Land Transfer Tax Refunds for First-Time Homebuyers

Table of contents

Introduction

Refund amounts and limitations

Requirements to qualify for the refund

Procedures to apply for the refund

Definitions


Introduction

When you buy land or an interest in land in Ontario, you pay land transfer tax. First-time homebuyers of an eligible home may be eligible for a refund of all or part of the tax.

To claim a refund, you must be at least 18 years of age, you cannot have owned a home or an interest in a home anywhere in the world, and your spouse cannot have owned a home or interest in a home, anywhere in the world while he or she was your spouse. Previous ownership in a home means you do not qualify for the land transfer tax first-time homebuyers refund. The method of acquiring the home (e.g., purchase, gift or through an inheritance) is not relevant.

You cannot re‑qualify as a first‑time homebuyer. This rule may be different from other federal programs for first‑time homebuyers (e.g., the Canada Revenue Agency Home Buyers' Plan).

General

Land transfer tax applies to all conveyances of land in Ontario. First‑time homebuyers may be eligible for a refund of all or part of the tax payable.

  • For agreements of purchase and sale entered into before December 14, 2007, the refund only applies on the purchase of a newly constructed home.
  • For agreements of purchase and sale entered into after December 13, 2007, the refund applies to all homes, whether newly constructed or resale.

Qualifying taxpayers may claim an immediate refund at time of registration as follows:

If the refund is not claimed at registration, the tax must be paid and a claim for the refund may be submitted directly to the Ministry of Finance at the address at the end of this bulletin.

If the refund is claimed at the time of registration, it may offset the land transfer tax that would be payable. If the refund is not claimed at registration, the tax must be paid, and a claim for the refund may be submitted to the Ministry of Finance. No interest is paid on this refund. Procedures for refunds are outlined below, under Procedures to apply for the refund.

Refund amounts and limitations

How much money could I receive?

For conveyances or dispositions that occur before January 1, 2017, the maximum amount of the refund is $2,000.

Beginning January 1, 2017, the maximum amount of the refund is $4,000. The increased limit of $4,000 applies only to conveyances or dispositions that occur on or after January 1, 2017, regardless of the date the agreement of purchase and sale was signed.

Beginning January 1, 2017, no land transfer tax would be payable by qualifying first‑time purchasers on the first $368,000 of the value of the consideration for eligible homes. First‑time purchasers of homes greater than $368,000 would receive a maximum refund of $4,000.

For information on determining the value of the consideration for transfers of new homes, read Determining the Value of the Consideration for Transfers of New Homes.

For information on calculating land transfer tax, read Calculating Land Transfer Tax.

Limitation

The refund will be reduced if one (or more) of the purchasers is not a first‑time homebuyer. The refund will be proportionate to the interest acquired by the individuals who qualify for the refund.

Examples – Parent and Child

Where a parent who is not a first‑time homebuyer, and a child who is a first‑time homebuyer, purchase a home with equal 50/50 interests, the child may claim a refund of 50% of the land transfer tax refund. The child's claim cannot exceed 50% of the maximum allowable refund (i.e., 50% of $2,000 for conveyances or dispositions prior to Januar  1, 2017 or 50% of $4,000 for conveyances or dispositions on or after January 1, 2017).

In a situation where a parent is also on title to a child's property, such as at the insistence of a bank, it will be necessary to pay land transfer tax at the time of registration and apply for a refund from the Ministry of Finance.

If the parent did not acquire a beneficial interest in the property as a result of the conveyance:

  • the ministry will accept the fact that the parent was on title as a trustee for the child, and
  • the child would qualify for the first‑time homebuyers refund, provided that all other eligibility requirements are met, and evidence of the trust is submitted (e.g., a letter from the bank confirming that the parent is on title for mortgage purposes or a copy of a trust agreement).

Example ‑ Spouse

A qualifying purchaser may also claim a refund in proportion to his or her spouse's interest if that purchaser's spouse has owned a home before becoming the purchaser's spouse, but not while being that purchaser's spouse.

My partner and I are buying a home together. I have owned a home, but he has not. Does he qualify for the first‑time homebuyers refund?

