Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006: A Consultation Draft of Regulations Proposed under Bill 65 - Explanatory notes

Mortgage Brokerages,
Lenders and
Administrators Act,
2006

A Consultation Draft of
Regulations Proposed under Bill 65

Proposed by the
Ministry of Finance

This Consultation Draft is intended to
facilitate constructive dialogue concerning its contents.

Note that the regulations will only become law if the Legislative Assembly passes the associated legislation and if the Lieutenant Governor in Council promulgates the regulations.

NOVEMBER, 2006

Dear Stakeholder:

I am pleased to enclose for your review and comment a copy of A Consultation Draft of Regulations Proposed under Bill 65, the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006 which proposes new regulations regarding regulated activities, exemptions, licensing, the powers and duties of principal brokers and the standards of practice for brokerages.

This draft is the result of on-going public consultations and comments that have been received on ways to improve consumer protection and streamline regulatory approaches. This draft follows previous consultation on licensing regulations released in March 2005.  Additional regulations not included in this consultation document are being developed concerning topics such as standards of practice for brokers, agents, and mortgage administrators.
 
Your views are important and will assist the government in finalizing the regulatory proposals in this area. The ministry welcomes suggestions from consumers, businesses, and professionals to help us meet the objective of providing better consumer protection in a way that is fair and practical for individuals and businesses.

The enclosure contains information on how you can comment on these proposals.

Thank you for taking the time to read this consultation draft. Your input is appreciated and will be taken into consideration.

 

Sincerely,

 

Wayne Arthurs
Parliamentary Assistant to the
Minister of Finance

Go to the top of this page.

Table of Contents

I. Invitation for Comments
II. Summary of Proposals
1. General
2. Additional Regulated Activities
3. Exemptions from the Requirements to be Licensed
4. Mortgage Brokerages - Licensing
5. Mortgage Brokers and Agents - Licensing
6. Mortgage Administrators - Licensing
7. Principal Brokers
8. Standards of Practice - Mortgage Brokerages
III. Consultation Draft of Regulations
Additional Regulated Activities
Exemptions from the Requirements to be Licensed
Mortgage Brokerages - Licensing
Mortgage Brokers and Agents - Licensing
Mortgage Administrators - Licensing
Principal Brokers
Standards of Practice - Mortgage Brokerages
IV.  Investor  / Lender Disclosure Forms

I. Invitation for Comments

The Ministry of Finance is seeking your views on A Consultation Draft of Regulations Proposed under Bill 65, the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006.

The accompanying consultation draft contains detailed wording of the proposed regulations regarding regulated activities, exemptions, licensing, powers and duties of principal brokers and the standards of practice for brokerages. These proposals are intended solely for discussion purposes and would only become law if Bill 65 is passed by the Legislature and if the regulations are promulgated by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.
Your views are important and will assist the ministry in finalizing these regulatory proposals. The Ministry of Finance invites your comments on the issues outlined in this consultation draft. Interested parties are invited to make written submissions by January 19th, 2007.
You may send comments by mail, fax or e-mail to:

Draft regulations proposed under Bill 65

Luba Mycak
Senior Manager
Industrial & Financial Policy Branch
Ministry of Finance
777 Bay Street, 10th Floor
Toronto, ON M5G 2C8

Tel: (416) 326-9227
Fax: (416) 327-0941

E-Mail: mbconsultations@ontario.ca

This consultation paper can be reviewed online at http://www.fin.gov.on.ca

A copy of Bill 65, the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006 can be obtained online at http://www.ontla.on.ca/
Please note that this is a public consultation. All comments received will be considered public and may be used by the ministry to help evaluate and revise the proposed draft regulations. This may involve disclosing some or all comments or materials, or summaries of them, to other interested parties during and after the consultation.

Any personal information in submissions, such as names and contact details (i.e. home addresses and phone numbers, personal email addresses, etc.) – in addition to any other information that could be used to identify an individual – will not be disclosed without prior consent. However, records created by individuals acting in a professional capacity (i.e. on behalf of a group, association, business, commercial enterprise, etc.) may be disclosed, unless your covering letter states that such disclosure would be harmful and/or prejudicial.

