Land Transfer Tax Exemption For Certain Conveyances of Mineral Lands

Bulletin LTT 3-2004
Published: November 2004
Content last reviewed: September 2009
ISBN: 0-7794-7194-6 (Print), 0-7794-7195-4 (PDF)

  • This bulletin outlines the procedures on how to obtain a land transfer tax exemption on certain conveyances of mineral lands.
  • This bulletin replaces land transfer tax Information Bulletin 1/80 issued April, 1980.
  • The information in this bulletin does not replace the law found in the Land Transfer Tax Act and related Regulations.

General

Exemptions from land transfer tax on the registration of certain conveyances of mineral lands are provided under Regulation 703, R.R.O. 1990 (the Regulation).

Definitions

"minerals" includes gold, silver, ore, coal, gas, oil, salt, rare and precious metals and other like materials found in, upon or under the surface but does not include sand, gravel or stone.

"mineral rights" means the right to enter upon or use lands for the sole purpose of exploring, drilling for, winning, taking, removing or raising the minerals situate therein and includes such easements, rights of way or other similar rights of access as are incidental to winning, taking, removing or raising the minerals situate therein.

"surface rights" means every right in land other than the mineral rights.

"surface rights option" means any right to acquire the surface rights to land, the mineral rights to which have been acquired by the optionee either prior to the granting of the surface rights option or by the conveyance that itself contains the grant of the surface rights option.

Requirements to Qualify for Exemption - Types of Conveyances

Introduction

The Regulation exempts from tax that portion of the consideration which is attributable to the minerals or mineral rights in the land. The portion of the consideration which is attributable to the surface rights in land will remain taxable.

Various types of conveyances are dealt with in the Regulation and are outlined below. In some cases, the conveyance must be forwarded to the Audit Branch for determination of the tax exemption or the taxable value of the consideration, before the conveyances are registered.

Conveyance of Mineral Rights - Exempt

If it is a conveyance that conveys only the mineral rights to the land for a consideration that is dependent wholly upon the quantity or value of the minerals that are won, taken, removed or raised then the conveyance is exempt from land transfer tax. (Refer to section 2 of the Regulation).

Conveyance of Mineral Rights - Taxable

Where the consideration for such a conveyance is not wholly dependant upon the quantity or value of the minerals that are won, taken, removed or raised, then the conveyance may or may not be exempt from land transfer tax. The Regulation provides that in such cases land transfer tax will be exigible upon that part of the consideration paid for the conveyance that, in the opinion of the Minister, is reasonably attributable to the surface rights to the land described in the conveyance. (Refer to paragraph 3(1)3 and clause 3(2)(c) of the Regulation). These types of conveyances must be submitted to the Ministry of Finance for endorsement.

Options - Exempt

A conveyance that is a grant, sale, transfer or assignment of a surface rights option is exempt from land transfer tax at the time of registration of the conveyance. Careful consideration should be given to the definition of a surface rights option (defined on page 1 of this Bulletin). It is not simply an option to acquire surface rights as its name may suggest. (Refer to paragraph 2 of section 2 of the Regulation).

An instrument which is a combination of a grant, sale, transfer or assignment of a surface rights option together with a conveyance of only the mineral rights to the land for a consideration that is wholly dependent upon the quantity or value of the minerals, won, taken, removed or raised is exempt from land transfer tax upon registration of the conveyance. (Refer to paragraph 3 of section 2 of the Regulation.

Options - Taxable

A conveyance which is the exercise of a surface rights option is taxable when the conveyance is registered. Land transfer tax will be calculated on the higher of the following amounts:

  1. the consideration paid by the person exercising the surface rights option to acquire it plus any consideration paid to exercise it;
     
    OR
  2. the consideration which in the opinion of the Minister is reasonably attributable to the acquisition of the surface rights.

These types of conveyances must be submitted to the Ministry of Finance for endorsement.

Leases

A conveyance of the mineral rights to land together with a lease of the surface rights, to the land (where the lease can exceed fifty years, including renewals or extensions) is taxable. These types of conveyances must be submitted to the Ministry of Finance for endorsement.

The consideration upon which the tax is exigible will be the higher of the fair market value of the surface rights to which the lease extends, or the consideration, which in the opinion of the Minister is reasonably attributable to the surface rights.

This determination of the taxable value of the consideration also applies to the registration of a conveyance of the mineral rights to the land together with a notice of such a lease or together with a grant or assignment of such a lease by a lessee. (Refer to paragraph 3(1)1 and clause 3(2)(a) of the Regulation).

