Leases and the Land Transfer Tax Act

Bulletin LTT 6-2000
Published: June 2000
Content last reviewed: September 2009

This bulletin clarifies the application of the Land Transfer Tax Act ("Act") to leases.

1. Exemption - Leases with a Term Not Exceeding 50 Years:

For Registered Conveyances:

Subsection 1(6) of the Act sets out in part that:

"...no tax is payable on the tender or submission for registration of a conveyance that is a lease of land, the transfer of the interest of a lessee under a lease of land, or a notice of any kind in writing signifying the existence of a lease of land or of a transfer of the interest of a lessee under a lease of land if the lease, at the time the lease or transfer or notice of either of them is tendered or submitted for registration, is for an unexpired term that cannot exceed 50 years, including any renewals or extensions of the term provided for in the lease or in a separate option to lease or other document entered into as part of the arrangement relating to the lease (whether or not the lessee and the optionee or person named in the document are the same persons)."

For Unregistered Dispositions:

Subsection 3(1) of the Act sets out in part that:

"For purposes of this section, a disposition of a beneficial interest in land...does not include,

  1. a lease of land or a transfer of the interest of a lessee under a lease of land if, at the time of the disposition, the unexpired term of the lease cannot exceed 50 years, including any renewals or extensions of the term provided for in the lease or in a separate option to lease or other document entered into as part of the arrangement relating to the lease (whether or not the lessee and the optionee or person named in the document are the same persons)..."

Note Although leases that cannot exceed 50 years are not subject to tax, an Affidavit of Residence and Value of the Consideration is required for registered conveyances. Paragraph 7 of the affidavit should be completed to show that the conveyance being registered is a lease the term of which, including any extensions or renewals, cannot exceed 50 years and there are no other options, agreements, etc. that increase that term.

2. Leases With a Term Exceeding 50 Years:

Value of the Consideration Deemed to be Fair Market Value:

Paragraph (c) of the definition of "value of the consideration" in section 1 of the Act sets out the value of consideration of land conveyed by lease not exempt from tax (see 1 above) as follows:

"in the case where a lease of land, a transfer of the interest of a lessee under a lease of land, or a notice of any kind in writing signifying the existence of an unregistered lease of land or of an unregistered transfer of the interest of a lessee under a lease of land is not exempt from tax by virtue of subsection (6), the fair market value, ascertained as at the time of the tender of submission for registration, of the land to which the lease extends or of a smaller portion of such land if only such smaller portion is conveyed."

This definition also applies to the determination of the consideration in the case of an unregistered disposition under section 3 of the Act, that is a lease that is not exempt from tax pursuant to clause 3(1)(f). The fair market value in those cases is to be determined as at the date of disposition. This valuation is subject to the ministry's verification.

3. Acquisition of Freehold Interest by Person Who Holds Leasehold Interest:

Subsection 1(3) of the Act reads as follows:

"Where a person entitled to the leasehold interest in land acquires the freehold interest therein, the value of the consideration for the conveyance to the person of the freehold interest may be reduced by the amount of the value of the consideration for the conveyance by which the person acquired the leasehold interest if the value of that consideration was determined under clause (c) of the definition of "value of the consideration" in subsection (1) and tax was computed and paid with respect to the value of that consideration so determined, but the reduction shall not exceed the value of the consideration for the conveyance of the freehold interest."

Essentially, clause (c) of the definition of "value of the consideration" identifies this value as the fair market value of the land to which the lease extends.

In order to achieve the reduction in the consideration available in subsection 1(3), a request must be submitted to the Ministry of Finance with payment of the tax based on the reduced consideration declared. The following documentation will be required:

  1. Original, duplicate and one photocopy of the document to be registered.
  2. Three original signed Affidavits of Residence and Value of the Consideration setting out the reduced consideration.
  3. Copy of the registered document where the tax had been paid on the fair market value of the land.
  4. Copies of all agreements between the parties relating to the transaction.
  5. Cheque for applicable tax

4. Regulation 700, RRO 1990:

Regulation 700, RRO 1990 provides for an adjustment of the consideration in certain situations involving leases:

  1. In the case of an extension or a notice of an extension of a lease or sublease, when the original term of that lease (including any renewals or extensions) can exceed 50 years, the taxable consideration is reduced to the actual consideration passing (or to zero if there is no consideration passing).
  2. In the case of a surrender or notice of surrender of the rights of a lessee under a lease or a sublease to the person entitled to the reversion of such lease or sublease, when the term of that lease (including any renewals or extensions) can exceed 50 years, the consideration is reduced to the actual consideration passing (or to zero if there is no consideration passing).
  3. In the case of a transferee who acquires the reversionary interest in land, and at the same time acquires the right to receive rental payments under one or more leases, the term of each of which, including any renewals or extensions exceeds 50 years, the consideration is deemed to be the higher of the fair market value of the land at date of registration or the actual consideration passing.

