Transfer of Assets Between Related Corporations and Partnership Rules

As announced in its 2004 Budget, Ontario proposes to modernize the retail sales tax rules relating to exempt transfer of assets between related corporations. In addition, proposals are pending that would regulate the rules for the transfer of assets between partnerships and their principals, including making those rules consistent with the rules for related corporations. The proposals are in response to a commitment to improve the fairness of the tax system, ensure all taxpayers pay their fair share of taxes and provide fair and consistent treatment of taxpayers.

A draft regulation proposing amendments to the related party asset transfer provisions, contained in Regulation 1013, is posted on the Ministry of Finance's website for industry review and comment. The release of the draft regulation builds upon the Government's commitment to consult with taxpayers on fairer and more effective tax policy.

The effective date proposed for the amendments is July 20, 2004, the release date of the draft regulation. Comments on the proposed amendments are requested to be received by September 3, 2004. It is expected that the amending regulation would be finalized by the Fall 2004. Until the amending regulation is in force, the current RST regulatory provisions remain applicable. Taxpayers should continue to keep records of related party asset transactions to respond to any future audits or to support any possible future RST refund.

The following is a description of the current tax treatment and proposed regulatory changes.

Transfer of Assets Between Related Corporations

The review of the related party asset transfer provisions has led to proposals that modernize the provisions to reflect current corporate restructuring and other related measures.

Beneficial Ownership

Current Treatment:

Regulation 1013 sets out that "wholly-owns" for corporations means the beneficial ownership, whether direct or through one other wholly-owned corporation, of not less than 95 per cent of the total issued and outstanding share capital of the corporation by a person and or by a person and one or more persons of the same family.

Proposed Treatment:

The regulation proposes to expand "wholly-owns" to include direct and indirect beneficial ownership of shares representing at least 95% of the stated capital of all classes and series of shares of the corporation. The expansion to indirect beneficial ownership allows the exemption to be used within the corporate group, providing the 95% beneficial ownership is met.

Goto the top of this page.

Exempt Transfers between Related Corporations

Current Treatment:

The existing exemption for asset transfers between related corporations applies to tangible personal property (TPP) if tax imposed under the Act has been paid.

No tax is payable on a transfer of TPP from:

  • a person to a corporation wholly-owned by that person
  • a corporation to a person, who wholly-owns the corporation
  • a corporation to another corporation where both are wholly-owned by the same person

The related party exemption can only be used once with respect to a particular asset.

Proposed Treatment:

Amendments are proposed to introduce specific rules for the exemption:

  1. Assets to be transferred tax exempt would be considered as "eligible property" or property on which tax has been paid under the Act.
  2. No tax is payable on any transfer of eligible property.
    • a person to a corporation wholly-owned by that person
    • a corporation to a person, who wholly-owns the corporation
    • a corporation to another corporation where both are wholly-owned by the same person.
  3. The wholly-owned relationship between the related corporations must continue for a period of at least 180 days following the date of the transfer of the asset.

The addition of the concept of "eligible property" sets the parameters for assets which may be transferred between related parties on a tax-exempt basis. Tax will not be considered to have been paid if an exemption was claimed under the Act when the property was acquired or if the property was acquired for the purpose of resale. The concept ensures RST is paid once by the corporate group.

However, if a purchasing corporation is entitled to an exemption under the Act, that exemption may still be used. For example: Corporation A, a manufacturer, purchases manufacturing equipment and claims an exemption from RST. Corporation A transfers the equipment to Corporation B, a related corporation, but since A did not pay tax on the equipment, B must now pay the tax (albeit on the fair market value at the time of the transfer). However, if B is also a manufacturer, and the equipment is to be used as manufacturing equipment, B may claim an exemption from RST on the transfer.

The proposed rules also remove the one-time limitation for using the related party tax exemption. The rules introduce a requirement for the parties to remain related for 180 days to ensure that the asset transfer was between bona fide related parties.

Goto the top of this page.