If for any reason you feel your comments should not be shared with other parties, please indicate this in your covering letter.
If you have any questions about this consultation or how any element of your submission may be used or disclosed, please contact:

Luba Mycak
Senior Manager
Industrial & Financial Policy Branch
Ministry of Finance
777 Bay Street, 10th Floor
Toronto, ON M5G 2C8

Tel: (416) 326-9227
Fax: (416) 327-0941

Go to the top of this page.

II. Summary of Proposals

1. General

The Ministry of Finance is conducting consultations with stakeholders and inviting input from the public on draft regulations under Bill 65, the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006.  While the proposed act sets out a new framework for regulating the mortgage brokerage industry, many of the detailed and specific rules are to be developed and set out in regulations.

As a result, the Ministry is releasing the following draft regulations for consultation:

  • Additional Regulated Activities
  • Exemptions from the Requirements to be Licensed
  • Mortgage Brokerages – Licensing
  • Mortgage Brokers and Agents – Licensing
  • Mortgage Administrators – Licensing
  • Principal Brokers
  • Standards of Practice – Mortgage Brokerages

In March 2005, the Ministry released and consulted on three regulations concerning the licensing requirements for mortgage brokerages, mortgage administrators, and mortgage brokers and agents. These regulations are being re-released for further consultation as they have taken into account the feedback that was received in the earlier consultation and now contain new proposals as well.

In July 2005, the Ministry consulted on a draft regulation dealing with the disclosure of the cost of borrowing under the existing Mortgage Brokers Act. That draft regulation proposed mandatory disclosure requirements for consumer loans and other disclosure requirements relating to statements and advertisements. It also described how the cost of borrowing under a loan is to be calculated.   It is proposed that the cost of borrowing disclosure regulation under Bill 65 adopt the requirements set out in the earlier consultation with necessary modifications. That regulation is not included in this consultation document.

Additional regulations not included in this document are also being developed. The topics that will be addressed include: standards of practice for brokers and agents, standards of practice for mortgage administrators, and details regarding administrative penalties.

The content, structure and form of the draft regulations are subject to change as a result of the consultation process and as a result of review by the government.  These proposals would only come into effect if Bill 65 is passed by the Legislative Assembly and the regulations are promulgated by the Lieutenant Governor.

The following gives readers a brief summary of the regulations in this consultation package.  Readers are encouraged to focus their attention on the actual wording of the consultation draft of the regulations and not rely only on this guide.

2. Additional Regulated Activities

This regulation prescribes an additional activity which constitutes administering mortgages.

3. Exemptions from the Requirements to be Licensed

Simple Referrals: Persons who refer borrowers to lenders, or lenders to borrowers would be exempt from the requirement to have a licence if written notice is provided in advance about fees and relationships with the lender, and only if limited information about the borrower such as name and address is exchanged.

Lawyers: Lawyers would be exempt from licensing requirements if they are acting in their professional capacity as a lawyer on behalf of a client. Lawyers would not be exempt if they hold themselves out as engaging in activities which require a brokerage, broker or agent licence.

Other Exemptions: Certain crown corporations, trustees in bankruptcy, administrators of mortgage-backed securities and others would be exempt from the requirement to be licensed under Bill 65. 

4. Mortgage Brokerages - Licensing

This draft regulation is based on the March 2005 consultation draft with the following modification:

  • A mortgage brokerage may be licensed in its legal name or trade name.  The Superintendent could refuse to issue a licence in a name that is misleading or confusing.

5. Mortgage Brokers and Agents - Licensing

This draft regulation is based on the March 2005 consultation draft.  Some of the modifications include the following:

  • Education and experience exemptions would be clearly set out for registrants and listed agents under the Mortgage Brokers Act, real estate brokers, and those whose education is in progress at the effective date of the proposed regulation.
  • The Superintendent would approve the required programs of education.
  • A simplified definition of finance company is proposed.

6. Mortgage Administrators - Licensing

This draft regulation is based on the March 2005 consultation draft with the following modification:

  • A mortgage administrator may be licensed in its legal name or trade name.  The Superintendent could refuse to issue a licence in a name that is misleading or confusing.

