Modernizing the Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires Act

Consultation Draft

Guideline

Subject:          Capital Adequacy Guideline for Ontario’s Credit Unions and Caisses                                       Populaires

Date:               TBA

The Credit Union and Caisses Populaires Act, 1994 and Ontario Regulation _/09 incorporates by reference this Capital Adequacy Guideline for Ontario’s Credit Unions and Caisses Populaires.  Compliance to this Guideline is therefore required in the same manner as compliance to the incorporating Act and regulation.

CONTENTS
                                                                                                                      
1. Total Assets – other amounts to be deducted
2. Total Assets – Equity Method of Accounting
3. Tier 2 Capital
4. Value attributed to off balance sheet exposures
5. Credit ratings for commercial loans and securities
6. Privately insured residential mortgages
7.  Liquidity
Appendix 1: Further clarification on commitments etc.

1. Total Assets – other amounts to be deducted [s. 15(1) “B” vi]
Under the regulation, the total assets of a credit union  is calculated by adding all of the credit union’s assets and then subtracting the  amounts listed in the regulation including the amounts set out in  this Guideline. At this time no additional amount is set out in this Guideline.
2.  Total Assets - Equity Method of Accounting [s.15 (2) 3]
Under the regulation, a credit union must calculate an investment in the shares of a subsidiary using the equity method of accounting described in this Guideline.
Under the equity method of accounting, the credit union initially records its investment in the subsidiary at the original cost of the investment. The recorded value of the investment is then adjusted to include the credit union’s pro-rata share of the net income earned (or loss incurred) by the subsidiary since the date of the acquisition, less the amortization of goodwill and dividends received from the subsidiary.
Credit unions with investments in subsidiaries are required to ensure that all asset and liability values of subsidiaries are determined in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles for each reporting period and that any impairment in values is properly reflected in investment carrying values.

ACQUISITION COST $XXX
PLUS: Post acquisition pro-rata share of net income (loss) including  
other impairment losses of the subsidiary at the reporting date    XXX      
LESS: Amortization of goodwill (XXX)
Dividends Received from Subsidiary    (XXX)
VALUE OF INVESTMENT IN SUBSIDIARY $XXX

3. Tier 2 Capital [s. 16(3) 6]
The regulation provides that the calculation of Tier 2 capital is to include any other amounts set out in  this Guideline. At this time, no additional amount is set out.

4.  Value attributed to off balance sheet exposures [17(3), 17(4), 17(5), and 17(6)]
In order to determine the value attributed to any off balance sheet exposure relating to assets listed in each of the risk weight categories in subsections 17(3 ) to 17(6), the face amount (notional principal amount) of the exposure must be first multiplied by an appropriate credit conversion factor.  The credit conversion factors are listed below.

100% Conversion factor

  • Direct credit substitutes, as described in Appendix 1 to  this Guideline
  • Acquisitions of risk participation in bankers' acceptances and participation in direct credit substitutes (for example, standby letters of credit),
  • Sale and repurchase agreements,
  •  Forward asset purchases, as described in Appendix 1 to this Guideline

50% Conversion factor

  • Transaction-related contingencies  as described in Appendix 1 to  this Guideline
  • Commitments, as described in Appendix 1 to  this Guideline, with an original maturity exceeding one year, including underwriting commitments and commercial credit lines
  • Open-ended commitments that are cancellable by the credit union at any time subject to a notice period 

20% Conversion factor

  • Trade-related contingencies, as described in Appendix 1 to  this Guideline
  • Commitments, as described in Appendix 1 to  this Guideline, with an original maturity of one year or less

0% Conversion factor

  • Commitments, as described in Appendix 1 to this Guideline, that are unconditionally cancellable at any time by the credit union without prior notice or that effectively provide for automatic cancellation due to deterioration in the borrower’s creditworthiness. This includes undated or open-ended commitments, such as unused credit card lines, personal lines of credit, and overdraft protection for personal chequing accounts that are unconditionally cancellable at any time.

Example:

A credit union has an off-balance sheet exposure consisting of a commitment expiring in less than one year of a $500,000 agricultural loan.

