Terms in italics are defined elsewhere in the glossary.

Actuarial Valuation: Pension plan administrators must submit an actuarial valuation to the regulator — normally every three years — disclosing the plan's financial status and establishing the level of contributions necessary to maintain its solvency. In Ontario, this report must be based on both going concern and solvency assumptions and be prepared by an actuary.

Actuary: Under the PBA, an actuary must be a Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries to be eligible to prepare all actuarial reports, as well as other calculations necessary for the administration of pension plans.

Administrators: Administrators ensure that the plan is properly funded, manage the plan's investments and disburse benefits to retirees. Administrators may seek advice from professionals (actuaries, lawyers and accountants) and engage service providers (insurance companies and financial institutions). They also appoint custodial trustees to hold pension funds separately from any other funds. In many SEPPs, the administrator is a committee appointed by the employer-sponsor; however, in other SEPPs, as well as in JSPPs and in MEPPs, active (and occasionally retired) members, may be represented on these bodies, and in some instances actually control them. While MEPP boards of trustees must act as plan administrators themselves, the governing bodies of SEPPs and JSPPS may appoint an administrator to administer the plan on their behalf.

Annuity: An annuity is a contract purchased from and guaranteed by an insurance company to provide pension payments to someone for their lifetime. When future pension commitments are covered by such a contract, they are said to be “annuitized.”

Ancillary Benefits: DB plans, in addition to lifetime pension benefits, may provide ancillary benefits such as bridging benefits and enhanced early retirement benefits.

Commuted Value: Members who leave a plan before reaching the age at which they would be entitled to a pension may receive instead a one-time payment based on its commuted value — the current value of anticipated future payments according to approved actuarial assumptions.

Contributions: Contributions to a DB plan are payments made in accordance with an actuarial valuation in an amount sufficient to ensure that the plan can provide the promised benefits. Contributions are often the sole obligation of the employer or sponsor. However, some “contributory plans” provide that members pay a fixed percentage of their wages or a set amount per hour worked, while the employer pays any residual amounts required to maintain the solvency of the plan (but never less than 50% of its cost). In JSPPs, the contributions required of all parties may fluctuate according to the funding needs of the plan.

Contribution Holiday: If an ongoing plan is in surplus, with more assets than liabilities, excess assets may be used to offset contributions for the current service costs of funding ongoing pension accruals. When a plan is using surplus to reduce or suspend such contributions, it is taking a contribution holiday.

Current Service Cost: The current service cost or normal cost of current pension accruals is based on a pension plan's going concern valuation and must be paid into the pension fund each year.

Deficiency: Plans are in deficiency or under-funded if they have insufficient assets to meet their anticipated obligations. Generally, when a plan is under-funded, the sponsor must eliminate the deficiency by making special payments, which are spread (amortized) over a period of years. (Plans with fixed contributions may take other measures to address under-funding.)

Defined benefit (DB) pension plans: DB plans promise to provide employees upon retirement with a pension calculated according to some specified formula: a percentage of their career average earnings (CAE plans), or of their average earnings during their final years of service (FAE plans); or a fixed sum per month for each month or year worked (flat benefit plans).

Defined contribution (DC) pension plans: DC plans promise to provide employees upon retirement with a sum representing fixed monthly contributions by their employer (and sometimes by the employees as well), plus any return on the investment of these contributions achieved prior to retirement. In many DB plans, employees either select from a limited range of investment options or manage the investment of the fund themselves.

Discount Rate: The discount rate is the interest rate used to determine the present value of a future stream of pension payments.

Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO): FSCO is responsible for administering a number of the statutes that regulate the financial sector, including the PBA. FSCO's chief executive officer and primary regulator is “the Superintendent.” FSCO is established under the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act.

Financial Services Tribunal (FST): The FST, established under the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, is an adjudicative body that hears appeals from the Superintendent and decides other pension disputes.

Fully Funded: A plan is fully funded if it has sufficient assets to provide for all accrued benefits.

Going Concern Valuation: This method of pension valuation assumes that the plan will be ongoing and that its assets must be sufficient to meet its liabilities (the pension benefits promised) when they come due in the future. If a plan is under-funded on a going concern basis, it has an “unfunded liability” which must be “amortized” over 15 years. If a plan is over-funded, it has a surplus.

Indexation: Pension plans may provide for periodic adjustments to pension benefits (usually post-retirement) according to a formula based on a recognized index such as the Consumer Price Index.

Jointly Sponsored Pension Plan (JSPP): JSPPs are DB plans in which the employer or employer representatives and the members share responsibility for its funding and governance. JSPPs may be either MEPPs or SEPPs.