7. Principal Brokers

It is proposed that a principal broker have a duty to ensure that the brokerage and each broker and agent comply with every requirement under the Act and that brokerages take reasonable steps to deal with any contraventions of the Act.  A principal broker would also be required to review the compliance policies and procedures of the brokerage.  A brokerage's trust account reconciliation statements would need to be reviewed and certified by the principal broker.

8. Standards of Practice - Mortgage Brokerages

This proposed regulation sets out rules and requirements that must be complied with by all mortgage brokerages.  The objectives for these regulations are based on the following principles:

  • Borrowers, lenders and investors need to be assured that they are treated fairly by brokerages and that they have all necessary information to enable them to make an informed decision
  • Brokerages need to demonstrate accountability for their representations to the public, sound internal governance, and financial accountability.

Non-compliance with the standards of practice may give rise to various regulatory remedies and would constitute an offence under Bill 65.

Go to the top of this page.

Representations to the Public

A brokerage would not be able to carry on business in a name other than a name in which it is licensed. Advertisements and similar materials would need to clearly disclose the name and licence number of the brokerage and if a broker or agent is identified, then the broker or agent's name and licence number.  In all cases appropriate titles such as “brokerage”, “broker”, or “agent” would be required to be used.

False, misleading or deceptive representations would be prohibited. No representation could be made to indicate that fees are set or approved by the government.

A brokerage would be required to maintain errors and omissions insurance with extended coverage for fraud sufficient to pay a minimum of $500,000 in respect of any occurrence or $1,000,000 in respect of all occurrences in a year.

Internal Governance

In order to qualify as a principal broker of a brokerage, an individual would be required to be a licensed mortgage broker and either an officer, director, partner or sole proprietor of the brokerage.  A brokerage could only have one principal broker at any time.

Brokerages would be required to designate an employee as a complaints officer.  A record of all complaints received by the brokerage would be required to be maintained. The brokerage would be required to provide written responses to all written complaints received. Complainants would be informed that they can contact the Superintendent if they are not satisfied by the brokerage's proposed resolution of a complaint.

General Standards of Practice

Brokerages would be prohibited from acting for a borrower, lender or investor if there were reasonable grounds to believe the mortgage or investment was unlawful.

Brokerages could only receive money from a lender or investor if there is a specific mortgage or property to be mortgaged.

Brokerages would be required to take reasonable steps to ensure the suitability of a mortgage for a borrower, lender, or investor as the case may be.

Guarantees by a brokerage in respect of a mortgage or an investment in a mortgage would be prohibited.

No advance payments by a borrower to a brokerage would be permitted on mortgages less than $300,000.

A brokerage would be prohibited from paying fees or remuneration in respect of dealing or trading in mortgages to an unlicensed person unless the person was exempt from the requirement to be licensed and would be prohibited from paying brokers and agents working for another brokerage.

Coercive tied selling would be prohibited.

The brokerage would be required to return documents to the owner of the documents upon request.

The brokerage would be responsible for ensuring the brokerage and its brokers and agents use approved forms.

Obtaining and Disclosing Information

Brokerages would be required to verify the identity of borrowers, lenders and investors in the circumstances indicated and disclose doubts, if any, about the accuracy of information in a mortgage application or a borrower's legal authority to mortgage a property.

Before arranging or entering into a reverse mortgage with a borrower, the brokerage would be required to receive confirmation that the borrower had obtained independent legal advice.

Brokerages would also be required to disclose to borrowers, lenders and investors information regarding fees, risks and benefits of proposed mortgages and conflicts of interest within specified time periods.

The documents and information which would be required to be provided by the brokerage to a lender or investor, or to a lender upon the renewal of a mortgage, are listed in the proposed regulation.

  • A disclosure form, in a form approved by the Superintendent, signed by the broker, is among the listed documents.  A draft copy of the form, as well as a draft copy of the disclosure form for renewal of a mortgage, is included in Section IV for consultation purposes.

A specified person or entity, as defined in the regulation to include high income or net worth persons and financial institutions, would be exempt from receiving these documents or information.
 