Examples of Exempt Transactions between Wholly-Owned Corporations

Example 1: In Figure 1, A, B and C are related corporations as B and C are wholly-owned by A. Eligible property (ie. where tax has been paid once on the asset by either A, B or C) may be transferred between A, B and C without the payment of tax.

Diagram depicting one-level corporate structure within which property can be transferred without the payment of retail sales tax.

Figure 1

Example 2: In addition to the tax exempt transfers outlined in Example 1, eligible property could be transferred between A, B, C and D based on the corporate relationship.

Diagram depicting corporate structure, including another wholly-owned corporation, within which property can be transferred without the payment of retail sales tax.

Figure 2

Example 3: Figure 3 expands the tax exempt transfers outlined in Example 2. Corporations A, B and C or B, D and E may transfer eligible property without attracting tax (same as Example 1). Eligible property may also be transferred among A, B, C, D, E, F and H without attracting tax because of the unbroken chain of at least 95% beneficial ownership between each of the corporations (same as Example 2). Also, because of the chain of 95% beneficial ownership, G can transfer eligible property to each of these corporations without attracting tax .

However, as with Example 2, the transfers could only be exempt if they were a result of transfers between wholly-owned corporations. With the indirect nature of some of the transfers, evidence to document the beneficial ownership must be available.

Diagram depicting multi-level corporate structure, including other wholly-owned corporations, within which property can be transferred without the payment of retail sales tax.

Figure 3

Goto the top of this page.

Transfer of Assets Between Unrelated Corporations

Unrelated corporations are those corporations that are not wholly-owned by another corporation or an individual. The review of the provisions relating to asset transfers between these corporations included ensuring that tax was pro-rated in a manner consistent with the pro-rating of tax on the transfer of assets between partners and partnerships.

Current Treatment:

Where a person purchases TPP from a corporation the purchaser does not wholly-own, tax is payable on the portion of the actual value of the TPP that reflects the proportion of the share capital not owned by the purchaser.

Tax is not pro-rated in any other situations.

Proposed Treatment:

Based on administrative policy, tax has been pro-rated on the transfer of assets between partners and partnerships. Similar treatment is being proposed for unrelated corporations (ie. not wholly-owned by an individual or corporation).

The rules propose that no tax would be payable on the portion of the value of the eligible property transferred that relates to the proportion of the share capital owned on the transfer between:

  • unrelated corporations and the transferor owns shares directly or indirectly of the purchaser before the sale.
  • unrelated corporations and the purchaser owns shares directly or indirectly of the transferor before the sale.
  • eligible shareholder to a corporation, or vice verse, and the eligible shareholder owns shares directly or indirectly of the corporation. (Eligible shareholder refers to an individual or partnership that directly or indirectly owns shares of the corporation, but does not wholly own the corporation.)

The shares used to calculate the proportion must continue to be held for 180 days after the transfer.

Example of Transfer between Unrelated Corporations

In Figure 4, A wishes to transfer a tax paid asset to G. To do this, A would transfer the asset to D, without the payment of tax due to A's indirect beneficial ownership of D. D's 30% interest would be transferred to G. Since D only owns 30% of G, G would be required to pay tax on 70% of the fair value of the asset being transferred.

Diagram depicting corporate structure where wholly-owned corporation relationships do not exist, resulting in the partial payment of retail sales tax.

Figure 4

Goto the top of this page.

Additional Amendments

Current Treatment:

Under the current rules, if a person receives shares as consideration for the full value of the TPP sold, and retains the shares for a period of not less than 6 months, the transfer is exempt.

If the value of the TPP is greater than the value of the shares transferred, tax is owing on the difference.

Proposed Treatment:

To be consistent with the proposed changes to permit the pro-rating of tax on assets transferred between unrelated corporations, an amendment to the rule regarding shares received as consideration is also proposed. If a person receives shares as consideration for eligible property and retains the shares for a period of not less than 180 days, the shares will be taken into account in determining the portion of the value on which no tax would be payable.

