: Pension and Retirement Income System Reform

Archive

Proposed Framework for Target Benefit Multi-Employer Pension Plans

July 28, 2017

Ontario is taking further steps to strengthen and modernize workplace pension plans as part of its commitment to workers’ retirement security, while helping businesses to continue to compete and attract skilled workers. A new permanent and comprehensive framework for target benefit multi-employer pension plans would help ensure these plans are healthy and sustainable over the long term. The new framework would replace the time-limited funding regulations currently in place for specified Ontario multi-employer pension plans (SOMEPPs). 
The changes would provide these plans with a permanent exemption from funding on a solvency basis while also:

  • Enhancing long term plan sustainability and benefit security by requiring the funding of a reserve to assist plans in overcoming adverse events, such as poor investment returns
  • Ensuring target benefits are predictable by lowering the risk of benefit reductions
  • Improving transparency so plan participants understand how their plans are governed and operated. 

The government intends to introduce legislation in the fall to implement some of these changes and will be consulting on the details of new regulations, including the design of the reserve and how plans transition to the new framework. As an interim step, the government is extending the temporary solvency funding exemption currently in place for SOMEPPs by one year.

Read the Consultation Paper

A New Funding Framework for Defined Benefit Pension Plans in Ontario

May 19, 2017

The government is moving forward with changes that will help ensure workers’ retirement benefits are protected and maintained, while enabling business to grow and be more competitive. This new funding regime will be based on an enhanced going concern framework while requiring funding on a solvency basis if a plan’s funded status falls below 85 per cent

Read more about the new funding rules for defined benefit pension plans.

Solvency Funding Review

July 26, 2016

Ontario has released a consultation paper seeking feedback on the review of the funding framework for defined benefit pension plans in Ontario.

The 2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review announced the government’s intention to review the current solvency funding framework.  Feedback should be submitted to the Pension Initiatives Unit in the Pension Policy Branch of the Ontario Ministry of Finance by September 30, 2016.

Read more about the Solvency Funding Review

Read the Consultation Paper

Ontario Seeks Feedback on Proposed Framework for Target Benefit Multi-Employer Pension Plans

July 23, 2015

Ontario is seeking input on key policy issues associated with developing a new target benefit framework for multi-employer pension plans (MEPPs) in Ontario.

The 2015 Budget outlined Ontario's strategy for strengthening retirement income security, including fostering the development of target benefit pension plans. Going forward, Ontario will consult with affected stakeholders about the framework as well as clarifying the rules for multi-employer pension plans MEPPs that provide target benefits.

The proposed framework would address issues such as eligibility conditions, funding rules and governance requirements.

Because of the interest in this consultation, the deadline for submissions has been extended until Friday, October 9.

Read the Consultation Paper

SEPP to JSPP Merger and Conversion Framework Regulatory Posting

Jun 6, 2015

In 2014, the government amended the Pension Benefits Act (PBA) to create a framework that would facilitate single-employer pension plan (SEPP) mergers with existing jointly-sponsored pension plans (JSPPs) or conversions to new JSPPs.  This framework is limited to Ontario's broader public sector.

Strengthening Ontario's Retirement Income System

Nov 29, 2013

Ontario is asking for public input on Securing our Future: Strengthening Retirement Income in Ontario through Pooled Registered Pension Plans, a discussion paper that lays out a framework for implementing pooled registered pension plans in the province. 

In the 2013 Fall Economic Outlook and Fiscal Update, Ontario announced a bold new plan to strengthen retirement income.

Letters Of Credit For Employer Sponsors Of Public Sector Single Employer Pension Plans (SEPPS)

Oct 28, 2013

In May 2011, the government provided temporary solvency funding relief to public-sector SEPPs.  The relief is provided in two stages, with eligibility criteria attached to each stage. In exchange for the relief, plans commit to explore plan changes that would improve sustainability and affordability in the long term.

Since the introduction of the program, many of the plans that entered into the relief regime have made significant progress towards long-term sustainability.  However, continued low long-term interest rates and volatility in financial markets still present a significant risk for pension plans.