Since a 20% conversion factor applies to commitments with an original maturity of one year or less, the value of this off-balance sheet exposure is determined by multiplying the face value of the commitment by a 20% conversion factor.

Example: Off-Balance Sheet Exposure


Face amount/Notional principal amount

$500,000

Conversion Factor

20%

Value of the off balance sheet exposure

$100,000

This value is then assigned a risk weight in the manner required by the regulation as illustrated below:

Example: Off-Balance Sheet Exposure


Value of the off balance sheet exposure

$100,000

Risk Weight for Agricultural Loan as per  17(5) 5 of regulation

75%

Risk weighted amount

$75,000



5. Credit ratings for commercial loans and securities [17(7)]
The Regulation provides that commercial loans are risk-weighted at 100 per cent or must be risk weighted in accordance with this Guideline if the person to whom the commercial loan is made has a credit rating described in this Guideline.

The following table sets out the risk weighting for a commercial loan made to a person who has received the indicated credit rating by an external credit rating agency. Credit unions should use the same rating agency for both risk weighting and risk management purposes.  If a credit union chooses two ratings agencies whose rating corresponds to different risk weights, the higher risk weight should be applied.
 


Risk Weight

External Credit Rating Institution

DBRS

S&P/FITCH

Moody’s

20%

AAA to AA (low)

AAA to AA -

Aaa to Aa3

50%

A(high) to A (low)

A+ to A-

A1 to A3

100%

BBB (high) to B (low)

BBB+ to B-

Ba1 to B3

150%

CCC

Below B-

Below B3

6. Privately insured residential mortgages [17(8)]

The table in paragraph 5 is to be used to determine the risk-weighting of the portion of the residential mortgage loan described in subsection 17(8) of the regulation.

7. Liquidity [19(4)4.ii]

The table in paragraph 5 also sets out equivalent ratings to the Dominion Bond Rating Service (DBRS) for the purposes of paragraph 4.ii of subsection 19(4) of the regulation.

Appendix 1
Further clarification on commitments etc.

1. Direct credit substitutes

Direct credit substitutes include guarantees or equivalent instruments backing financial claims. With a direct credit substitute, the risk of loss to the credit union is directly dependent on the creditworthiness of the counterparty.

Direct credit substitutes include guarantees or obligations of the member and include:

  • Guarantees given by the credit union on behalf of members to satisfy a member’s financial obligations should the member fail to do so, such as; 
    • payment for existing indebtedness for services
    • payment with respect to a purchase agreement
    • lease, loan or mortgage payments
    • payment of uncertified cheques
    • remittance of (sales) tax to the government
    • payment of existing indebtedness for merchandise purchased
    • payment of an unfunded pension liability
    • reinsurance of financial obligations,
  • Standby letters of credit or other equivalent irrevocable obligations, serving as financial guarantees for, or supporting, loans and securities
  • Risk participation in bankers’ acceptances and risk participation in financial letters of credit. Risk participation constitutes guarantees by the participating institutions such that, if there is a default by the underlying obligor, they will indemnify the selling institution for the full principal and interest attributable to them

2. Forward Asset Purchases

A forward asset purchase is a commitment to purchase a loan, security, or other asset at a specified future date, usually on prearranged terms, and includes financing facilities with certain draw-down.

 3. Transaction-related contingencies

Transaction-related contingencies (for example, bid bonds, performance bonds, warranties, and standby letters of credit related to a particular transaction) relate to the ongoing business activities of a counterparty, where the risk of loss to the reporting institution depends on the likelihood of a future event that is independent of the creditworthiness of the counterparty. Essentially, transaction-related contingencies are guarantees that support particular performance of non-financial or commercial contracts or undertakings, rather than supporting customers’ general financial obligations. Performance-related guarantees specifically exclude items relating to non-performance of financial obligations.

 4.  Commitments
 
A commitment involves an obligation (with or without a material adverse change or similar clause) of a credit union to fund its member in the normal course of business should the member seek to draw down the commitment. Normally, commitments involve a written contract or agreement and a commitment fee or some other form of consideration.

When determining the maturity of the commitment, the term should be measured from the date when the commitment was accepted by the customer until the earliest date on which the commitment is scheduled to expire or the credit union can at its option, unconditionally cancel the commitment. 

