Pursuant to feedback that it has received, the Expert Committee to Consider Financial Advisory and Financial Planning Policy Alternatives has extended the comment period on its Initial Consultation Document to September 21, 2015.

Currently in Ontario, no general legal framework exists to regulate the activities of individuals who offer financial planning, advice and services. The absence of a legal framework has raised questions about proficiency, quality standards and potential conflicts of interest.

To better understand these issues, the Ontario government committed in 2013 to investigating the merits of more tailored regulation of those engaged in financial planning and giving financial advice and held two consultations with stakeholders involved in the financial planning and advising sectors in 2014.

Subsequently, the Ontario government announced that it would appoint an expert committee that would be mandated to provide key recommendations and submit its final report to the government for review in 2016.

  • Initial Consultation Document
  • Committee members
    • Malcolm Heins (Chair), a lawyer, director and business advisor, who successfully reformed the regulation of paralegals during his tenure as the CEO of the Law Society of Upper Canada;
    • Anita Anand, a Professor of Law at the Faculty of Law, University of Toronto, with a research focus on regulation of capital markets and the inaugural Chair of the Investor Advisory Panel of the Ontario Securities Commission;
    • Paul Bates, a Chartered Professional Accountant, Fellow of the Society of Management Accountants, a Certified Management Consultant and the former Chair of the Investor Education Fund, with experience in investor advocacy; and,
    • Lawrence Haber, a former securities lawyer and former financial industry executive. Currently, the Chair of the Board of Diversified Royalty Corp. and a special policy advisor to Ontario Securities Commission staff.

The Expert Committee invites interested parties to provide a written submission addressing the following questions: 

  1. What activities are within the scope of financial planning? Is the provision of financial advice different from financial planning? If so, please explain the distinction.
  2. Is the current regulatory scheme governing those who engage in financial planning and/or the giving of financial advice adequate?
  3. What legal standard(s) should govern conflicts of interest and potential conflicts of interest that may arise in financial planning and the giving of financial advice?
  4. To what extent, if at all, should the activities of those who engage in financial planning and/or giving financial advice be further regulated? Please consider the following in your response:
    1. Licensing and registration requirements;
    2. Education, training and ethical responsibilities;
    3. Titles and designations of individuals who engage in financial planning and/or the giving of financial advice;
    4. Specific activities that should be included or excluded in a regulatory scheme;
    5. Costs and other burdens of regulation;
    6. Regulation of compensation; and
    7. Complaints and discipline mechanisms.
  5. What harm(s) and/or benefit(s) do consumers experience in the current environment? Please provide specific evidence to support your views where available.
  6. Should consumers have access to a central registry of information regarding individuals and entities that engage in financial planning and the giving of financial advice including their complaint or discipline history?

Process for Making Submissions

Submissions addressing the questions above may be sent by email to Fin.Adv.Pln@ontario.ca. Please use subject line: Financial Planning/Advice Consultation and please indicate the specific question to which you are responding to in your submission. Alternatively, you may send your submission by mail to:

Expert Committee to Consider Financial Advisory and Financial Planning Policy Alternatives
c/o Frost Building North, Room 458
4th Floor, 95 Grosvenor Street
Toronto, Ontario
M7A 1Z1

Submissions must be received on or prior to September 21, 2015.  

Please note that information submitted may be subject to disclosure under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act. Please do not submit personal information or specific identifying details of individuals, companies or other entities unless the specific information is already publicly available. Please also note that the Expert Committee may make the submissions it receives publicly available. Please do not forward confidential information that you would not want to be made public.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Shameez Rabdi at (416) 325-3577 or Shameez.Rabdi@ontario.ca

Submissions from interested parties.

Additional documents

Consultations publiques: CONSULTATION SUR LES POLITIQUES POUR LA PLANIFICATION FINANCIÈRE ET LES CONSEILS FINANCIERS

Conformément à la rétroaction qu'il a reçue, le Comité d'experts pour étudier des solutions de rechange aux politiques sur la planification financière et les conseils financiers étend la période pour soumettre des observations sur le document de consultation initiale jusqu'au 21 septembre 2015.

Il n'existe actuellement pas en Ontario un cadre juridique général pour réglementer les activités des personnes qui font de la planification financière et fournissent des conseils financiers. L'absence d'un cadre juridique soulève des questions en ce qui a trait à la compétence, aux normes de qualité et aux conflits d'intérêts potentiels.

