Transfers of Land Between Spouses

Bulletin LTT 1-2012
Published: June 2012
Content last reviewed: June 2012
ISBN: 978-1-4435-8863-8 (Print), 978-1-4435-8865-2 (PDF), 978-1-4435-8864-5 (HTML)

  • This bulletin outlines the application of the Land Transfer Tax Act (Act) to registered conveyances and unregistered dispositions of land between spouses and former spouses.
  • This bulletin contains information about electronic registration which is directed to solicitors.
  • This bulletin provides general information and does not replace the Act and its regulations.

1. Background

1.1. Land Transfer Tax

Subject to certain limited exceptions, land transfer tax is payable on every transfer of land in Ontario based on the value of the consideration, whether or not the transfer is actually registered in Ontario's land registry system. For information on the rates and calculation of the tax, please refer to Tax Bulletin LTT 2-2005 Calculating Land Transfer Tax.

1.2. Value of the Consideration

The definition of "value of the consideration" is set out in the Act and is very broad. In most cases, the value of the consideration is equal to the purchase price and the total of any mortgages or other debt assumed as part of the arrangement. However, the amount expressed in money of any consideration given or to be given, as well as any benefit given to any person as part of the arrangement, must also be included.

1.3. Transfers Between Spouses

Unless there is a specific exemption, transfers between spouses or former spouses are subject to land transfer tax.

2. Exemption for Certain Transfers Between Spouses

2.1. Three Situations

Regulation 696 R.S.O. 1990 made under the Act exempts from tax certain transfers of land between spouses and former spouses. The transfer must fall within one of the three situations described in the regulation in order to be exempt from tax. The exemption will apply where:

  1. The only consideration given is the assumption of any encumbrance registered on the land, such as a mortgage.
  2. The transfer is in compliance with a written agreement of separation, pursuant to which the parties agree to live separate and apart.
  3. The transfer is pursuant to a court order or judgment.

In all cases, the transferor and the transferee must be spouses, or former spouses, of each other.

2.2. Definition

"Spouse" means spouse as defined in section 29 of the Family Law Act. This means either of two persons who are married to each other, or who are not married to each other and who have cohabited,

  1. continuously for a period of not less than three years, or
  2. in a relationship of some permanence, if they are the natural or adoptive parents of a child.

3. How to Claim the Exemption

3.1. General

Spousal exemptions may be claimed electronically through the Teraview Land Registration System and in paper format at the local land registry office. Further details regarding the registration procedures in each scenario are outlined below.

3.2. Only Consideration is the Assumption of a Mortgage or Debt

If the only consideration given for the transfer or conveyance is the assumption of an encumbrance registered on title, the transfer is exempt from tax. In this case, the value of the consideration is the amount outstanding on any registered encumbrances.

3.3. Electronic Registration

The value of the consideration must be entered on line 1(b)(i) of the Consideration tab. Statements 9085 and 9086 must be selected under the Exemption tab:

9085 This conveyance qualifies for an exemption from tax pursuant to R.R.O. 1990, Regulation 696 as the transferor is the spouse or former spouse of the transferee and:
9086 The only consideration passing is the assumption of any encumbrance registered against the lands.

3.4. Paper Registration

The value of the consideration must be stated in paragraph 2 of the Land Transfer Tax Affidavit [PDF - 378 KB]. In paragraph 5 of the affidavit, under "Other remarks and explanations," the following explanation must be provided:

The parties are spouses (or former spouses) as defined in section 29 of the Family Law Act, and as per Regulation 696, R.R.O. 1990, no tax is payable as the only consideration passing is the assumption of any encumbrance against the lands.

3.5. Transfer is Pursuant to a Written Agreement

If the transfer or conveyance is in compliance with a written agreement in which the parties have agreed to live separate and apart, then the transfer is exempt from tax. In this case the value of the consideration is the total of any consideration given and the amount owing on any encumbrances.