Other Conveyances

A conveyance of the mineral rights to the land where the consideration is not wholly dependent on the quantity or value of the minerals won, taken, removed or raised, which is not a conveyance as outlined above and which is not a lease, grant or assignment of sublease or notice of lease of surface rights (having a term of more than fifty years including renewals) also requires a determination of the taxable value. In this case the taxable consideration will be the same as is described in Conveyance of Mineral Rights - Taxable above. (Refer to paragraph 3(1)3 and clause 3(2)(c) of the Regulation.)

These types of conveyances must be submitted to the Ministry of Finance for endorsement.

Procedures for Claiming Land Transfer Tax Exemption

Exempt Conveyance of Mineral Rights Only - Endorsement by Ministry Not Required

A conveyance which is tax exempt on the basis that it is a conveyance of only the mineral rights to land and the consideration given is wholly dependent upon the quantity or value of the minerals that are won, taken, removed or raised, does not require endorsement by the Ministry of Finance. For example, what is normally referred to as an oil and gas lease, would meet this criteria. This type of lease cannot include any conveyance of surface rights

For electronic registrations, in these cases, the exemption may be claimed by selecting Statement 9075 under the Exemption tab on the system.

For paper registrations, the following phrase should be inserted in section 5 of the Land Transfer Tax Affidavit [PDF - 378 KB]:

"The attached instrument is a conveyance of only the mineral rights to the land, the consideration for the conveyance is wholly dependent upon the quantity or value of the minerals that are won, taken, removed or raised and exemption from land transfer tax is claimed pursuant to section 2 of Ontario Regulation 703 R.R.O. 1990."

Exempt Options - Endorsement by Ministry Not Required

A conveyance which is tax exempt on the basis that it is a grant, sale, transfer, or assignment of a "surface rights option", does not require endorsement by the Ministry of Finance.

For electronic registrations, in these cases, the exemption may be claimed by selecting Statement 9075 under the Exemption tab on the system.

For paper registrations, the following phrase should be inserted in section 5 of the Land Transfer Tax Affidavit [PDF - 378 KB]:

"The attached conveyance is a grant, sale, transfer or assignment of a surface rights option but is not the exercise of a surface rights option as defined in Ontario Regulation 703 R.R.O. 1990"

Where the Endorsement of the Ministry Is Required

As noted in the Requirements to Qualify for Exemption - Types of Conveyances section on pages two and three of this bulletin, some conveyances must be submitted to the Ministry of Finance for prior review and approval to determine if the conveyance is exempt from or subject to land transfer tax. An endorsement from the Ministry is required in these instances.

In these cases, the following documentation must be submitted to the Land and Resource Taxes section of the Ministry of Finance:

  1. Photocopy of all agreements between the parties for the transaction plus any supporting documentation to confirm the value of the consideration, and
  2. Undertaking to the Ministry of Finance re Tentative Value of the Consideration (required where section 3 of the Regulation), and
  3. A cheque for the applicable land transfer tax made payable to the Minister of Finance (required where section 3 of the Regulation applies), and
    1. In the case of an electronic registration, two copies of the document, with land transfer tax statements completed, to be submitted for registration, or
    2. In the case of a paper registration, the original and duplicate copy of the conveyance for the transaction, plus a third copy for retention by the Ministry along with three completed original Land Transfer Tax Affidavits.

Unregistered Dispositions

An unregistered disposition of a beneficial interest in land is exempt from the tax imposed under section 3 of the Act, if the disposition is of a "surface rights option", mineral rights only to land or both, and if any person who tendered for registration a conveyance evidencing the disposition would be exempt from tax by reason of section 2 of the Regulation. In these situations a return must be filed and the exemption claimed.

In other cases of unregistered dispositions of mineral lands which require a determination of the value of the consideration under the provisions of the Regulation, please contact the Land and Resource Taxes section of the Audit Branch for further information.

Procedures for Claiming Land Transfer Tax Refunds

If land transfer tax has been paid and the transfer meets the qualifying criteria for an exemption under the Regulation, an application for a land transfer tax refund may be made directly to the Ministry of Finance at the address found at the end of this bulletin. Any application for a refund must be made within four years from the date on which the tax was paid.

Documentation Required for Refund

The documentation required for the Ministry to consider a refund of land transfer tax is as follows:

  1. Land Transfer Tax Affidavit [PDF - 378 KB] signed by the transferee(s) setting out what provisions of the Regulation have been met;
  2. photocopy of all agreements between the parties; and
    1. in the case of a registered conveyance, a copy of the registered instrument upon which land transfer tax was paid; or
    2. in the case of electronic registration, a copy of the docket summary which relates to the transaction; or
    3. in the case of an unregistered disposition, details of the payment made.