Members: The members of pension plans are “active” if they are accruing benefits on a current service basis and “deferred” if they have ceased to be employed and cannot accrue future benefits, but will nonetheless be entitled to a pension on reaching their normal retirement age. Under the PBA, members who have retired and are receiving pensions are referred to as “former members.” Often the active, deferred and retired members of a plan are collectively identified as “beneficiaries.”

Multi-employer Pension Plan (MEPP): MEPPs are pension plans covering workers employed by a number of employers, usually in the same economic sector. They are customarily funded by fixed contributions; in the event these contributions are insufficient to pay for the benefits provided, the benefits may have to be reduced. MEPPs are administered by boards of trustees at least 50% of whom must represent the active members of the plan. MEPPs in which funding and governance are both shared with the members may qualify as JSPPs.

Minister of Finance: The Minister of Finance is the minister responsible for pension policy and regulation in Ontario.

Occupational pension plans: Occupational or workplace pensions are provided by employers to their employees either pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement, or because the employer believes that having a pension plan will assist it in attracting or retaining workers. However, employers are not required by law in Ontario to provide such pensions. By contrast, all workers and employers must contribute to and are covered by the Canada / Quebec Pension Plan. The two main models of occupational pension plans are DB plans and DC plans. Many variants and hybrids also exist.

Pension Benefits Act (PBA): The PBA is the legislation governing pension plans for members employed in workplaces that come under Ontario's legislative jurisdiction. Workers under federal jurisdiction or the jurisdiction of other provinces are covered by different statutes.

Present Value: The present value is the value today of an amount that is to be paid in the future. In relation to DB plans, it is used in the context of valuing future promised benefits for funding purposes or portability options.

Single-employer Pension Plan (SEPP): SEPPs are pension plans sponsored — and often administered — by a single employer. SEPPs in which funding and governance are both shared with the members may qualify as JSPPs.

Solvency Valuation: This method of pension valuation assumes that the plan is about to be wound up so that its assets will have to be used immediately to meet its existing liabilities. If there are more liabilities than assets, the plan has a “solvency deficiency” which must be paid over five years. If a plan has greater assets than liabilities on a solvency basis, it has a surplus.

Special Payments: Special payments are required for unfunded liabilities and solvency deficiencies, as opposed to current service costs.

Sponsor: The sponsor of a pension plan offers the plan to employees and is responsible for ensuring that the promised benefits are paid for. In SEPPs, the sponsor is the employer while in JSPPs, the employer or employers and members are both sponsors.

Surplus: Plans are in surplus or over-funded if they have more assets than required to meet their anticipated obligations.

Target Benefit Pension Plans: Target benefit pension plans aim to provide a defined benefit but are funded through fixed contributions. If the fixed contributions are insufficient to provide the target benefits, the benefits may be reduced. MEPPs are typically target benefit plans.

Wind-up: Under the PBA, a pension plan wind-up occurs when the plan is terminated and all assets are distributed. A “partial wind-up” may occur when a significant element of the workforce is terminated, or a particular function or workplace is abandoned.

Back to top

Glossaire

Les termes qui figurent en italique sont définis ailleurs dans ce glossaire.

Actuaire – En vertu de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite(LRR) , l’actuaire doit être un Fellow de l’Institut canadien des actuaires pour avoir le droit de préparer des rapports actuariels et d’effectuer les autres calculs nécessaires à l’administration d’un régime de retraite.

Administrateur – L’administrateur s’assure que le régime de retraite est convenablement capitalisé, gère les investissements du régime et débourse les prestations aux retraités. Il peut demander conseil à des professionnels (actuaires, avocats et comptables) et engager des fournisseurs de services (compagnies d’assurance et institutions financières). De plus, il nomme les fiduciaires qui retiennent les fonds de pension à l’écart de tout autre fonds. Dans le cas de nombreux régimes de retraite à employeur unique (RREU), l’administrateur est en fait un comité dont les membres sont nommés par l’employeur promoteur. Cependant, dans d’autres RREU, de même que dans les régimes de retraite conjoints à prestations déterminées (RRCPD) et les régimes de retraite interentreprises (RRI), les participants actifs (occasionnellement retraités) peuvent y être représentés et, dans certains cas, en assurer le contrôle. Alors que le conseil de fiducie d’un RRI doit lui-même tenir le rôle de l’administrateur, le conseil d’administration d’un RREU ou d’un RRCPD doit nommer un administrateur qui gérera le régime en son nom.

Capitalisation intégrale – On dit d’un régime qu’il est intégralement capitalisé lorsque son actif suffit à offrir toutes les prestations constituées.

Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) – La CSFO est responsable de l’administration d’un certain nombre de textes législatifs qui réglementent le secteur financier, dont la LRR. Son premier et principal dirigeant est le « surintendant ». La CSFO a été mise sur pied en vertu de la Loi sur la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario.