Your partner's eligibility for a refund depends on whether you are spouses as defined in section 29 of the Family Law Act. Please refer to the Definitions section for the meaning of spouse.

If you are not spouses, then your partner may claim a refund based on his interest acquired in the home. If you are spouses, your partner may claim a refund up to the maximum refund amount applicable to your transaction (you can claim the refund for your interest and your partner's interest), as long as you did not own a home while you were each other's spouse. If you did own the home while you were spouses of each other, then your partner does not qualify for a refund even if you did not live in the house together.

Please refer to the Refund amounts and limitations section for information about maximum refund amount.

Requirements to qualify for the refund

To qualify for a refund:

  • The purchaser must be at least 18 years old.
  • The purchaser must occupy the home as their principle residence within nine months of the date of transfer.
  • The purchaser cannot have ever owned an eligible home, or an interest in an eligible home, anywhere in the world, at any time.
  • If the purchaser entered into an agreement of purchase and sale before December 14, 2007, the home must be a newly constructed home and the purchaser must be eligible for the Tarion New Home Warranty.
  • If the purchaser has a spouse, the spouse cannot have owned an eligible home, or had any ownership interest in an eligible home, anywhere in the world, while he or she was the purchaser's spouse. If this is the case, no refund is available to either spouse.
  • The purchaser cannot have previously received an Ontario Home Ownership Savings Plan (OHOSP) ‑ based refund of land transfer tax.

Additional requirement

Beginning January 1, 2017, eligibility for the first‑time homebuyers refund program is restricted to Canadian citizens and permanent residents of Canada.

As a transitional measure, purchasers who entered into agreements of purchase and sale on or before November 14, 2016, would remain eligible for the refund regardless of citizenship or residency status.

Purchasers who would otherwise be eligible for a refund, but who are not Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada when the transaction closes, have 18 months following registration to become eligible. Upon obtaining Canadian citizenship or permanent resident status, these purchasers may apply for the refund within the 18‑month period following registration of the conveyance or the date the unregistered disposition occurs.

Time limit to apply for refund

A qualifying purchaser must apply for the refund within 18 months after the date of registration of the conveyance or the date the unregistered disposition occurs.

Audit

The application and any refund payment are subject to audit by the Ministry of Finance. Charges may be laid, and fines may result, where a person obtains or attempts to obtain a refund by deceit, falsehood or any fraudulent means.

Procedures to apply for the refund

Electronic registration

In the electronic land registration system, the refund may be claimed by selecting the appropriate electronic statements located under the Explanation tab of the land transfer tax section. Statement 9028 or 9029 must be completed.

As well, the following statements must be completed:

9127 and
9128 or (9129 and either 9130 or 9131) and
9132 and

In addition, for agreements of purchase and sale entered in prior to December 14, 2007 where the home purchased must be a newly constructed home, the following statement must be completed:

9133

Statements 9028, 9029, 9127, 9131, 9132 and 9133 require additional information to be entered. The wording of these electronic statements is as follows:

9028

Fraction of parties who are qualifying home purchasers: ALL OR FRACTION (N/D) and the agreement of purchase and sale was entered into before December 14, 2007.

9029

Fraction of parties who are qualifying home purchasers: ALL OR FRACTION (N/D) and the agreement of purchase and sale was entered into after December 13, 2007.

9127

NAMES(S) is/are (a) first‑time home purchaser(s) as defined in the Land Transfer Tax Act and

9128

None of the purchaser(s) is/are a "spouse" as defined in section 29 of the Family Law Act.

9129

The purchaser(s) has/have (a) "spouse(s)" as defined in section 29 of the Family Law Act and

9130

(a) the spouse(s) has/have never owned an eligible home

9131

(b) The spouse(s) NAME(S) previously owned an eligible home at ADDRESS, but sold it on YYYY/MM/DD (Note: In order to qualify for a refund, any spouse must have sold any eligible home prior to becoming the spouse of the first‑time purchaser)

9132

The purchaser(s) will occupy the qualifying home as his/her/their principal residence on YYYY/MM/DD (Note: must be within 9 months of the date of registration or disposition), and

9133

Where the qualifying home is a "newly‑constructed home" in respect of which the purchasers are entitled to a warranty under the Ontario New Home Warranties Plan Act, the registration number for the builder of the newly constructed home is NUMBER.