3.6. Electronic Registration

The value of the consideration must be entered in the applicable lines of the Consideration tab. Statements 9085 and 9087 must be selected under the Exemption tab:

9085 This conveyance qualifies for an exemption from tax pursuant to R.R.O. 1990, Regulation 696 as the transferor is the spouse or former spouse of the transferee and:
9087 The conveyance is in compliance with the terms of a written agreement pursuant to which the parties have agreed to live separate and apart.

3.7. Paper Registration

The value of the consideration must be stated in paragraph 2 of the Land Transfer Tax Affidavit [PDF - 378 KB]. In paragraph 5 of the affidavit, under "Other remarks and explanations," the following explanation must be provided:

The parties are spouses (or former spouses) as defined in section 29 of the Family Law Act, and as per Regulation 696, R.R.O. 1990, no tax is payable as the conveyance is in compliance with a written separation agreement pursuant to which the parties have agreed to live separate and apart.

3.8. Transfer is Pursuant to a Court Order

If the transfer or conveyance is in compliance with the direction of an order or judgment, then the transfer is exempt from tax. In this case the value of the consideration is the total of any consideration given and the amount owing on any encumbrances.

3.9. Electronic Registration

The value of the consideration must be entered in the applicable lines of the Consideration tab. Statements 9085 and 9088 must be selected under the Exemption tab:

9085 This conveyance qualifies for an exemption from tax pursuant to R.R.O. 1990, Regulation 696 as the transferor is the spouse or former spouse of the transferee and:
9088 The conveyance is in compliance with the direction of an order or judgement made by a court of competent jurisdiction.

3.10. Paper Registration

The value of the consideration must be stated in paragraph 2 of the Land Transfer Tax Affidavit [PDF - 378 KB]. In paragraph 5 of the affidavit, under "Other remarks and explanations," the following explanation must be provided:

The parties are spouses (or former spouses) as defined in section 29 of the Family Law Act, and as per Regulation 696, R.R.O. 1990, no tax is payable as the conveyance is in compliance with the direction of an order or judgment made by a court of competent jurisdiction.

4. Specific Situations

4.1. Unregistered Dispositions

In rare cases where the transfer of land between spouses is by way of an unregistered disposition as described in subsection 3(1) of the Act, you must claim the exemption on the Return on the Acquisition of a Beneficial Interest in Land [PDF - 812 KB] form which must be filed directly with the Ministry of Finance within 30 days. For more general information about unregistered dispositions please refer to Land Transfer Tax and the Treatment of Unregistered Dispositions of a Beneficial Interest in Land.

4.2. Gifts of Land for Natural Love and Affection

Even though no actual monies may be passing, if there is any benefit given or to be given for the land, or there is any assumption of mortgage or debt, the monetary value of these amounts is the value of the consideration and it cannot be said that the transfer is for nil consideration or for natural love and affection only.

If there is no consideration passing for the transfer, the value of the consideration for the conveyance will be nil. As a result, the tax will also be nil. For more information please refer to our tax bulletin on Transactions for Nominal Consideration.

4.3. Electronic Registration

If no value of the consideration is otherwise passing for the transfer, a nominal amount (e.g., $2) must be entered in the Consideration tab. Statements 9049, 9146 and 9048 must be selected under the Nominal tab:

9049 Explanation for nominal considerations:
9146 m) Inter-spousal transfer for natural love and affection
9048 The land is not subject to an encumbrance

4.4. Paper Registration

If no value of the consideration is otherwise passing for the transfer, a nominal amount (e.g., $2) must be stated in paragraph 2 of the Land Transfer Tax Affidavit [PDF - 378 KB] and paragraph 4 must be marked to indicate that the land is not subject to any encumbrance. In paragraph 5 of the affidavit, under "Other remarks and explanations," the following explanation must be provided:

The parties are spouses (or former spouses) as defined in section 29 of the Family Law Act, no tax is payable as the conveyance is a nominal inter-spousal transfer for natural love and affection.

