Final Order of Foreclosure and Quitclaims in Lieu of Foreclosures

Bulletin LTT 5-2000
Published: May 2000
Content last reviewed: September 2009

This bulletin outlines compliance requirements in applying provisions of the Land Transfer Tax Act (the "Act") regarding final orders of foreclosure and transfers to mortgagees as a result of a default on a mortgage.

The Act defines "value of the consideration"in subsection 1(1), clause (a) to include,

"(a) the gross sale price or the amount expressed in money of any consideration given or to be given for the conveyance by or on behalf of the transferee and the value expressed in money of any liability assumed or undertaken by or on behalf of the transferee as part of the arrangement relating to the conveyance and the value expressed in money of any benefit of whatsoever kind conferred directly or indirectly by the transferee on any person as part of the arrangement relating to the conveyance,"

1. Final Orders of Foreclosure:

In the case of a final order of foreclosure, clause (b) of the definition of "value of the consideration"in subsection 1(1) of the Act, sets out the value of consideration to be the lesser of:

"(i) the value of the consideration determined under clause (a) plus the amount owed under the mortgage or charge at the time it is foreclosed, including principal, interest and all other costs and expenses other than municipal taxes, secured by the mortgage or charge and owing at the time plus the amount owing similarly calculated under any mortgage or charge that is subsequent in priority to the mortgage or charge in respect of which the final order of foreclosure is made and that is held by the mortgagee or chargee in whose favour the final order of foreclosure that is registered is made, or

(ii) an amount established to the satisfaction of the Minister to be equal to the fair market value of the land that is subject to the mortgage or charge,"

2. Quitclaims in Lieu of Foreclosures (transfers to a mortgagee or chargee from a mortgagor or chargor as a result of a default on a mortgage or charge):

In the case of a conveyance of land to the mortgagee or chargee under a mortgage or charge affecting the land when the conveyance is given in satisfaction of the amount owed under the mortgage or charge, clause (b.1) of the definition of "value of the consideration"in subsection 1(1) of the Act, sets out the value of the consideration to be the lesser of:

"(i) the value of the consideration determined under clause (a) plus the amount owed under the mortgage or charge at the time the conveyance is made, including principal, interest and all other costs or expenses other than municipal taxes, secured by the mortgage or charge and owing at the time plus the amount owing similarly calculated under any other mortgage or charge that is subsequent in priority to the mortgage or charge in respect of which the conveyance is made, if that mortgage or charge is held by the mortgagee or chargee to whom the conveyance is made, or

(ii) an amount established to the satisfaction of the Minister to be equal to the fair market value of the land that is subject to the conveyance."

3. Documentation required by the Ministry for final orders of foreclosure and quitclaims in lieu of foreclosures:

a) Registered Conveyances

In the case of a conveyance which will be registered, where the fair market value of the land is used as the value of the consideration, the tax must be paid directly to the Ministry of Finance and documents endorsed by the Ministry. The following documentation is required:

  1. Original, duplicate and one photocopy of the document to be registered.
  2. Three original signed Affidavits of Residence and of Value of the Consideration setting out the fair market value.
  3. An undertaking made to the Ministry, to accept the payment of the tax based on a tentative value of the consideration (see copy attached). This undertaking is required because the reported fair market value of the land is subject to Ministry confirmation.
  4. Copy of documentation that supports the valuation, such as an appraisal, if available.
  5. Cheque for applicable tax.

Note Documentation is not required to be submitted to the ministry for registered conveyances where the tax is calculated under subclause (i) of either clause (b) or (b.1) of the definition of " value of the consideration", in subsection 1(1) of the Act.

b) Unregistered dispositions of a beneficial interest in land

In the case of an unregistered disposition of a beneficial interest in land which resulted from a final order of foreclosure, the following documentation is required:

  1. Return on the acquisition of a beneficial interest in land.
  2. Copy of the final order of foreclosure.
  3. If fair market value is being used as the consideration, the valuation is subject to the ministry's confirmation and an undertaking is required (see copy attached).
  4. Copy of documentation that supports the valuation such as an appraisal, if available.
  5. Cheque for applicable tax.
  6. Other documentation as may be required by the Ministry.

Note In the case of a final order of foreclosure, the date of disposition is the date the order was issued. Therefore, if registration has not occurred within thirty days of that date, then the transaction is a taxable disposition under section 3 of the Act and a return must be filed.

Additional Information

If this bulletin does not completely address your particular situation, please refer to the Act and related regulations, visit our website at ontario.ca/finance or contact:

Ministry of Finance
Land and Resource Taxes
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Fax: 905 433-5770
  • 1 800 263-7776 for teletypewriter (TTY)

TO: Assistant Deputy Minister
Tax Revenue Division
Ministry of Finance
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

DATE
NAME
FIRM ADDRESS
PHONE NO.

