Guide to the Application of the Land Transfer Tax Act to Certain Transactions

Bulletin LTT 1-2001
Published: June 2001
Content last reviewed: September 2009
ISBN: 0-7794-1485-3 (Print), 0-7794-1486-1 (PDF)

This tax bulletin clarifies the application of the Land Transfer Tax Act ("Act") on certain transfers of land. This bulletin rescinds and replaces Bulletin LTT-5(November 1, 1974) and Bulletin LTT-7 (November 1, 1974).

1. Agreements of Purchase and Sale:

The definition of "convey" in section 1 of the Act includes "...agreeing to sell land in Ontario...or the registration of a caution or notice of any kind signifying the existence of an unregistered instrument or writing by which land is conveyed...".

As a result, an agreement of purchase and sale or any related notice or caution is a taxable conveyance when tendered for registration. The value of the consideration is the full amount of the consideration set out in the agreement. When the subsequent conveyance of the land to which the agreement relates is tendered for registration, no additional tax is payable where the Affidavit of Residence and Value of the Consideration states that the tax was paid when the agreement of purchase and sale or notice thereof was tendered for registration.

2. Options:

The definition of "convey" also includes the "giving of an option upon or with respect to any land". As a result, the notice of an option to purchase land or the assignment of an option is a taxable conveyance when tendered for registration. The value of the consideration is the amount of the consideration paid by the optionee to acquire the option, and not the option exercise price.
Where there is an unregistered disposition of a beneficial interest in land as a result of an option, tax is applicable in accordance with section 3 of the Act. The consideration will be determined in the same manner described in the preceding paragraph. A return must be filed and the tax paid on the consideration paid by the optionee to acquire the option.

3. Easements:

A conveyance of land that is a grant of an easement or right of way is a taxable conveyance when tendered for registration and tax must be paid on the value of the consideration, if any.

The only exception to this is with respect to certain easements granted to oil or gas pipe line companies. Regulation 695, R.R.O.1990, defines a "pipe line company" and sets out that the following is exempt from tax:

"...any conveyance to or in trust for a pipe line company that conveys only an easement or right of way in, over, under or upon land, or that conveys only the right to acquire such an easement or right of way, and that is made for the purpose of enabling the pipe line company to construct and operate on the land described in the conveyance a pipe line for the transportation of oil, gas or other liquid and gaseous hydrocarbons and products thereof...".

This exemption may be claimed in paragraph 7 of the Affidavit of Residence and Value of the Consideration.

Where an easement is not registered on title, the provisions under section 3 for unregistered dispositions apply. In those cases the required return must be filed and the tax paid accordingly. Under the provisions of O. Reg. 70/91, the exemption available under Reg. 695 R.R.O. 1990 may also be claimed, if applicable, on unregistered dispositions.

4. Consideration Expressed in Foreign Currency, or in a Form Other Than Money

Where the consideration for a conveyance is expressed in foreign currency, or is in a form other than money (in kind), the value of the consideration shall be determined as of the date on which the agreement reflected in the conveyance was entered into in writing by the parties. The value of the consideration must be converted to Canadian currency.

Additional Information

If this bulletin does not completely address your particular situation, refer to the Act and related regulations, visit our website at ontario.ca/finance or contact:

Ministry of Finance
Audit Branch
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Fax: 905 433-5770
  • 1 800 263-7776 for teletypewriter (TTY)

Related topics

Page: 559  |

Guide relatif à l'application de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière à certaines transactions

Bulletin fiscal de l'Ontario LTT 1-2001
Bulletin LTT 1-2001
Date de publication : juin 2001
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2009
ISBN: 0-7794-1487-X (Imprimé), 0-7794-1488-8 (PDF)

Le présent bulletin a pour objet de clarifier l'application de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière (la Loi ) à certaines cessions de biens-fonds. Il annule et remplace les bulletins LTT-5 (1er novembre 1974) et LTT-7 (1er novembre 1974).

1. Ententes d'achat et de vente :

La définition de céder à l'article 1 de la Loi englobe le ... consentement à la vente... d'un bien-fonds en Ontario... ou l'enregistrement d'un avertissement ou d'un avis quelconque signalant l'existence d'un acte ou d'un écrit non enregistré qui constate la cession d'un bien-fonds... .

