Temporary Prohibition of Selling, Offering for Sale and Storing Tobacco Product

Bulletin TT 3-2008
Published: April 2008
Content last reviewed: March 2012
ISBN: 978-1-4249-6105-4 (Print), 978-1-4249-6107-8 (PDF), 978-1-4249-6106-1 (HTML)

  • This bulletin will be of interest to tobacco retail dealers and wholesalers.
  • This bulletin provides information about a program to temporarily prohibit the selling, offering for sale and storing of tobacco product at a retail location where a retail dealer has repeatedly contravened the Tobacco Tax Act and/or the Smoke-Free Ontario Act. Wholesalers are also prohibited from delivering, or causing to be delivered, tobacco product to locations that are under a temporary prohibition.
  • This bulletin provides general information. It is not exhaustive and should not be considered as a substitute for the Tobacco Tax Act and its regulations.

Background

Tobacco Tax Act Prohibition

The Tobacco Tax Act (Act), Temporary Prohibition Program prohibits all persons from selling, offering for sale and storing tobacco product at a location where a retail dealer has repeatedly contravened the Act and/or committed certain offences under the Smoke-Free Ontario Act. The length of the prohibition may range up to 180 days.

Retail dealers are advised to review both the Tobacco Tax Act and the Smoke-Free Ontario Act to understand the specific offences that may result in a prohibition.

Tobacco Tax Act Contraventions

A person who contravenes the Act may be subject to a penalty. Contraventions may also result in a person being charged with an offence which, upon conviction, may result in fines and/or imprisonment. Additionally, tobacco product that relates to a contravention may be seized and forfeited. The following are a few examples of contraventions of the Tobacco Tax Act:

  • selling or storing unmarked cigarettes (i.e. packages that do not have Ontario's yellow stamp and other required markings)
  • purchasing tobacco product from wholesalers not registered under the Act, or
  • the failure to provide evidence of proper payment of Ontario's tobacco tax.

Smoke-Free Ontario Act

The Smoke-Free Ontario Act is administered by the Ministry of Health and Long Term Care. Certain offences under that act are also "tobacco offences" for the purposes of the Temporary Prohibition Program. Specifically:

  • selling tobacco product to a person under 19 years of age
  • selling cigarettes in packages that do not have the required health warnings
  • selling cigarettes or cigarillos in packages of less than 20 or
  • failing to post the required health warning and age limit signs.

Terms of a Temporary Prohibition

The minister may prohibit the selling, offering for sale and storage of tobacco products for repeated contraventions of the Act. A prohibition bars selling, offering for sale and storing tobacco products in a particular location for up to 180 days.

There are also prohibitions under the Smoke-Free Ontario Act. The length of prohibitions in that act range from six to twelve months.

Basis for a Temporary Prohibition

Tobacco retail dealers may face a temporary prohibition if, within a five-year period, the retail dealer has been:

  • assessed two or more penalties under the Act
  • convicted of two or more tobacco offences, or
  • both assessed a penalty and convicted of a tobacco offence,

and the respective penalties and convictions relate to activities at, or in connection with, the particular location owned or occupied by a retail dealer.

Imposition of Prohibition

Duration of Prohibition

The duration of a temporary prohibition will depend on the number and nature of previous contraventions within a five-year period. The duration of the prohibition increases in stages, as shown in the following chart.

Determining Prohibition Period

If there is a current contravention subject to: And over the past 5 years, contraventions include: A temporary prohibition period may be imposed:
A penalty assessment Not more than 2 penalties or 1 or more offences Up to 15 days
A penalty assessment 3 or more penalties Up to 30 days
A conviction for an offence 1 or more penalties Up to 15 days
A conviction for an offence 1 offence Up to 30 days
A conviction for an offence 2 offences Up to 60 days
A conviction for an offence 3 or more offences Up to 180 days

Publication of Prohibited Retail Locations

The ministry will publish the name and location of every retail dealer who is under a temporary prohibition. This information may also be disclosed to tobacco wholesalers as they are not permitted to deliver, or cause to deliver, tobacco products to locations subject to a temporary prohibition.

