seized a tenant's assets and the tenant is indebted to the ministry under the RSTA, the landlord or agent will be deemed to hold the assets or proceeds in trust for the ministry. At that point, the landlord or agent is legally entitled to obtain information regarding the client's RST outstanding balance. The landlord or agent must forward a letter, preferable via fax, to the nearest Ontario Ministry of Finance Tax Office stating the following:

  1. the landlord/agent has taken possession of the taxpayer's assets
  2. the name and address of the landlord who took possession
  3. the name and address of any agent involved
  4. legal name of the tenant and Vendor Permit number, if available
  5. tenant's address
  6. date of possession, and
  7. a copy of the Notice of Distraint.

Upon receipt of the above information and documentation, the ministry will advise the landlord or agent of the amount of the deemed trust claim.

Under subsection 22(3) of the RSTA, the ministry is deemed to be the beneficial owner of the tenant's property to the extent of the tenant's RST debt. If the landlord intends to sell the goods of a tenant under distraint, the landlord is required to remit the RST owing to the ministry out of the proceeds of the sale, in priority to all security interests including the distraint/ possessory lien for rental arrears, and obtain a Section 22 Clearance Certificate. Failure to remit these funds and obtain a Section 22 Clearance Certificate will result in the landlord and/or agent being personally liable for the amount of RST owing by the tenant under the RSTA.

The ministry may accept the net proceeds from the sale of the vendor's assets to the extent of the tenant's unpaid RST debt, provided the seller has obtained fair market value for those assets. Landlords in this situation will be allowed to retain their reasonable costs and expenses incurred in taking possession and in selling the goods. If the tenant's goods are distributed or sold for less than the fair market value, the ministry may hold the landlord/agent liable for the full RST trust claim.

Licensed Establishments

All liquor licence transfers and applications must be directed to the Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario under the Liquor Licence Act of Ontario.

Director's Liability

Under section 43 of the RSTA, in the event that a corporation fails to collect or remit the applicable RST, the directors of the corporation may be held jointly and severally liable with the corporation for the tax owing and any related interest or penalties. Such liability arises where a director does not exercise the degree of care, diligence and skill to prevent the failure that a reasonably prudent person would have exercised in comparable circumstances. The ministry may collect the RST owing from directors using the prescribed remedies under the RSTA, including warrants of execution, garnishments, and liens on real and personal property.

For further information, please contact the Collections Branch, Bankruptcy and Insolvency Unit toll-free at 1 888 584-6363 or forward a letter to:

Ministry of Finance
Collections Branch
Bankruptcy and Insolvency Unit
6th Floor, 33 King Street West
Oshawa ON   L1H 8H5

Page: 2407  |

Faillite et insolvabilité

Bulletin
Date de publication : avril 2007
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2009

Les renseignements donnés dans le présent bulletin vous seront utiles si vous êtes :

  • un syndic de faillite
  • un contrôleur
  • un séquestre
  • un créancier garanti
  • un locateur,
  • le mandataire de quiconque fait des affaires en Ontario.

Ce bulletin énonce vos responsabilités et décrit les politiques et directives du ministère des Finances en ce qui concerne les procédures d'insolvabilité et de liquidation.

Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) et les tribunaux administrent respectivement la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI) et la Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies (LACC) fédérales. Une fois adoptées, les modifications à la LACC altéreront l'administration des dossiers qui tomberont sous la responsabilité du BSF. Le ministère des Finances de l'Ontario (ministère) a établi l'Unité des faillites et de l'insolvabilité pour le représenter dans toutes les procédures d'insolvabilité où des taxes provinciales restent impayées.

Les syndics de faillite

Un syndic de faillite (syndic) est responsable de l'administration des actifs du failli, c'est-à-dire qu'il doit notamment préparer un inventaire de l'actif existant, libérer l'actif pour le bénéfice du créancier garanti, rassembler et liquider l'actif existant, examiner les créances et payer les dividendes aux créditeurs, conformément au plan de répartition prévu dans l'article 136 de la LFI.

Un syndic est tenu de percevoir et de payer la taxe de vente au détail (TVD) applicable à la vente des biens du failli et / ou pendant qu'il s'occupe des affaires du failli. À moins qu'un syndic obtienne auprès de l'acheteur un certificat d'exemption à l'achat (PEC) dûment rempli, il doit percevoir et payer la TVD applicable. Pour plus de renseignements, se reporter au Guide de la taxe de vente au détail no 204- Certificats d'exemption de taxe.

Quand une faillite se produit en milieu de mois, la ou les déclarations d'avant la faillite et d'après la faillite, le cas échéant, doivent être envoyées à l'Unité des faillites et de l'insolvabilité pour que celle-ci les traite. Il faut utiliser le numéro existant du permis de vendeur aux fins de la TVD. Si un syndic s'occupe des affaires du failli, il faut utiliser le numéro du permis de vendeur aux fins de la TVD dans toutes les déclarations et versements de TVD d'après la faillite, jusqu'à la liquidation des biens du failli.