To accommodate other proposed changes, if shares are transferred to a family member or corporation upon wind-up, dissolution or amalgamation, provided a 180 day relationship is maintained or the shares are held by the receiving corporation for 180 days (discussed further), the 180-day holding period requirement would be deemed to be met. In addition, a 180-day holding period requirement would be deemed to be met in cases where a corporation is amalgamated, wound-up or dissolved.

Goto the top of this page.

Partnerships

Finally, the administrative policy relating to the transfer of assets between partners and partnerships was reviewed to ensure that the rules for these transfers were similar to the existing and proposed rules for asset transfers between related parties.

Current Treatment:

The current treatment of partnerships under the Act is set out in RST Guide #210 - Partnerships. In summary, the following rules currently apply to partnerships:

No tax is payable on the following transfers of TPP:

  • Transfer of TPP from the partnership to a partner, providing the partner had contributed the TPP to the partnership and had originally paid the tax.
  • Contribution of TPP on the formation of a new partnership providing each partner paid the applicable RST when the TPP was purchased.

Tax payable is pro-rated on the following transfer of TPP:

  • TPP transferred into a partnership by a partner, on the basis of the percentage interest of the partnership held by the partner.

Tax is payable on the following transfers of TPP:

  • Transfer of TPP purchased tax exempt by a partnership, to a partner.
  • Transfer of TPP from a partnership to a partner, where the TPP was contributed to the partnership by other partners.
  • Transfer of TPP from a partnership to a partner, where TPP was contributed to the partnership by the same partner, but tax had not been paid by the partner.

Administrative policy for partnerships also permits the transfer of assets into a partnership without the payment of tax, in exchange for an interest in the partnership as well as the assumption of liabilities.

Proposed Treatment:

The proposed regulation includes rules previously set out in the RST Guide #210 - Partnerships, but also proposes new rules to bring partnership asset transfer rules in line with those for related party transfers.

Similar to the proposed rules for related party asset transfers, partnership assets transferred for which no tax is payable or pro-rated, must be eligible property, or property on which RST has previously been paid.

No tax is payable on the portion of the value of eligible property transferred:

  1. into a partnership that relates to the percentage share of the income or loss of the partnership that the person will receive after the transfer.
  2. from a partnership to a partner that relates to the percentage share of the income or loss of the partnership that the partner holds, providing the property had not been transferred into the partnership by another partner.

If the transfer of eligible property is a result of one of the following, no tax is payable on the transfer:

  1. from a person to a partnership, on the creation of the partnership, providing the value of consideration paid for the property does not exceed the value of the partnership interest received by the person
  2. from a partnership to a partner if that partner had originally transferred the property to the partnership on its creation.

The proposed rules limit the value of the property that may be transferred without the payment of tax to the value of the partnership interest that is received in exchange.

No tax is payable in respect of the transfer of an interest in a partnership from a partner to another person.

Goto the top of this page.

Feedback

Written submissions providing comments on the draft regulations should be submitted by September 3, 2004. Submissions should be addressed to:

Ms Brenda Kershaw
Corporate and Commodity Taxation Branch
Ministry of Finance
Frost Building North
2nd Floor, 95 Grosvenor Street
Queens Park
Toronto, Ontario
M7A 1Z1

Goto the top of this page.

Page: 894  |

Tel qu'annoncé dans le budget de 2004, le gouvernement de l'Ontario propose de moderniser les règles applicables au transfert d'actifs entre personnes morales liées qui sont exempts de la taxe de vente au détail. En outre, on déposera sous peu des propositions de règles régissant le transfert d'actifs entre les sociétés en nom collectif et leurs associés afin d'uniformiser ces règles avec celles applicables aux personnes morales liées. Ces propositions font suite à l'engagement qui a été pris de rendre le régime fiscal plus juste, de veiller à ce que tous les contribuables paient leur juste part d'impôts et de traiter les contribuables de façon équitable et uniforme.