Brokerages would be prohibited from selling or attempting to sell a mortgage that has been in default in the previous 12 months unless written disclosure is provided to the investor about the amount and length of default.

Trust Funds

Brokerages would be required to maintain a trust account, keep records of trust money transactions and prepare monthly trust reconciliation statements.  Shortfalls in the trust account would be required to be reported to the Superintendent.

Reports and Recordkeeping

Brokerages would be required to maintain an address for service in Ontario and an e-mail address. Certain changes would be required to be reported to the Superintendent including changes in places of business, changes in the brokerage's officers, directors or partners, and changes in significant ownership interest.

Each brokerage would be required to submit an annual information return by March 31 of each year in a form approved by the Superintendent.

Audited annual financial statements, prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles would need to be filed with the Superintendent unless the brokerage did not hold any money in trust during the fiscal year. 

Recordkeeping requirements are also proposed.

Go to the top of this page.

III. Consultation Draft of Regulations

Additional Regulated Activities

Exemptions from the Requirements to be Licensed

Mortgage Brokerages - Licensing

Mortgage Brokers and Agents - Licensing

Mortgage Administrators - Licensing

Principal Brokers

Standards of Practice - Mortgage Brokerages

IV.  Investor  / Lender Disclosure Forms

(PDF Version)

Investor/Lender Disclosure Form page 1 - Link to PDF version
Investor/Lender Disclosure Form page 2 - Link to PDF version
Investor/Lender Disclosure Form page 3 - Link to PDF version
Investor/Lender Disclosure Form page 4 - Link to PDF version
Investor/Lender Disclosure Form page 5 - Link to PDF version
Investor/Lender Disclosure Form page 6 - Link to PDF version
Lender Renewal Disclosure Form page 1 - Link to PDF version
Lender Renewal Disclosure Form page 2 - Link to PDF version
Lender Renewal Disclosure Form page 3 - Link to PDF version
Lender Renewal Disclosure Form page 4 - Link to PDF version
Lender Renewal Disclosure Form page 5 - Link to PDF version
Lender Renewal Disclosure Form page 6 - Link to PDF version

Note that these regulations will only become law if the
Legislative Assembly passes the associated legislation and
if the Lieutenant Governor in Council promulgates the
regulations.

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2006
ISBN 1-4249-2753-6 (print)
ISBN 1-4249-2754-4 (HTML)
ISBN 1-4249-2755-2 (PDF)

Page: 2135  |

Loi sur les maisons de courtage d'hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d'hypothèques Document de consultation avant-projet de loi

Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d'hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d'hypothèques

Document de consultation sur les règlements proposés en vertu du projet de loi 65

Proposé par le
ministère des Finances

Le présent document de consultation vise à favoriser un dialogue constructif concernant son contenu.

Les règlements n'auront force de loi que si l'Assemblée législative adopte la loi connexe et si le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil promulgue les règlements.

Novembre 2006

À nos partenaires,

Veuillez trouver ci-joint, pour examen et observations, un exemplaire du Document de consultation sur les règlements proposés en vertu du projet de loi 65la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d'hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d'hypothèquesqui propose de nouveaux règlements relatifs aux activités réglementées, aux dispenses, à l'octroi de permis, aux pouvoirs et aux responsabilités des courtiers principaux et aux normes d'exercice des maisons de courtage.

Ce document est le résultat de consultation publiques continues et des commentaires reçus dans le but d'améliorer la protection du consommateur et de rationaliser les approches réglementaires. Ce document fait suite à une consultation sur les règlements sur l'octroi des permis, qui ont été publiés en mars 2005. Nous élaborons actuellement d'autres règlements qui ne sont pas visés par le document ci-joint, dans des domaines comme les normes d'exercice des courtiers en hypothèques, des agents en hypothèques et des administrateurs d'hypothèques.

Votre point de vue est important et nous aidera à mettre au point les propositions réglementaires dans ce domaine. Le ministère accueille avec plaisir les suggestions des consommateurs, des entreprises et des professionnels qui pourront l'aider à atteindre l'objectif qui consiste à mieux protéger les consommateurs d'une manière équitable et pratique pour les particuliers et les entreprises.

