Effect of the Harmonized Sales Tax on the Value of the Consideration

Bulletin LTT 1-2010
Published: June 2010
Content last reviewed: June 2010
ISBN: 978-1-4435-3836-7 (Print), 978-1-4435-3838-1 (PDF), 978-1-4435-3837-4 (HTML)

  • This bulletin provides information on the effect of the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) on the calculation of the value of the consideration for a transfer of land.
  • This bulletin provides general information. It is not exhaustive and should not be considered as a substitute for the Land Transfer Tax Act and its regulations.

General

HST

The HST is a tax administered by the federal government which applies to certain goods and services in accordance with the provisions of the Excise Tax Act. The provincial portion of the HST is 8 per cent and the federal portion is 5 per cent, for a combined HST rate of 13 per cent.

The Effect of HST on the Value of the Consideration

Value of the Consideration

The value of the consideration, as defined in subsection 1(1) of the Land Transfer Tax Act, is the base upon which land transfer tax is calculated.

HST and the Value of the Consideration

When HST applies to the purchase of land or an interest in land, the value of the consideration does not include the amount of HST paid on the purchase price. Accordingly, land transfer tax is not exigible on the HST paid.

The Effect of the New Housing Rebates on the Value of the Consideration

Assigning the Rebates

Some purchase agreements between a new home purchaser and a vendor will provide that the purchaser remit to the vendor the HST along with the assignment of one or more of the New Housing Rebates. If the HST is remitted net of the applicable New Housing Rebates, and the purchaser assigns those rebates to the vendor, then the value of the rebates does not form part of the value of the consideration. If, however, the HST is remitted in full and any applicable New Housing Rebates are assigned, then the amount of the rebates do form part of the value of the consideration. Additional details about these two types of transactions are set out on the next two pages of this bulletin.

New Housing Rebates

Three Rebate Claims

In certain real estate transfers, a purchaser may be entitled to claim one or more of these New Housing Rebates:

  • a GST/HST New Housing Rebate in respect of the federal portion of the HST
  • an Ontario New Housing Rebate in respect of the provincial portion of the HST, and
  • an RST Transitional New Housing Rebate.

For the purpose of this bulletin, we refer to these three rebates collectively as "New Housing Rebates."

Information relating to the application of these rebates is available on the Canada Revenue Agency's website at www.cra-arc.gc.ca/gsthsttech.

Federal New Housing Rebate

The GST/HST New Housing Rebate is available in respect of the federal part of the HST paid on certain purchases of a newly constructed or substantially renovated house. For more information on this rebate, please see the federal publication GST/HST New Housing Rebate.

Ontario New Housing Rebate

The Ontario New Housing Rebate is available in respect of the provincial part of the HST paid on certain purchases of a newly constructed or substantially renovated house.

RST Transitional New Housing Rebate

In addition, the RST Transitional New Housing Rebate is available to individuals who purchase a newly constructed or substantially renovated house where the construction or substantial renovation of the house straddles the July 1, 2010 HST implementation date and the HST is payable on the purchase (i.e., the sale of the house is not grandparented under the HST transitional rules).

More information can also be found in the federal publication: Harmonized Sales Tax for Ontario Questions and Answers on Housing Rebates and Transitional Rules for Housing and Other Real Property Situated in Ontario.

When the Value of the New Housing Rebates is Not Taxable

Summary

In certain situations, when a purchaser buys a new home, the purchaser qualifies for one or more of the New Housing Rebates. If the purchaser assigns any of the rebates to the vendor, and pays to the vendor the difference between the 13 per cent HST and the rebates, then the value of the rebates do not form part of the value of the consideration.

Situations Where the Value of the New Housing Rebates is not Taxable

In most situations, the purchase agreement provides that the purchase price is inclusive of net HST. Net HST is the 13 per cent HST payable, less any rebate to which the purchaser is entitled. The agreement also provides that the purchaser will assign any rebate to which the purchaser is entitled to the vendor. The vendor then submits the net HST collected, and the assignment of the rebate to the federal government. In this way, the vendor acts as a conduit for the federal government in order to instantaneously provide the purchaser with the rebate that the purchaser would otherwise receive at a later date from the federal government; the vendor does not keep the value of the rebate for himself/herself.

When the Value of the New Housing Rebates is Taxable

Summary

In certain situations, when a purchaser buys a new home, the purchaser qualifies for one or more of the New Housing Rebates. If the purchaser assigns any of the rebates to the vendor, and pays to the vendor the full 13 per cent HST, then the value of the rebates form part of the value of the consideration.

