Dear Stakeholder:

I am pleased to provide you with a copy of three draft regulations dealing with disclosure of the cost of borrowing for the purpose of consultation. Draft regulations are being issued for consideration under the Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires Act, 1994, the Insurance Act, and the Mortgage Brokers Act.

The draft regulations propose mandatory disclosure requirements for consumer loans and other disclosure requirements relating to statements and advertisements. The draft regulations also describe how the cost of borrowing under a loan is to be calculated.

These regulations are intended to harmonize Ontario's cost of borrowing disclosure provisions with those of other jurisdictions across Canada. They reflect the federal-provincial-territorial harmonization agreement that was created through a process of public consultation and intergovernmental negotiation. If implemented, businesses will be able to use the same procedures, credit advertisements and disclosure statements in all parts of the country. Compliance costs will be reduced and uniform consumer protection will be provided across Canada.

Ontario is considering how to handle two issues on which the federal government has varied its approach from that of the harmonization agreement. For provincially regulated lenders, often the single most important sector of comparison is the federally regulated banks. Therefore, your input on these issues is specifically sought.

Under the Bank Act's Cost of Borrowing Regulations, the federal government has already adopted the harmonization agreement. However, these regulations deviate from the harmonization agreement on whether open credit, such as a line of credit, should disclose the annual percentage rate (a rate that includes non-interest charges) , and on whether a borrower must receive independent legal advice before being able to waive the two-day cooling-off period for mortgage loans.

To ensure that provincial financial institutions are able to compete on a level playing field with their federally-regulated counterparts, we propose harmonizing Ontario's draft regulations under the Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires Act, 1994, Insurance Act, and Mortgage Brokers Act with the Bank Act approach on these two issues.

Your views are important and will assist in finalizing the regulations in this area. We welcome the input of consumers, the affected financial services sectors and others in this process.

The enclosure contains information on how you can submit comments on these proposed regulations.

Thank you for taking the time to consider these draft regulations. I very much appreciate your input into this important review.

Yours sincerely,

Philip Howell
Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Economist
Ministry of Finance

Consultations: Divulgation Sur Le Coût D'emprunt

À nos partenaires,

C'est avec plaisir que je vous présente, pour consultation, trois projets de règlements qui traitent de la divulgation de renseignements sur le coût d'emprunt. Les règlements proposés seraient pris en application de la Loi de 1994 sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions, de la Loi sur les assurances et de la Loi sur les courtiers en hypothèques.

Les projets de règlements proposent des exigences concernant la divulgation de renseignements touchant les prêts personnels, les déclarations et la publicité. Ils décrivent également comment doit se calculer le coût d'emprunt d'un prêt.

L'Ontario cherche des moyens de réglementer deux aspects à l'égard desquels le gouvernement fédéral a adopté une approche différente de celle prévue dans l'entente d'harmonisation. Dans le cas des prêteurs sous réglementation provinciale, les banques, qui sont sous réglementation fédérale, constituent le secteur de comparaison le plus important. Votre avis sur ces questions est donc particulièrement important.

Aux termes du Règlement sur le coût d'emprunt pris en application de la Loi sur les banques, le gouvernement fédéral a déjà adopté l'entente d'harmonisation. Cependant, ce règlement s'écarte de l'entente d'harmonisation sur deux points : la question de savoir si, dans le cas d'un crédit en blanc, comme une ligne de crédit, le taux annuel sur le capital (taux qui comprend le frais autres que les intérêts) doit être divulgué et la question de savoir si un emprunteur doit recevoir des conseils juridiques indépendants avant de pouvoir renoncer à la période de réflexion de deux jours prévue dans le cas des prêts garantis par une hypothèque.

Pour faire en sorte que les institutions financières provinciales puissent être concurrentielles avec les institutions sous réglementation fédérale, nous proposons d'aligner les projets de règlements pris en application de la Loi de 1994 sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions, de la Loi sur les assurances et de la Loi sur les courtiers en hypothèques sur ces deux approches.

Ces règlements visent à harmoniser les dispositions sur la divulgation de renseignements sur le coût d'emprunt en vigueur en Ontario avec celles qui existent ailleurs au Canada. Ils reflètent l'entente d'harmonisation fédérale-provinciale-territoriale qui a été conclue à la suite de consultations publiques et de négociations intergouvernementales Si les règlements sont mis en ouvre, les entreprises pourront utiliser les mêmes procédures, publicités sur le crédit et déclarations partout au Canada. Les coûts d'observation seront réduits et les consommateurs bénéficieront de la même protection partout au Canada.

Votre point de vue est important et aidera à finaliser la réglementation dans ce domaine. Nous attendons avec plaisir les observations des consommateurs, des secteurs des services financiers concernés et d'autres personnes et groupes.

Le document ci-joint contient des renseignements sur la façon de présenter vos observations sur les règlements proposés.

Je vous remercie de vous donner la peine de lire le présent document de consultation. J'apprécie beaucoup votre collaboration.

Cordialement,
Philip Howell
Sous-ministre adjoint et économiste en chef
Ministère des Finances