Le document ci-joint contient des renseignements sur la façon de présenter vos observations sur ces propositions.

Je vous remercie de vous donner la peine de lire le présent document de consultation. Vos commentaires sont appréciés et ils seront pris en considération.

Cordialement,

 

Wayne Arthurs
Adjoint parlementaire du
ministre des Finances

Table des matières

I. Appel d'observations
II. Sommaire des propositions
1. Généralités
2. Activités réglementées supplémentaires
3. Dispenses des exigences de permis
4. Maisons de courtage d'hypothèques – permis
5. Courtiers et agents en hypothèques – permis
6. Administrateurs d'hypothèques – permis
7. Courtiers principaux
8. Normes d'exercice – maisons de courtage d'hypothèques

I. Appel d'observations

Le ministère des Finances vous demande votre avis sur le Document de consultation sur les règlements proposés en vertu du projet de loi 65la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d'hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d'hypothèques.
Le document de consultation contient le libellé détaillé des projets de règlements relatifs aux activités réglementées, aux dispenses, à l'octroi de permis, aux pouvoirs et aux responsabilités des courtiers principaux et aux normes d'exercice des maisons de courtage. Les mesures législatives sont proposées à des fins de discussion uniquement et n'auront force de loi que si l'Assemblée législative adopte le projet de loi 65 et si le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil promulgue les règlements.
Votre point de vue est important et contribuera à mettre au point ces propositions législatives. Le ministère des Finances vous invite à présenter par écrit vos observations sur les questions soulevées dans le présent document de consultation d'ici le 19 janvier 2007.

Vous pouvez envoyer vos observations par la poste, par télécopieur ou par courriel à :

Projets de règlements proposés en vertu du projet de loi 65

Luba Mycak
Chef
Direction des politiques pour les industries et les services financiers
Ministère des Finances
777, rue Bay, 10e étage
Toronto (Ontario)  M5G 2C8
Téléphone : 416 326-9227
Télécopieur : 416 327-0941
Courriel : mbconsultations@ontario.ca

Le présent document de consultation est accessible en ligne à http://www.fin.gov.on.ca.

Vous pouvez obtenir un exemplaire du projet de loi 65, la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d'hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d'hypothèques, en ligne à http://www.ontla.on.ca.

Veuillez prendre note qu'il s'agit d'une consultation publique. Toutes les observations reçues seront considérées comme des renseignements d'intérêt public et le ministère pourra les utiliser pour évaluer et réviser les projets de règlements proposés. Ainsi, des observations ou des documents pourront être divulgués, en tout ou en partie ou sous forme de résumé, à d'autres parties intéressées pendant et après la consultation.

Les renseignements personnels contenus dans les observations, comme le nom et les coordonnées (adresse, numéro de téléphone, adresse électronique personnelle, etc.) d'une personne ainsi que tout autre renseignement qui pourrait être utilisé pour identifier une personne ne seront pas divulgués sans le consentement de la personne concernée. Cependant, les documents créés par une personne agissant à titre professionnel (p. ex., au nom d'un groupe, d'une association, d'une entreprise, etc.) pourront être divulgués, sauf si votre lettre d'accompagnement indique qu'une telle divulgation pourrait causer un tort ou un préjudice.

Par conséquent, si pour une raison quelconque vous jugez que vos observations ne devraient pas être divulguées à des tierces parties, veuillez l'indiquer dans votre lettre d'accompagnement.

Si vous avez des questions sur cette consultation ou sur l'utilisation ou la divulgation de renseignements contenus dans vos observations, veuillez communiquer avec :

Luba Mycak
Chef
Direction des politiques pour les industries et les services financiers
Ministère des Finances
777, rue Bay, 10e étage
Toronto (Ontario)  M5G 2C8
Téléphone : 416 326-9227
Télécopieur : 416 327-0941

Vers au haut de cette page.

II. Sommaire des propositions

1. Généralités

Le ministère des Finances mène des consultations auprès des intervenants et invite le public à présenter des commentaires à l'égard de projets de règlements en vertu du projet de loi 65, la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d'hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d'hypothèques. Même si la loi proposée établit un nouveau cadre de réglementation de l'industrie du courtage d'hypothèques, un grand nombre de règles détaillées et précises doivent être élaborées et énoncées dans les règlements.