Le ministère des Finances a affiché sur son site Web un projet de règlement proposant des modifications aux dispositions du Règlement 1013 concernant le transfert d'actifs entre parties liées afin de recueillir les commentaires de l'industrie. Le gouvernement rend public ce projet de règlement pour donner suite à l'engagement qu'il a pris de consulter les contribuables sur les mesures visant à rendre la politique fiscale plus équitable et plus efficace.

On propose que les modifications entrent en vigueur le 20 juillet 2004, soit la date de publication du projet de règlement. On demande que les commentaires au sujet de ces modifications soient reçus au plus tard le 3 septembre 2004. On prévoit que la version finale du règlement modificatif sera prête à l'automne 2004. En attendant que ce règlement entre en vigueur, les dispositions réglementaires actuelles applicables à la taxe de vente au détail (TVD) demeurent en vigueur. Les contribuables doivent continuer de garder des dossiers des transferts d'actifs entre parties liées afin de pouvoir présenter les documents nécessaires dans le cas d'une vérification ou d'une demande future de remboursement de la TVD.

On trouvera ci-après une description du traitement fiscal actuel et des modifications réglementaires proposées.

Transfert d'actifs entre personnes morales liées

L'examen des dispositions applicables au transfert d'actifs entre parties liées a débouché sur des propositions visant à moderniser ces dispositions pour tenir compte de la restructuration actuelle des entreprises et des mesures connexes.

Propriétaire bénéficiaire

Traitement actuel :

En vertu du Règlement 1013, est considéré comme « propriétaire exclusif » d'une personne morale une personne ou une personne et au moins un membre de la même famille qui est propriétaire bénéficiaire, de façon directe ou par l'entremise d'une autre personne morale qui lui appartient en exclusivité, d'au moins 95 % de toutes les actions émises et en circulation de cette personne morale.

Traitement proposé :

Le règlement propose d'inclure dans la définition de « propriétaire exclusif » les personnes qui sont propriétaires bénéficiaires, de façon directe ou indirecte, d'actions représentant au moins 95 % du capital déclaré de toutes les catégories et de toutes les séries d'actions de la personne morale. Comme cette définition s'appliquerait désormais aux propriétaires bénéficiaires indirects, le groupe de personnes morales pourrait se prévaloir de l'exemption pourvu qu'il conserve 95 % de propriété bénéficiaire.

Retour au haut de la page.

Transferts exemptés entre personnes morales liées

Traitement actuel :

L'exemption actuelle qui s'applique aux transferts d'actifs entre personnes morales liées vise les biens meubles corporels (BMC) pour lesquels la taxe exigée par la Loi a été payée.

Aucune taxe n'est payable sur le transfert de BMC entre :

  • une personne et une personne morale appartenant exclusivement à la personne;
  • une personne morale et une personne qui est propriétaire exclusive de cette personne morale;
  • deux personnes morales qui appartiennent toutes deux exclusivement à la même personne.

L'exemption relative aux parties liées ne peut être utilisée qu'une fois en ce qui concerne un actif précis.

Traitement proposé :

On propose d'établir des règles précises régissant l'exemption :

  1. Les actifs que l'on entend transférer sans être passible de taxe seraient considérés comme des « biens admissibles » ou comme des biens pour lesquels la taxe a été payée en vertu de la Loi.
  2. Aucune taxe ne serait payable sur les biens admissibles transférés entre :
    • une personne et une personne morale appartenant exclusivement à la personne;
    • une personne morale et une personne qui est propriétaire exclusive de cette personne morale;
    • deux personnes morales qui appartiennent toutes deux exclusivement à la même personne.
  3. La propriété exclusive des personnes morales liées doit être maintenue pendant au moins 180 jours suivant la date du transfert des actifs.

L'ajout du concept de « bien admissible » permet de déterminer quels actifs les parties liées peuvent transférer entre elles sans être passibles de taxe. On ne considérera pas que la taxe a été payée si une exemption a été demandée en vertu de la Loi lors de l'achat du bien ou si le bien a été acheté aux fins de revente. Ce concept permet de s'assurer que la TVD est payée une fois par le groupe de personnes morales.