5. Additional Information

If this bulletin does not completely address your particular situation, refer to the Act and related regulations, visit our website at ontario.ca/finance or contact:

Ministry of Finance
Audit Branch
Land and Resource Taxes Section
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • 905 433-5770 fax
  • 1 800 263-7776 for teletypewriter (TTY)
Page: 3219  |

Cessions immobilières entre conjoints

Bulletin LTT 1-2012
Date de publication : juin 2012
Dernière mise à jour : juin 2012
ISBN: 978-1-4435-8866-9 (Imprimé), 978-1-4435-8868-3 (PDF), 978-1-4435-8867-6 (HTML)

  • Le présent bulletin a pour but d'expliquer les grandes lignes de l'application de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière (la Loi) concernant les cessions enregistrées et les aliénations non enregistrées de biens-fonds entre conjoints et ex-conjoints.
  • Ce bulletin contient de l'information sur l'enregistrement électronique qui s'adresse aux procureurs.
  • Le présent bulletin fournit des renseignements généraux et il ne se vise aucunement à remplacer les dispositions de la Loi et ses règlements afférents.

1. Contexte

1.1. Droits de cession immobilière

Sous réserve de certaines exceptions limitées, les droits de cession immobilière sont exigibles lors de toute cession de bien-fonds en Ontario en fonction de la valeur de la contrepartie, que la cession soit ou non en fait enregistrée dans le système d'enregistrement immobilier de l'Ontario. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les taux et le calcul des droits, veuillez consulter le Bulletin fiscal LTT 2-2005 Calcul des droits de cession immobilière.

1.2. Valeur de la contrepartie

La définition de la « valeur de la contrepartie » est énoncée dans la Loi et elle est très vaste. Dans la plupart des cas, la valeur de la contrepartie est égale au prix d'achat et au total de toutes les hypothèques ou de toute autre dette assumées dans le cadre de l'arrangement relatif à la cession. Par contre, le montant en numéraire de la contrepartie versée ou devant être versée, ainsi que tout avantage accordé à une personne dans le cadre de l'arrangement relatif à la cession, doivent être également compris.

1.3. Cessions entre conjoints

Sauf exemption particulière, les cessions entre conjoints ou ex-conjoints sont assujetties aux droits de cession immobilière.

2. Exemption de certaines cessions entre conjoints

2.1. Trois cas de figure

Le Règlement 696 L.R.O. 1990 pris en application de la Loi exonère des droits de cession immobilière certaines cessions de biens-fonds entre conjoints et ex-conjoints. La cession doit entrer dans l'un des trois cas de figure décrits dans le Règlement pour pouvoir être exonérés des droits. L'exemption s'appliquera dans les cas suivants :

  1. La seule contrepartie accordée est l'hypothèse d'une charge grevant le bien-fonds, comme une hypothèque.
  2. La cession respecte un accord écrit de séparation, en vertu duquel les parties ont convenu de vivre séparément.
  3. La cession se conforme à l'ordonnance d'un tribunal. Dans tous les cas, le cédant et le cessionnaire doivent être conjoints, ou ex-conjoints, respectifs.

Dans tous les cas, le cédant et le cessionnaire doivent être conjoints, ou ex-conjoints, respectifs.

2.2. Définition

« Conjoint » s'entend au sens de la définition de ce terme à l'article 29 de la Loi sur le droit de la famille. Cela désigne l'une des deux personnes mariées ensemble, ou qui ne sont pas mariées ensemble et qui ont cohabité, selon le cas :

  1. de façon continue pendant au moins trois ans;
  2. dans une relation d'une certaine permanence, si elles sont les parents naturels ou adoptifs d'un enfant.

3. Comment demander l'exemption

3.1. Généralités

Les exemptions concernant les conjoints peuvent être demandées par voie électronique grâce au système d'enregistrement immobilier Teraview ainsi qu'en format papier au bureau local d'enregistrement immobilier. D'autres détails concernant les procédures d'enregistrement pour chaque scénario sont fournis ci-après.

