Land taken under Statutory Authority

Bulletin LTT 4-2000
Published: May 2000
Content last reviewed: September 2009

This bulletin clarifies application of the Land Transfer Tax Act ("Act") to certain transfers of land where land has been taken under statutory authority (such as by way of expropriation) and where land has been acquired as a replacement for land that has been taken under statutory authority.

  1. Injurious Affection:

    Where land is conveyed to a person by whom notice of an intention to take it under statutory authority was given and compensation for injurious affection (business and personal damages) is paid by the person acquiring the land, the amount of such compensation is not part of the value of the consideration subject to taxation under the Act. Amounts paid for injurious affection should not be included in the Affidavit of Residence and Value of the Consideration. However, the amount paid to acquire the land itself is part of the value of the consideration on which tax is calculated.

    It should be noted that the registration of a notice of expropriation is a taxable conveyance under the Act and is therefore subject to tax.

    Note This also applies to unregistered dispositions described in section 3 of the Act. As in all cases of a disposition under section 3, a return must be filed and the tax paid as required.

  2. Reduction of Consideration Where Land is Acquired to Replace Land That Has Been Taken Under Statutory Authority:

    Subsection 1(2) of the Act sets out the following:

    "Where it is established to the satisfaction of the Minister that land is being acquired by a person for the purpose of replacing land that was taken from the person under statutory authority, that was sold by the person to a person by whom notice of an intention to take the land under statutory authority was given, or that was sold by the person to a person having the power to take the land under statutory authority, and it is reasonable to assume in the case where the land is sold that, had the land not been sold, it would have been taken under statutory authority by the person to whom it is sold, the value of the consideration for the land being acquired shall be reduced by an amount equal to the compensation or proceeds of sale reasonably attributable to the land that was taken or sold."

    Any application for the reduction in the consideration pursuant to subsection 1(2) must be submitted to the Ministry of Finance and the tax paid directly there on the consideration declared. The following documentation will be required:

    1. Original, duplicate and one photocopy of the document to be registered

    2. Three original signed Affidavits of Residence and Value of the Consideration, setting out the reduced consideration

    3. Copy of agreement setting out the consideration or compensation entered into with respect to property being taken, or other evidence of the valuation of the property available

    4. Copy of the agreement of purchase and sale respecting the property being purchased and any other relevant documents

    5. Supplementary affidavit setting out that the conditions of subsection 1(2) of the Act have been met

    6. Cheque for applicable tax

Additional Information

If this bulletin does not completely address your particular situation, refer to the Act and related regulations, visit our website at or contact:

Ministry of Finance
Audit Branch
33 King St W
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Fax: 905 433-5770
  • 1 800 263-7776 for teletypewriter (TTY)

Related topics

Page: 560  |

Bien-fonds pris en vertu d'un pouvoir légal

Bulletin fiscal de l'Ontario LTT 4-2000
Bulletin LTT 4-2000
Date de publication : mai 2000
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2009

Le présent bulletin a pour but de clarifier l'application de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière (la Loi ) dans le cas d'une cession de certains biens-fonds lorsque le bienfonds a été pris en vertu d'un pouvoir légal (tel que dans le cas d'une expropriation) et lorsque le bien-fonds a été acquis en remplacement de celui qui lui a été pris en vertu d'un pouvoir légal.

  1. État préjudiciable :

    Lorsqu'un bien-fonds est cédé à une personne qui a donné avis de son intention de prendre le bien-fonds en vertu d'un pouvoir légal et qu'une indemnité d'état préjudiciable (dommages commerciaux ou personnels) est versée par la personne faisant l'acquisition du bien-fonds, le montant de cette indemnité n'est pas compris dans la valeur de la contrepartie taxable en vertu de la Loi. Les montants versés à l'égard d'un état préjudiciable ne doivent pas être déclarés dans l'Affidavit de résidence et valeur de la contrepartie. Toutefois, le montant versé pour acquérir le bien-fonds en soi fait partie de la valeur de la contrepartie sur laquelle les droits sont calculés.

    Il convient de noter que l'enregistrement d'un avis d'expropriation constitue une cession taxable en vertu de la Loi, et est donc taxable.

    NOTA : Ce raisonnement s'applique également aux aliénations non enregistrées décrites à l'article 3 de la Loi. Comme dans tous les cas d'aliénation énoncés à l'article 3, une déclaration doit être produite et les droits doivent être acquittés tel que prescrit.

  2. Réduction de la valeur de la contrepartie versée pour un bien-fonds acquis en remplacement de celui qui a été pris en vertu d'un pouvoir légal :

    Le paragraphe 1 (2) de la Loi s'énonce comme suit :

    La valeur de la contrepartie versée pour un bien-fonds est réduite d'un montant équivalant à l'indemnité ou au produit de la vente qui sont raisonnablement imputables au bien-fonds, si le ministre est convaincu qu'une personne acquiert le bien-fonds en remplacement de celui qui lui a été pris en vertu d'un pouvoir légal, ou de celui qu'elle a vendu soit à une personne qui a donné avis de son intention de prendre le bien-fonds en vertu d'un pouvoir légal, soit à une personne ayant le pouvoir de le prendre en vertu d'un pouvoir légal, et qu'il est raisonnable de présumer que, dans le cas où le bien-fonds est vendu, celui-ci lui aurait été pris en vertu d'un pouvoir légal s'il n'avait pas été vendu.

    Toute demande de réduction de la valeur de la contrepartie en vertu du paragraphe 1 (2) doit être présentée au ministère des Finances, et les droits doivent être acquittés directement en fonction de la valeur de la contrepartie déclarée. Les documents suivants sont exigés :

    1. L'original, le duplicata et une photocopie du document à enregistrer.

    2. Trois Affidavits de résidence et valeur de la contrepartie dûment signés (originaux) établissant la réduction de la valeur de la contrepartie.

    3. Une copie du contrat établissant la valeur de la contrepartie ou l'indemnité accordée relativement au bien-fonds pris, ou toute autre preuve disponible confirmant l'évaluation du bien-fonds.

    4. Une copie du contrat d'achat-vente relatif au bien-fonds acheté ainsi que tout autre document pertinent.

    5. Un affidavit supplémentaire précisant que les conditions stipulées au paragraphe 1 (2) de la Loi ont été respectées.

    6. Un chèque couvrant le montant des droits de cession immobilière applicables.

Renseignements additionnels

Si le présent bulletin ne couvre pas entièrement votre situation particulière, consultez la Loi et les règlements afférents, visitez notre site Web à ontario.ca/finances ou communiquez avec le :

Ministère des Finances
Direction de la vérification
33, rue King Ouest
CP 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Téléc. : 905 433-5770
  • 1 800 263-7776 pour la appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS)
Page : 560  |