Par conséquent, le ministère publie les projets de règlements suivants à des fins de consultation :

  • Activités réglementées supplémentaires
  • Dispenses des exigences de permis
  • Maisons de courtage d'hypothèques – permis
  • Courtiers et agents en hypothèques – permis
  • Administrateurs d'hypothèques – permis
  • Courtiers principaux
  • Normes d'exercice – maisons de courtage d'hypothèques

En mars 2005, le ministère a publié trois règlements concernant les exigences de permis des maisons de courtage d'hypothèques, des administrateurs d'hypothèques et des courtiers et agents en hypothèques, et a mené des consultations à leur sujet. Ces règlements sont publiés de nouveau à des fins de consultation, à la suite de modifications reflétant la rétroaction reçue lors de la première consultation et de nouvelles propositions.

En juillet 2005, le ministère a mené des consultations sur un projet de règlement relatif à la divulgation du coût d'emprunt en vertu de la Loi sur les courtiers en hypothèques actuelle. Ce projet de règlement proposait des exigences de divulgation obligatoires pour les prêts personnels et d'autres exigences de divulgation touchant les déclarations et la publicité. Il décrivait également la méthode de calcul du coût d'emprunt d'un prêt. Le ministère propose que le règlement relatif à la divulgation du coût d'emprunt en vertu du projet de loi 65 reprenne les exigences établies lors de la consultation antérieure, avec les modifications nécessaires. Ce règlement n'est pas visé par le présent document de consultation.

D'autres règlements qui ne sont pas visés par le présent document sont en cours d'élaboration. Ils toucheront à des sujets comme les normes d'exercice des courtiers et des agents, les normes d'exercice des administrateurs d'hypothèques, ainsi que les pénalités administratives.

La teneur, la structure et la forme des projets de règlements pourraient changer à la suite du processus de consultation et de l'examen par le gouvernement. Ces propositions n'auront force de loi que si l'Assemblée législative adopte le projet de loi 65 et si le lieutenant-gouverneur promulgue les règlements.

Les sections suivantes présentent un bref aperçu des règlements visés par la présente consultation. Les lecteurs sont invités à consulter le libellé du document de consultation sur les règlements et à ne pas se fier exclusivement à ce guide.

2. Activités réglementées supplémentaires

Ce règlement prescrit une activité supplémentaire, soit l'administration d'hypothèques.

3. Dispenses des exigences de permis

Simples renvois : Les personnes qui renvoient des emprunteurs à des prêteurs, ou des prêteurs à des emprunteurs, seraient dispensées de l'exigence de permis si elles fournissent un avis écrit préalable au sujet des frais et des relations avec le prêteur, et seulement si l'échange porte sur des renseignements limités au sujet de l'emprunteur, comme son nom et son adresse.

Avocats : Les avocats seraient dispensés des exigences de permis s'ils exercent leurs fonctions professionnelles d'avocat agissant au nom d'un client. Les avocats ne seraient pas dispensés s'ils se présentent comme exerçant des activités qui nécessitent un permis de maison de courtage, de courtier ou d'agent.

Autres dispenses : Des sociétés de la Couronne, des syndics de faillite, des administrateurs de titres adossés à des créances hypothécaires et d'autres seraient dispensés de l'exigence de permis en vertu du projet de loi 65.

4. Maisons de courtage d'hypothèques – permis

Ce projet de règlement est fondé sur le document de consultation publié en mars 2005, avec la modification suivante :

  • Le permis d'une maison de courtage d'hypothèques peut être au nom de sa dénomination sociale ou de son nom commercial. Le surintendant pourrait refuser de délivrer un permis si le nom est trompeur ou s'il crée de la confusion.

5. Courtiers et agents en hypothèques – permis

Ce projet de règlement est fondé sur le document de consultation publié en mars 2005. Voici certaines des modifications :

  • Les dispenses pour la scolarité et l'expérience seraient définies clairement en ce qui concerne les personnes inscrites et les agents inscrits en vertu de la Loi sur les courtiers en hypothèques, les courtiers immobiliers, et les personnes dont la scolarité est en cours au moment de l'entrée en vigueur du règlement proposé.
  • Le surintendant approuverait les programmes de formation requis.
  • Une définition simplifiée de société de financement est proposée.