IN THE MATTER OF the Land Transfer Tax Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. L.6.
AND IN THE MATTER OF a conveyance from ____________________________
to ______________________________________ of Lot _____, Plan ___________or Concession __________ Municipality ___________________________ by ________ dated _____________________.

In consideration of the acceptance by the Land Transfer Tax Section of tax based upon a tentative value of consideration in the amount of $________________________ and the endorsement of the above Instrument by said Section, we hereby undertake as follows:

  1. To present such documentation, accounting records and other information relating to the facts and circumstances of the transaction as may be necessary to enable the Land Transfer Tax Section to reach a decision as to the value of the consideration for the purpose of the Land Transfer Tax Act.
  2. To pay such further Land Transfer Tax as may be exigible, together with interest thereon as provided by the Statute, following perusal of such evidence, and to deliver an amended Land Transfer Tax Affidavit of Residence and Value of the Consideration in respect of any such tax.

We acknowledge that in the event the Minister endorses the conveyance(s) as requested, the Minister does so only for the purpose of facilitating registration, this undertaking stands as security for tax determined by the Minister to be exigible, no final determination of tax liability has been made and the endorsement will not prohibit the Minister from subsequently issuing an assessment for the tax determined to be exigible.

SIGNED _______________________(Seal)
WITNESSED _________________________

Related topics

Page: 558  |

Ordonnances définitives portant forclusion et cessions par renonciation tenant lieu de forclusions

Bulletin fiscal de l'Ontario LTT 5-2000
Bulletin LTT 5-2000
Date de publication : mai 2000
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2009

Le présent bulletin décrit les exigences d'observation relatives à l'application des dispositions de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière (la " Loi ") concernant les ordonnances définitives portant forclusion ainsi que les transferts à des créanciers hypothécaires à la suite du non-paiement d'une hypothèque.

Au sens du paragraphe 1 (1) de la Loi, alinéa a), la " valeur de la contrepartie " s'entend notamment :

" a) du prix de vente brut ou du montant en numéraire de la contrepartie versée ou devant être versée pour la cession par le cessionnaire ou pour son compte, plus la valeur en numéraire de toute obligation assumée ou endossée par le cessionnaire ou pour son compte, dans le cadre de l'arrangement relatif à la cession, plus la valeur en numéraire de tout avantage accordé directement ou indirectement par le cessionnaire à une personne dans le cadre de cet arrangement, "

1. Ordonnances définitives portant forclusion :

Dans le cas d'une ordonnance définitive portant forclusion, l'alinéa b) de la définition de "valeur de la contrepartie" énoncée au paragraphe 1 (1) de la Loi, précise que la valeur de la contrepartie correspond au moins élevé des montants suivants :

"(i) la valeur de la contrepartie établie aux termes de l'alinéa a), plus le montant dû aux termes de l'hypothèque ou de la sûreté réelle au moment de la forclusion, y compris le principal, les intérêts, ainsi que tous les frais et débours dus à ce moment et garantis par l'hypothèque ou la sûreté réelle, sauf les impôts municipaux, plus le montant calculé de la façon précitée, dû aux termes d'une hypothèque ou d'une sûreté réelle de rang postérieur à celle qui fait l'objet de l'enregistrement de l'ordonnance définitive portant forclusion et dont est titulaire le même créancier,

(ii) un montant établi de sorte que le ministre soit convaincu qu'il équivaut à la juste valeur marchande du bien-fonds grevé de l'hypothèque ou de la sûreté réelle, "

2. Cessions de renonciation tenant lieu de forclusions (cessions au créancier titulaire d'une hypothèque ou d'une sûreté réelle par le débiteur de l'hypothèque ou de la sûreté réelle à la suite du non-paiement d'une hypothèque ou d'une sûreté réelle) :

Dans le cas de la cession d'un bien-fonds à un créancier titulaire d'une hypothèque ou d'une sûreté réelle grevant le bien-fonds effectuée en paiement du montant dû aux termes de l'hypothèque ou de la sûreté réelle, la " valeur de la contrepartie ", au sens de l'alinéa (b.1) du paragraphe 1 (1) de la Loi, s'entend du moins élevé des montants suivants :

(i) la valeur de la contrepartie établie aux termes de l'alinéa a), plus le montant dû aux termes de l'hypothèque ou de la sûreté réelle au moment de la cession, y compris le principal, les intérêts, ainsi que tous les frais ou débours dus à ce moment et garantis par l'hypothèque ou la sûreté réelle, sauf les impôts municipaux, plus le montant calculé de la façon précitée, dû aux termes de toute autre hypothèque ou sûreté réelle de rang postérieur à celle qui fait l'objet de la cession, si le créancier en faveur de qui la cession est effectuée en est le titulaire,

(ii) un montant établi de sorte que le ministre soit convaincu qu'il équivaut à la juste valeur marchande du bien-fonds faisant l'objet de la cession, "