Toutefois, si une personne morale acheteuse a droit à une exemption en vertu de la Loi, elle peut se servir de cette exemption. Par exemple, la personne morale A, une entreprise manufacturière, achète du matériel de fabrication et demande une exemption de la TVD. Elle transfère le matériel à la personne morale B, une personne morale liée, mais, comme A n'a pas payé la taxe sur le matériel, B doit maintenant la payer (mais à la juste valeur marchande au moment du transfert). Toutefois, si B est aussi une entreprise manufacturière et si le matériel sera utilisé à des fins de fabrication, B peut demander une exemption de la TVD payable sur le transfert.

Les règles proposées éliminent l'exigence selon laquelle les parties liées peuvent utiliser l'exemption de taxe une seule fois. Toutefois, elles précisent que les parties doivent demeurer liées pendant 180 jours pour veiller à ce que le transfert d'actifs ait lieu entre de véritables parties liées.

Retour au haut de la page.

Exemples d'opérations exemptes de taxe entre des personnes morales possédées en propriété exclusive

Exemple 1 : Dans la figure 1, A, B et C sont des personnes morales liées, car B et C appartiennent exclusivement à A. Les biens admissibles (c.-à-d. ceux pour lesquels A, B ou C a payé la taxe une fois auparavant) peuvent être transférés entre A, B et C sans qu'il soit nécessaire de payer la taxe.

Diagramme illustrant une structure d'entreprise à un niveau au sein de laquelle des biens peuvent être transférés sans payer la taxe de vente au détail.

Figure 1

Exemple 2 : En plus des transferts exempts de taxe décrits dans l'exemple 1, les biens admissibles peuvent être transférés entre A, B, C et D selon le lien qui existe entre les personnes morales.

Diagramme illustrant une structure d'entreprise, comprenant une autre personne morale en propriété exclusive, au sein de laquelle des biens peuvent être transférés sans payer la taxe de vente au détail.

Figure 2

Exemple 3 : La figure 3 élargit les transferts exempts de taxe décrits dans l'exemple 2. Les personnes morales A, B et C ou B, D et E peuvent transférer des biens admissibles sans être passibles de taxe (comme dans l'exemple 1). On peut également transférer des biens admissibles entre les personnes morales A, B, C, D, E, F et H sans être passible de taxe car on conserve au moins 95 % de propriété bénéficiaire entre chaque personne morale (comme dans l'exemple 2). De plus, comme on conserve au moins 95 % de propriété bénéficiaire, la personne morale G peut transférer des biens admissibles à chacune de ces personnes morales sans être passible de taxe.

Toutefois, comme dans l'exemple 2, les transferts seraient exempts de taxe seulement s'ils avaient lieu entre des personnes morales possédées en propriété exclusive. Comme certains transferts sont indirects, il faut conserver des documents prouvant la propriété bénéficiaire.

Diagramme illustrant une structure d'entreprise à plusieurs niveaux, comprenant d'autres personnes morales en propriété exclusive, au sein de laquelle des biens peuvent être transférés sans payer la taxe de vente au détail.

Figure 3

Retour au haut de la page.

Transfert d'actifs entre personnes morales non liées

On entend par personnes morales non liées les personnes morales qui n'appartiennent pas exclusivement à une autre personne morale ni à un particulier. L'examen des dispositions portant sur le transfert d'actifs entre ces personnes morales avait pour but notamment de veiller à ce que la taxe soit calculée au prorata de la même façon qu'on calcule au prorata la taxe perçue sur le transfert d'actifs entre associés et sociétés en nom collectif.

Traitement actuel :

Lorsqu'une personne achète des BMC à une personne morale qu'elle ne possède pas en propriété exclusive, il faut payer la taxe sur la partie de la valeur des BMC qui correspond à la partie du capital-actions n'appartenant pas à l'acheteur.

On ne calcule la taxe au prorata dans aucun autre cas.