Par conséquent, une entente d'achat et de vente ou tout avis ou avertissement constitue une cession imposable au moment de sa présentation pour enregistrement. La valeur de la contrepartie correspond au montant intégral de la contrepartie telle qu'énoncée dans l'entente. Lorsque la cession ultérieure du bienfonds faisant l'objet de l'entente est présentée pour enregistrement, aucuns droits supplémentaires ne sont exigibles si l'Affidavit relatif à la résidence et à la valeur de la contrepartie stipule que les droits ont été acquittés lors de la présentation de l'entente d'achat ou de vente, ou de l'avis pour enregistrement.

2. Options :

La définition de céder couvre également ... l'offre d'une option à l'égard d'un bien-fonds . Par conséquent, l'avis relatif à une option d'achat d'un bien-fonds ou l'offre d'une option constitue une cession imposable au moment de sa présentation pour enregistrement. La valeur de la contrepartie correspond au montant de la contrepartie versée par l'optant en vue d'acquérir l'option, et non le prix de levée de l'option.

Dans le cas de l'aliénation non enregistrée d'un intért bénéficiaire à l'égard d'un bien-fonds découlant de la levée d'une option, les droits sont exigibles aux termes de l'article 3 de la Loi. La contrepartie sera établie selon la méthode décrite au paragraphe précédent. Une déclaration doit tre produite et les droits doivent tre acquittés sur la contrepartie versée par l'optant en vue d'acquérir l'option.

3. Servitudes :

Une cession de bien-fonds qui constitue l'octroi d'une servitude ou d'un droit de passage est considérée comme une cession imposable au moment de sa présentation pour enregistrement, et les droits doivent tre acquittés sur la valeur de la contrepartie, le cas échéant.

La seule exception à cette règle s'applique dans le cas de certaines servitudes octroyées à des compagnies d'exploitation de pipelines de pétrole ou de gaz. Le règlement 695, R.R.O. 1990, précise la définition d'une compagnie de pipeline et définit les exemptions suivantes :

... toute cession, directement ou en fiducie, à une compagnie de pipeline qui cède uniquement une servitude ou un droit de passage applicable à un bien-fonds (à travers, au-dessus ou en dessous), ou qui cède uniquement le droit d'acquisition d'une telle servitude ou d'un tel droit de passage, dans le but de permettre à la compagnie de pipeline de construire et d'exploiter, sur le bien-fonds décrit dans la cession, un pipeline destiné au transport de pétrole, de gaz ou d'autre liquide ou hydrocarbures gazeux et produits dérivés... .

Cette exemption peut tre demandée au titre du paragraphe 7 de l'Affidavit relatif à la résidence et à la valeur de la contrepartie.

Si aucune servitude n'est enregistrée sur l'acte, les dispositions de l'article 3 concernant les aliénations non enregistrées s'appliquent. Dans de tels cas, la déclaration requise doit tre produite et les droits exigibles, acquittés. En vertu des dispositions du règlement de l'Ontario 70/91, l'exemption accordée aux termes du règl. 695, R.R.O. 1990, peut également tre demandée, le cas échéant, sur les aliénations non enregistrées.

4. Contrepartie exprimée en devises étrangères, ou sous une forme autre que de l'argent

Lorsque la contrepartie versée à l'égard d'une cession est exprimée en devises étrangères, ou sous une forme autre que de l'argent (en nature), la valeur de la contrepartie doit tre établie en fonction de la date à laquelle l'entente indiquée sur l'acte de cession a été conclue par écrit par les deux parties. La valeur de la contrepartie doit tre convertie en devises canadiennes.

Renseignements additionnels

Si le présent bulletin ne couvre pas entièrement votre situation particulière, consultez la Loi et les règlements afférents, visitez notre site Web à ontario.ca/finances ou communiquez avec le :

Ministère des Finances
Direction de la vérification
33, rue King Ouest
CP 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Téléc. : 905 433-5770
  • 1 800 263-7776 pour la appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS)
Page : 559  |