: Request for Submissions on Interim Report


November 8, 2013

In August 2013, Ontario’s Minister of Finance Charles Sousa announced the appointment of the Honourable J. Douglas Cunningham, former Associate Chief Justice of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, to conduct a review of Ontario’s automobile insurance dispute resolution system. 

After receiving stakeholder submissions and consulting with stakeholders in September 2013, Mr. Cunningham delivered an interim report to the Minister of Finance on October 31, 2013, which outlined preliminary recommendations as well as a framework for possible legislation towards a new auto insurance dispute resolution system.

Written submissions regarding the interim report can be sent on or before December 2, 2013, either by e-mail to autoinsurance@ontario.ca or by Canada Post to:

Senior Manager
Insurance Policy Unit
Industrial and Financial Policy Branch
Ministry of Finance
95 Grosvenor Street, 4th Floor
Toronto, Ontario  M7A 1Z1

Stakeholder consultations on the interim report will be held in December 2013 in preparation for the final report, expected to be delivered by February 2014.

The Ministry of Finance is subject to the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.  Written submissions received by the Ministry of Finance will be made publicly available and posted on the Ministry’s web site.

: Demande de propositions sur le rapport intérimaire

 

Le 8 novembre 2013

En août 2013, Charles Sousa, ministre des Finances de l'Ontario, annonçait la nomination de l'honorable J. Douglas Cunningham, qui était auparavant juge en chef adjoint à la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario, pour diriger un examen du système de règlement des différends dans le domaine de l’assurance-automobile en Ontario.

Après avoir reçu les propositions des intervenants et effectué des consultations auprès de ces mêmes intervenants en septembre 2013, M. Cunningham a présenté un rapport intérimaire au ministre des Finances, le 31 octobre 2013, qui décrit les recommandations préliminaires ainsi qu'un cadre de travail en vue d'une loi possible pour l'établissement d'un nouveau système de règlement des différends dans le domaine de l'assurance-automobile.

Les propositions écrites sur le rapport intérimaire peuvent être soumises au plus tard le 2 décembre 2013, par courriel, à l'adresse autoinsurance@ontario.ca, ou par la poste à :

Chef
Unité des politiques d'assurance-automobile
Direction des politiques pour les industries et les services financiers
Ministère des Finances
95, rue Grosvenor, 4e étage
Toronto (Ontario)  M7A 1Z1

Les consultations auprès des intervenants sur le rapport intérimaire auront lieu en décembre 2013, en préparation pour le rapport définitif qui devrait être publié en février 2014.

Le ministère des Finances est assujetti à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée. Les propositions écrites reçues par le ministère des Finances seront rendues publiques et affichées sur le site Web du ministère.