Traitement proposé :

Conformément à la politique administrative, on calcule la taxe au prorata sur le transfert d'actifs entre des associés et des sociétés en nom collectif. On propose un traitement semblable pour les personnes morales non liées (c.-à-d. qui ne sont pas la propriété exclusive d'un particulier ou d'une personne morale).

En vertu des règles proposées, aucune taxe ne serait payable sur la partie de la valeur des biens admissibles transférés correspondant à la partie du capital-actions dont on est propriétaire dans le cas d'un transfert entre :

  • des personnes morales non liées si l'auteur du transfert possède, directement ou indirectement, des actions de l'acheteur avant la vente;
  • des personnes morales non liées si l'acheteur possède, directement ou indirectement, des actions de l'auteur du transfert avant la vente;
  • un actionnaire admissible et une personne morale, ou vice-versa, si l'actionnaire admissible possède, directement ou indirectement, des actions de la personne morale. (On entend par actionnaire admissible un particulier ou une société en nom collectif qui possède, directement ou indirectement, des actions de la personne morale mais qui n'est pas propriétaire exclusif de cette personne morale.)

Aux fins du calcul de cette partie, il faut conserver les actions pendant 180 jours après le transfert.

Exemple de transfert entre des personnes morales non liées

Dans la figure 4, A souhaite transférer à G des actifs pour lesquels elle a payé la taxe. Pour ce faire, A transférerait les actifs à D sans payer de taxe car A est propriétaire bénéficiaire indirect de D. Les 30 % que détient D seraient ensuite transférés à G. Comme D possède seulement 30 % de G, G serait tenue de payer la taxe sur 70 % de la juste valeur des actifs transférés.

Diagramme illustrant une structure d'entreprise au sein de laquelle il n'y a pas de personnes morales en propriété exclusive, de sorte que la taxe de vente au détail doit être payée en partie.

Figure 4

Retour au haut de la page.

Modifications supplémentaires

Traitement actuel :

Selon les règles en vigueur, si une personne reçoit des actions en contrepartie de la valeur totale des BMC vendus et garde ces actions pendant au moins six mois, le transfert est exempt de taxe.

Si la valeur des BMC est supérieure à la valeur des actions transférées, il faut payer la taxe sur la différence.

Traitement proposé :

Pour être conforme aux modifications proposées visant à autoriser le calcul au prorata de la taxe sur les actifs transférés entre personnes morales non liées, on propose également de modifier la règle concernant les actions reçues en contrepartie. Si une personne reçoit des actions en contrepartie d'un bien admissible et les garde pendant au moins 180 jours, on tiendra compte de ces actions au moment de déterminer la partie de la valeur qui serait exempte de taxe.

En raison des autres modifications proposées, si les actions sont transférées à un membre de la famille ou à une personne morale au moment de la liquidation, de la dissolution ou de la fusion, on considérerait que l'exigence de 180 jours a été satisfaite si on maintient le lien pendant 180 jours ou si la personne morale bénéficiaire conserve les actions pendant ce délai (voir ci-après). De plus, on estimerait que l'exigence selon laquelle les actions doivent être conservées pendant 180 jours a été satisfaite dans le cas de la fusion, de la liquidation ou de la dissolution d'une personne morale.

Retour au haut de la page.

Sociétés en nom collectif

Enfin, on a revu la politique administrative régissant le transfert d'actifs entre des associés et des sociétés en nom collectif pour s'assurer que les règles applicables à ces transferts sont semblables aux règles actuelles et proposées concernant le transfert d'actifs entre parties liées.

Traitement actuel :

Le traitement actuel des sociétés en nom collectif prévu par la Loi est décrit dans le Guide de la TVD no 210 - Sociétés en nom collectif. Voici un résumé des règles qui s'appliquent actuellement à ces sociétés :

Aucune taxe n'est payable sur les transferts suivants de BMC :

  • le transfert de BMC entre la société en nom collectif et un associé, pourvu que ce dernier ait fourni les BMC à la société et qu'il ait payé la taxe au départ;
  • la fourniture de BMC au moment de la formation d'une nouvelle société en nom collectif, pourvu que chaque associé ait payé la TVD applicable lorsque les BMC ont été achetés.