NOTE Where Regulation 700 RRO 1990 is applicable, the Affidavit of Residence and Value of the Consideration should be prepared setting out the applicable consideration under paragraph 4 and an explanation in paragraph 7 of the affidavit setting out how the consideration was determined. This regulation also applies to dispositions under section 3 of the Act.

Additional Information

If this bulletin does not completely address your particular situation, please refer to the Act and related regulations, visit our website at ontario.ca/finance or contact:

Ministry of Finance
Land and Resource Taxes
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Fax: 905 433-5770
  • 1 800 263-7776 for teletypewriter (TTY)

Related topics

Page: 562  |

Les baux et la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière

Bulletin fiscal de l'Ontario LTT 6-2000
Bulletin LTT 6-2000
Date de publication : juin 2000
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2009

Le présent bulletin a pour but de clarifier l'application de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière (la « Loi ») dans le cas des baux.

1. Exemption - Baux dont le terme ne dépasse pas 50 ans

Cessions enregistrées :

Le paragraphe 1 (6) de la Loi stipule en partie que :

«.il n'est pas exigé de droits lors de la présentation à l'enregistrement, sous forme électronique ou autre, d'une cession qui est un bail d'un bien-fonds, la cession de l'intérêt d'un locataire aux termes du bail d'un bien-fonds ou un avis écrit quelconque signalant l'existence du bail d'un bien-fonds ou de la cession de l'intérêt du locataire aux termes du bail d'un bien-fonds, si, lors de la présentation à l'enregistrement du bail, de la cession ou d'un avis de l'un ou l'autre, le terme du bail n'a pas pris fin et ne peut dépasser 50 ans, compte tenu des reconductions et des prorogations stipulées dans le bail ou dans une option de louer distincte ou un autre document conclu dans le cadre de l'arrangement relatif au bail (que le locataire et le bénéficiaire de l'option ou la personne nommée dans le document soient ou non les mêmes personnes). »

Aliénations non enregistrées :

Le paragraphe 3 (1) de la Loi stipule en partie que :

« Pour l'application du présent article, l'aliénation d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien-fonds.» exclut le :

  1. « bail d'un bien-fonds ou de la cession de l'intérêt d'un locataire aux termes du bail d'un bien-fonds, si, au moment de l'aliénation, le terme du bail en cours ne peut dépasser 50 ans, compte tenu des reconductions et des prorogations stipulées dans le bail ou dans une option de louer distincte ou un autre document conclu dans le cadre de l'arrangement relatif au bail (que le locataire et le bénéficiaire de l'option ou la personne nommée dans le document soient ou non les mêmes personnes)... »

NOTA Bien que les droits de cession immobilière ne s'appliquent pas aux baux ne pouvant pas dépasser 50 ans, un Affidavit relatif à la résidence et à la valeur de la contrepartie est exigé dans le cas des cessions enregistrées. Le paragraphe 7 dudit affidavit doit être rempli afin d'indiquer que la cession faisant l'objet de l'enregistrement constitue effectivement un bail dont le terme, compte tenu des reconductions et des prorogations stipulées, ne peut dépasser 50 ans et qu'il n'existe aucune autre option, entente ou autre pouvant proroger ce terme.

2. Baux dont le terme dépasse 50 ans :

Valeur de la contrepartie considérée comme juste valeur marchande :

Le paragraphe c) de la définition de la « valeur de la contrepartie » énoncée à l'article 1 de la Loi stipule que la valeur de la contrepartie d'un bien-fonds visé par un bail ne fait pas l'objet d'une dispense de droits (voir 1 ci-dessus) :

« S'entend notamment. de la juste valeur marchande, établie à la date de la présentation à l'enregistrement sous forme électronique ou autre, du bien-fonds visé par un bail ou d'une partie de ce bien-fonds, s'il n'en est cédé qu'une partie, dans le cas où le bail du bien-fonds, la cession de l'intérêt du locataire aux termes du bail, ou un avis écrit quelconque signalant l'existence d'un bail non enregistré de ce bien-fonds ou de la cession non enregistrée de l'intérêt du locataire dans ce bail, ne fait pas l'objet d'une dispense de droits aux termes du paragraphe (6). »

Cette définition s'applique également à l'établissement de la contrepartie dans le cas d'une aliénation non enregistrée en vertu de l'article 3 de la Loi lorsqu'il s'agit d'un bail ne faisant pas l'objet d'une dispense de droits en vertu de l'alinéa 3 (1) f). Dans de tels cas, la juste valeur marchande doit être établie en date de l'aliénation. Cette évaluation peut être soumise à une vérification par le ministère.

