Definition of Gross Revenue and Changes to Instalment Payment Requirements, for the Purposes of the Gross Revenue Charge

Published: September 2016
Content last reviewed: September 2016

  • This bulletin provides details on the definition of gross revenue for the period beginning January 1, 2001 and subsequent years for owners of hydro-electric generating stations and water power lease holders who are liable to pay the taxes and charges on the gross revenues of hydro-electric generating stations under section 92.1 of the Electricity Act, 1998 (Act).
  • This bulletin also provides details on changes to the instalment payment requirements for 2010 and subsequent years.
  • This bulletin replaces Tax Bulletins EA 1-2006, EA 1-2005, EA 1-2004 and EA 1-2003.
  • The information in this bulletin does not replace the law found in the Act and related regulations.

Background

Gross Revenue Charge (GRC)

Effective January 1, 2001, the existing property taxes and water rental charges paid by hydro-electric generating station owners and water power lease holders were replaced with the taxes and charges on the gross revenues of hydro-electric generating stations. These taxes and charges under section 92.1 of the Electricity Act, 1998 represent separate components of what is known as the Gross Revenue Charge (GRC). For information about the Gross Revenue Charge, refer to Ontario Tax Bulletin EA 1-2002 - Taxes and Charges on the Gross Revenues of Hydro-Electric Generating Stations.

Regulation Amended

Gross Revenue

The GRC regulation (O. Reg. 124/02) defined gross revenue for the period January 1, 2001, to December 31, 2008, to be the amount determined by multiplying the station's annual generation for the year by a price of $40,000 per gigawatt hour.

The GRC regulation has been amended by O. Reg. 09/10 to set the price at $40,000 per gigawatt hour in order that the same calculation of gross revenue continues to apply through 2009 and subsequent years.

Instalment Payments

The GRC regulation requires owners of hydro-electric generating stations and water power lease holders to pay monthly instalments on or before the 16th day of each month if the total amounts payable for all their stations under section 92.1 of the Act for the immediately preceding year is $10,000 or more. If the total amounts payable for the immediately preceding year is less than $10,000, persons may pay quarterly instalments on the 16th day of March, June, September and December.

The GRC regulation has been amended to no longer require persons to pay instalments for 2010 or a subsequent year, if their total amounts payable for all their stations under section 92.1 of the Act for the immediately preceding year is less than $1,000.

Hydro-electric generating station owners and water power lease holders that are not required to pay instalments in a year are required to pay their total amounts payable under section 92.1 of the Act, upon delivery of their Annual GRC Return, which is due on or before March 16 of the following year.

Additional Information

If this bulletin does not completely address your particular situation, refer to the Electricity Act, 1998 and related regulations, visit our website at ontario.ca/finance or contact:

Ministry of Finance
Account Management and Collections Branch
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297)
  • Fax: 905‑433-4511
  • 1‑800‑263‑7776 for teletypewriter (TTY)
Page: 549  |

Définition de revenu brut et modifications aux exigences relatives aux versements échelonnés aux fins de la redevance sur le revenu brut

Date de publication : septembre  2016
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2016

  • Le présent bulletin renseigne sur la définition de « revenu brut » pour la période commençant le 1er janvier 2001 et les années suivantes, pour les propriétaires de centrales hydroélectriques et les titulaires d'un bail pour l'exploitation de ressources hydroélectriques qui sont tenus de payer les impôts et redevances sur le revenu brut des centrales hydroélectriques en vertu de l'article 92.1 de la Loi de 1998 sur l'électricité (la Loi).
  • Ce bulletin fournit aussi des détails sur les modifications aux exigences relatives aux versements échelonnés pour 2010 et les années suivantes.
  • Le présent bulletin remplace les bulletins fiscaux EA 1-2006, EA 1-2005, EA 1-2004 et EA 1‑2003.
  • L'information contenue dans ce bulletin ne remplace pas les dispositions de la Loi et des règlements afférents.

Généralités

Redevance sur le revenu brut (RRB)

Depuis le 1er janvier 2001, les impôts fonciers et redevances d'utilisation d'énergie hydraulique actuels auxquels étaient assujettis les propriétaires de centrales hydroélectriques et les titulaires d'un bail pour l'exploitation de ressources hydroélectriques ont été remplacés par des impôts et des redevances sur le revenu brut des centrales hydroélectriques. Ces impôts et redevances appliqués en vertu de l'article 92.1 de la Loi de 1998 sur l'électricité représentent des composantes distinctes de ce que l'on appelle la redevance sur le revenu brut (RRB). Pour plus de précisions concernant la redevance sur le revenu brut, consultez le bulletin fiscal de l'Ontario EA 1-2002 – Impôts et redevances sur les revenus bruts des centrales hydroélectriques.

Règlement modifié

Revenu brut

Le règlement sur la RRB (Règlement de l'Ontario 124/02) définissait le revenu brut pour la période du 1er janvier 2001 au 31 décembre 2006 comme étant le montant établi en multipliant la production annuelle de la centrale pour l'année par un tarif de 40 000 $/gWh.

Le règlement sur la RRB a été modifié par le Règlement de l'Ontario 09/10 pour fixer le prix à 40 000 $/gWh afin que le même calcul du revenu brut continue de s'appliquer pendant toute l'année 2009 et les années suivantes.

Versements échelonnés

Le règlement sur la RRB stipule que les propriétaires de centrales hydroélectriques et les titulaires d'un bail pour l'exploitation de ressources hydroélectriques doivent effectuer des versements mensuels au plus tard le 16e jour de chaque mois si le montant total exigible pour toutes leurs centrales aux termes de l'article 92.1 de la Loi pour l'année précédente est de 10 000 $ ou plus. Si le montant total exigible pour l'année précédente est inférieur à 10 000 $, les personnes peuvent faire des versements trimestriels le 16e jour du mois de mars, de juin, de septembre et de décembre.

Le règlement sur la RRB a été modifié et n'exige plus que les personnes effectuent des versements pour 2010 ou une année ultérieure, si leur montant total exigible pour toutes leurs centrales aux termes de l'article 92.1 de la Loi pour l'année précédente est inférieur à 1 000 $.

Les propriétaires de centrales hydroélectriques et les titulaires d'un bail pour l'exploitation de ressources hydroélectriques qui ne sont pas tenus de faire des versements échelonnés au cours d'une année doivent payer leur montant total exigible en vertu de l'article 92.1 de la Loi, à la réception de leur déclaration annuelle de la RRB, devant être transmise au plus tard le 16 mars de l'année suivante.

Renseignements additionnels

Si ce bulletin ne couvre pas entièrement votre situation particulière, consultez la Loi de 1998 sur l'électricité ainsi que les règlements afférents, ou communiquez avec le :

Ministère des Finances
Direction de la gestion des comptes et de la perception
33, rue King Ouest
CP 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

Sans‑frais : 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297)
Télécopieur : 905‑433‑4511
Appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS) : 1‑800‑263‑7776

Le présent bulletin ainsi que différentes autres publications du ministère des Finances, en français et en anglais, sont disponibles en ligne à l'adresse ontario.ca/finances.

On peut consulter, en ligne, la Loi de 1998 sur l'électricité ainsi que d'autres lois et règlements publics de l'Ontario, à l'adresse ontario.ca/lois-en-ligne.

Page : 549  |