Frequently Asked Questions

What issues were considered during this review?

This review focused on areas where municipalities and business taxpayer representatives had expressed an interest in working with the Province including:

  • clarifying and refining the assessment methodologies applied to special-purpose business properties, such as mills, landfills, industrial lands, billboards, farms and wind turbine towers;
  • reviewing the timelines for the assessment appeal process; and
  • considering other opportunities to strengthen the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation (MPAC).

Residential property assessments were not within the scope of this review.
The objective is to ensure that the system continues to be fair, accurate, and predictable.

Who led the review?

The review was led by the former Ministry of Finance Parliamentary Assistant Steven Del Duca.  The Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review report was delivered to the Ministers of Finance and Municipal Affairs and Housing on December 17, 2013.

What are the recommendations contained in the Assessment Review (Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review) report?

The Assessment Review included 26 overarching recommendations for strengthening the property assessment system, as well as seven recommendations for business properties that involve complex assessment methodologies (mills, industrial lands, farms, landfills, billboards and wind turbine towers). 

The Assessment Review contained five categories of overarching recommendations: Accountability, Roles and Responsibilities; Assessment Methodology and Advance Disclosure; Data Accuracy and Integrity; Appeals; and Municipal Assessment at Risk Strategies.

The implementation of these five categories were guided by contributions of the Assessment Review Reference Committee, established by the Ministry in Spring 2014.  The Province is continuing to work with MPAC, municipalities and other stakeholders to implement improvements to the property assessment system. 

What was the process for engaging / consulting with stakeholders to implement the Assessment Review recommendations?

To guide implementation of the overarching recommendations contained in the Assessment Review, the Ministry of Finance established a Reference Committee with municipal staff and stakeholder representatives.  The committee had five sub-groups, corresponding to the five categories of the overarching recommendations: Accountability, Roles and Responsibilities; Assessment Methodology and Advance Disclosure; Data Accuracy and Integrity; Appeals; and Municipal Assessment at Risk Strategies.

The Ministry also held focus group sessions with property assessment and tax payer representatives to obtain input on the advance disclosure recommendations.

The Municipal Property Assessment Corporation (MPAC) and the Assessment Review Board (ARB) also actively participated in the implementation process, and are continuing their own initiatives to improve the property assessment system, many of which are aligned with the Assessment Review recommendations.

What is the status of the implementation of the Assessment Review recommendations?

Please see the SPBPAR Progress update bulletin released on April 8, 2016 for the status of the implementation of the recommendations.

What formal direction did the Ministry provide to MPAC?

The provincial direction, as authorized by Section 10 of the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation Act, sets standards for the provision of specific assessment services to municipalities and taxpayers for specific property types for the 2016 reassessment.  These new assessment services include: information and data sharing policy, assessment methodology guides and an advance disclosure process.  The provincial direction was published in The Ontario Gazette on April 18, 2015

What is advance disclosure?

This new process being implemented by MPAC provides municipalities and business property owners with the opportunity to contribute to the determination of assessed values before the assessment roll is finalized.

For select property types, MPAC has:

  • Established a new advance disclosure process for the 2016 reassessment, including the release of market analytics and preliminary values in advance of roll return;
  • Developed detailed technical methodology guides that will serve as a useful tool for MPAC’s assessors and explain valuation procedures to stakeholders;
  • Published an information and data sharing policy explaining what information MPAC requires from which parties and for what purposes; and
  • Consulted on and published Market Valuation Reports containing market analytics.

The advance disclosure process is expected to be completed by summer 2016.  The methodology guides and market valuation reports can be viewed on MPAC’s website:

FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Quelles ont été les questions traitées au cours de cet examen de l’évaluation?

Cet examen a porté essentiellement sur les aspects à l’égard desquels les municipalités et les entreprises contribuables s’étaient montrées désireuses de collaborer avec la province, à savoir :

  • clarifier et préciser les méthodologies d’évaluation appliquées aux biens commerciaux à usage particulier, tels que les usines de pâtes et papiers et les scieries, les sites d’enfouissement, les terrains à usage industriel, les panneaux‑réclames, les exploitations agricoles et les tours éoliennes;
  • examiner l’échéancier du processus d’appel des évaluations;
  • étudier d’autres moyens de renforcer la Société d’évaluation foncière des municipalités (SÉFM).

Cet examen a exclu l’évaluation des biens résidentiels.
L’objectif est de veiller à ce que le système continue d’être équitable, rigoureux et prévisible.

Qui a dirigé l’examen de l’évaluation?