NOTE: If the refund is claimed in the electronic land registration system, there is no requirement to subsequently submit a paper Ontario Land Transfer Tax Refund Affidavit for First – Time Purchasers of Eligible Homes to the ministry.

Refunds claimed at a land registry office

For paper registrations, qualifying taxpayers or their solicitors may claim an immediate refund at the time of registration by filing the Ontario Land Transfer Tax Refund Affidavit For First‑Time Purchasers of Eligible Homes along with their Transfer/Deed and Land Transfer Tax Affidavit at a Land Registry Office.

Refunds claimed at the Ministry of Finance

Where a qualifying taxpayer is unable to claim the refund at registration, the tax will be payable at that time and a refund claim may be made to the Ministry of Finance, at the address at the bottom of this page. The following documentation must be submitted for a refund claim to be processed:

  • The Ontario Land Transfer Tax Refund Affidavit For First‑Time Purchasers of Eligible Homes.
  • A copy of the registered conveyance (transfer/deed). If not registered electronically, submit a photocopy of the Land Registry Office's original which shows the tax paid.
  • A copy of the docket summary, if the conveyance was registered electronically.
  • A copy of the agreement of purchase and sale, together with all schedules, amendments and assignments, along with a copy of the statement of adjustments relating to the conveyance.
  • Proof of occupancy, with the new address listed, such as copies of telephone/cable bills, credit card statements, driver's licence, newspaper/magazine subscriptions, etc.
  • For agreements of purchase and sale entered into before December 14, 2007, a copy of the Tarion New Home Warranty, which is also known as the Certificate of Completion and Possession.
  • For agreements of purchase and sale entered into after November 14, 2016 and registered on or after January 1, 2017, proof of Canadian citizenship or permanent residence in Canada.

Definitions

"eligible home" means,

  1. a detached house;
  2. a semi‑detached house, including a dwelling house that is joined to another dwelling house at the footing or foundation by a wall above or below grade or both above and below grade;
  3. a townhouse;
  4. a share or shares of the capital stock of a co‑operative corporation if the share or shares are acquired for the purpose of acquiring the right to in‑habit a housing unit owned by the corporation;
  5. a mobile home that complies with the Canadian Standards Association Standard CAN/CSA‑Z240 Mobile Homes and is suitable for year round permanent residential occupation;
  6. a condominium unit;
  7. a residential dwelling that is a duplex, triplex or fourplex;
  8. a partial ownership interest as a tenant in common of real property if the ownership interest was acquired for the purpose of acquiring the right to inhabit a housing unit forming part of the real property;
  9. a manufactured home that is manufactured in whole or in part at an offsite location, that is intended for basement installation, that is suitable for year round permanent residential occupation and that complies with,
    1. the Building Code made under the Building Code Act, 1992;
    2. if the manufactured home is constructed in sections that are not wider than 4.3 metres, Canadian Standards Association Standard Z240.2.1 Structural Requirements for Mobile Homes and Canadian Standards Association Standard Z240.8.1 Windows for Use in Mobile Homes; or
    3. if the manufactured home is constructed in sections that are 4.3 metres or wider, Canadian Standards Association Standard A277 Procedure for Certification of Factory Built Houses, or
  10. any other residential property as may be prescribed.

"newly constructed home" means a home in respect of which the purchaser is entitled to a warranty under section 13 of the Ontario New Home Warranties Plan Act (ONHWPA) and which is sold to the purchaser by a vendor as defined in ONHWPA.

permanent resident of Canada” means a permanent resident as defined in the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (Canada);