Cotisation – Les cotisations versées à un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées sont des paiements effectués conformément à une évaluation actuarielle d’un montant suffisant pour permettre au régime d’assurer les prestations promises. Les cotisations constituent souvent l’unique obligation de l’employeur, ou promoteur. Toutefois, certains « régimes contributifs » prescrivent aux participants de payer un pourcentage fixe de leur salaire ou un montant établi par heure travaillée, tandis que l’employeur paie le reste du montant requis pour maintenir la solvabilité du régime (sans pour autant payer moins de 50 % de son coût). Dans le cas des RRCPD, les cotisations exigées de chaque partie peuvent fluctuer en fonction des besoins de capitalisation du régime.

Coût des services courants – Le coût des services courants (ou coût normal de l’accumulation du patrimoine de retraite) est établi en fonction de l’évaluation à long terme d’un régime de retraite; il doit être payé au fonds de pension chaque année.

Déficit – Un régime présente un déficit ou se trouve sous-financé lorsque son actif ne lui permet pas d’honorer ses obligations. En règle générale, lorsqu’il y a sous-financement, le promoteur doit remédier au déficit en effectuant des paiements spéciaux, lesquels sont échelonnés (amortis) sur plusieurs années. (Les régimes à cotisations fixes peuvent prendre d’autres mesures pour remédier au sous-financement.)

Évaluation à long terme – Cette méthode d’évaluation des régimes de retraite suppose que le régime demeurera en vigueur et que son actif suffira à remplir ses obligations (les prestations promises) le moment venu. Si l’évaluation à long terme dévoile un sous-financement du régime, ce dernier présente donc un « passif non capitalisé » qui doit être amorti sur 15 ans. Lorsqu’un régime est surcapitalisé, on parle d’excédent.

Évaluation actuarielle – L’administrateur d’un régime de retraite doit présenter à l’organisme de réglementation – habituellement tous les trois ans – une évaluation actuarielle qui indique la situation financière du régime et qui établit le niveau de cotisation nécessaire au maintien de sa solvabilité. En Ontario, ce rapport doit être produit par un actuaire, qui doit tenir compte de l’évaluation à long terme et de l’évaluation de solvabilité.

Évaluation de solvabilité – Cette méthode d’évaluation des régimes de retraite suppose que le régime est sur le point d’être liquidé et que son actif doit être utilisé immédiatement pour honorer ses obligations. S’il compte davantage de passif que d’actif, le régime présente un « déficit de solvabilité » qui doit être payé dans une période de cinq ans. Si au contraire, le régime compte davantage d’actif que de passif, il présente un excédent.

Excédent – Un régime de retraite présente un excédent ou se trouve surcapitalisé lorsqu’il compte un actif supérieur à ce qui lui est nécessaire pour honorer ses obligations.

Garantie accessoire – Les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (PD), en plus de prestations viagères, peuvent offrir des garanties accessoires telles que des prestations de raccordement et des prestations enrichies de retraite anticipée.

Indexation – Les régimes de retraite peuvent prévoir un rajustement périodique des prestations (habituellement pendant la retraite) calculé selon une formule basée sur un indice reconnu, comme l’indice des prix à la consommation.

Liquidation – En vertu de la LRR, la liquidation d’un régime de retraite survient lorsqu’on met fin au régime et que tous ses actifs sont distribués. Une liquidation partielle peut survenir lorsqu’un élément important de la main-d’œuvre est mis à pied ou lorsqu’un poste ou un lieu de travail est abandonné.

Loi sur les régimes de retraite (LRR) – La LRR est une loi qui régit les régimes de retraite des participants qui travaillent pour des entreprises tombant sous la compétence législative de l’Ontario. Les travailleurs soumis aux lois fédérales ou aux lois d’une autre province sont couverts par une législation différente.

Ministre des Finances – En Ontario, le ministre des Finances est responsable des politiques de retraite et de leur réglementation.

Paiement spécial – Un paiement spécial doit être effectué dans le cas d’un passif non capitalisé ou d’un déficit de solvabilité, à l’opposé du coût des services courants.

Participant – Le participant à un régime de retraite est dit « actif » lorsqu’il cumule des prestations par le biais des services courants et « différé » lorsqu’il n’est plus employé et qu’il ne peut cumuler davantage de prestations; ce dernier sera néanmoins admissible à ses prestations lorsqu’il aura atteint l’âge normal de la retraite. En vertu de la LRR, le participant à la retraite qui touche des prestations est appelé « ancien participant ». Souvent, les participants actifs, différés et retraités sont collectivement appelés « bénéficiaires ».

