: Ontario Dispute Resolution System Review - Request for Submissions

August 27, 2013

In the 2013 Ontario Budget, the government committed to intensifying its existing auto insurance cost and rate reduction strategy by, among other things, transforming the current auto insurance dispute resolution system. The Budget also pledged to appoint an expert to review the system and propose legislative amendments in the fall of 2013.

Ontario Minister of Finance Charles Sousa has appointed the Honourable J. Douglas Cunningham, former Associate Chief Justice of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, to conduct the review of Ontario’s dispute resolution system. 

Mr. Cunningham is anticipated to deliver an interim report to the Minister of Finance in October 2013, and a final report in February 2014.

Mr. Cunningham is seeking stakeholder perspectives on the Ontario auto insurance dispute resolution system. The interim report is expected to include recommendations on questions such as whether mediation should remain mandatory for all Ontario automobile insurance disputes, and what is the best approach to its delivery.

The interim report is also expected to include: an overview of the history and structure of the Ontario automobile insurance dispute resolution system; the structure of automobile insurance dispute resolution systems across Canada and in other jurisdictions; and trends in the current Ontario dispute resolution system, including outcomes of recent court decisions.

Written submissions can be sent to the Ministry of Finance on or before September 20, 2013, either by e-mail to autoinsurance@ontario.ca or by Canada Post to:

Senior Manager
Automobile Insurance Policy Unit
Industrial and Financial Policy Branch
Ministry of Finance
95 Grosvenor Street, 4th Floor
Toronto, Ontario  M7A 1Z1

The Ministry of Finance is subject to the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.  Written submissions received by the Ministry of Finance will be made publicly available and posted on the ministry’s web site.

: Système de règlement des différends en Ontario - Demande de propositions

Le 27 août 2013

Dans son budget 2013, le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’est engagé à intensifier sa stratégie de réduction des coûts et des primes d’assurance-automobile, notamment en transformant le système provincial de règlement des différends dans le domaine de l’assurance-automobile. Le gouvernement avait aussi promis de désigner un expert chargé d’examiner le système et de proposer des modifications législatives pendant l’automne 2013.

Le ministre des Finances de l’Ontario, Charles Sousa, a demandé à l’honorable J. Douglas Cunningham, ancien juge en chef adjoint à la Cour supérieure de justice de l'Ontario, d’examiner le système de règlement des différends dans le domaine de l’assurance-automobile en Ontario.

On s’attend à ce que M. Cunningham remette au ministre des Finances son rapport provisoire en octobre 2013 et son rapport final en février 2014.

M. Cunningham cherche à obtenir le point de vue des parties prenantes au sujet du système ontarien de règlement des différends dans le domaine de l’assurance-automobile. Son rapport provisoire comprendra diverses recommandations, dont une qui portera sur le maintien de la médiation obligatoire pour tous les différends et la meilleure façon d’assurer cette médiation.

Le rapport provisoire devrait aussi décrire l’historique et la structure du système ontarien de règlement des différends dans le domaine de l’assurance-automobile, la structure de divers systèmes de règlement des différends au Canada et dans d’autres pays, ainsi que les tendances dans le système ontarien et les décisions rendues récemment par les tribunaux.

Les soumissions peuvent être envoyées par écrit au ministère des Finances jusqu’au 20 septembre 2013, soit par courriel à autoinsurance@ontario.ca ou par la poste au :

Chef
Unité des politiques de l'assurance-automobile
Direction des politiques pour les industries et les services financiers
Ministère des Finances
95, rue Grosvenor, 4e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M7A 1Z1

Le ministère des Finances est assujetti à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée. Les soumissions qui lui seront envoyées par écrit seront publiées et affichées sur son site Web.