Additional Temporary Solvency Funding Relief For Employer Sponsors Of Public Sector Single Employer Pension Plans (SEPPS)

Oct 23, 2013

In May 2011, the government provided temporary solvency funding relief to public-sector SEPPs.  The relief is provided in two stages, with eligibility criteria attached to each stage. In exchange for the relief, plans commit to explore plan changes that would improve sustainability and affordability in the long term.

Since the introduction of the program, many of the plans that entered into the relief regime have made significant progress towards long-term sustainability.  However, continued low long-term interest rates and volatility in financial markets still present a significant risk for pension plans.

Making It Easier to Withdraw Locked-in Retirement Funds

June 24, 2013

Ontario is making it easier for people who need to access their locked-in retirement funds by restructuring its financial hardship unlocking program. 

Beginning January 1, 2014, individuals can apply directly to their financial institution for financial hardship withdrawals, rather than to the Superintendent of Financial Services. 

As well, the government is reducing the amount of evidence required to authorize a withdrawal, and the asset test that determines how much can be unlocked from an account will be replaced with a maximum withdrawal limit. 

New Regulation On Nortel Pensions

Jan 15, 2013

Ontario Regulation 10/13, made under the PBA came into force January 15, 2013.  The regulation, among other requirements, establishes the method for determining the commuted value for those retired members and other plan beneficiaries who are in receipt of a pension and decide to make use of the option to transfer the value of their pension entitlements to a Life Income Fund as a result of the wind up of the Nortel pension plans. The regulation provides that the commuted value shall be determined using the Canadian Institute of Actuaries Commuted Value Standard method which is the same method used to determine the value of all other lump-sum transfers for non-retired plan members on wind up of the pension plan, thereby providing for equal treatment of all plan beneficiaries.

Third Window for Applications for Temporary Solvency Funding Relief Opens for Public Sector Pension Plans

Dec 6, 2012

Changes made to the regulation under the Pension Benefits Act (PBA) in May 2011 provide certain pension plans in the public sector and broader public sector with the opportunity to take advantage of temporary solvency funding relief (Ontario Regulation 178/11).

Facilitating Pooled Asset Management for Ontario’s Public-Sector Institutions

Nov 16, 2012

In the 2012 Ontario Budget, the Ontario government announced its intention to create a framework that would facilitate the pooling of pension fund asset management. To get the best possible advice on this complex undertaking, William Morneau was appointed as Pension Investment Advisor in May 2012 to help determine the advantages of pooled asset management for Ontario’s public-sector pension funds and, if appropriate, a path to implementation. 

Filing Extension for Certain Pension Plans in the Public Sector and Broader Public Sector

June 26, 2012

In an effort to support sustainable public sector and BPS pension plans, the Minister of Finance announced in the 2010 Budget that the government would consider providing additional temporary solvency funding relief to certain single employer, defined benefit or hybrid pension plans in the public sector and the broader public sector, including Ontario university pension plans.

Temporary Solvency Funding Relief

June 22, 2012

The 2012 Ontario Budget announced a proposed extension of the 2009 solvency funding relief measures to sponsors of private-sector defined benefit plans, in light of the pension funding challenges that resulted from recent declines in long-term interest rates and low investment returns.

Province Embarks on Consultations to Enhance Pension Fund Investment Efficiencies

May 31, 2012

The 2012 Ontario Budget includes strong action to balance the budget and to maintain gains made in education and health care. The Budget also presents a strong plan to move forward and transform public services – to change the way they are delivered to give Ontario families better value for money and better results.

Province Embarks on Consultations with Jointly Sponsored Pension Plans

April 25, 2012

The 2012 Ontario Budget includes strong action to balance the budget and to maintain gains made in education and health care.  If passed, the plan would include $17.7 billion in savings and actions to contain cost increases and $4.4 billion in revenue-raising measures.

The Budget also presents a strong plan to move forward and transform public services – to change the way they are delivered to give Ontario families better value for money and better results.

Second Window for Applications for Temporary Solvency Funding Relief Opens for Public Sector Pension Plans

November 7, 2011

Changes made to the regulation under the Pension Benefits Act in May 2011 provide some pension plans in the public sector and broader public sector with the opportunity to take advantage of temporary solvency funding relief.