L'Unité des faillites et de l'insolvabilité produit une preuve de réclamation générale pour tous les arriérés d'impôt, conformément à chaque loi administrée par le ministère, y compris la Loi sur la taxe de vente au détail (LTVD). Quand un privilège sur des biens personnels ou réels a été enregistré en vertu du système d'enregistrement des biens personnels ou des biens réels, le ministère produit sa preuve de réclamation à titre de créancier garanti.

Dans le cas d'une faillite et des procédures menées en application de la LACC, le privilège du ministère a priorité de rang sur les sûretés en garantie enregistrées par la suite, sauf sur des sûretés en garantie du prix d'acquisition valide.
Lorsqu'un syndic a l'intention de renoncer à son droit sur un bien (réel ou personnel) appartenant au failli, le ministère exige que le syndic lui en donne confirmation par écrit, et lui remette des documents attestant de la juste valeur marchande du bien. Il s'agit en général d'une évaluation d'un expert indépendant.

Propositions (LFI et plans d'arrangement (LACC))

L'Unité des faillites et de l'insolvabilité examine toutes les propositions et tous les plans déposés en vertu de la LFI et de la LACC pour en déterminer le bien-fondé et décider comment le ministère votera du chef de la réclamation. Dans certaines circonstances, le ministère demande un ajournement pour se procurer davantage de documents et de renseignements avant de voter.

En application de la LFI ou de la LACC, le ministère a une créance garantie par tous les privilèges prévus dans la Loi sur les sûretés mobilières et par les biens réels grevés d'un privilège enregistré avant une procédure, sous réserve que l'enregistrement du privilège ait été effectué avant le dépôt de l'avis d'intention, de la proposition ou de l'ordonnance initiale.

Séquestres et créanciers garantis

Un séquestre est tenu de percevoir et de payer la TVD applicable sur la vente des biens du débiteur. À moins qu'un séquestre obtienne auprès de l'acheteur un certificat d'exemption à l'achat (PEC) valide, il doit percevoir et payer la TVD applicable, en utilisant le numéro existant du permis de vendeur aux fins de la TVD du débiteur. Pour plus de renseignements, se reporter au Guide de la taxe de vente au détail no 204- Certificats d'exemption de taxe.

Une demande de remboursement de la TVD perçue ou recouvrable plus les pénalités et les intérêts accumulés après le 1er janvier 1998 ont entière priorité de rang sur toutes les sûretés, que la sûreté ait été acquise ou non précédemment à cette date. Toutes les sûretés sont visées, y compris, sans toutefois qu'ils s'y limitent, les droits nés ou découlant :

  • d'une débenture
  • d'une hypothèque
  • d'un privilège
  • d'un nantissement
  • d'une sûreté, fiducie réputée ou réelle
  • d'une cession et d'une charge

Avis

Conformément au paragraphe 22(5) de la LTVD, un cessionnaire, un liquidateur, un séquestre, un administrateur-séquestre, un créancier garanti ou un mandataire du créancier qui assume le contrôle ou prend possession des biens d'un vendeur, doit obtenir auprès du ministère, avant de distribuer les biens ou le produit de leur réalisation, un certificat d'attestation de paiement de la taxe. Faute d'obtenir ce certificat, ladite personne sera personnellement responsable de la somme due par le vendeur au ministère.

Lorsqu'une mise sous séquestre se produit en milieu de mois, la ou les déclarations d'avant et d'après la mise sous séquestre doivent être envoyées à l'Unité des faillites et de l'insolvabilité pour que celle-ci les traite. Il faut utiliser le numéro existant du permis de vendeur aux fins de la TVD du débiteur. Si un séquestre / gérant /créancier garanti continue d'exploiter l'entreprise, il faut utiliser le numéro du permis de vendeur aux fins de la TVD du débiteur dans toutes les déclarations et versements d'après la mise sous séquestre, jusqu'à ce que le séquestre soit finalisé et que les biens soient vendus.

Les syndics et les séquestres (LFI) ainsi que les contrôleurs (LACC) doivent envoyer tous les avis de la première assemblée des créanciers et la correspondance sur l'insolvabilité au ministère des Finances à l'adresse suivante :

Ministère des Finances
Direction de la perception des revenus
Unité des faillites et de l'insolvabilité
6e étage, 33, rue King Ouest
Oshawa (Ontario) L1H 8H5

Les syndics ajouteront le ministère des Finances sur les listes d'envoi supplémentaires pour toutes les déclarations, quand les débiteurs ont un compte de taxes au ministère pour la taxe de vente au détail, l'impôt des sociétés, l'impôt-santé des employeurs, la taxe sur l'essence ou la taxe sur le tabac, indépendamment du fait qu'il y ait un solde impayé ou non. Les syndics inscriront les numéros de compte du ministère, s'ils les connaissent.