3.2. La seule contrepartie est l'hypothèse d'une hypothèque ou d'une dette

Si la seule contrepartie accordée est l'hypothèse d'une charge grevant le bien-fonds, la cession est alors exonérée des droits. Dans ce cas-ci, la valeur de la contrepartie correspond au montant en souffrance de toute charge grevant le bien-fonds.

3.3. Enregistrement électronique

La valeur de la contrepartie doit être indiquée à la ligne 1(b)(i) de l'onglet Contrepartie. Les déclarations 9085 et 9086 doivent être sélectionnées sous l'onglet Exemption :

9085 Cette cession donne droit à une exemption des droits en vertu du R.R.O. 1990, Règlement 696 puisque le cédant est le conjoint ou l'ex-conjoint du cessionnaire et :
9086 La seule contrepartie survenant est l'hypothèse d'une prise en charge de tout grèvement auquel est subordonné le bien-fonds.

3.4. Enregistrement papier

La valeur de la contrepartie doit être indiquée au paragraphe 2 de Affidavit sur les droits de cession immobilière [PDF - 386 KO]. Au paragraphe 5 de l'affidavit, sous « Autres remarques et explications », l'explication suivante doit être fournie :

Les parties sont des conjoints (ou ex-conjoints) au sens de la définition de ce terme à l'article 29 de la Loi sur le droit de la famille, et en vertu du Règlement 696, R.R.O. 1990, aucun droit n'est exigible puisque la seule contrepartie survenant est l'hypothèse d'une prise en charge de tout grèvement auquel est subordonné le bien-fonds.

3.5. La cession respecte un accord écrit

Si la cession respecte un accord écrit dans lequel les parties ont convenu de vivre séparément, alors la cession est exonérée des droits. Dans ce cas-ci, la valeur de la contrepartie correspond au total de toutes les contreparties accordées et au montant exigible sur tous les grèvements.

3.6. Enregistrement électronique

La valeur de la contrepartie doit être indiquée aux lignes correspondantes de l'onglet Contrepartie. Les déclarations 9085 et 9086 doivent être sélectionnées sous l'onglet Exemption :

9085 Cette cession donne droit à une exemption des droits en vertu du R.R.O. 1990, Règlement 696 puisque le cédant est le conjoint ou l'ex-conjoint du cessionnaire et :
9087 La cession est conforme aux modalités d'un accord écrit en vertu duquel les parties ont convenu de vivre séparément.

3.7. Enregistrement papier

La valeur de la contrepartie doit être indiquée au paragraphe 2 de Affidavit sur les droits de cession immobilière [PDF - 386 KO]. Au paragraphe 5 de l'affidavit, sous « Autres remarques et explications », l'explication suivante doit être fournie :

Les parties sont des conjoints (ou ex-conjoints) au sens de la définition de ce terme à l'article 29 de la Loi sur le droit de la famille, et en vertu du Règlement 696, R.R.O. 1990, aucun droit n'est exigible puisque la cession est conforme à un accord écrit en vertu duquel les parties ont convenu de vivre séparément.

3.8. La cession se conforme à l'ordonnance d'un tribunal

Si la cession se conforme aux directives d'une ordonnance ou d'un jugement, la cession est alors exonérée des droits. Dans ce cas-ci, la valeur de la contrepartie correspond au total de toutes les contreparties accordées et au montant exigible sur tous les grèvements.

3.9. Enregistrement électronique

La valeur de la contrepartie doit être indiquée aux lignes correspondantes de l'onglet Contrepartie. Les déclarations 9085 et 9086 doivent être sélectionnées sous l'onglet Exemption :

9085 Cette cession donne droit à une exemption des droits en vertu du R.R.O. 1990, Règlement 696 puisque le cédant est le conjoint ou l'ex-conjoint du cessionnaire et :
9088 La cession se conforme aux directives d'une ordonnance ou d'un jugement rendu par un tribunal compétent.