In exchange for the relief, plan sponsors are expected to adopt plan changes that would make their plans more sustainable in the long term.  The process could include negotiations with collective bargaining agents.

Greater Flexibility For Some Jointly Sponsored Pension Plans

May 26, 2011

Ontario is taking another step toward modernizing pensions.

The government is providing more flexibility for the funding of jointly sponsored pension plans (JSPPs) – a kind of pension plan where risk is shared between employers and employees. Contributions required from members and employers who participate in these plans would be more stable and predictable. Plans would also be required to disclose more information to their members, who as joint sponsors have a say in how their pension plan is governed.

Providing Eligible Pension Plans Temporary Solvency Funding Relief

May 25, 2011

Changes under the Pension Benefits Act will provide some pension plans in the public sector and broader public sector with temporary solvency funding relief.

In exchange for changes that would make plans more sustainable in the long run, a new regulation provides certain pension plans with temporary solvency funding relief. This relief allows plan sponsors to make lower payments into their pension plans for a fixed number of years while negotiating and implementing plan changes – such as higher member contribution rates and/or lower benefits earned in the future.

Ontario Making Progress On Pension Rules

May 20, 2011

Ontario is moving forward with Quebec to create rules that will make the pension regulatory environment more efficient and transparent.

The Agreement Respecting Multi-Jurisdictional Pension Plans would establish clear rules on how multi-jurisdictional pension plans (MJPPs) are administered in Ontario and Quebec.

Ontario Updates Pension Investment Rules

April 12, 2011

The Ontario government has amended Regulation 909 under the Ontario Pension Benefits Act (PBA), effective March 25, 2011, to update the investment rules applicable to Ontario-registered pension plans.  This follows through on the commitment made in the Ontario 2010 Budget to adopt changes to the federal investment rules, if appropriate, for Ontario pension plans. Ontario adopts by reference sections of the federal Pension Benefits Standards Regulations (PBSR) and Schedule III.

Savings Targets Set For Public Sector Pension Plans

February 10, 2011

Today the Ontario government proposed specific sustainability targets for public sector and broader public sector pension plans.  In order to qualify for temporary pension solvency relief the plans must move towards the targets.  The purpose of these measures is to minimize the need for significant solvency deficit payments in the short term and place pension plans on a more sustainable track for the long term.

Ontario Government Moves Forward With Solution for Nortel Pensioners

December 17, 2010

Legislative amendments to be introduced would, if passed, respect pensioner choice while safeguarding benefit security.

Read Minister Duncan’s letter to Nortel Retirees and former employees Protection Canada

Frequently Asked Questions for Nortel Pensioners

Securing Our Retirement Future

October 29, 2010

Ontario is asking for input on proposed reforms to Canada's Retirement Income System that would help strengthen retirement incomes in the future.

News Release: Ontario Seeks to Strengthen Canada’s Retirement Income System

Further Improvements To Pensions For Ontarians

October 19, 2010

Reforms to be introduced today will further strengthen Ontarians' pensions, addressing concerns of workers, retirees, and employers.

Backgrounder: Ontario Government Taking Additional Steps to Strengthen Ontario's Pension System

Further Strengthening Pensions

August 24, 2010

Ontario will propose a broad package of reforms this fall that would help strengthen Ontarians' pensions.

Backgrounder: Ontario Government Taking Additional Steps to Strengthen Ontario's Pension System

The Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund Final Report

Introduction

The Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund (PBGF) provides protection to Ontario members and beneficiaries of privately sponsored single-employer defined benefit pension plans in the event of plan sponsor insolvency. It is the only fund of its kind in Canada and is administered by the Superintendent of Financial Services for the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO). The PBGF is intended to be self financing through annual premiums based on per-member and partially risk-related fees. Participation in the PBGF is mandatory for most defined benefit pension plans registered in Ontario.

Read the Full report

Improving Ontario's Pension System

December 9, 2009

Ontario is proposing to strengthen and modernize the employment pension system to help pension plans adapt to economic changes while balancing the need for benefit security.