Locateurs en possession

En Ontario, un locateur a le droit en vertu de la Loi sur la location commerciale (CTA) soit de résilier le bail soit de pratiquer une saisie-gagerie pour non-paiement de loyer. En vertu de la LTVD, le ministère a un droit prioritaire par rapport au privilège du locateur. Étant donné la nature confidentielle du compte de taxes du débiteur, le ministère est limité en ce qui concerne la divulgation de certains renseignements sur les contribuables. Avant la procédure, le locateur ou le mandataire peut envoyer par télécopieur à l'Unité des faillites et de l'insolvabilité (905 436-4524) une demande pour que le ministère dépose un privilège actualisé au titre de la Loi sur les sûretés mobilières pour qu'il puisse calculer le montant dû au ministère.

Advenant qu'un locateur ou un mandataire confisque les biens d'un locataire et que ce dernier soit endetté envers le ministère en vertu de la LTVD, le locateur ou le mandataire sera réputé détenir en fiducie les biens ou les produits pour le ministère. À ce moment-là, le locateur ou le mandataire a légalement le droit de se procurer des renseignements sur le solde de son client au titre de la TVD. Le locateur ou le mandataire doit faire parvenir une lettre, par télécopieur de préférence, au Bureau fiscal le plus proche du ministère des Finances de l'Ontario, dans laquelle il indique :

  1. la prise de possession des biens du contribuable par le locateur ou le mandataire
  2. le nom et l'adresse du locateur qui en a pris possession
  3. le nom et l'adresse du mandataire impliqué
  4. le nom officiel du locataire et numéro du permis de vendeur aux fins de la TVD, s'il y a lieu
  5. l'adresse du locataire
  6. la date de la prise de possession
  7. une copie de l'Avis de saisie.

Dès réception des renseignements et des documents ci-dessus mentionnés, le ministère informe le locateur ou le mandataire du montant de la réclamation d'après la fiducie présumée.

Conformément au paragraphe 22(3) de la LTVD, le ministère est réputé être le propriétaire bénéficiaire des biens du locataire jusqu'à concurrence de la dette de ce dernier au titre de la TVD. Si le locateur a l'intention de vendre les biens d'un locataire faisant l'objet d'une saisie-gagerie, il est tenu de se servir du produit de la vente pour payer au ministère la somme due au titre de la TVD, ce paiement ayant préséance sur toutes les sûretés, y compris la saisie-gagerie et le privilège possessoire pour les arriérés de loyer, et d'obtenir un certificat de décharge en vertu de l'article 22. Faute de payer ces fonds et d'obtenir le certificat de décharge en vertu de l'article 22, le locateur et / ou le mandataire seront personnellement responsables de la somme que le locataire doit au titre de la TVD en vertu de la LTVD.

Le ministère peut accepter le produit net de la vente des biens du vendeur jusqu'à concurrence de la dette de ce dernier au titre de la TVD, sous réserve que les biens aient été vendus à leur juste valeur marchande. Les locateurs se trouvant dans cette situation auront le droit de prélever des frais et des dépenses raisonnables qu'ont entraînés la prise de possession et la vente des biens. Si les biens du locataire sont distribués ou vendus pour une somme inférieure à leur juste valeur marchande, le ministère peut tenir le locateur et / ou le mandataire responsable du montant total de la réclamation sur des biens au titre de la TVD.

Établissements pourvus d'un permis

En vertu de la Loi sur les permis d'alcool de l'Ontario, tous les transferts et demandes de permis de vente d'alcool doivent être envoyés à la Commission des alcools et des jeux de l'Ontario.

Responsabilité des administrateurs

Conformément à l'article 43 de la LTVD, si une personne morale n'a pas perçu ou n'a pas payé la TVD applicable, ses administrateurs peuvent être tenus responsables conjointement et individuellement avec la personne morale de la payer et de payer les intérêts ou les pénalités connexes. Un administrateur est responsable d'un tel manquement quand il n'a pas fait preuve du degré de diligence et de compétence dont une personne raisonnablement prudente aurait fait preuve dans des circonstances comparables. Le ministère peut percevoir le montant dû au titre de la TVD auprès des administrateurs en appliquant les recours prévus dans la LTVD, y compris mandats d'exécution, saisie-arrêt et privilèges sur les biens meubles ou immeubles.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez contacter la Direction de la perception des revenus, Unité des faillites et de l'insolvabilité au numéro sans frais 1 888 584-6363 ou envoyer une lettre à l'adresse ci-dessous :

Ministère des Finances
Direction de la perception des revenus
Unité des faillites et de l'insolvabilité
6e étage, 33, rue King Ouest
Oshawa (Ontario) L1H 8H5

Page : 2407  |