6. Administrateurs d'hypothèques – permis

Ce projet de règlement est fondé sur le document de consultation publié en mars 2005, avec la modification suivante :

  • Le permis d'un administrateur d'hypothèques peut être au nom de sa dénomination sociale ou de son nom commercial. Le surintendant pourrait refuser de délivrer un permis si le nom est trompeur ou s'il crée de la confusion.

7. Courtiers principaux

Il est proposé que le courtier principal ait l'obligation de s'assurer que la maison de courtage ainsi que chacun de ses courtiers et agents observent toutes les exigences de la Loi, et que la maison de courtage prenne des mesures raisonnables à la suite de toute contravention à la Loi. Le courtier principal devrait également examiner les politiques et les procédures de conformité de la maison de courtage. Les états de rapprochement du compte en fiducie de la maison de courtage devraient être examinés et certifiés par le courtier principal.

8. Normes d'exercice – maisons de courtage d'hypothèques

Ce règlement proposé établit des règles et des exigences que toutes les maisons de courtage d'hypothèques doivent respecter. Les objectifs de ces règlements reposent sur les principes suivants :

  • Les emprunteurs, les prêteurs et les investisseurs doivent être convaincus qu'ils reçoivent un service équitable de la part des maisons de courtage et qu'ils ont accès à toute l'information nécessaire pour prendre une décision éclairée.
  • Les maisons de courtage doivent rendre des comptes pour les indications qu'elles donnent au public, leur bonne gouvernance interne et leur responsabilité financière.

Le fait de ne pas se conformer aux normes d'exercice pourrait donner lieu à divers recours réglementaires et constituerait une infraction en vertu du projet de loi 65.

Vers au haut de cette page.

Indications au public

Une maison de courtage ne pourrait exercer ses activités sous un autre nom que celui pour lequel le permis lui a été délivré. Les publicités et les documents semblables devraient divulguer clairement le nom et le numéro de permis de la maison de courtage; s'ils font référence à un courtier ou à un agent, son nom et son numéro de permis devraient être fournis. Dans tous les cas, l'emploi des titres exacts comme « maison de courtage », « courtier » ou « agent » serait obligatoire.

Les indications fausses, trompeuses ou mensongères seraient interdites. Aucune indication ne pourrait laisser croire que les frais sont établis ou approuvés par le gouvernement.

Une maison de courtage aurait l'obligation de souscrire une assurance erreurs et omissions comprenant une garantie risques annexes en cas de fraude suffisante pour payer au moins 500 000 $ par sinistre et un million de dollars pour tous les sinistres durant une année.

Gouvernance interne

Afin de pouvoir exercer les fonctions de courtier principal d'une maison de courtage, une personne devrait détenir un permis de courtier en hypothèques et être soit un administrateur, un dirigeant, un associé ou le propriétaire unique de la maison de courtage. Une maison de courtage ne pourrait avoir qu'un seul courtier principal à la fois.

Les maisons de courtage auraient l'obligation de désigner un employé comme préposé aux plaintes. La maison de courtage devrait maintenir un registre de toutes les plaintes reçues. Elle aurait l'obligation de répondre par écrit à toutes les plaintes reçues par écrit. Les plaignants seraient informés qu'ils peuvent communiquer avec le surintendant s'ils ne sont pas satisfaits du règlement proposé par la maison de courtage.

Normes d'exercice générales

Les maisons de courtage ne pourraient agir au nom d'un emprunteur, d'un prêteur ou d'un investisseur si elles ont des motifs raisonnables de croire que l'hypothèque ou l'investissement est illicite.

Les maisons de courtage pourraient seulement recevoir de l'argent d'un prêteur ou d'un investisseur s'il existe une hypothèque ou une propriété spécifique à hypothéquer.

Les maisons de courtage devraient prendre des mesures raisonnables pour s'assurer qu'un prêt hypothécaire convient à l'emprunteur, au prêteur ou à l'investisseur, selon le cas.