Please contact the Land and Resource Taxes section of the Audit Branch for further information on applying for a refund.

Additional Information

If this bulletin does not completely address your particular situation, refer to the Act and related regulations, visit our website at ontario.ca/finance or contact:

Ministry of Finance
Audit Branch
Land Transfer Tax Program
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Fax: 905 433-5770
  • 1 800 263-7776 for teletypewriter (TTY)

Related topics

Page: 561  |

Exemption des droits de cession immobilière dans le cas de certaines cessions de biens-fonds minéraux Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière

Bulletin LTT 3-2004
Date de publication : novembre 2004
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2009
ISBN: 0-7794-7196-2 (Imprimé), 0-7794-7197-0 (PDF)

  • Le présent bulletin décrit la marche à suivre pour obtenir une exemption des droits de cession immobilière sur certaines cessions de biens-fonds minéraux.
  • Ce bulletin remplace le bulletin d'information 1/80 publié en avril 1980.
  • L'information contenue dans ce bulletin ne remplace aucunement les dispositions de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière ni les règlements afférents.

Généralités

Les exemptions des droits de cession immobilière applicables à certaines cessions de biens-fonds minéraux sont prescrites par le règlement 703, R.R.O. 1990 (le règlement).

Définitions

Par « minéraux », il faut entendre l'or, l'argent, le minerai, le charbon, le gaz, le pétrole, le sel, les métaux rares et précieux, ainsi que d'autres matières similaires que l'on retrouve sur ou sous la surface, mais à l'exception du sable, du gravier ou de la pierre.

Par « droits miniers », il faut entendre le droit de pénétrer sur un bien-fonds ou d'utiliser ce dernier aux seules fins d'exploration, de forage pour extraction, ou dans le but de prélever, d'enlever ou de remonter les minéraux qui s'y trouvent, lequel englobe également les servitudes, droits de passage ou autres droits d'accès similaires rattachés à l'extraction, au prélèvement, à l'enlèvement ou à la remontée des minéraux qui s'y trouvent.

Par « droits de surface », il faut entendre tout droit à l'égard d'un bien-fonds autre que des droits miniers.

Par « option sur les droits de surface », il faut entendre tout droit d'acquérir les droits de surface liés à un bien-fonds, pour lequel les droits miniers ont été acquis par l'optant avant l'octroi de l'option sur les droits de surface ou par la cession qui intègre en soi l'octroi de l'option sur les droits de surface.

Exigences d'admissibilité à l'exemption - Types de cession

Introduction

Le règlement exempte des droits de cession immobilière la portion de la contrepartie qui est attribuable aux minéraux ou aux droits miniers liés au bien-fonds. La portion de la contrepartie attribuable aux droits de surface liés au bien-fonds demeure taxable.

Le règlement couvre différents types de cession, décrits ci-dessous. Dans certains cas, la cession doit, avant son enregistrement, être acheminée à la section des droits de cession immobilière de la Direction de la vérification afin que soit établi le montant de l'exemption ou la proportion taxable de la contrepartie.

Cession de droits miniers - Exempte

S'il s'agit d'une cession qui cède uniquement les droits miniers liés à un bien-fonds en échange d'une contrepartie qui dépend entièrement de la quantité ou de la valeur des minéraux qui sont extraits, prélevés, enlevés ou remontés, alors la cession est exempte des droits de cession immobilière. (Consulter l'article 2 du règlement).

Cession de droits miniers - Taxable

Lorsque la valeur de la contrepartie relative à une telle cession ne dépend pas entièrement de la quantité ou de la valeur des minéraux qui sont extraits, prélevés, enlevés ou remontés, alors la cession peut être exempte ou non des droits de cession immobilière. Le règlement prévoit que, dans de tels cas, les droits de cession immobilière seront exigibles sur la portion de la contrepartie versée à l'égard de la cession qui, de l'avis du ministre, peut de manière raisonnable être attribuée aux droits de surface liés au bien-fonds décrits dans la cession. (Consulter le paragraphe 3 (1) 3 et l'alinéa 3 (2) c) du règlement.) Ces types de cession doivent être soumis à l'approbation du ministère des Finances.

Options - Exemptes

Une cession qui constitue un octroi, une vente, un transfert ou une attribution d'une option sur les droits de surface est exemptée des droits de cession immobilière au moment de son enregistrement. Il importe de bien tenir compte de la définition d'option sur les droits de surface (énoncée à la page 1 du présent bulletin). Il ne s'agit pas simplement d'une option permettant d'acquérir des droits de surface, comme son nom pourrait l'indiquer. (Consulter le paragraphe 2 de l'article 2 du règlement.)