Prohibition Process

Notification to Retail Dealer

The minister will notify the retail dealer of a proposed temporary prohibition. A Notice of Proposed Temporary Prohibition and Request for Hearing will be delivered to the retail dealer, either by hand delivery or registered mail, prior to the imposition of the prohibition.

Hearing Following Proposed Prohibition

When a retailer receives a Notice of Proposed Temporary Prohibition and Request for Hearing, the retail dealer may request a hearing. The request, stating reasons for the objection, must be made in writing to the minister within five days of receiving the Notice of Proposed Temporary Prohibition and Request for Hearing. A hearing will be held within 15 days from the time the notice was issued. Details on how to request a hearing are set out in the instructions in the Notice of Proposed Temporary Prohibition and Request for Hearing.

Conditions and Limitations

Instead of a temporary prohibition, the minister may impose specific conditions and limitations with respect to the retail dealer's tobacco activities; however, if the retail dealer fails to comply with the conditions and limitations, an immediate prohibition may be imposed upon delivery of a Notice of Immediate Temporary Prohibition.

Hearing Following Immediate Prohibition

Within 10 days of receiving notification of an immediate prohibition, the retail dealer may request a hearing to cancel the prohibition. The request must be made in writing to the minister, stating the reasons for the objection. A hearing will be scheduled within 10 days of the minister receiving the request. Details on how to request a hearing are set out in the instructions in the Notice of Immediate Temporary Prohibition.

Wholesalers

Wholesalers may not deliver, or cause to be delivered, tobacco product to a location that is subject to a temporary prohibition. To confirm whether a retail dealer is under prohibition at a particular location, check the ministry's website. Additionally, signs will be posted at locations where a temporary prohibition is in effect.

Posting of Signs at Locations Under Prohibition

Signs Required

Where a retail dealer is under prohibition, the retail dealer must ensure signs provided by the ministry are posted at the relevant location to notify the public of the prohibition.

Not to be Removed

If the signs are not posted as required, a person authorized by the minister may enter the premises and post the prohibition signs. Signs must not be removed while the prohibition is in effect.

Offences and Penalties

Failure to Comply – Retail Dealer

Should a retail dealer fail to comply with a temporary prohibition, all tobacco products at the retail location may be seized and penalties assessed ranging from $5,000 to $10,000. Additionally, the retail dealer may be charged, and if convicted, be subject to minimum fines ranging from $5,000 to $50,000, depending on the circumstances.

Failure to Comply – Wholesaler

Wholesalers must not deliver, or cause to be delivered, tobacco products to retail locations that are subject to a temporary prohibition.

If a wholesaler delivers tobacco products to a location subject to a temporary prohibition, the minister may suspend the wholesaler's permit and a penalty may be assessed equal to three times the tax that would be payable under the Act on the tobacco that was delivered plus an amount ranging from $1000 to $10,000, depending on the circumstances.

Definitions

Tobacco Product

“tobacco product” means tobacco in any form in which it is used or consumed, and includes snuff.

Additional Information

If this bulletin does not completely address your particular situation, refer to the Act and related regulations, visit our website at ontario.ca/finance or contact:

Ministry of Finance
Investigations & Inspections Branch
33 King Street West, PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Fax: 905 433-5680
  • 1 800 263-7776 for teletypewriter (TTY)

Related topics

Page: 2567  |

Interdiction temporaire de vendre, de mettre en vente et d'entreposer des produits du tabac

  • Cette page s'adresse aux détaillants et aux grossistes de produits de tabac.
  • Cette page donne des précisions sur un programme d'interdiction temporaire de vendre, de mettre en vente et d'entreposer des produits du tabac à un établissement de détail lorsqu'un détaillant a enfreint à plusieurs reprises la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac et/ou la Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée. Ce programme interdit également aux grossistes de livrer, ou de faire livrer, des produits du tabac à des établissements soumis à une interdiction temporaire.
  • Cette page fournit des renseignements généraux. Elle ne s'agit pas d'un document exhaustif et elle ne se destine aucunement à remplacer les dispositions de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac et les règlements pris en application de cette loi.

Généralités

Interdiction au titre de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac

Le Programme d'interdiction temporaire, au titre de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac (la Loi) interdit à toute personne de vendre, de mettre en vente et d'entreposer des produits du tabac à un établissement où elle a commis des infractions répétées à la Loi et/ou certaines infractions en vertu de la Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée. La durée de l'interdiction peut s'étendre jusqu'à 180 jours.

