: Third Window for Applications for Temporary Solvency Funding Relief Opens for Public Sector Pension Plans

Changes made to the regulation under the Pension Benefits Act (PBA) in May 2011 provide certain pension plans in the public sector and broader public sector with the opportunity to take advantage of temporary solvency funding relief (Ontario Regulation 178/11).

In exchange for the relief, plan sponsors are expected to adopt plan changes that would make their plans more sustainable in the long term. This process may involve negotiations with collective bargaining agents. There will be no additional funding from the province to finance pension deficits.

The first window for applications closed in March 2011 and the second window closed in December 2011.  The third and final window for applications is now open, and closes on December 31, 2012.

For the first and second windows, one of the eligibility requirements was to base the Stage 1 relief on the first valuation dated on or after December 31, 2009 and filed after the regulation came into effect (May 2011).  Due to the continued low interest rate environment, this eligibility requirement is being revised. 

For the purpose of this 3rd and final window, Stage 1 relief will be based on the first valuation report filed with the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) after December 31, 2012, regardless of the valuation date.

This means that all single employer pension plans that meet the public sector pension plan definition specified in subsection 47.7(1) of Regulation 909 under the Pension Benefits Act that are interested in seeking solvency funding relief and did not apply during the first two windows may apply during this final window.  To apply, completed applications must be submitted to the Ministry of Finance at the address noted below no later than December 31, 2012.  The Ministry will advise applicants about the decision before the filing deadline with FSCO.

The filing deadline with FSCO for a pension plan with a valuation date on or after June 1, 2011 and before May 30, 2012 has been extended by regulation to February 28, 2013, to allow these plans to apply during the third and final window.

Plan sponsors will be notified whether or not they have been accepted into Stage 1 of the solvency relief regime by mid-February, 2013. Those pension plans that meet the criteria for temporary solvency funding relief will be named in Schedule 1 of Ontario Regulation 178/11.

Details of the relief measures are outlined in Ontario Regulation 178/11. 

Eligibility criteria and additional conditions as well as examples of steps that eligible pension plans could take and the measurement of financial impacts are not part of the regulation, but are outlined in a technical paper.  A link to the technical paper is provided below. 

Please note that this technical paper was originally posted during the first two windows.  Given the change in the above-noted eligibility requirements, the second bullet on page 4 (read as “eligibility for Stage 1 relief would be based on the first valuation report (Stage 1 valuation report) dated on or after December 31, 2009 and filed after the regulation is made [expected by mid-May, 2011])” is no longer applicable.  The eligibility for Stage 1 relief will be based on the first valuation report filed after December 31, 2012, as noted above.

A detailed description of the framework and the savings targets, as well as information on how to apply, is posted on the Regulatory Registry and can be accessed at http://www.ontariocanada.com/registry/view.do?postingId=11343&language=en.

Ontario Regulation 178/11, which provides the temporary solvency funding relief, can be found at http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/regs/english/elaws_regs_110178_e.htm.

: Ouverture de la troisième période de demandes d’allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité aux régimes de retraite du secteur public

Des modifications apportées au règlement pris en application de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite (LRR) en mai 2011 ont pour effet de procurer un allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité à certains régimes de retraite des secteurs public et parapublic (Règlement de l’Ontario 178/11).

Les promoteurs de régimes de retraite doivent, en contrepartie, adopter les changements au régime qui accroîtront la viabilité de leur régime à long terme. Ce processus pourrait comprendre des négociations avec des agents de négociation collective. Il n'y aura pas de financement provincial supplémentaire pour financer le déficit des régimes de retraite.

La première période de demandes a pris fin en mars 2011, et la deuxième période de demandes s’est terminée en décembre 2011. La troisième et dernière période de demandes est à présent ouverte, et prendra fin le 31 décembre 2012.

Pour les deux premières périodes de demandes, l’une des conditions d’admissibilitéconsistait à baser la phase 1 du régime d’allégementsur la première évaluation déposée à partir du 31 décembre 2009 et produite après l’entrée en vigueur du règlement (mai 2011). En raison de la faiblesse continue des taux d’intérêt, cette condition d’admissibilité est en cours de révision. 

Pour les besoins de cette troisième et dernière période de demandes,la phase 1 du régime ’allégementse basera sur le premier rapport d’évaluation déposé auprès de la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario (CSFO) après le 31 décembre 2012, peu importe la date de l’évaluation.

Cela signifie que tous les régimes de retraite à employeur uniquecorrespondant à la définition donnée au régime de retraite du secteur public dans la disposition 1 du paragraphe 47.7 du Règlement 909 pris en application de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite qui souhaitents’en prévaloir et qui n’avaient pas présenté de demande lors des deux premières périodes pourront le faire au cours de cette dernière période. Pour ce faire, les demandes dûment remplies doivent être transmises, le 31 décembre 2012 au plus tard, au ministère des Finances à l’adresse fournie ci-après.Le Ministère informera les demandeurs de la décision prise avant la date limite de dépôt à la CSFO.

La date limite de dépôtà la CSFOpour un régime de retraite ayant une date d’évaluation entre le 1er juin 2011et le 30 mai 2012a été prolongée par règlement jusqu’au28 février 2013, afin de permettre à ces régimes de présenter une demande pendant la troisième et dernière période de demandes.

Les promoteurs de régimes de retraite seront informés d’ici la mi-février 2013 s’ils ont ou non été retenus pour la phase 1 du régime d’allégement de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité.Les régimes de retraite qui répondent aux critères d’allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité seront indiqués dans l’Annexe 1 du Règlement de l’Ontario 178/11.

Desdétails sur les mesures d’allégement sont fournis dans le Règlement de l’Ontario 178/11.

Les critères d’admissibilité et les conditions supplémentaires, ainsi que des exemples des phases que les régimes de retraite admissibles pourraient suivre et la mesure des répercussions financièresne font pas partie du règlement, mais sont énoncés dans un document technique. Un lien menant au document technique est fourni ci-après.

Veuillez prendre note que ce document techniqueavait été au début affiché pour les deux premières périodes de demandes. Compte tenu des changements apportés aux conditions d’admissibilité susmentionnées,ledeuxième point centré à la page 4 (ainsi formulé [traduction] « l’admissibilité à la phase 1 du régime d’allégementse baserait sur le premier rapport d’évaluation (rapport d’évaluation de la phase 1) daté à partir du 31 décembre 2009 et produit après l’adoption du règlement [d’ici la mi-mai 2011] » ne s’applique plus.L’admissibilité à la phase 1 du régime d’allégementse basera sur le premier rapport d’évaluation produit après le31 décembre 2012, comme indiqué plus haut.

Une description détaillée du cadre et des objectifs d’épargne, ainsi que des renseignements sur les modalités de la demande sont affichés sur le Registre de la réglementation et peuvent être consultés à http://www.ontariocanada.com/registry/view.do?postingId=11045&language=fr

Le Règlement de l’Ontario 178/11, qui prévoit les mesures d’allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité, peut être consulté à http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/regs/english/elaws_regs_110178_e.htm.