"purchaser" means,

  1. if the conveyance or disposition of the qualifying home occurs before January 1, 2017, an individual who is at least 18 years of age and who has never owned an eligible home anywhere in the world and whose spouse has not owned an eligible home anywhere in the world while he or she was a spouse of the individual,
  2. if the conveyance or disposition of the qualifying home occurs on or after January 1, 2017 and the agreement of purchase and sale for the home was entered into on or before November 14, 2015, an individual who is at least 18 years of age and who has never owned an eligible home anywhere in the world and whose spouse has not owned an eligible home anywhere in the world while he or she was a spouse of the individual, and
  3. if the conveyance or disposition of the qualifying home occurs on or after January 1, 2017 and the agreement of purchase and sale for the home was entered into after November 14, 2015, an individual who is at least 18 years of age, who is a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada, and who has never owned an eligible home anywhere in the world and whose spouse has not owned an eligible home anywhere in the world while he or she was a spouse of the individual.

"qualifying home" means,

  1. for agreements of purchase and sale entered into before December 14, 2007, a newly constructed home, and
  2. for agreements of purchase and sale entered into after December 13, 2007, an eligible home.

"spouse" means spouse as defined in section 29 of the Family Law Act.  At present, "spouse" means either of two persons who, (a) are married to each other, or (b) have together entered into a marriage that is voidable or void, in good faith on the part of a person relying on this clause to assert any right, and in addition includes either of two persons who are not married to each other and have cohabited,

  1. continuously for a period of not less than three years, or
  2. in a relationship of some permanence, if they are the natural or adoptive parents of a child.
Page: 2622  |

Remboursements des droits de cession immobilière aux accédants à la propriété

Table des matières

Introduction

Montants du remboursement et restrictions

Conditions à remplir pour avoir droit à un remboursement

Marche à suivre pour demander un remboursement

Définitions


Introduction

Lorsque vous faites l'acquisition d'un bien‑fonds ou d'un intérêt dans un bien‑fonds en Ontario, vous devez payer des droits de cession immobilière. Les accédants à la propriété d'un premier logement admissible peuvent avoir droit à un remboursement total ou partiel des droits de cession immobilière.

Pour demander un remboursement, vous devez être âgé d'au moins 18 ans, ne pas avoir été propriétaire d'un logement, ni avoir détenu un intérêt dans un logement où que ce soit dans le monde, et votre conjoint ne doit pas avoir été propriétaire d'un logement, ni avoir détenu un intérêt dans un logement où que ce soit dans le monde pendant qu'il/elle était votre conjoint. Si vous avez déjà été propriétaire d'un logement, vous n'êtes pas admissible au remboursement des droits de cession immobilière pour les acheteurs d'un premier logement. Le mode d'acquisition du logement (p. ex., achat, cadeau ou héritage) n'est pas pris en compte.

Vous ne pouvez être admissible de nouveau comme propriétaire d'un premier logement. Cette règle peut différer par rapport à d'autres programmes fédéraux destinés aux accédants à la propriété d'un premier logement (p. ex., le Régime d'accession à la propriété de l'Agence du revenu du Canada).

Généralités

Les droits de cession immobilière s'appliquent à toutes les cessions de bien‑fonds en Ontario. Les accédants à la propriété d'un premier logement peuvent avoir droit à un remboursement total ou partiel des droits de cession immobilière.

  • Dans le cas des conventions de vente conclues avant le 14 décembre 2007, le remboursement s'applique uniquement à l'achat d'un logement neuf.
  • Dans le cas des conventions de vente conclues après le 13 décembre 2007, le remboursement s'applique à tous les logements, neufs ou existants.

Les contribuables admissibles peuvent demander un remboursement immédiat au moment de l'enregistrement, de l'une des deux façons suivantes :

Si le remboursement est demandé au moment de l'enregistrement, il servira à réduire les droits de cession immobilière à payer. Si le remboursement n'est pas demandé au moment de l'enregistrement, les droits de cession immobilière doivent être acquittés et une demande de remboursement peut être soumise directement au ministère des Finances. Des intérêts ne sont pas accordés sur ce remboursement. La marche à suivre pour demander un remboursement est précisée ci‑dessous à la section sur la Marche à suivre pour demander un remboursement.

Montant du remboursement et restrictions

Quel montant pourrai‑je recevoir?

Pour la cession ou l'aliénation d'un bien‑fonds avant le 1er janvier 2017, le remboursement maximal est de 2 000 $.