Les garanties fournies par une maison de courtage à l'égard d'une hypothèque ou d'un investissement seraient interdites.

Aucun paiement anticipé par un emprunteur à une maison de courtage ne serait autorisé pour les hypothèques de moins de 300 000 $.

Une maison de courtage ne pourrait payer des frais ou verser une rémunération à une personne qui effectue le courtage d'hypothèques ou des opérations sur hypothèques si cette personne n'est pas titulaire d'un permis, à moins qu'elle soit dispensée de l'exigence de permis; la maison de courtage ne pourrait payer des courtiers et des agents qui travaillent pour une autre maison de courtage.

La vente liée avec coercition serait interdite.

La maison de courtage devrait remettre les documents à leur propriétaire sur demande.

La maison de courtage aurait la responsabilité de s'assurer qu'elle utilise, ainsi que ses courtiers et ses agents, les formules approuvées.

Obtenir et divulguer des renseignements

Les maisons de courtage devraient vérifier l'identité des emprunteurs, des prêteurs et des investisseurs dans les circonstances indiquées et divulguer tout doute en ce qui concerne l'exactitude des renseignements fournis dans une demande de prêt hypothécaire ou le pouvoir légal de l'emprunteur d'hypothéquer une propriété.

Avant de négocier un prêt hypothécaire inversé avec un emprunteur ou de lui octroyer un tel prêt, la maison de courtage devrait obtenir la confirmation que l'emprunteur a obtenu des conseils juridiques indépendants.

Les maisons de courtage devraient également divulguer aux emprunteurs, aux prêteurs et aux investisseurs des renseignements concernant les frais, les risques et les avantages des prêts hypothécaires proposés, ainsi que les conflits d'intérêt, à l'intérieur de délais donnés.

Le règlement proposé énumère les documents et les renseignements que la maison de courtage devrait donner à un prêteur ou à un investisseur, ou à un prêteur lors du renouvellement d'un prêt hypothécaire.

  • Une formule de divulgation approuvée par le surintendant, qui devrait être signée par le courtier, se trouve dans cette liste de documents. Une ébauche de cette formule et de la formule de divulgation qui serait utilisée lors du renouvellement d'un prêt hypothécaire se trouvent à la section IV, à des fins de consultation.

Certaines personnes ou entités, qui comprennent selon la définition du règlement les personnes à valeur nette ou à revenu élevé ainsi que les institutions financières, seraient dispensées de recevoir ces documents ou ces renseignements.
 
Les maisons de courtage ne pourraient vendre ou tenter de vendre une hypothèque qui a été en défaut au cours des 12 mois précédents, à moins de divulguer par écrit à l'investisseur le montant et la durée du défaut.

Fonds en fiducie

Les maisons de courtage devraient maintenir un compte en fiducie, garder des dossiers relatifs aux transactions de fonds en fiducie et préparer des états de rapprochement mensuels. Tout manque à gagner dans le compte en fiducie devrait être signalé au surintendant.

Rapports et tenue de dossiers

Les maisons de courtage devraient maintenir une adresse en Ontario aux fins de signification ainsi qu'une adresse de courriel. Certains changements devraient être signalés au surintendant, y compris les changements d'établissement, les changements dans les dirigeants, les administrateurs ou les associés de la maison de courtage, et les changements importants dans la participation.

Chaque maison de courtage devrait présenter une déclaration annuelle avant le 31 mars de chaque année, en utilisant une formule approuvée par le surintendant.

Des états financiers annuels vérifiés, préparés conformément aux principes comptables généralement reconnus, devraient être déposés auprès du surintendant, sauf si la maison de courtage n'a pas détenu de fonds en fiducie au cours de l'exercice.

Des exigences relatives à la tenue de dossiers sont également proposées.

Les règlements n'auront force de loi que si l'Assemblée législative adopte la loi connexe et si le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil promulgue les règlements.

© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2006

ISBN 1-4249-2753-6 (imprimé)

ISBN 1-4249-2754-4 (HTML)

ISBN 1-4249-2755-2 (PDF)

Retour au haut de la page.

Page : 2135  |