L’examen a été dirigé par l’ancien adjoint parlementaire du ministre des Finances, Steven Del Duca.

Le Rapport d’examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier a été remis au ministre des Finances et à la ministre des Affaires municipales et du Logement le 17 décembre 2013.

Quelles sont les recommandations contenues dans le Rapport d’examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier?

 L’examen de l’évaluation renfermait 26 recommandations générales visant à renforcer le système global d’évaluation foncière ainsi que sept recommandations pour des biens commerciaux qui nécessitent des méthodologies d’évaluation complexes (usines de pâtes et papiers, scieries, sites d’enfouissement, terrains à usage industriel, panneaux‑réclames, exploitations agricoles et tours éoliennes).

L’examen de l’évaluation contient cinq catégories de recommandations générales : reddition de comptes, rôles et responsabilités; méthodologies d’évaluation et divulgation préalable; exactitude et intégrité des données; appels; stratégies d’évaluation des biens à risque par les municipalités.

La mise en œuvre de ces cinq catégories a été guidée par le comité consultatif de l’examen d’évaluation établi par le Ministère au printemps 2014. La province, en collaboration avec la SÉFM, les municipalités et les intervenants, a terminé la mise en œuvre des recommandations de l’examen de l’évaluation visant à améliorer le système d’évaluation foncière.

Quel a été le processus pour favoriser la consultation auprès des intervenants pour mettre en œuvre les recommandations de l’examen d’évaluation?

Pour guider la mise en œuvre des recommandations générales contenues dans l’examen d’évaluation, le ministère des Finances a établi un comité consultatif avec le personnel municipal et les représentants des intervenants. Le comité comptait cinq sous-groupes correspondant aux cinq catégories de recommandations générales : reddition de comptes, rôles et responsabilités; méthodologies d’évaluation et divulgation préalable; exactitude et intégrité des données; appels; stratégies d’évaluation des biens à risque par les municipalités.

Le Ministère a aussi tenu des groupes de discussion avec des représentants de l’évaluation foncière et des contribuables pour recueillir des commentaires sur les recommandations sur la divulgation préalable.

La Société d’évaluation foncière des municipalités (SÉFM) et la Commission de révision de l’évaluation foncière ont également joué un rôle actif dans le processus de mise en œuvre et poursuivent leurs propres initiatives pour l’amélioration du système d’évaluation foncière, dont plusieurs sont en harmonie avec les recommandations de l’examen de l’évaluation.

Où en est la mise en œuvre des recommandations de l’examen de l’évaluation?

Les recommandations de l’examen de l’évaluation ont été mises en œuvre à temps pour la réévaluation de 2016. Veuillez consulter le bulletin Mise à jour du 16 décembre 2016 pour obtenir un résumé de la mise en œuvre de chacune des recommandations.

Quelle directive officielle le ministre a-t-il donnée à la SÉFM?

La directive provinciale, autorisée par l’article 10 de la Loi sur la société d’évaluation foncière des municipalités, établit les normes pour la prestation de services d’évaluation précis aux municipalités et aux contribuables pour des types de biens particuliers en vue de la réévaluation générale de 2016. Ces nouveaux services d’évaluation comprennent : une politique de partage des données et des renseignements, des guides sur la méthodologie de l’évaluation foncière et un processus de divulgation préalable. La directive provinciale a été publiée dans la Gazette de l’Ontario, le 18 avril 2015.

En quoi consiste la divulgation préalable?

Ce nouveau protocole mis en œuvre par la SÉFM donnait aux municipalités et aux propriétaires de biens commerciaux l’occasion de participer au calcul des valeurs imposables avant la finalisation du rôle d’évaluation de 2016.

Pour certains types de biens, la SÉFM a :

  • établi un nouveau processus de divulgation préalable pour la réévaluation de 2016, y compris la publication d’analytiques du marché et de valeurs préliminaires en prévision du dépôt du rôle d’évaluation;
  • développé des guides de méthodologie techniques détaillés qui serviront d’outil pratique aux évaluateurs de la SÉFM et expliqueront les procédures d’évaluation aux intervenants;
  •  publié une politique relative au partage d’information et de données qui explique le type d’information que la SÉFM demande aux parties et à quelle fin;
  • consulté les rapports d’évaluation du marché qui contiennent des analytiques du marché et les a publiés.

Le processus de divulgation préalable a pris fin à l’automne 2016. Les guides sur la méthodologie et les rapports sur l’évaluation du marché peuvent être consultés sur le site Web de la SÉFM
https://www.mpac.ca/fr/HowAssessmentWorks/Disclosure2016AssessmentUpdate