Employment Pension System Reform - Frequently Asked Questions

Consultations: Réforme du système de revenu de retraite et des régimes de retraite

Archive

Cadre proposé pour les régimes de retraite interentreprises à prestations cibles

29 juillet 2017

L’Ontario prend des mesures supplémentaires pour renforcer et moderniser les régimes de retraite d’employeur dans la foulée de son engagement à protéger la sécurité de la retraite des travailleurs. Un nouveau cadre permanent et global visant les régimes de retraite interentreprises à prestations cibles est mis en oeuvre pour remplacer les règlements sur la capitalisation d’une durée d’application limitée qui régissent actuellement les régimes de retraite interentreprises ontariens déterminés (RRIOD). Ces modifications accorderaient aux RRIOD une dispense permanente relative à la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité et comprendraient également :

  • l’obligation d’établir une réserve qui aiderait les régimes à parer aux contrecoups;
  • la prolongation de la période d’amortissement de 12 à 15 ans pour la capitalisation des régimes selon l’approche de continuité;
  • une nouvelle base de calcul des prestations versées lorsqu’un participant cesse de participer à un régime et lorsqu’un régime est liquidé.

À titre de mesure temporaire, le gouvernement prolonge d’un an la dispense temporaire relative à la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité qui s’applique actuellement aux RRIOD.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le nouveau cadre visant les régimes de retraite interentreprises à prestations cibles.

Cadre régissant les régimes de retraite interentreprises à prestations cibles

Un nouveau cadre de capitalisation pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées en Ontario

19 mai 2017

Le gouvernement va de l’avant et adopte des changements qui contribueront à maintenir et à protéger les prestations de retraite des travailleurs tout en permettant aux entreprises de croître et d’être plus concurrentielles. Les nouvelles modalités de capitalisation seront fondées sur une base de continuité accrue, mais exigeront une approche sur une base de solvabilité dans l’éventualité où la capitalisation d’un régime est inférieure à 85 %.

Pour en savoir davantage sur les nouvelles règles de capitalisation des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées

Examen de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité

26 juillet 2016

L’Ontario a publié un document de consultation sollicitant des commentaires au sujet de l’examen du cadre de capitalisation des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées de l’Ontario.

Dans Perspectives économiques et revue financière de 2015, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention d’examiner le cadre de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité. Les commentaires doivent être adressés à l'Unité des initiatives en matière de régimes retraite de la Direction des politiques des régimes de retraite du ministère de Finances de l'Ontario au plus tard le 30 septembre 2016.

Consulter l’Examen de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité

Consulter le document de consultation

L'Ontario sollicite des commentaires au sujet du cadre proposé pour les régimes de retraite interentreprises à prestations cibles

23 juillet 2015

L'Ontario sollicite des commentaires à propos d'importantes questions stratégiques concernant l'établissement d'un nouveau cadre de prestations cibles pour les régimes de retraite interenteprises (RRIE) en Ontario.

Le budget 2015 décrivait la stratégie mise en œuvre par la province pour renforcer la sécurité du revenu de retraite, notamment en favorisant l'établissement de régimes de retraite à prestations cibles. L'Ontario consultera prochainement les intervenants concernés au sujet du cadre proposé en plus de préciser les règles relatives aux RRIE qui versent des prestations cibles.

Le cadre proposé traiterait de questions telles que les critères d'admissibilités, les règles de financement et les exigences en matière de gouvernance.

Suite à l'intérêt suscité par cette consultation, l'échéance pour envoyer vos commentaires a été reportée au vendredi 9 octobre.

Consulter le document

Cadre relatif à la fusion ou à la conversion des RREU en RRC Projet de Foire

25 juin 2015

En 2014, le gouvernement a modifié la Loi sur les régimes de retraite (LRR) afin de créer un cadre qui faciliterait la fusion de régimes de retraite d'employeur unique (RREU) avec des régimes de retraite conjoints (RRC) existants ou leur conversion en nouveaux RRC. Ce cadre se limite au secteur parapublic de l'Ontario. 

Renforcer le système de revenu de retraite de l'Ontario

29 novembre 2013

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario demande l'avis de la population au sujet du document de consultation intitulé Assurer notre avenir : Renforcer le revenu de retraite en Ontario grâce à des régimes de pension agréés collectifs, qui décrit un cadre pour la mise en oeuvre des régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC) dans la province.

Dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario de 2013, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a annoncé un nouveau plan audacieux visant à renforcer le revenu de retraite.

Lettres de crédit pour les employeurs promoteurs des régimes de retraite à employeur unique (RREU) du secteur public

28 octobre 2013

En mai 2011, le gouvernement a mis en œuvre des mesures temporaires d'allègement de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité pour les RREU du secteur public. Cet allègement est accordé en deux étapes, chaque étape étant assortie de critères d’admissibilité. En échange, les promoteurs de régimes de retraite s’engagent à étudier des modifications à apporter aux régimes qui permettraient d’améliorer leur viabilité et leur capacité financière à long terme.
 
Depuis l’instauration du programme, de nombreux régimes de retraite participant au régime d’allègement ont accompli d’importants progrès en vue d’atteindre une viabilité à long terme. Par contre, la poursuite de la faiblesse des taux d’intérêt à long terme et la volatilité des marchés financiers représentent toujours un risque appréciable pour les régimes de retraite.

Allègement supplémentaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité pour les employeurs promoteurs des régimes de retraite à employeur unique (RREU) du secteur public

23 octobre 2013

En mai 2011, le gouvernement a mis en œuvre des mesures temporaires d'allègement de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité pour les RREU du secteur public. Cet allègement est accordé en deux étapes, chaque étape étant assortie de critères d’admissibilité. En échange, les promoteurs de régimes de retraite s’engagent à étudier des modifications à apporter aux régimes qui permettraient d’améliorer leur viabilité et leur capacité financière à long terme.
 

Depuis l’instauration du programme, de nombreux régimes de retraite participant au régime d’allègement ont accompli d’importants progrès en vue d’atteindre une viabilité à long terme. Par contre, la poursuite de la faiblesse des taux d’intérêt à long terme et la volatilité des marchés financiers représentent toujours un risque appréciable pour les régimes de retraite.

Simplification des retraits des comptes de retraite immobilisés

24 juin 2013

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario permet aux personnes d'avoir plus facilement accès à leur compte de retraite immobilisé en restructurant son programme d'accès aux comptes immobilisés en cas de difficultés financières.  

À compter du 1er janvier 2014, les personnes pourront présenter une demande de retrait en cas de difficultés financières directement auprès de leur institution financière plutôt qu'auprès du surintendant des services financiers.  

Par ailleurs, le gouvernement réduit le nombre de documents justificatifs requis pour autoriser un retrait, et la « vérification des actifs » servant à établir le montant pouvant être débloqué d'un compte sera remplacée par un plafond de retrait. 

Un nouveau règlement concernant les pensions de Nortel

 

15 janvier 2013

Le Règlement de l’Ontario 10/13, pris en application de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, est entré en vigueur le 15 janvier 2013. Le Règlement établit entre autres la méthode à employer afin de déterminer la valeur de rachat pour les participants retraités et les autres bénéficiaires du régime qui touchent une pension et décident de se prévaloir de l’option de transfert de la valeur de leurs droits à pension vers un fonds de revenu viager à la suite de la liquidation des régimes de retraite de Nortel. Le Règlement prévoit que la valeur de rachat sera déterminée au moyen de la méthode prescrite dans la norme de pratique de l’Institut canadien des actuaires relative à la valeur actualisée, qui sert également à déterminer la valeur de tous les autres transferts de sommes forfaitaires pour les participants non retraités à un régime de retraite à la liquidation du régime en question, ce qui permet de traiter équitablement tous les bénéficiaires du régime.

Ouverture de la troisième période de demandes d’allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité aux régimes de retraite du secteur public

6 decembre 2012

Des modifications apportées au règlement pris en application de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite (LRR) en mai 2011 ont pour effet de procurer un allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité à certains régimes de retraite des secteurs public et parapublic (Règlement de l’Ontario 178/11).

Faciliter la gestion d’actifs mis en commun pour les établissements du secteur public de l’Ontario

 

16 novembre 2012

Dans le Budget de l’Ontario 2012, le gouvernement ontarien a fait part de son intention de créer un cadre de travail visant à faciliter la gestion d’actifs de régimes de retraite mis en commun. Au mois de mai, afin de recevoir les conseils les plus judicieux sur ce dossier complexe, le gouvernement a nommé William Morneau Conseiller spécial sur les régimes de retraite pour définir les avantages d’une gestion d’actifs mis en commun pour les caisses de retraite du secteur public de l’Ontario et, le cas échéant, établir un plan de mise en œuvre approprié.