3. Documents requis par le ministère relativement aux ordonnances définitives portant forclusion et aux cessions de renonciation tenant lieu de forclusions :

a) Cessions enregistrées

Dans le cas d'une cession qui fera l'objet d'un enregistrement, où la juste valeur marchande du bien-fonds représente la valeur de la contrepartie, les droits de cession doivent être versés directement au ministère des Finances et les documents y afférents doivent être approuvés par ce dernier. Les documents suivants sont exigés :

  1. L'original, le duplicata et une photocopie du document à enregistrer.
  2. Trois Affidavits de résidence et valeur de la contrepartie dûment signés (originaux) établissant la juste valeur marchande.
  3. Un engagement signifié au ministère, confirmant l'acceptation du paiement des droits de cession immobilière en fonction d'une valeur provisoire de la contrepartie (voir copie ci-jointe). Cet engagement est requis car la valeur marchande déclarée du bien-fonds demeure sujette à confirmation par le ministère.
  4. Une copie des documents justificatifs de l'évaluation, tel que les documents relatifs à la valeur d'estimation, le cas échéant.
  5. Un chèque couvrant le montant des droits de cession immobilière applicables.

NOTA : Il n'est pas nécessaire de soumettre ces documents au ministère dans le cas des cessions enregistrées où les droits de cession immobilière sont calculés en vertu du sous-alinéa (i) de l'alinéa b) ou b.1) de la définition de la " valeur de la contrepartie ", au paragraphe 1 (1) de la Loi.

b) Aliénation non enregistrée d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien-fonds

Dans le cas de l'aliénation non enregistrée d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien-fonds ayant donné lieu à une ordonnance définitive portant forclusion, les documents suivants sont exigés.

  1. Une déclaration relative à l'acquisition de l'intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans le bien-fonds.
  2. Une copie de l'ordonnance définitive portant forclusion.
  3. Si la juste valeur marchande est utilisée en guise de contrepartie, l'évaluation demeure sujette à confirmation par le ministère, et un engagement est requis (voir copie ci-jointe).
  4. Une copie des documents justificatifs de l'évaluation, tel que les documents relatifs à la valeur d'estimation, le cas échéant.
  5. Un chèque couvrant le montant des droits de cession immobilière applicables.
  6. Tout autre document que pourrait exiger le ministère.

Nota : Dans le cas d'une ordonnance définitive portant forclusion, la date d'aliénation correspond à la date à laquelle l'ordonnance a été rendue. Par conséquent, si l'enregistrement n'a pas eu lieu dans les trente jours suivant cette date, la transaction est considérée comme une aliénation taxable en vertu de l'article 3 de la Loi, et une déclaration doit être produite.

Renseignements additionnels

Si le présent bulletin ne couvre pas entièrement votre situation particulière, consultez la Loi et les règlements afférents, visitez notre site Web à ontario.ca/finances ou communiquez avec le :

Ministère des Finances
Direction de la vérification
33, rue King Ouest
CP 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Téléc. : 905 433-5770
  • 1 800 263-7776 pour la appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS)

À l'attention du : Sous-ministre adjoint
Division des recettes fiscales
Ministère des Finances
33, rue King Ouest
CP 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

DATE
NAME
FIRM ADDRESS
TELEPHONE No

EN CE QUI CONCERNE la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière, L.R.O. 1990, ch.L.6

ET EN CE QUI CONCERNE une cession entre ________________________
et ______________________________ du lot ________, plan _______ ou
Concession ____________ municipalité ______________ par _________
en date du ______________.

Eu égard à l'acceptation, par la Section des impôts relatifs aux biens fonciers et aux ressources, des droits fondés sur une valeur provisoire de la contrepartie au montant de ____________ $, et à l'approbation de l'acte susmentionné par ladite section, nous nous engageons par la présente à :

  • soumettre tels documents, registres comptables et autres renseignements relatifs aux faits et circonstances de la transaction jugés nécessaires, afin de permettre à la Section des impôts relatifs aux biens fonciers et aux ressources de rendre une décision quant à la valeur de la contrepartie aux fins de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière;
  • acquitter tels droits de cession immobilière exigibles, augmentés des intérêts applicables tels que prévus par la Loi, déterminés après avoir pris connaissance des documents soumis, et à émettre un Affidavit de résidence et valeur de la contrepartie relativement à telle taxe.

Nous reconnaissons que si le ministre accepte la (les) cession(s) telle(s) que requise(s), il n'agit ainsi que dans le but de faciliter l'enregistrement, et que le présent engagement sert de garantie relativement aux droits jugés exigibles par le ministre, qu'aucune décision définitive de dette fiscale n'a été rendue et que l'acceptation ne peut empêcher le ministre d'émettre ultérieurement une cotisation relativement aux droits jugés exigibles.

SIGNATURE _________________ (Sceau)
TÉMOIN ___________________________

Page : 558  |