Situations Where the Value of the New Housing Rebates is Taxable

In some situations, the purchase agreement provides that the purchase price is inclusive of the full 13 per cent HST. The agreement also provides that the purchaser will assign any New Housing Rebates to which the purchaser is entitled to the vendor. The vendor collects the full 13 per cent HST from the purchaser as well as the assignment of the rebates. The vendor then submits the net HST and the assignment of the rebates to the federal government, and retains the difference between the 13 per cent HST paid, and the net HST submitted to the federal government. This figure is equal to the value of the rebates. In this situation the vendor has benefited by collecting the full 13 per cent HST and only remitting HST net of the rebates to the federal government. Consequently, the value of the consideration would include the purchase price net of HST plus an amount equal to the amount of the rebates which the vendor received from the purchaser but did not remit.

Additional Information

If this bulletin does not completely address your particular situation, refer to the Act and related regulations, visit our website at ontario.ca/finance or contact:

Ministry of Finance
Audit Branch
33 King Street West
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Fax: 905 433-5770
  • 1 800 263-7776 for teletypewriter (TTY)

For more information about the federally administered Harmonized Sales Tax and the New Housing Rebates, please visit the Canada Revenue Agency website at cra.gc.ca/gsthst.

Or call the Canada Revenue Agency information line at:

  • English: 1 800 959-8287
  • French: 1 800 959-8296
Page: 3014  |

Incidence de la taxe de vente harmonisée sur la valeur de la contrepartie

Bulletin LTT 1-2010
Date de publication : juin 2010
Dernière mise à jour : juin 2010
ISBN: 978-1-4435-3839-8 (Imprimé), 978-1-4435-3841-1 (PDF), 978-1-4435-3840-4 (HTML)

  • Le présent bulletin renseigne sur l'incidence de la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) sur le calcul de la valeur de la contrepartie lors de la cession d'un bien-fonds.
  • L'information contenue dans ce bulletin est de nature générale et elle ne remplace pas les dispositions de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière et des règlements afférents.

Généralités

TVH

La TVH est une taxe administrée par le gouvernement fédéral qui s'applique à certains biens et services, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise. La portion provinciale de la TVH est de 8 %, et la portion fédérale est de 5 %, pour une TVH combinée de 13 %.

Incidence de la TVH sur la valeur de la contrepartie

Valeur de la contrepartie

La valeur de la contrepartie, telle que définie au paragraphe 1 (1) de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière, représente le fondement du calcul des droits de cession immobilière.

La TVH et valeur de la contrepartie

Lorsque la TVH s'applique à l'achat d'un bien-fonds ou à l'acquisition d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien-fonds, la valeur de la contrepartie ne comprend pas le montant de la TVH payé sur le prix d'achat. Par conséquent, les droits de cession immobilière ne sont pas exigibles sur la TVH payée.

Incidence des remboursements pour habitations neuves sur la valeur de la contrepartie

Cession des remboursements

Certaines conventions d'achat entre l'acheteur d'un logement neuf et un vendeur prévoient que le vendeur remette la TVH et cède un ou plusieurs remboursements pour habitations neuves. Si la TVH remise ne comprend pas les remboursements pour habitations neuves applicables, et que l'acheteur cède ces remboursements au vendeur, la valeur des remboursements n'entre alors pas dans la valeur de la contrepartie. Si, en revanche, la TVH est remise dans son intégralité et que les remboursements pour habitations neuves applicables sont cédés, le montant des remboursements fait alors partie de la valeur de la contrepartie. Des détails supplémentaires sur ces deux types de transaction sont présentés dans les deux pages suivantes de ce bulletin.

Remboursements pour habitations neuves

Trois demandes de remboursement

Pour certains transferts immobiliers, un acheteur peut demander un ou plusieurs de ces remboursements pour habitations neuves :

  • un remboursement de la TPS/TVH pour habitations neuves concernant la portion fédérale de la TVH
  • un remboursement ontarien pour habitations neuves concernant la portion provinciale de la TVH, et
  • un remboursement transitoire de la TVD pour habitations neuves.

Pour les besoins de ce bulletin, nous qualifierons ces trois remboursements collectivement de « remboursements pour habitations neuves ».

Des renseignements relatifs à l'application de ces remboursements sont disponibles sur la page Web de l'Agence du revenu du Canada à www.cra-arc.gc.ca/tx/tchncl/gsthst-fra.html.

Remboursement fédéral pour habitations neuves

Le remboursement de la TPS/TVH pour habitations neuves est proposé relativement à la portion fédérale de la TVH sur certains achats concernant une habitation récemment construite ou rénovée en grande partie. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur ce remboursement, veuillez consulter la publication préparée par le gouvernement fédéral intitulée Remboursement de la TPS/TVH pour habitations neuves.