Dès le 1er janvier 2017, le remboursement maximal passe à 4 000 $. Cette limite accrue à 4 000 $ est réservée à la cession ou à l'aliénation qui survient le 1er janvier 2017 ou après, peu importe la date de conclusion de la convention de vente.

Dès le 1er janvier 2017, les acheteurs d'un premier logement admissibles n'auront pas à acquitter de droits de cession immobilière sur la première tranche de 368 000 $ de la valeur de la contrepartie des logements reconnus. Les acheteurs d'un premier logement dont la valeur est supérieure à 368 000 $ recevront le remboursement maximal de 4 000 $.

Pour savoir comment calculer la valeur de la contrepartie applicable aux cessions de logements neufs, lisez Calcul de la valeur de la contrepartie applicable aux cessions de logements neufs.

Pour savoir comment calculer les droits de cession immobilière, lisez Calcul des droits de cession immobilière.

Restrictions

Le remboursement sera réduit si l'un ou l'autre des acheteurs n'est pas acheteur d'un premier logement. Le montant du remboursement sera calculé proportionnellement à la part détenue par les personnes admissibles au remboursement.

Exemples – parent et enfant

Si un parent qui n'est pas acheteur d'un premier logement et un enfant qui est acheteur d'un premier logement acquièrent un logement à parts égales, soit 50/50, l'enfant peut demander 50 % du remboursement des droits de cession immobilière à payer. Sa demande de remboursement ne peut dépasser 50 % du montant maximum du remboursement autorisé (soit 50 % de 2 000 $ pour une cession ou une aliénation avant le 1er janvier 2017 ou 50 % de 4 000 $ si la cession ou l'aliénation survient le 1er janvier 2017 ou après).

Si la banque a insisté pour que le nom d'un parent figure aussi sur le titre de propriété de l'enfant, il faut acquitter les droits de cession immobilière au moment de l'enregistrement et demander un remboursement au ministère des Finances.

Si le parent n'a pas acquis un intérêt bénéficiaire dans la propriété à la suite de la cession :

  • le ministère acceptera le fait que le nom du parent n'apparaisse sur le titre de propriété qu'en tant que fiduciaire de l'enfant, et
  • l'enfant aura droit au remboursement accordé aux acheteurs d'un premier logement, à condition de satisfaire aux autres critères d'admissibilité et de soumettre une preuve de la fiducie (p. ex., une lettre de la banque confirmant que le nom du parent n'apparaît sur le titre qu'à des fins hypothécaires, ou une copie de la convention de fiducie).

Exemple – conjoint

Un acheteur admissible peut également demander un remboursement proportionnel à la part détenue par son conjoint si cette personne a déjà été propriétaire d'un logement avant de devenir le conjoint de l'acheteur, mais pas lorsqu'il était le conjoint de l'acheteur.

Mon conjoint et moi achetons une maison ensemble. J'ai déjà été propriétaire d'une maison, mais lui non. A‑t‑il droit au remboursement accordé aux acheteurs d'un premier logement?

L'admissibilité de votre partenaire à un remboursement dépend du fait que vous êtes conjoints ou non, selon la définition énoncée à l'article 29 de la Loi sur le droit de la famille. Reportez‑vous à la section sur les Définitions pour connaître le sens donné au mot conjoint.

Si vous n'êtes pas conjoints, votre partenaire peut demander un remboursement fondé sur l'intérêt qu'il/elle détient dans le logement.

Si vous êtes conjoints, votre partenaire peut demander un remboursement jusqu'à concurrence du montant maximum applicable à la transaction (vous pouvez demander le remboursement de l'intérêt que vous détenez et celui de votre conjoint), si vous n'étiez pas propriétaire d'un logement pendant que vous étiez conjoints. Si vous étiez propriétaire d'un logement pendant que vous étiez conjoints, votre partenaire n'a pas droit à un remboursement, même si vous n'habitiez pas dans ce logement ensemble.

Reportez‑vous à la section sur les Montants du remboursement et les restrictions pour connaître le montant maximum du remboursement.