5. Trade-related contingencies

These include short-term, self-liquidating trade-related items such as commercial and documentary letters of credit issued by the credit union that are, or are to be, collateralized by the underlying shipment. Letters of credit issued on behalf of counterparty with letters of credit of which the counterparty is a beneficiary ("back-to-back" letters) should be reported as documentary letters of credit. Letters of credit advised by the credit union for which the credit union is acting as reimbursement agent should not be considered as a risk asset.

Goto the top of this page.

Modernisation de la Loi sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions

Version provisoire aux fins de consultation

Ligne directrice

Objet :            Ligne directrice sur la suffisance du capital à l’intention des caisses populaires et credit unions de l’Ontario

Date :             AC

La Loi de 1994 sur les caisses populaires et les credit unions et le Règlement de l’Ontario _/09 incorporent par renvoi la présente Ligne directrice sur la suffisance du capital à l’intention des caisses populaires et des credit unions de l’Ontario. La présente ligne directrice est donc exécutoire au même titre que la loi et le règlement qui l’incorporent.

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

1. Actif total – Autres montants à déduire
2. Actif total – Méthode de comptabilisation à la valeur de consolidation
3. Capital de catégorie 2
4. Valeur attribuée aux expositions hors bilan
5. Notations de crédit des prêts commerciaux et des titres
6. Hypothèques résidentielles assurées au privé
7. Liquidités
Annexe 1 : Renseignements supplémentaires sur les engagements et autres 

Veuillez remarquer que : Dans un souci de brièveté, on parlera de « caisses populaires » en francais et de « credit unions » en anglais.

1. Actif total – Autres montants à déduire [art. 15(1) «B» vi]

En vertu de la réglementation, l’actif total d’un établissement correspond à la somme de tous ses éléments d’actif, de laquelle on soustrait les montants précisés dans la réglementation, y compris ceux qui sont énoncés dans la présente ligne directrice. Pour le moment, aucun montant additionnel ne figure dans la ligne directrice.

2. Actif total – Méthode de comptabilisation à la valeur de consolidation [art.15 (2) 3]

En vertu de la réglementation, l’établissement doit calculer son investissement dans les actions d’une filiale selon la méthode de comptabilisation à la valeur de consolidation décrite dans la présente ligne directrice.

Selon cette méthode, l’établissement comptabilise initialement le coût original de son investissement dans la filiale. La valeur de l’investissement comptabilisée est ensuite redressée pour tenir compte de la part de l’établissement au prorata du revenu net gagné (ou de la perte encourue) par la filiale depuis l’acquisition, moins l’amortissement de l’achalandage et les dividendes reçus de la filiale.

Les caisses populaires détenant des investissements dans des filiales sont tenues de s’assurer que toutes les valeurs de l’actif et du passif de ces filiales sont déterminées conformément aux principes comptables généralement reconnus pour chaque période de déclaration, et que toute dégradation de ces valeurs est correctement prise en compte pour l’établissement de la valeur comptable des investissements.

COÛT D’ACQUISITION  XXX $
PLUS : Part calculée au prorata du revenu net (ou de la perte nette) depuis l’acquisition, y compris les autres dégradations de la valeur comptabilisées par la filiale à la date de déclaration XXX $
MOINS : Amortissement de l’achalandage (XXX)
  Dividendes reçus de la filiale  (XXX)
VALEUR DE L’INVESTISSEMENT DANS LA FILIALE XXX $
3. Capital de catégorie 2 [art. 16(3) 6]

En vertu de la réglementation, le calcul du capital de catégorie 2 doit comprendre tous les autres montants énoncés dans la présente ligne directrice. Pour le moment, aucun montant additionnel n’a été établi.

