Consultations: TRANSITIONING TO FEDERAL TAX POOLS

Information Bulletin
Bulletin d'information

Ministry of Finance Ministère des Finances
Gouvernement de l'Ontario

October 27, 2006

CONSULTATION PAPER ON TRANSITIONING TO FEDERAL TAX POOLS UNDER FEDERAL ADMINISTRATION OF ONTARIO'S CORPORATE INCOME TAX


On October 6, 2006, Ontario and the federal government signed an agreement that would transfer administration of Ontario's corporate income tax to the federal government, effective for taxation years ending after 2008.

Moving to a single corporate income tax administration would save Ontario businesses up to $100 million a year in compliance costs from one tax return, one tax administration and one set of tax rules.  Businesses would spend less time on paper work and more time creating jobs and fostering a strong, prosperous economy.  In addition, business would save $90 million annually in Ontario corporate income tax from measures proposed in the 2006 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review.

Under the single corporate income tax administration, Ontario would parallel the federal definition of taxable income.  Therefore, the amount of a tax deduction claimed in computing federal taxable income would also apply for Ontario tax purposes.  Where tax deductions are based on the balances in tax pools (e.g., undepreciated capital cost balances and unclaimed losses), achieving common deductions requires that the federal tax pool balances also apply for Ontario purposes.

Some corporations have historically claimed higher or lower deductions from their federal tax pools than their Ontario pools, resulting in differences between the Ontario and federal pool balances.  Transitional provisions are required to address the Ontario tax gains and losses that would otherwise result from the adoption of the federal tax pools.

To solicit input on the proposed transitional provisions, a consultation paper is available on the Ministry of Finance's website at www.fin.gov.on.ca.  

Go to top of page

Page: 2110  |

Consultations: TRANSITION VERS LES CATÉGORIES FÉDÉRALES

Information Bulletin
Bulletin d'information

Ministry of Finance Ministère des Finances
Gouvernement de l'Ontario

Le 27 octobre 2006

DOCUMENT DE CONSULTATION SUR LA TRANSITION VERS LES CATÉGORIES FÉDÉRALES DANS LE CADRE DE LA GESTION PAR LE GOUVERNEMENT FÉDÉRAL DE L'IMPÔT DES SOCIÉTÉS DE L'ONTARIO


Le 6 octobre 2006, l'Ontario et le gouvernement fédéral ont signé un accord visant à transférer la gestion de l'impôt des sociétés de l'Ontario au gouvernement fédéral, et ce, pour les années fiscales se terminant après 2008.

Le passage à un système unique de gestion de l'impôt des sociétés permettrait aux entreprises de l'Ontario d'économiser chaque année jusqu'à 100 millions $ en coûts d'observation, grâce à une seule déclaration fiscale, une seule gestion de l'impôt et un seul ensemble de règles fiscales. Les entreprises pourraient alors consacrer moins de temps au travail de bureau et plus de temps à créer des emplois et une économie solide et prospère. D'autre part, grâce aux mesures proposées dans les Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario de 2006, les entreprises économiseraient annuellement 90 millions $ en impôt des sociétés de l'Ontario.

Dans un système de gestion unique de l'impôt des sociétés, l'Ontario pourra s'aligner sur la définition fédérale du revenu imposable. De cette façon, le montant d'une déduction fiscale demandée lors du calcul du revenu imposable fédéral sera également applicable aux impôts de l'Ontario. Lorsque des déductions fiscales se basent sur les soldes des catégories (p. ex. soldes de la fraction non amortie du coût en capital et pertes non réclamées), l'adoption de déductions communes exige que les soldes des catégories fédérales s'appliquent également pour l'Ontario.

Par le passé, certaines sociétés ont demandé des déductions fiscales fédérales plus élevées ou moins élevées pour leurs catégories fédérales que pour leurs catégories de l'Ontario, ce qui a généré des écarts entre les soldes des catégories de l'Ontario et ceux du Canada. Des dispositions transitoires sont nécessaires à l'analyse des gains ou pertes d'impôts de l'Ontario qui pourraient découler de l'adoption des catégories fédérales.

Afin d'obtenir des commentaires sur les dispositions transitoires proposées, un document de consultation est disponible sur le site Web du ministère des Finances, à l'adresse www.fin.gov.on.ca.

Page : 2110  |