Promoteur – Le promoteur d’un régime de retraite offre ce dernier aux employés et s’assure que les prestations promises leur sont versées. Dans le cas d’un RREU, le promoteur est l’employeur tandis que dans le cas d’un RRCPD, l’employeur (ou les employeurs) et les participants sont tous promoteurs du régime.

Régime de retraite à cotisations déterminées (CD) – Les régimes de retraite à CD promettent de verser aux employés retraités un montant représentant les cotisations fixes payées mensuellement par leur employeur (et parfois aussi par les employés) ainsi que le rendement de ces cotisations avant le départ à la retraite. Bien des régimes de retraite à PD permettent aux employés de choisir entre une gamme restreinte d’options d’investissement et leur propre gestion des fonds investis.

Régime de retraite à employeur unique (RREU) – Le RREU est un régime de retraite dont le parrainage – et souvent l’administration – relèvent d’un seul employeur. Les RREU dont le financement et la gestion sont aussi assumés par les participants peuvent être considérés comme des RRCPD.

Régime de retraite à prestations cibles – Le régime de retraite à prestations cibles a pour objectif d’offrir des prestations définies d’avance; il est cependant capitalisé par le biais de cotisations fixes. Si ces cotisations ne suffisent pas au versement des prestations cibles, celles-ci peuvent être réduites. Généralement, les RRI sont des régimes à prestations cibles.

Régime de retraite à prestations déterminées (PD) – Les régimes de retraite à PD promettent de verser aux employés retraités une pension calculée selon une formule donnée : soit un pourcentage de leur salaire moyen de carrière ou de leur salaire de fin de carrière, soit un montant mensuel fixe par mois ou par année de travail (régimes de retraite à prestations forfaitaires).

Régime de retraite conjoint à prestations déterminées (RRCPD) – Le RRCPD est un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées dont le financement et la gestion sont assurés conjointement par l’employeur (ou ses représentants) et les participants. Le RRCPD peut prendre la forme d’un RRI ou d’un RREU.

Régime de retraite interentreprises (RRI) – Le RRI est un régime de retraite qui couvre les gens qui travaillent pour plusieurs employeurs à la fois, habituellement dans un même secteur économique. Ce type de régime est ordinairement capitalisé par des cotisations fixes; si les cotisations ne suffisent pas à payer les prestations prévues, ces dernières pourraient devoir être réduites. Le RRI est administré par un conseil de fiducie dont au moins 50 % des membres représentent les participants actifs du régime. Les RRI dont le financement et la gestion sont aussi assumés par les participants peuvent être considérés comme des RRCPD.

Régime de retraite professionnel – L’employeur offre à ses employés un régime de retraite professionnel soit parce qu’une convention collective l’y oblige, soit parce qu’il croit que ce régime l’aidera à intéresser ou à retenir les employés. Cependant, les lois de l’Ontario n’obligent pas les employeurs à offrir de tels régimes de retraite. En revanche, les travailleurs et les employeurs doivent tous cotiser au Régime de pensions du Canada ou au Régime de rentes du Québec. Il existe deux grands modèles de régimes de retraite professionnels : les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées et les régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées. Ceux-ci donnent également lieu à nombre de variantes.

Rente – La rente est un contrat vendu et garanti par une compagnie d’assurance qui verse une pension à quelqu’un pendant la durée du contrat. Les futurs engagements de pension couverts par ledit contrat sont transformés en rente.

Suspension des cotisations – Lorsqu’un régime de retraite présente un excédent (lorsque son actif excède son passif), l’excédent de l’actif peut être utilisé pour compenser les cotisations versées pour défrayer le coût des services courants qui permettent le financement de l’accumulation du patrimoine de retraite. Lorsqu’un régime utilise cet excédent pour réduire ou suspendre les cotisations, il procède à ce qu’on appelle une « suspension des cotisations ».

Taux d’escompte – Le taux d’escompte correspond au taux d’intérêt qui permet de déterminer la valeur actualisée d’une suite de paiements de pension à venir.

Tribunal des services financiers (TSF) – Le TSF, mis sur pied en vertu de la Loi sur la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, est un organisme juridictionnel qui statue sur les appels du surintendant et rend une décision dans les différends touchant les pensions.

Valeur actualisée – La valeur actualisée correspond à la valeur attribuée aujourd’hui à un montant qui sera versé plus tard. Dans le cadre des régimes de retraite à PD, on l’utilise pour évaluer les prestations futures promises à des fins de capitalisation ou de transférabilité.

Valeur capitalisée – Le participant qui quitte son régime avant d’avoir atteint l’âge lui donnant droit à une pension peut recevoir au lieu de celle-ci un paiement unique établi en fonction de la valeur capitalisée de sa pension, c’est-à-dire la valeur prévue des paiements futurs calculée selon les hypothèses actuarielles approuvées.

Haut de la page