Conditions à remplir pour avoir droit à un remboursement

Pour avoir droit à un remboursement :

  • L'acheteur doit être âgé d'au moins 18 ans.
  • L'acheteur doit occuper le logement à titre de résidence principale dans les neuf mois qui suivent la date de la cession.
  • L'acheteur ne peut pas avoir déjà été propriétaire d'un logement reconnu ni avoir eu d'intérêt dans un logement reconnu où que ce soit dans le monde.
  • Si l'acheteur a signé une convention de vente avant le 14 décembre 2007, le logement acheté doit être neuf et l'acheteur doit être admissible au programme de garantie pour les logements neufs Tarion New Home Warranty.
  • Si l'acheteur a un conjoint, celui‑ci ne peut pas avoir déjà été propriétaire d'un logement reconnu ni avoir eu d'intérêt dans un logement reconnu où que ce soit dans le monde tandis qu'il était le conjoint de l'acheteur. Advenant le cas, ni l'acheteur ni son conjoint n'ont droit à un remboursement.
  • L'acheteur ne peut avoir déjà reçu un remboursement des droits de cession immobilière prévu par le Régime d'épargne‑logement de l'Ontario (RÉLO).

Exigences supplémentaires

Dès le 1er janvier 2017, l'admissibilité au programme de remboursement pour les acheteurs d'un premier logement est limitée aux citoyens canadiens et aux résidents permanents du Canada.

À titre de mesure transitoire, les acheteurs qui ont conclu des conventions de vente le 14 novembre 2016 ou avant demeurent admissibles au remboursement, sans égard à la citoyenneté ou à la résidence.

Les acheteurs qui seraient autrement admissibles à un remboursement sans être citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents du Canada à la conclusion de la transaction disposent de 18 mois après l'enregistrement pour devenir admissibles. À l'obtention de la citoyenneté canadienne ou du statut de résident permanent, ces acheteurs peuvent demander le remboursement dans les 18 mois qui suivent la date d'enregistrement de la cession ou la date à laquelle est survenue l'aliénation non enregistrée.

Date limite de la demande de remboursement

Un acheteur admissible doit faire sa demande de remboursement dans les 18 mois qui suivent la date d'enregistrement de la cession ou la date à laquelle est survenue l'aliénation non enregistrée.

Vérification

La présente demande ainsi que tout remboursement demeurent assujettis à une vérification par le ministère des Finances. Des accusations pourraient être portées et des amendes imputées si une personne obtient ou tente d'obtenir un remboursement par des moyens trompeurs ou mensongers, ou par tout autre moyen frauduleux.

Marche à suivre pour demander un remboursement

Enregistrement électronique

Lorsque l'enregistrement est effectué par voie électronique, on peut demander le remboursement en sélectionnant la déclaration appropriée qui se trouve sous l'onglet explicatif à la section des droits de cession immobilière. Il faut remplir soit la déclaration 9028 soit la déclaration 9029.

Par ailleurs, il faudra remplir les déclarations suivantes :

9127 et
9128 ou (9129 et soit 9130 soit 9131) et
9132 et

De plus, dans le cas des conventions de vente conclues avant le 14 décembre 2007, où le logement acheté doit être neuf, la déclaration suivante doit également être remplie :

9133

Il convient de prendre note que les déclarations 9028, 9029, 9127, 9131, 9132 et 9133 exigent l'ajout de renseignements supplémentaires :

9028

Fraction des parties qui sont des acheteurs d'un logement admissible : TOUT OU UNE FRACTION (N/D) et la convention de vente a été conclue avant le 14 décembre 2007.

9029

Fraction des parties qui sont des acheteurs d'un logement admissible : TOUT OU UNE FRACTION (N/D) et la convention de vente a été conclue après le 13 décembre 2007.

9127

Le ou les NOMS correspondent à des accédants à la propriété d'un premier logement au sens de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière, et

9128

Aucun des acheteurs n'est un « conjoint » au sens de l'article 29 de la Loi sur le droit de la famille.

