: Frequently Asked Questions for Nortel Pensioners

Q1- What is the government proposing?

The government will introduce legislation that would, if passed, provide Nortel pensioners with the choice to opt out of conventional life annuity purchases and transfer the commuted value (CV) of their pensions to any Life Income Fund (LIF) account.  If they do not choose, annuities will be purchased on their behalf.

This new option would parallel the option already available to plan members who are not yet receiving a pension.

It parallels a recently-introduced provision in Quebec for pensioners in plans that are being wound up as a result of a sponsor’s insolvency. 

Q2 - Why is a life annuity considered the default option?

The purchase of an annuity is the normal outcome for pensioners following a pension plan wind up.   The annuity is purchased by the plan administrator on behalf of the pensioner and provides a retirement income for the life of the pensioner, and survivor, if any. 

Q3 - What happens if a pensioner does not want to transfer their commuted value to a LIF?

If a pensioner does not wish to opt out of the conventional annuity purchase, then the Plan Administrator will purchase an annuity.   This annuity will be based on the pension to which the pensioner is entitled upon the wind up of the plan.  If the pension had joint and survivor benefits, then the annuity will provide a lifetime payment with joint and survivor benefits.

Pensioners who do not expressly choose to opt out will have an annuity purchased for them.

Q4 - What happens if a pensioner wants to transfer their commuted value to a LIF?

If the legislation is passed, pensioners who wish to transfer the commuted value of their pensions to a Life Income Fund account will be able to do so.

If a pensioner has selected this transfer option in writing, the plan administrator will transfer the commuted value of their pension to a LIF account established by them at the financial institution of their choice.

LIFs pay an annual income, but that amount can vary from year to year.  There is a minimum percentage that must be withdrawn from the LIF each year and a maximum amount that may be withdrawn in any year. However there is no guarantee that there will be enough money in the LIF to pay the owner an income for his or her lifetime. The LIF owner can also name a beneficiary to receive the funds from the LIF after they die.

Q5 - What is the government’s position on the NRPC’s Financial Sponsorship Model (FSM)?

The proposed legislation would allow a pensioner to choose to transfer his or her commuted value into any LIF instead of receiving a life annuity. The Nortel pensioners will have to consider their own individual options. 

Q6 - Will the FSM be the only choice for Nortel pensioners if they choose to transfer their commuted value?

No.  If the legislation passes, pensioners who choose to transfer the commuted value of their pension to a LIF will have the choice of a registered LIF offered by any financial institution.

: Foire aux questions pour les pensionnaires de Nortel

Q1 : Que le gouvernement propose-t-il?

Le gouvernement présentera une mesure législative qui, si elle est adoptée, donnera aux retraités de Nortel le choix de se retirer du programme d’achat de rentes viagères traditionnelles et de transférer les valeurs de rachat de leur pension à un fonds de revenu viager (FRV). S’ils n’en décident pas ainsi, l’achat des rentes sera effectué en leur nom.

Cette nouvelle option vient en parallèle à celle déjà offerte aux participants au régime qui ne reçoivent pas encore de pension.

Elle vient en parallèle à une disposition présentée récemment au Québec, qui vise les retraités touchés par l’insolvabilité d’un promoteur.  

Q2 : Pourquoi une rente viagère est-elle considérée comme l’option par défaut?  

L’achat d’une rente est la procédure que les retraités suivent normalement à la liquidation d’un régime. La rente est achetée par l’administrateur du régime pour le compte du retraité, et génère un revenu de retraite à vie au retraité et à son survivant, le cas échéant.   

Q3 : Qu’arrive-t-il si un retraité ne veut pas transférer ses valeurs de rachat à un FRV?

Si un retraité ne veut pas se retirer du programme d’achat de rentes traditionnelles, l’administrateur du régime souscrira alors une rente. Cette dernière sera calculée en fonction de la pension à laquelle le retraité a droit à la liquidation du régime. Si elle offrait des prestations de réversion, la rente sera versée à vie avec des prestations de réversion.

Une rente sera achetée pour les retraités qui ne choisissent pas expressément de se retirer.

Q4 : Qu’arrive-t-il si un retraité veut transférer ses valeurs de rachat à un FRV?

Si la mesure législative est adoptée, les retraités qui veulent transférer les valeurs de rachat de leur pension à un fonds de revenu viager pourront le faire.

Si un retraité a choisi cette option de transfert par écrit, le transfert des valeurs de rachat de sa pension au FRV qu’il aura établi à l’institution financière de son choix sera effectué par l’administrateur du régime.

Les FRV versent un revenu annuel, mais son montant peut varier d’une année à l’autre. On est tenu de retenir un pourcentage minimum du FRV tous les ans, et on peut retirer un pourcentage maximum tous les ans. Cependant, il n’est pas garanti que le FRV ait suffisamment d’argent pour verser au détenteur un revenu à vie. Le détenteur d’un FRV peut également nommer un bénéficiaire du fonds après son décès.

Q5 : Quelle est la position du gouvernement sur le modèle de parrainage financier (MPF) du SRNC?

Le projet de loi permettra à un retraité d’avoir le choix de transférer ses valeurs de rachat à un fonds de revenu viager au lieu de recevoir une rente viagère. Les retraités de Nortel devront examiner individuellement leurs propres options. 

Q6 : Le MPF sera-t-il le seul choix qu’auront les retraités de Nortel s’ils décident de transférer leurs valeurs de rachat?  

Non. Si la mesure législative est adoptée, les retraités qui décident de transférer leurs valeurs de rachat de leur pension à un FRV auront le choix de le transférer à un FRV enregistré, offert dans n’importe quelle institution financière.