4. Valeur attribuée aux expositions hors bilan [art. 17(3), 17(4), 17(5) et 17(6)]

Pour déterminer la valeur attribuée à n’importe quelle exposition hors bilan liée aux éléments d’actif énumérés dans chacune des catégories de coefficients de pondération des risques énoncées aux paragraphes 17(3 ) à 17(6), la valeur nominale (montant du principal notionnel) de l’exposition doit d’abord être multipliée par un facteur de conversion en équivalent‑crédit approprié. Les facteurs de conversion en équivalent‑crédit sont les suivants :

Facteur de conversion de 100 p. 100

  • Substituts directs de crédit, tels qu’ils sont décrits à l’annexe 1 de la présente ligne directrice;
  • Acquisitions de participations à risque dans des acceptations et de participations bancaires dans des substituts directs de crédit (par exemple, les garanties bancaires à première demande);
  • Engagements de cession et de prise en pension;
  • Achats à terme d’actifs, tels qu’ils sont décrits à l’annexe 1 de la présente ligne directrice.

Facteur de conversion de 50 p. 100

  • Provisions pour imprévus liés à la transaction, telles qu’elles sont décrites à l’annexe 1 de la présente ligne directrice;
  • Engagements, tels qu’ils sont décrits à l’annexe 1 de la présente ligne directrice, dont l’échéance initiale est supérieure à un an, y compris les engagements de souscription et les marges de crédit commerciales;
  • Engagements variables annulables sans condition par l’établissement à tout moment sous réserve d’un préavis.

Facteur de conversion de 20 p. 100

  • Provisions pour imprévus liés au commerce, telles qu’elles sont décrites à l’annexe 1 de la présente ligne directrice;
  • Engagements, tels qu’ils sont décrits à l’annexe 1 de la présente ligne directrice, dont l’échéance initiale est d’un an ou moins.

Facteur de conversion de 0 p. 100

  • Engagements, tels qu’ils sont décrits à l’annexe 1 de la présente ligne directrice, révocables sans condition par l’établissement à tout moment et sans préavis, ou devenant automatiquement caducs en cas de dégradation de la solvabilité de l’emprunteur. Cela comprend les engagements sans échéance ou variables comme les marges de cartes de crédit, les marges personnelles de crédit et les autorisations de découvert de comptes chèques personnels qui ne sont pas utilisées et qui sont annulables sans condition à tout moment.

Exemple :

Une caisse populaire  a une exposition hors bilan sous forme d’un engagement arrivant à échéance dans moins d’un an, soit un prêt agricole de 500 000 $.

Comme un facteur de conversion de 20 p. 100 s’applique aux engagements dont l’échéance initiale est d’un an ou moins, on détermine la valeur de cette exposition hors bilan en multipliant la valeur nominale de l’engagement par un facteur de conversion de 20 p. 100.

Exemple : Exposition hors bilan
Valeur nominale (montant du principal notionnel) 500 000 $
Facteur de conversion 20 %
Valeur de l’exposition hors bilan 100 000 $

On applique ensuite à cette valeur une pondération du risque en fonction des exigences de la réglementation, comme suit :

Exemple : Exposition hors bilan
Valeur de l’exposition hors bilan 100 000 $
Coefficient de pondération pour un prêt agricole en fonction de l’art. 17(5) 5 du Règlement 75 %
Pondération du risque 75 000 $
 5. Notations de crédit des prêts commerciaux et des titres [17(7)]

En vertu du Règlement, le risque lié aux prêts commerciaux est pondéré selon un facteur de 100 p. 100, ou conformément à la présente ligne directrice si une notation respectant les normes établies a été attribuée à la personne à qui le prêt commercial est consenti.

Le tableau ci‑dessous énonce la pondération du risque liée à un prêt commercial consenti à une personne ayant reçu la notation indiquée par une agence externe de notation du crédit. Les établissements devraient utiliser les données de la même agence de notation aussi bien pour la pondération que pour la gestion du risque. Si un établissement choisit des notations attribuées par deux agences différentes et appelant une pondération du risque différente, la pondération la plus élevée doit être appliquée.

 Coefficient de pondération Établissement de notation externe
DBRS S&P/FITCH Moody’s
20 % AAA à AA (faible) AAA à AA ‑ Aaa à Aa3
50 % A(élevé) à A (faible) A+ à A‑ A1 à A3
100 % BBB (élevé) à B (faible) BBB+ à B‑ Ba1 à B3
150 % CCC Inférieure à B‑ Inférieure à B3
6. Hypothèques résidentielles assurées au privé [17(8)]

Le tableau de la section 5 doit servir à déterminer la pondération de la portion du prêt hypothécaire résidentiel dont il est question au paragraphe 17(8) du Règlement.