9129

Le ou les acheteurs ont un « conjoint » au sens de l'article 29 de la Loi sur le droit de la famille, et

9130

(a) le conjoint n'a jamais été propriétaire d'un logement reconnu;

9131

(b) Le conjoint NOM a déjà été propriétaire d'un logement reconnu à l'ADRESSE, mais l'a vendu le AAAA/MM/JJ. (Remarque : Afin d'être admissible à un remboursement, le conjoint doit avoir vendu le logement reconnu avant de devenir conjoint de l'accédant à la propriété.)

9132

Le ou les acheteurs occuperont le logement admissible à titre de résidence principale le AAAA/MM/JJ (Remarque : moins de 9 mois après la date de l'acte de cession ou d'aliénation), et

9133

Si le logement admissible est un « logement neuf » pour lequel les acheteurs ont droit à une garantie en vertu de la Loi sur le Régime de garanties des logements neufs de l'Ontario, le numéro d'enregistrement du constructeur du logement neuf est NUMÉRO.

REMARQUE : Si le remboursement est demandé à l'aide du Système d'enregistrement immobilier électronique, il n'est pas nécessaire de soumettre au ministère une version papier de l'Affidavit sur le remboursement des droits de cession immobilière de l'Ontario pour les accédants à la propriété qui achètent un logement reconnu.

Remboursements demandés auprès du bureau d'enregistrement immobilier

Dans le cas des enregistrements sur papier, les contribuables admissibles ou leur avocat peuvent demander un remboursement immédiat au moment de l'enregistrement en remplissant l'Affidavit sur le remboursement des droits de cession immobilière de l'Ontario pour les accédants à la propriété qui achètent un logement reconnu de même que l'Acte de cession et que l'Affidavit sur les droits de cession immobilière au bureau d'enregistrement immobilier.

Remboursements demandés auprès du ministère des Finances

Si un contribuable admissible n'est pas en mesure de demander le remboursement au moment de l'enregistrement, il devra acquitter les droits à ce moment‑là; il pourra ensuite présenter une demande de remboursement directement au ministère des Finances, à l'adresse figurant à la fin de la présente page. Il faudra fournir les documents suivants pour qu'un remboursement puisse être traité :

  • L'Affidavit sur le remboursement des droits de cession immobilière de l'Ontario pour les accédants à la propriété qui achètent un logement reconnu
  • Une copie de la cession enregistrée (acte de cession); s'il ne s'agit pas d'un enregistrement électronique, il faut fournir une photocopie de l'original du bureau d'enregistrement immobilier indiquant le montant des droits versés.
  • Une copie du sommaire du dossier, si la cession a été enregistrée par voie électronique.
  • Une copie de la convention de vente, accompagnée de tous les actes de cession, annexes et modifications ainsi qu'une copie de l'état des rajustements relatifs à la cession.
  • Une preuve de résidence comportant la nouvelle adresse, telle qu'une copie d'une facture de téléphone/câble, un relevé de carte de crédit, un permis de conduire, des abonnements à des journaux/magazines, etc.
  • Dans le cas des conventions de vente conclues avant le 14 décembre 2007, une copie de la garantie de logement neuf Tarion (ou Certificate of Completion and Possession).
  • Dans le cas des conventions de vente conclues après le 14 novembre 2016 et enregistrées le 1er janvier 2017 ou après, une preuve de citoyenneté canadienne ou de résidence permanente au Canada.