Demande de prolongation de certains régimes de retraite des secteurs public et parapublic

 

26 juin 2012

Pour essayer d'apporter un soutien à des régimes de retraite durables dans les secteurs public et parapublic, le ministre des Finances a annoncé dans le Budget de 2010 que le gouvernement envisageait de proposer d'autres mesures d'allégement temporaire de la capitalisation à certains régimes de retraite à entreprise unique, à cotisations déterminées ou hybrides dans les secteurs public et parapublic, parmi lesquels les régimes de retraite des universités ontariennes.

Allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité

 

22 juin 2012

Dans son budget 2012, le gouvernement de l’Ontario  a annoncé le projet de prolonger les mesures d’allégement de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité de 2009 pour les promoteurs des régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées du secteur privé, compte tenu des problèmes de financement associés à la baisse des taux d’intérêt à long terme et aux faibles rendements des placements en vigueur depuis quelque temps.

La province entreprend des consultations en vue de rehausser l’efficience des investissements des caisses de retraite

 

31 mai 2012

Le budget de l’Ontario de 2012 comporte des mesures décisives visant à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire et à conserver les gains réalisés en éducation et dans les soins de santé. Le budget présente également un plan vigoureux pour aller de l’avant et transformer les services publics, de façon à changer leur mode de prestation afin de permettre aux familles de l’Ontario d’en avoir plus pour leur argent et d’obtenir de meilleurs résultats.

Les régimes de retraite conjoints : la province entame des consultations

 

25 avril 2012

Le Budget de l’Ontario 2012 comporte des mesures vigoureuses pour viser l’équilibre et maintenir les gains réalisés en éducation et dans les soins de santé.   S’il est adopté, le plan comportera des économies de 17,7 milliards de dollars et des mesures visant à maîtriser les hausses de coûts, ainsi que des mesures d’augmentation des revenus de 4,4 milliards de dollars.

Le budget présente également un plan vigoureux pour progresser et transformer les services publics, pour changer leur mode de prestation afin de donner aux familles de l’Ontario plus de valeur pour leur argent et de meilleurs résultats.

Seconde période de demandes d’allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité ouverte aux régimes de retraite du secteur public

 

7 novembre 2011

Des modifications apportées au règlement pris en application de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite en mai 2011 ont pour effet de procurer un allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité à certains régimes de retraite des secteurs public et parapublic.

Les promoteurs de régimes de retraite doivent, en contrepartie, adopter les changements au régime qui accroîtront la viabilité de leur régime à long terme. Le processus pourrait comprendre des négociations avec des agents de négociation collective.

Plus grande marge de manœuvre à l'égard de certains régimes de retraite conjoints

 

26 mai 2011

L’Ontario franchit une autre étape vers la modernisation du secteur des pensions.

Le gouvernement assouplit les règles de capitalisation des régimes de retraite conjoints – un type de régime où les risques sont partagés entre les employeurs et les employés. Les cotisations requises par les participants et les employeurs participant à ces régimes seraient alors plus stables et plus prévisibles. En outre, les promoteurs de régimes seraient tenus de divulguer davantage de renseignements à leurs participants qui, en tant que promoteurs conjoints, auraient désormais leur mot à dire dans la gestion du régime de retraite.

Allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité dans le cas des régimes de retraite admissibles

 

25 mai 2011

Des modifications apportées à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite auront pour effet de procurer un allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité à certains régimes de retraite dans les secteurs public et parapublic.

À l’appui des modifications qui accroîtraient la viabilité des régimes à long terme, un nouveau règlement procure désormais un allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité à certains régimes de retraite.

L'Ontario réalise des progrès sur la question de la réglementation des régimes de retraite

 

20 mai 2011

L'Ontario va de l'avant avec le Québec pour établir des règles destinées à rehausser l'efficacité et la transparence de la réglementation des régimes de retraite.