3.10. Enregistrement papier

La valeur de la contrepartie doit être indiquée au paragraphe 2 de Affidavit sur les droits de cession immobilière [PDF - 386 KO]. Au paragraphe 5 de l'affidavit, sous « Autres remarques et explications », l'explication suivante doit être fournie :

Les parties sont des conjoints (ou ex-conjoints) au sens de la définition de ce terme à l'article 29 de la Loi sur le droit de la famille, et en vertu du Règlement 696, R.R.O. 1990, aucun droit n'est exigible puisque la cession se conforme aux directives d'une ordonnance ou d'un jugement rendu par un tribunal compétent.

4. Cas de figure particuliers

4.1. Aliénations non enregistrées

Dans de rares cas où la cession d'un bien-fonds entre conjoints se fait sous la forme d'une aliénation non enregistrée comme cela est décrit au paragraphe 3(1) de la Loi, vous devez demander l'exemption en remplissant le formulaire Déclaration sur l'acquisition d'un intérêt bénéficiaire dans un bien-fonds [PDF - 439 KO] qui doit être produit directement auprès du ministère du Finances dans un délai de 30 jours. Pour obtenir des renseignements plus généraux sur les aliénations non enregistrées, veuillez consulter le bulletin Droits de cession immobilière et traitement des aliénations non enregistrées d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien-fonds.

4.2. Donations de biens-fonds par affection naturelle

Même si aucune somme réelle n'est en fait transmise, s'il y a un avantage accordé ou devant être accordé par rapport au bien-fonds, ou en cas d'hypothèse d'une hypothèque ou d'une dette, la valeur monétaire de ces montants est la valeur de la contrepartie et on ne peut pas dire que la cession est sans aucune contrepartie ou seulement par affection naturelle.

Si la cession survenant n'a aucune valeur de contrepartie, la valeur de la contrepartie de la cession sera de zéro. Par conséquent, les droits seront aussi de zéro. Pour obtenir plus d'information à ce sujet, veuillez consulter notre bulletin fiscal Transactions à contrepartie symbolique.

4.3. Enregistrement électronique

Si la cession survenant n'a aucune valeur de contrepartie, un montant symbolique (p. ex., 2 $) doit être indiqué sous l'onglet Contrepartie. Les déclarations 9049, 9146 et 9048 doivent être sélectionnées sous l'onglet Symbolique :

9049 Explication de la contrepartie symbolique :
9146 m) cession entre conjoints par affection naturelle
9048 Le bien-fonds n'est assujetti à aucun grèvement

4.4. Enregistrement papier

Si la cession survenant n'a aucune valeur de contrepartie, un montant symbolique (p. ex., 2 $) doit être indiqué au paragraphe 2 de Affidavit sur les droits de cession immobilière [PDF - 386 KO] et le paragraphe 4 doit être marqué afin d'indiquer que le bien-fonds n'est assujetti à aucun grèvement. Au paragraphe 5 de l'affidavit, sous « Autres remarques et explications », l'explication suivante doit être fournie :

Les parties étant des conjoints (ou ex-conjoints) au sens de la définition de ce terme à l'article 29 de la Loi sur le droit de la famille, aucun droit n'est exigible puisque la cession est une cession symbolique entre conjoints par affection naturelle.

5. Renseignements additionnels

Si le présent bulletin ne couvre pas entièrement votre situation particulière, consultez la Loi et les règlements afférents, visitez notre site Web à ontario.ca/finances ou communiquez avec le :

Ministère des Finances
Direction de la vérification
Section des impôts relatifs aux biens fonciers et aux ressources
33, rue King Ouest
C.P. 625 Oshawa ON L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • 905 433-5770 téléc
  • 1 800 263-7776 pour la appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS)
Page : 3219  |