3. Acquisition d'une franche tenure par une personne ayant droit à la tenure à bail d'un bien-fonds :

Le paragraphe 1 (3) de la Loi s'énonce comme suit :

« Si la personne qui a droit à la tenure à bail d'un bien-fonds en acquiert la franche tenure, la valeur de la contrepartie qu'elle verse pour la cession de la franche tenure peut être réduite du montant de la valeur de la contrepartie qu'elle a versée pour la cession de la tenure à bail, à condition que la valeur de cette dernière contrepartie ait été fixée aux termes de l'alinéa c) de la définition de «valeur de la contrepartie» qui figure au paragraphe (1) et que des droits aient été calculés et acquittés à l'égard de la valeur de la contrepartie ainsi fixée. Toutefois, le montant de cette réduction ne doit pas être supérieur à celui de la contrepartie versée pour la cession de la franche tenure. »

L'alinéa c) de la définition de la « valeur de la contrepartie » considère cette valeur comme étant la juste valeur marchande du bien-fonds visé par le bail.

Dans le but d'obtenir une réduction de la contrepartie offerte en vertu du paragraphe 1 (3), une demande à cet effet doit être présentée au ministère des Finances, accompagnée du règlement des droits exigibles en fonction de la contrepartie réduite déclarée. Les documents suivants sont exigés :

  1. L'original, le duplicata et une photocopie du document à enregistrer.
  2. Trois Affidavits relatifs à la résidence et à la valeur de la contrepartie dûment signés (originaux) établissant la réduction de la valeur de la contrepartie.
  3. Une copie du document enregistré attestant que les droits ont été acquittés sur la juste valeur marchande du bien-fonds.
  4. Une copie de tous les contrats conclus entre les parties concernant la transaction.
  5. Un chèque couvrant le montant des droits de cession immobilière applicables.

4. Règlement 700, R.R.O. 1990 :

Le règlement 700, R.R.O. 1990 prévoit un rajustement de la valeur de la contrepartie dans certaines situations mettant en cause un bail :

  1. Dans le cas d'une prorogation ou d'un avis de prorogation d'un bail ou d'un sousbail, lorsque le terme initial dudit bail (y compris toute reconduction ou prorogation) peut dépasser 50 ans, la valeur de la contrepartie imposable est réduite à la contrepartie véritable cédée (ou à zéro s'il n'y a aucune cession de contrepartie).
  2. Dans le cas de l'abandon ou d'un avis d'abandon des droits d'un locataire en vertu d'un bail ou d'un sous-bail au bénéfice de la personne ayant droit à la réversion de tel bail ou sous-bail, lorsque le terme dudit bail (y compris toute reconduction ou prorogation) peut dépasser 50 ans, la valeur de la contrepartie est réduite à la contrepartie véritable cédée (ou à zéro s'il n'y a aucune cession de contrepartie).
  3. Dans le cas d'un cessionnaire qui acquiert un intérêt réversif à l'égard d'un bienfonds, et qui acquiert du même coup le droit de toucher un loyer en vertu d'un ou plusieurs baux, dont le terme de chacun, y compris toute reconduction ou prorogation, dépasse 50 ans, la valeur de la contrepartie est considérée comme le plus élevé des deux montants suivants - la juste valeur marchande du bienfonds en date de l'enregistrement, ou la contrepartie véritable cédée.

NOTA Lorsque les dispositions du règlement 700, R.R.O. 1990, s'appliquent, l'Affidavit relatif à la résidence et à la valeur de la contrepartie doit faire état de la contrepartie applicable en vertu du paragraphe 4, et comporter une explication au paragraphe 7 de l'affidavit précisant comment la contrepartie a été établie. Ce règlement s'applique également aux dispositions de l'article 3 de la Loi.

Renseignements additionnels

Si le présent bulletin ne couvre pas entièrement votre situation particulière, consultez la Loi et les règlements afférents, visitez notre site Web à ontario.ca/finances ou communiquez avec le :

Ministère des Finances
Direction de la vérification
33, rue King Ouest
CP 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Téléc. : 905 433-5770
  • 1 800 263-7776 pour la appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS)
Page : 562  |