Définitions

« logement reconnu » se définit comme suit,

  1. une maison individuelle;
  2. une maison jumelée, y compris une maison d'habitation jointe à une autre maison d'habitation à la semelle ou à la fondation par un mur au dessus ou au dessous du niveau moyen du sol ou à la fois au dessus et au dessous du niveau moyen du sol;
  3. une maison en rangée;
  4. une ou plusieurs parts du capital social d'une coopérative, si l'acquisition de la ou des parts a pour objet l'acquisition du droit d'occuper un logement dont la coopérative est propriétaire;
  5. une maison mobile conforme à la norme CAN/CSA‑Z240 Maisons mobiles de l'Association canadienne de normalisation et propre à servir d'habitation permanente toute l'année;
  6. une unité condominiale;
  7. un logement en duplex, triplex ou quadruplex;
  8. un droit de propriété partiel d'un tenant commun d'un bien immeuble, si l'acquisition du droit de propriété a pour objet l'acquisition du droit d'occuper un logement faisant partie du bien immeuble;
  9. un logement préfabriqué en tout ou en partie en dehors du lieu où il est installé et qui est destiné à être installé sur un soubassement, s'il est conçu pour être habité toute l'année comme habitation, est destiné à être ainsi occupé, et est conforme:
    1. au Code du bâtiment pris en application de la Loi de 1992 sur le code du bâtiment;
    2. si le logement préfabriqué est construit en sections qui n'ont pas plus de 4,3 mètres de large, à la norme Z240.2.1 Exigences structurelles pour maisons mobiles et à la norme Z240.8.1 Fenêtres type léger, toutes deux de l'Association canadienne de normalisation; ou
    3. si le logement préfabriqué est construit en sections qui ont 4,3 mètres de large ou plus, à la norme A277 Procédure de certification de maisons préfabriquées de l'Association canadienne de normalisation, ou
  10. tout autre immeuble d'habitation, selon ce qui peut être prescrit.

« logement neuf » s'entend d'un logement à l'égard duquel l'acheteur a droit aux garanties prévues à l'article 13 de la Loi sur le régime de garanties des logements neufs et que lui vend un vendeur au sens de cette loi.

« résident permanent du Canada » s'entend d'un résident permanent au sens de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (Canada);

« acheteur » s'entend,

  1. si la cession ou l'aliénation du logement admissible survient avant le 1er janvier 2017, d'un particulier âgé d'au moins 18 ans qui n'a jamais été propriétaire d'un logement reconnu où que ce soit dans le monde et dont le conjoint n'a pas été propriétaire d'un logement reconnu où que ce soit dans le monde pendant qu'il était le conjoint du particulier;
  2. si la cession ou l'aliénation du logement admissible survient le 1er janvier 2017 ou après et que la convention de vente du logement a été conclue le 14 novembre 2016 ou avant, d'un particulier âgé d'au moins 18 ans qui n'a jamais été propriétaire d'un logement reconnu où que ce soit dans le monde et dont le conjoint n'a pas été propriétaire d'un logement reconnu où que ce soit dans le monde pendant qu'il était le conjoint du particulier;
  3. si la cession ou l'aliénation du logement admissible survient le 1er janvier 2017 ou après et que la convention de vente du logement a été conclue après le 14 novembre 2016, d'un particulier âgé d'au moins 18 ans, qui est citoyen canadien ou résident permanent du Canada et qui n'a jamais été propriétaire d'un logement reconnu où que ce soit dans le monde et dont le conjoint n'a pas été propriétaire d'un logement reconnu où que ce soit dans le monde pendant qu'il était le conjoint du particulier.

« logement admissible » signifie,

  1. dans le cas des conventions de vente conclues avant le 14 décembre 2007, un logement neuf, et
  2. dans le cas des conventions de vente conclues après le 13 décembre 2007, un logement reconnu.

« conjoint » s'entend au sens de l'article 29 de la Loi sur le droit de la famille. Présentement, « conjoint » signifie l'une ou l'autre de deux personnes qui (a) sont mariées ou qui (b) ont contracté, de bonne foi selon toute personne qui se fonde sur le présent alinéa pour faire valoir un droit quel qu'il soit, un mariage nul de nullité relative ou absolue, ou qui ne sont pas mariées et qui ont cohabité, selon le cas,

  1. de façon continue depuis au moins trois ans, ou
  2. dans une relation d'une certaine permanence, si elles sont les parents naturels ou adoptifs d'un enfant.

Renseignements additionnels

Si cette page ne couvre pas votre situation, consultez la Loi et les règlements afférents, visitez notre site Web à ontario.ca/finances ou communiquez avec le :

Ministère des Finances
Section des impôts fonciers
33, rue King Ouest, 3e étage
Oshawa ON L1H 8H9

  • 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297)
  • Téléc. : 905‑433‑5770
  • 1‑800‑263‑7776 pour la appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS)
Page : 2622  |