7. Liquidités [19(4)4.ii]

Le tableau de la section 5 énonce aussi les notations équivalentes à celles du Dominion Bond Rating Service (DBRS) aux fins de l’alinéa 4.ii du paragraphe 19(4) du Règlement.

Annexe 1

Renseignements supplémentaires
sur les engagements et autres

 

1. Substituts directs de crédit

Les substituts directs de crédit comprennent les garanties ou les instruments équivalents qui garantissent des créances. Avec un substitut direct de crédit, le risque de perte pour l’établissement dépend directement de la solvabilité de la contrepartie.

Les substituts directs de crédit comprennent les garanties ou les obligations d’un sociétaire ainsi que :

  • les garanties accordées, au nom des sociétaires, par l’établissement qui s’engage à satisfaire aux obligations financières de ces derniers au cas où ceux‑ci ne le feraient pas, comme dans les cas suivants :
    • acquittement de créances existantes pour des services rendus
    • paiement du montant exigé par un contrat d’achat
    • versements pour un contrat de location, un prêt ou une hypothèque
    • paiement de chèques non certifiés
    • versement de taxes (de vente) au gouvernement
    • acquittement de créances existantes pour des achats de marchandises
    • acquittement du passif non capitalisé découlant du régime de retraite
    • réassurance d’obligations financières;
  • les garanties bancaires à première demande ou autres obligations irrévocables et équivalentes servant de garanties financières à l’appui de prêts et de titres;
  • les participations à risque dans des acceptations bancaires et des lettres de crédit financières. Les participations à risque constituent des garanties de la part des institutions participantes en vertu desquelles, si le client concerné ne respecte pas ses obligations, elles indemniseront l’institution émettrice du montant total d’intérêt et de principal qui leur est attribuable. 

2. Achats à terme d’actifs

Un achat à terme d’actifs s’entend de l’engagement à acheter un prêt, un titre ou un autre élément d’actif à une date future déterminée, habituellement selon des modalités prédéterminées. Cela comprend les facilités de financement avec certitude d’appel de fonds.

3. Provisions pour imprévus liés à la transaction

Les provisions pour imprévus liés à des transactions (par exemple, les cautionnements de soumission, les garanties de bonne fin, les contre‑garanties et les garanties à demande liées à des opérations particulières) concernent les activités commerciales courantes d’une contrepartie, lorsque le risque de perte pour l’institution déclarante dépend de la vraisemblance d’un événement futur indépendant de la solvabilité de la contrepartie. Essentiellement, les provisions pour imprévus liés à des transactions sont des garanties qui soutiennent des contrats ou engagements non financiers ou commerciaux d’exécution particulière plutôt que des obligations financières générales de clients. Les garanties liées à l’exécution excluent explicitement les éléments liés à l’inexécution d’obligations financières.

4. Engagements
 
Un engagement implique l’obligation (avec ou sans clause de détérioration ou clause semblable) de la part d’une caisse populaire de financer son sociétaire dans le cours normal de ses activités au cas où ce sociétaire chercherait à utiliser cet engagement. Normalement, les engagements comportent un contrat ou une entente dûment couchés par écrit ainsi que des frais ou une autre forme de rémunération.

Pour déterminer l’échéance d’un engagement, la durée doit être mesurée à partir de la date où l’engagement a été accepté par le client, jusqu’au premier en date du jour où l’engagement arrive à échéance ou du jour où l’établissement peut à sa discrétion annuler l’engagement sans condition.

5. Provisions pour imprévus liés au commerce

Ces provisions comprennent des éléments liés au commerce, à court terme et auto‑amortissables, telles des lettres de crédit commerciales et documentaires émises par la caisse populaire et qui sont garanties par la marchandise sous‑jacente ou vont l’être. Les lettres de crédit émises au nom d’une contrepartie avec des lettres de crédit dont celle‑ci est bénéficiaire (lettres adossées) doivent être déclarées comme des lettres de crédit documentaires. Les lettres de crédit émises par une caisse populaire qui agit comme agence de couverture ne doivent pas être considérées comme un élément d’actif à risque.