On recommande aux détaillants de consulter la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac et la Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée afin de bien comprendre les infractions spécifiques pouvant entraîner une interdiction.

Infractions à la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac

Toute personne qui enfreint la Loi peut se voir imposer une pénalité. Une infraction peut également entraîner une inculpation qui, sur déclaration de culpabilité, pourrait donner lieu à des amendes et/ou une peine d'emprisonnement. De plus, les produits du tabac en cause dans une infraction peuvent être saisis et confisqués ou tout autre article ou objet utilisé ou acquis durant l’infraction. Voici quelques exemples d'infractions à la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac :

  • vente ou entreposage de cigarettes non marquées (paquets ne comportant pas l’estampille jaune de l'Ontario ou autre identification requise)
  • achat de produits du tabac auprès de grossistes non‑inscrits en vertu de la Loi, ou
  • manquement à fournir la preuve que la taxe ontarienne sur le tabac a effectivement été acquittée.

Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée

La Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée est administrée par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée. Certaines infractions en vertu de cette Loi constituent également des « infractions relatives au tabac » aux fins du programme d'interdiction temporaire. Plus particulièrement :

  • la vente de produits du tabac à une personne de moins de 19 ans
  • la vente de cigarettes dans des paquets ne comportant pas les mises en garde requises relatives à la santé, ou
  • la vente de cigarettes ou cigarillos dans des paquets de moins de 20 ou tout manquement à afficher les mises en garde en matière de santé et de limite d'âge.

Durée d'une interdiction temporaire

Le ministre peut interdire la vente, la mise en vente et l'entreposage de produits du tabac à la suite d'infractions répétées relatives à la Loi. Une telle mesure a pour effet d'interdire la vente, la mise en vente et l'entreposage de produits du tabac à un établissement en particulier pendant une période pouvant atteindre 180 jours.

Des interdictions peuvent aussi être imposées en vertu de la Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée. La durée de ces interdictions peut s'étendre de six à douze mois.

Critères d'interdiction temporaire

Les détaillants de tabac peuvent se voir imposer une interdiction temporaire si, au cours d'une même période de cinq ans :

  • ils ont reçu deux pénalités ou plus au titre de la Loi
  • ils ont été trouvés coupables de deux infractions ou plus relatives au tabac, ou
  • ils ont à la fois reçu une pénalité et été trouvés coupables d'une infraction relative au tabac,

et que les pénalités et inculpations respectives portent sur des activités survenues à l'établissement en particulier, appartenant au détaillant ou occupé par ce dernier, ou en rapport avec cet établissement.

Imposition d'une interdiction

Durée de l'interdiction

La durée de l'interdiction temporaire dépendra du nombre et de la nature des infractions précédentes survenues au cours de la période de cinq ans. Cette durée augmente progressivement, tel qu'illustré dans le tableau suivant :

Détermination de la période d'interdiction

Si une infraction fait présentement l'objet : Et au cours des 5 dernières années, les infractions englobent : Une interdiction temporaire peut être imposée, qui pourra durer :
D'une pénalité Pas plus de 2 pénalités ou    1 infraction ou plus Jusqu'à 15 jours
D'une pénalité 3 pénalités ou plus Jusqu'à 30 jours
D'une inculpation 1 pénalité ou plus Jusqu'à 15 jours
D'une inculpation 1 infraction Jusqu'à 30 jours
D'une inculpation 2 infractions Jusqu'à 60 jours
D'une inculpation 3 infractions ou plus Jusqu'à 180 jours

Publication des établissements de détail faisant l'objet d'une interdiction

Le ministère publiera le nom et l'établissement de chaque détaillant faisant l'objet d'une interdiction temporaire. Cette information pourra également être divulguée aux grossistes de produits de tabac car il leur est également interdit de livrer, ou de faire livrer, des produits de tabac aux établissements assujettis à une interdiction temporaire.

Processus d'interdiction

Avis à un détaillant

Le ministre informera le détaillant concerné de l'intention d'imposer une interdiction temporaire. Un Avis d'intention d'imposer une interdiction temporaire et Demande d'audience sera livré au détaillant, en personne ou par courrier recommandé, avant l'imposition de l'interdiction.