L'Entente sur les régimes de retraite relevant de plus d'une autorité gouvernementale établirait des règles claires sur l'administration des régimes de retraite relevant de plus d'une autorité gouvernementale en Ontario et au Québec.

L’Ontario actualise les règles de placement des régimes de retraite

 

12 avril 2011

Le gouvernement ontarien a modifié le Règlement 909 pris en application de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite de l’Ontario, en date du 25 mars 2011, dans le but d’actualiser les règles de placement applicables aux régimes de retraite enregistrés en Ontario. Cela fait suite à l’engagement pris dans le Budget de l’Ontario 2010 visant, le cas échéant, à adopter des modifications aux règles fédérales de placement applicables aux régimes de retraite de l’Ontario. L’Ontario adopte par renvoi des articles du Règlement sur les normes des prestations de pension (Canada) et de l’Annexe III.

Économies visées pour les régimes de retraite du secteur public

 

10 février 2011

Le gouvernement ontarien a proposé aujourd’hui certains objectifs de viabilité précis à l’égard des régimes de retraite des secteurs public et parapublic. Pour se prévaloir d’un allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité, les régimes doivent refléter leur progression vers l’atteinte de ces objectifs. Ces mesures ont pour but de minimiser le besoin de verser des paiements importants pour combler les déficits à court terme, et de mettre les régimes de retraite sur une voie plus viable à long terme.

Le gouvernement ontarien trouve une solution pour les pensionnés de Nortel

 

17 décembre 2010

Le gouvernement proposera des modifications législatives qui, si elles sont adoptées, permettront de respecter le choix des pensionnés tout en sauvegardant les prestations.

Lire la lettre du ministre Duncan adressée à Sauvegarde des Retraités et anciens salariés de Nortel Canada.

Foire aux questions pour les pensionnaires de Nortel

Assurer l’avenir de notre retraite

 

29 octobre 2010

L’Ontario souhaite recevoir des observations sur les réformes proposées du système de revenu de retraite du Canada qui contribueraient à renforcer les revenus de retraite à l’avenir. 

Communiqué : L’Ontario souhaite renforcer le système de revenu de retraite du Canada

D'autres améliorations au système des pensions pour les Ontariennes et Ontariens

 

19 octobre 2010

Les réformes qui seront déposées aujourd’hui renforceront encore plus le système des pensions des Ontariennes et des Ontariens et répondront aux préoccupations des travailleurs, des retraités et des employeurs. 

Document d'information : Le gouvernement ontarien prend des mesures supplémentaires pour renforcer le système des pensions de l'Ontario

Le secteur des pensions encore renforcé

24 août 2010

L'Ontario proposera cet automne un vaste ensemble de réformes qui contribueraient à renforcer le secteur des pensions en Ontario.

Document d'information : Le gouvernement ontarien prend des mesures supplémentaires pour renforcer le système des pensions de l'Ontario

Plus grande marge de manœuvre à l'égard de certains régimes de retraite conjoints

 

26 mai 2011

L’Ontario franchit une autre étape vers la modernisation du secteur des pensions.

Le gouvernement assouplit les règles de capitalisation des régimes de retraite conjoints – un type de régime où les risques sont partagés entre les employeurs et les employés. Les cotisations requises par les participants et les employeurs participant à ces régimes seraient alors plus stables et plus prévisibles. En outre, les promoteurs de régimes seraient tenus de divulguer davantage de renseignements à leurs participants qui, en tant que promoteurs conjoints, auraient désormais leur mot à dire dans la gestion du régime de retraite.

Mettre les régimes de retraite universitaires sur la voie de la viabilité

5 août 2010

On accorde aux universités de l'Ontario plus de temps pour compenser le déficit de solvabilité de leurs régimes de retraite, pourvu qu'elles prennent des mesures pour rendre ces régimes plus viables sur le plan financier. 

Amélioration du système des régimes de retraite de l'Ontario

9 décembre 2009

L'Ontario propose de consolider et de moderniser le système des régimes de retraite d'employeurs afin de faciliter l'adaptation des régimes aux changements économiques tout en répondant au besoin d'une plus grande sécurité des prestations.

Réforme du système des régimes de retraite d’employeurs - Foire aux questions