: Strengthening Ontario's Retirement Income System

Province Releases Discussion Paper on Pooled Registered Pension Plans

Ontario is asking for public input on Securing our Future: Strengthening Retirement Income in Ontario through Pooled Registered Pension Plansa discussion paper that lays out a framework for implementing pooled registered pension plans in the province. 

In the 2013 Fall Economic Outlook and Fiscal Update, Ontario announced a bold new plan to strengthen retirement income. The plan consists of three strategies:

  • Enhancing the Canada Pension Plan and introducing retirement savings tools like PRPPs and target benefit plans for those without workplace pensions.
  • Working to reduce costs and improve financial literacy for those with self-directed savings.
  • Helping to ensure Ontario's defined benefit plans remain sustainable.

The introduction of PRPPs would offer employees and the self-employed an additional retirement savings tool and could complement an enhancement to the Canada Pension Plan.

Creating a strong and secure retirement income system is part of the government's plan to invest in people, one of the three pillars of the government's economic plan to build modern infrastructure and support a dynamic and innovative business climate across Ontario. 

Quick Facts

  • Research indicates that many people could face inadequate retirement savings, due in part to an aging population with increasing life expectancy and declining coverage of traditional employer pension plans.
  • The government has supported many changes to Ontario’s pension system in recent years, including implementing reforms from the 2008 Report of the Expert Commission on Pensions and releasing Securing Our Retirement Future: Consulting with Ontarians on Canada’s Retirement Income System in 2010.
  • PRPPs are a new form of tax-assisted retirement savings for individuals. They are intended to make it easier to save for retirement by providing people with a low-cost savings vehicle that is professionally managed and can move with the employee through their career.
  • The Canadian government recently implemented legislative changes necessary to support the introduction of PRPPs for employees under federal jurisdiction.
  • The 2013 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review committed the government to holding consultations before introducing legislation to make PRPPs available in the province.
  • Members of the public wishing to submit responses to the paper must do by Jan. 20, 2014 either by email or by sending to: Framework for Pooled Registered Pension Plans Strategic Pension Reform Secretariat Ministry of Finance 7 Queen’s Park Crescent 5th Floor Frost South,Toronto, ON M7A 1Y7.

: Renforcer le système de revenu de retraite de l'Ontario

Le gouvernement provincial publie un document de consultation sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario demande l'avis de la population au sujet du document de consultation intitulé Assurer notre avenir : Renforcer le revenu de retraite en Ontario grâce à des régimes de pension agréés collectifs, qui décrit un cadre pour la mise en oeuvre des régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC) dans la province.

Dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario de 2013, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a annoncé un nouveau plan audacieux visant à renforcer le revenu de retraite. Ce plan repose sur trois stratégies :

  • Étoffer le Régime de pensions du Canada et mettre en oeuvre des mécanismes d'épargne-retraite comme les RPAC et les régimes à prestations cibles pour les personnes sans régime de retraite d'employeur.
  • Réduire les coûts et améliorer la littératie financière pour les personnes qui gèrent elles‑mêmes leurs épargnes.
  • Contribuer à assurer la viabilité des régimes à prestations déterminées de l'Ontario.

Les RPAC offriraient aux salariés et aux travailleurs autonomes un mécanisme d'épargne supplémentaire et pourraient étoffer le Régime de pensions du Canada.

La création d'un système de revenu de retraite solide et sûr s'inscrit dans le cadre du plan du gouvernement ayant pour but d'investir dans les gens, un des trois piliers du plan économique du gouvernement visant à construire une infrastructure moderne et à soutenir un climat des affaires dynamique et novateur en Ontario.

Faits en bref

  • Des recherches indiquent que, pour un grand nombre de personnes, l’argent épargné pour la retraite pourrait être insuffisant en raison notamment du vieillissement de la population, de l’augmentation de l’espérance de vie et de la baisse de couverture des régimes traditionnels de pension d’employeurs.
  • Le gouvernement a appuyé un grand nombre de modifications au système de pensions de l’Ontario au cours des dernières années. Par exemple, il a mis en oeuvre les réformes recommandées dans le Rapport de 2008 de la Commission d’experts en régimes de retraite et publié le document intituléAssurer l’avenir de notre retraite : Consultation des Ontariens et Ontariennes sur le système de revenu de retraite du Canada en 2010.
  • Les RPAC sont un nouveau type d’épargne-retraite donnant droit à une aide fiscale. Ils ont pour but d’aider les particuliers à épargner pour leur retraite en leur offrant des instruments d’épargne peu coûteux qui sont gérés par des professionnels et peuvent être transférés d’un employeur à un autre.
  • Le gouvernement canadien a apporté récemment les modifications législatives nécessaires pour permettre l’instauration de RPAC pour les travailleurs des secteurs de compétence fédérale.
  • Dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2013, le gouvernement s’est engagé à tenir des consultations avant de déposer un projet de loi visant à instaurer les RPAC dans la province.
  • Les personnes qui souhaitent faire part de leurs commentaires au sujet du document de consultation doivent le faire au plus tard le 20 janvier 2014 par courriel ou par la poste à : Cadre de mise en oeuvre des régimes de pension agréés collectifs Secrétariat de réforme stratégique des régimes de retraite Ministère des Finances Édifice Frost Sud, 5e étage 7, Queen’s Park Crescent Toronto (Ontario) M7A 1Y7