Audience à la suite d'une interdiction proposée

Lorsqu'un détaillant reçoit un Avis d'intention d'imposer une interdiction temporaire et Demande d'audience, ce dernier peut demander une audience. Cette demande, faisant état des motifs soutenant l'opposition, doit être soumise par écrit au ministre dans les cinq jours suivant la réception de l'Avis d'intention d'imposer une interdiction temporaire et Demande d'audience. Une audience aura alors lieu dans les 15 jours suivant la date de l'émission de l'avis. La marche à suivre pour demander une audience est énoncée dans les directives qui accompagnent l'Avis d'intention d'imposer une interdiction temporaire et Demande d'audience.

Conditions et restrictions

Au lieu d'une interdiction temporaire, le ministre peut imposer certaines conditions et restrictions à l'égard des activités du détaillant relatives au tabac; toutefois, si le détaillant omet de se conformer à telles conditions et restrictions, une interdiction immédiate pourrait être imposée sur livraison d'un Avis d'interdiction temporaire immédiate.

Audience à la suite d'une interdiction immédiate

Dans les 10 jours suivant la réception d'un avis d'interdiction immédiate, le détaillant peut demander l'annulation de l'interdiction. Cette demande doit être signifiée par écrit au ministre, en indiquant les motifs justifiant l'opposition. Une audience sera alors prévue dans les 10 jours suivant la date de réception de la demande par le ministre. La marche à suivre pour demander une audience est énoncée dans les directives qui accompagnent l'Avis d'interdiction temporaire immédiate.

Grossistes

Les grossistes ne peuvent livrer ou faire livrer des produits du tabac à un établissement faisant l'objet d'une interdiction temporaire. Pour confirmer si un détaillant fait l'objet d'une interdiction à un établissement en particulier, consultez le site Web du ministère. De plus, des affiches seront apposées à l'établissement faisant l'objet d'une interdiction.

Pose d'affiches dans les établissements soumis à une interdiction

Affiches requises

Lorsqu'un détaillant fait l'objet d'une interdiction, il doit poser des affiches fournies par le ministère à l'établissement concerné afin d'informer le public de l'interdiction imposée.

Interdiction d'enlever

Si les affiches ne sont pas posées tel que requis, un(e) représentant(e) autorisé(e) du ministre pourra pénétrer sur les lieux et poser de telles affiches annonçant l'interdiction. Il est interdit d'enlever ces affiches tant que l'interdiction est en vigueur.

Infractions et pénalités

Manquement à se conformer – Détaillant

Si un détaillant omet de respecter l'interdiction temporaire, tous les produits de tabac qui se trouvent à cet endroit pourront être saisis et des pénalités de 5 000 $ à 10 000 $ pourront être imposées. De plus, sur déclaration de culpabilité, le détaillant pourrait faire face à des amendes minimums de 5 000 $ à 50 000 $, selon les circonstances.

Manquement à se conformer – Grossiste

Les grossistes ne doivent pas livrer, ou faire livrer, des produits de tabac à des établissements de détail faisant l'objet d'une interdiction temporaire. 

Si un grossiste livre des produits du tabac à un établissement faisant l'objet d'une interdiction temporaire, le ministre peut suspendre le permis dudit grossiste et lui imposer une pénalité correspondant à trois fois le montant de la taxe qui aurait été exigible en vertu de la Loi sur les produits du tabac livrés, plus un montant variant de 1 000 $ à 10 000 $, selon les circonstances.

Définition

Produit du tabac

« Produit du tabac » s'entend de tabac, sous quelque forme qu'il soit utilisé ou consommé, y compris le tabac à priser.

Renseignements additionnels

Si ce bulletin ne couvre pas entièrement votre situation particulière, consultez la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac ainsi que les règlements afférents, visitez notre site Web à ontario.ca/finances, ou communiquez avec le :

Ministère des Finances
Direction des enquêtes et des inspections
33, rue King Ouest
CP 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

  • 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
  • Téléc. : 905 433-5680
  • 1 800 263-7776 pour un appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS)

Sujets connexes

Page : 2567  |