La taxe payable est calculée au prorata pour le transfert suivant de BMC :

  • transfert de BMC entre un associé et une société en nom collectif selon le pourcentage de la participation de l'associé dans la société.

Il faut payer la taxe lors des transferts suivants de BMC :

  • le transfert, à un associé, de BMC exempts de taxe achetés par une société en nom collectif;
  • le transfert de BMC d'une société en nom collectif à un associé lorsque ces BMC ont été fournis à la société par d'autres associés;
  • le transfert de BMC d'une société en nom collectif à un associé lorsque ces BMC ont été fournis à la société par l'associé mais que ce dernier n'avait pas payé la taxe.

Aux termes de la politique administrative applicable aux sociétés en nom collectif, il n'est pas nécessaire de payer la taxe dans le cas du transfert d'actifs à une société en nom collectif si ce transfert se fait en contrepartie d'une participation dans la société et de la prise en charge d'éléments de passif.

Traitement proposé :

Le règlement proposé comprend des règles qui ont été énoncées dans le Guide de la TVD no 210 - Sociétés en nom collectif. Il propose également d'harmoniser les règles régissant le transfert d'actifs entre sociétés en nom collectif avec celles régissant les transferts entre parties liées.

Comme le prévoient les règles proposées relativement au transfert d'actifs entre parties liées, les actifs transférés entre sociétés en nom collectif pour lesquels aucune taxe n'est payable ou pour lesquels on ne calcule pas de taxe au prorata doivent être constitués de biens admissibles ou de biens pour lesquels la TVD a déjà été payée.

Aucune taxe n'est payable sur la partie de la valeur des biens admissibles transférés :

  1. à une société en nom collectif ayant trait au pourcentage du revenu ou de la perte de cette société que la personne recevra ou assumera après le transfert;
  2. par une société en nom collectif à un associé ayant trait au pourcentage du revenu ou de la perte de cette société que la personne reçoit ou assume, pourvu que les biens n'aient pas été transférés à la société en nom collectif par un autre associé.

Si le transfert de biens admissibles découle de l'un ou l'autre des cas suivants, aucune taxe n'est payable sur le transfert :

  1. transfert d'une personne à une société en nom collectif lors de la création de cette société, pourvu que la valeur de la contrepartie versée pour les biens ne dépasse pas la valeur de la participation dans la société en nom collectif que reçoit la personne;
  2. transfert d'une société en nom collectif à un associé si ce dernier avait transféré les biens à la société lors de sa création.

Les règles proposées limitent la valeur des biens pouvant être transférés sans que la taxe ne soit payée à la valeur de la participation dans la société en nom collectif qui est reçue en échange.

Aucune taxe n'est payable dans le cas du transfert d'une participation dans une société en nom collectif d'un associé à une autre personne.

Retour au haut de la page.

Commentaires

Les commentaires écrits sur les projets de règlements doivent être envoyés d'ici le 3 septembre 2004 à la personne suivante :

Madame Brenda Kershaw
Direction des impôts sur les sociétés et des taxes à la consommation
Ministère des Finances
Édifice Frost Nord
2e étage, 95, rue Grosvenor
Queen's Park
Toronto ON M7A 1Z1

Retour au haut de la page.

Ce site est mis à jour par le Gouvernement de l'Ontario, Canada

Dernière mise à jour : le 20 juillet 2004

Adressez vos demandes de renseignements au :
Centre d'information du ministère des Finances
1 800 263-7965 sans frais (Canada/É.-U.)
1 800 668-5821 sans frais (Canada/É.-U.) pour le service en français
1 800 263-7776 sans frais (Ontario) ATS (téléimprimeur)
TAX FAX : 1 877 4-TAX-FAX ou 1 877 482-9329

Renseignements sur les droits d'auteur : © Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2004

Exonération de responsabilité et notifications

Page : 894  |