Pour mieux comprendre ces questions, le gouvernement de l'Ontario s'est engagé en 2013 à mener une enquête sur la pertinence d'établir une règlementation mieux adaptée pour les personnes qui font de la planification financière et fournissent des conseils financiers, et a mené deux consultations auprès d'intervenants en planification financière et en conseils financiers.

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario a par la suite annoncé qu'il nommerait un Comité d'experts dont le mandat serait de faire des recommandations clés et de soumettre un rapport définitif au gouvernement en 2016 aux fins d'examen.

  • Document de consultation
  • Comité d'experts
    • Malcolm Heins (président), avocat, administrateur et conseiller qui a assuré une réforme réussie de la réglementation des parajuristes alors qu'il était directeur général du Barreau du Haut-Canada;
    • Anita Anand, professeure de droit à la faculté de droit de l'Université de Toronto, spécialisée dans la réglementation des marchés financiers, et première présidente du Groupe consultatif des investisseurs de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario;
    • Paul Bates, comptable professionnel agréé, fellow de la Société des comptables en management, conseiller en management certifié et ancien président du Fonds pour l'éducation des investisseurs ayant de l'expérience dans la défense des intérêts des investisseurs;
    • Lawrence Haber, ancien avocat en valeurs mobilières et ancien dirigeant dans le secteur des services financiers. Il est actuellement président du conseil d'administration de la Diversified Royalty Corp. et un conseiller spécial aux politiques pour le personnel de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario.

Le Comité d'experts invite les parties intéressées à faire des observations par écrit sur les questions suivantes : 

  1. Quelles activités s'inscrivent dans le cadre de la planification financière? Est-ce que la prestation de conseils financiers diffère de la planification financière? Si oui, veuillez expliquer cette distinction.
  2. Est-ce que le modèle réglementaire actuel régissant les personnes qui font de la planification financière ou fournissent des conseils financiers est adéquat?
  3. Quelles normes juridiques devraient régir les conflits d'intérêts existants et potentiels qui pourraient découler de la planification financière et de l'offre de conseils financiers?
  4. Dans quelle mesure, le cas échéant, les activités des personnes qui font de la planification financière ou fournissent des conseils financiers devraient être davantage réglementées? Dans vos réponses, prenez en considération ce qui suit :
    1. Les exigences en matière de délivrance de permis et d'inscription;
    2. Les responsabilités en matière d'éducation, de formation et d'éthique;
    3. Les Titres professionnels des personnes qui font de la planification financière ou fournissent des conseils financiers;
    4. Les activités particulières qui devraient être incluses ou exclues du cadre réglementaire;
    5. Les coûts et autres fardeaux liés à la réglementation;
    6. La réglementation de la rémunération;
    7. Les mécanismes de plaintes et de mesures disciplinaires.
  5. Quels sont les préjudices ou les avantages pour les consommateurs dans le contexte actuel? Veuillez fournir des preuves précises pour soutenir vos opinions.
  6. Les consommateurs devraient-ils avoir accès à un registre central de renseignements sur les personnes ou les entités qui font de la planification financière ou fournissent des conseils financiers, y compris leurs antécédents en matière de plaintes et de mesures disciplinaires?

Processus pour soumettre des observations

Les observations sur les questions présentées ci-dessus doivent être envoyées par courriel à Fin.Adv.Pln@ontario.ca. Veuillez utiliser un objet : Planification financière/conseils financiers et indiquer précisément la question à laquelle vous répondez dans votre observation. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer vos observations par la poste à :

Comité d'experts pour étudier des solutions de rechange aux politiques sur la planification financière et les conseils financiers
a/s de : Édifice Frost Nord, local 458
4e étage, 95 rue Grosvenor
Toronto (Ontario)
M7A 1Z1

Les observations doivent être reçues au plus tard le 21 septembre 2015. 

Veuillez noter que les renseignements soumis pourraient faire l'objet de divulgation en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée. Veuillez ne pas soumettre de renseignements personnels ou des détails précis qui pourraient permettre d'identifier les personnes, sociétés ou autres entités, à moins que des renseignements précis soient déjà à la disposition du public. Veuillez également noter que le Comité d'experts pourrait mettre certaines observations à la disposition du public. Veuillez ne pas soumettre d'information que vous ne souhaitez pas mettre à la disposition du public.

Pour toute question ou préoccupation, veuillez communiquer avec Shameez Rabdi au (416) 325-3577 ou à Shameez.Rabdi@ontario.ca

Commentaires des intervenants.

Documents additionnels