Un instrument combinant l'octroi, la vente, le transfert ou l'attribution d'une option sur les droits de surface avec une cession des seuls droits miniers liés au bien-fonds, contre une contrepartie dépendant entièrement de la quantité ou de la valeur des minéraux extraits, prélevés, enlevés ou remontés est exempt des droits de cession immobilière lors de l'enregistrement de la cession. (Consulter le paragraphe 3 de l'article 2 du règlement.)

Options - Taxable

Une cession qui représente l'exercice d'une option sur les droits de surface est taxable lorsqu'elle est enregistrée. Les droits de cession immobilière sont alors calculés sur le plus élevé des deux montants suivants :

(i) la valeur de la contrepartie versée par la personne qui exerce l'option sur les droits de surface dans le but d'en faire l'acquisition plus toute contrepartie versée pour exercer telle option;
OU
(ii) la contrepartie qui, de l'avis du ministre, peut de manière raisonnable être attribuée à l'acquisition des droits de surface.

Ces types de cession doivent être soumis à l'approbation du ministère des Finances.

Baux

Une cession des droits miniers liés à un bien-fonds, accompagnée d'un bail sur les droits de surface à l'égard dudit bien-fonds (le bail pouvant dépasser cinquante ans, y compris les renouvellements ou prolongements), est taxable. Ce type de cession doit être soumis à l'approbation du ministère des Finances.

La valeur de la contrepartie sur laquelle les droits sont exigibles correspondra au plus élevé des deux montants suivants : la juste valeur des droits de surface auxquels s'applique le bail, ou la valeur de la contrepartie qui, de l'avis du ministre, peut de manière raisonnable être attribuée aux droits de surface.

Cette mesure de la valeur taxable de la contrepartie s'applique également à l'enregistrement d'une cession des droits miniers liés au bien-fonds, ainsi qu'à un avis de tel bail, ou accompagné de l'octroi ou de l'attribution de tel bail par un locataire. (Consulter le paragraphe 3 (1) 1 et l'alinéa 3 (2) a) du règlement).

Autres cessions

Une cession des droits miniers liés au bien-fonds dans le cas où la valeur de la contrepartie ne dépend pas entièrement de la quantité ou de la valeur des minéraux extraits, prélevés, enlevés ou remontés, qui n'est pas une cession aux termes de l'explication donnée ci-dessus et qui n'est pas un bail, un octroi ou une attribution d'un sous-bail ou d'un avis de bail sur les droits de surface (comportant une durée de plus de cinquante ans y compris les renouvellements), nécessite également l'établissement d'une valeur taxable. Dans ce cas, la valeur de la contrepartie taxable sera la même que celle décrite sous la rubrique Cession de droits miniers - Taxable ci-dessus. (Consulter le paragraphe 3 (1) 3 et l'alinéa 3 (2) c) du règlement.)

Ces types de cession doivent être soumis à l'approbation du ministère des Revenu.

Procédure de demande d'exemption des droits de cession immobilière

Cession de droits miniers uniquement - Approbation du ministère non requise

Une cession exempte des droits de cession immobilière justifiée par le fait qu'elle porte uniquement sur les droits miniers liés à un bien-fonds et que la valeur de la contrepartie versée dépend entièrement de la quantité ou de la valeur des minéraux qui sont extraits, prélevés, enlevés ou remontés, ne nécessite pas l'approbation du ministère des Finances. Par exemple, ce qu'on appelle habituellement une concession pétrolière ou gazière répondrait à ces critères. Ce type de bail ne peut comporter de cession de droits de surface.

Dans le cas des enregistrements électroniques, l'exemption peut être demandée en choisissant la déclaration 9075 sous l'onglet « Exemption » du système.

Dans le cas des enregistrements sur papier, il convient d'inclure la phrase qui suit à la section 5 de l'Affidavit sur les droits de cession immobilière :

« L'acte ci-joint représente une cession des seuls droits miniers liés à un bien-fonds; la valeur de la contrepartie liée à la cession dépend entièrement de la quantité ou de la valeur des minéraux qui sont extraits, prélevés, enlevés ou remontés; et l'exemption des droits de cession immobilière est demandée en vertu de l'article 2 du règlement de l'Ontario 703 R.R.O. 1990. »

Options exemptes - Approbation du ministère non requise

Une cession exempte des droits de cession immobilière du fait qu'il s'agit de l'octroi, de la vente, du transfert ou de l'attribution d'une « option sur les droits de surface » ne nécessite pas l'approbation du ministère des Finances.