Remboursement ontarien pour habitations neuves

Le remboursement ontarien pour habitations neuves est proposé relativement à la portion provinciale de la TVH sur certains achats concernant une habitation récemment construite ou rénovée en grande partie.

Remboursement transitoire de la TVD pour habitations neuves

De plus, le remboursement transitoire de la TVD pour habitations neuves est proposé aux personnes qui achètent une habitation récemment construite ou rénovée en grande partie si la construction ou la rénovation en grande partie de la maison chevauche la date d'entrée en vigueur de la TVH du 1er juillet 2010 et que le TVH est exigible sur l'achat (à savoir, la vente de la maison n'est pas soumise aux mêmes conditions selon les règles transitoires applicables en vertu de la TVH).

Des renseignements supplémentaires sont également disponibles dans la publication préparée par le gouvernement fédéral : Taxe de vente harmonisée de l'Ontario - Questions et réponses sur les remboursements pour habitations et les règles transitoires visant les habitations et autres immeubles situés en Ontario.

Lorsque la valeur des remboursements pour habitations neuves n'est pas imposable

Sommaire

Dans certains cas, lorsqu'un acheteur achète une habitation neuve, il a droit à un ou à plusieurs remboursements pour habitations neuves. Si l'acheteur cède l'un de ces remboursements au vendeur et paie à ce dernier la différence entre la TVH de 13 % et les remboursements, la valeur des remboursements n'entre alors pas dans la valeur de la contrepartie.

Situations où la valeur des remboursements pour habitations neuves n'est pas imposable

Dans la plupart des cas, la convention d'achat stipule que le prix d'achat comprend la TVH nette. La TVH nette correspond à la TVH de 13 % exigible, moins tout remboursement auquel l'acheteur a droit. La convention prévoit également que l'acheteur cédera au vendeur tout remboursement auquel il a droit. Le vendeur remettra ensuite au gouvernement fédéral la TVH nette perçue ainsi que le formulaire de cession de remboursement. De cette façon, le vendeur agit au nom du gouvernement fédéral afin que l'acheteur puisse se prévaloir instantanément du remboursement qu'il aurait autrement reçu à une date ultérieure de la part du gouvernement fédéral; le vendeur ne garde pas pour lui/elle la valeur du remboursement.

Lorsque la valeur des remboursements pour habitations neuves est imposable

Sommaire

Dans certains cas, lorsqu'un acheteur achète une habitation neuve, il a droit à un ou à plusieurs remboursements pour habitations neuves. Si l'acheteur cède l'un de ces remboursements au vendeur et paie à ce dernier l'intégralité de la TVH de 13 %, la valeur des remboursements entre alors dans la valeur de la contrepartie.

Situations où la valeur des remboursements pour habitations neuves est imposable

Dans certaines situations, la convention d'achat stipule que le prix d'achat comprend la TVH intégrale de 13 %. La convention prévoit également que l'acheteur cédera au vendeur tous les remboursements pour habitations neuves auxquels il a droit. Le vendeur perçoit la TVH intégrale de 13 % auprès de l'acheteur, de même que les remboursements pour habitations neuves. Le vendeur remet ensuite au gouvernement fédéral la TVH nette perçue ainsi que le formulaire de cession des remboursements, et retient la différence entre la TVH de 13 % payée et la TVH nette soumise au gouvernement fédéral. Le résultat ainsi obtenu correspond à la valeur des remboursements. En pareil cas, le vendeur profite de l'avantage de percevoir la TVH intégrale de 13 % et de remettre la TVH au gouvernement fédéral, déduction faite des remboursements. Par conséquent, la valeur de la contrepartie inclurait le prix d'achat, sans la TVH, plus un montant correspondant au montant des remboursements que le vendeur a reçu de l'acheteur mais n'a pas remis.

Renseignements additionnels

Si le présent bulletin ne couvre pas entièrement votre situation particulière, consultez la Loi et les règlements afférents, visitez notre site Web à ontario.ca/finances ou communiquez avec le :

Ministère des Finances
Direction de la vérification
33, rue King Ouest
CP 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Téléc. : 905 433-5770
  • 1 800 263-7776 pour la appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS)

On peut consulter la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière ainsi que d'autres lois et règlements publics de l'Ontario, en ligne, à l'adresse ontario.ca/lois-en-ligne.

Pour obtenir plus d'information sur la taxe de vente harmonisée administrée par le fédéral ainsi que sur les remboursements pour habitations neuves, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'Agence du revenu du Canada à l'adresse suivante : cra-arc.gc.ca.

Vous pouvez également appeler la ligne d'information de l'Agence du revenu du Canada à l'un des numéros suivants :

  • En français : 1 800 959-8296
  • En anglais : 1 800 959-8287
Page : 3014  |