Dans le cas des enregistrements électroniques, l'exemption peut être demandée en choisissant la déclaration 9075 sous l'onglet « Exemption » du système.

Dans le cas des enregistrements sur papier, il convient d'inclure la phrase qui suit à la section 5 de l'Affidavit sur les droits de cession immobilière :

« La cession ci-jointe représente l'octroi, la vente, le transfert ou l'attribution d'une option sur les droits de surface, mais ne constitue pas l'exercice d'une option sur les droits de surface, tel que défini dans le règlement de l'Ontario 703 R.R.O. 1990. »

Approbation du ministère requise

Tel qu'indiqué sous la rubrique Exigences d'admissibilité à l'exemption - Types de cession, aux pages deux et trois du présent bulletin, certaines cessions doivent être soumises à l'examen et à l'approbation préalables du ministère des Finances afin d'établir si elles sont exemptes ou non des droits de cession immobilière. L'approbation du ministère est alors requise.

Dans de tels cas, les documents suivants doivent être soumis à la section des droits de cession immobilière de la Direction de la vérification du ministère des Finances :

  1. une photocopie de toutes les ententes conclues entre les parties concernées par la transaction, plus tout document à l'appui confirmant la valeur de la contrepartie, et
  2. un engagement à l'égard du ministère des Finances relativement à une valeur de contrepartie provisoire (requis lorsque les dispositions de l'article 3 du règlement s'appliquent), et
  3. un chèque au montant des droits de cession immobilière applicables, établi à l'ordre du ministre des Revenu (requis lorsque les dispositions de l'article 3 du règlement s'appliquent), et
    1. dans le cas d'un enregistrement électronique, deux copies du document, les déclarations de droits de cession immobilière ayant été dûment remplies, à soumettre pour enregistrement, ou
    2. dans le cas d'un enregistrement sur papier, l'original ainsi qu'une copie de l'acte de cession, plus une troisième copie à conserver par le ministère, ainsi que trois affidavits originaux sur les droits de cession immobilière dûment remplis.

Aliénations non enregistrées

Une aliénation non enregistrée d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien-fonds est exempte des droits de cession immobilière imposés au titre de l'article 3 de la Loi si ladite aliénation s'applique à une « option sur les droits de surface », aux seuls droits miniers liés au bien-fonds ou les deux, et si toute personne ayant déposé l'enregistrement d'une cession confirmant l'aliénation serait exempte des droits de cession immobilière au titre de l'article 2 du règlement. Dans de tels cas, une déclaration doit être remplie et l'exemption, demandée.

Dans d'autres cas d'aliénations non enregistrées de biens-fonds miniers nécessitant l'établissement de la valeur de la contrepartie en vertu des dispositions du règlement, s'adresser à la section des droits de cession immobilière de la Direction de la vérification pour plus de précisions.

Procédure de demande d'un remboursement des droits de cession immobilière

Si des droits de cession immobilière ont été versés et que la cession répond aux critères d'admissibilité à une exemption en vertu du règlement, une demande de remboursement des droits de cession immobilière peut être présentée directement au ministère des Finances à l'adresse indiquée à la fin du présent bulletin. Toute demande de remboursement doit être soumise dans les quatre ans suivant la date d'acquittement des droits.

Documentation requise en vue d'un remboursement

Voici les documents requis afin que le ministère examine une demande de remboursement des droits de cession immobilière :

  1. un affidavit des droits de cession immobilière signé par le(s) cessionnaire(s) établissant les dispositions du règlement qui ont été respectées;
  2. une photocopie de toutes les ententes entre les parties; et
    1. dans le cas d'une cession enregistrée, une copie de l'acte enregistré sur lequel les droits de cession immobilière ont été versés; ou
    2. dans le cas d'un enregistrement électronique, une copie du sommaire du dossier de la transaction; ou
    3. dans le cas d'une aliénation non enregistrée, les détails du paiement effectué.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les demandes de remboursement, communiquez avec la section des droits de cession immobilière de la Direction de la vérificaiton.

Renseignements additionnels

Si le présent bulletin ne couvre pas entièrement votre situation particulière, consultez la Loi ainsi que les règlements afférents, visitez notre site Web à ontario.ca/finances ou communiquez avec le :

Ministère des Finances
Programme des droits de cession immobilière
33, rue King Ouest
CP 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Téléc. : 905 433-5759
  • 1 800 263-7776 pour la appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS)
Page : 561  |