Apprenticeship Training Tax Credit

Frequently Asked Questions


What do I do if I am hiring an apprentice who was previously registered with another company or who is employed through a union or employment agency?

As the apprentice’s employer, it is important that you request and obtain a copy of the original training agreement or contract of apprenticeship that has been registered under the Ontario College of Trades and Apprenticeship Act, 2009 or a predecessor of that Act (i.e., Apprenticeship and Certification Act, 1998 or Trades Qualification and Apprenticeship Act) before signing a new training agreement. These documents are used to substantiate claims and to verify the eligible apprenticeship period.

Note: employers cannot request original training agreements or contracts of apprenticeship from the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities unless they are a party to that contract or have obtained written consent from the apprentice.


How do I determine the start/end date(s) of a qualifying apprenticeship?

The apprenticeship begins on the date the original training agreement or contract of apprenticeship has been registered under the Ontario Colleges of Trades and Apprenticeship Act, 2009 or a predecessor of that Act (i.e., Apprenticeship and Certification Act, 1998 or Trades Qualification and Apprenticeship Act) with the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities.

For apprenticeship programs that commence on or after April 24, 2015, the eligibility period extends up to 36 months from the original registration date. For apprenticeship programs that commenced before April 24, 2015, for eligible expenditures incurred after March 26, 2009, the eligibility period extends up to 48 months from the original registration date.

A business employing an apprentice who was registered with a previous employer may still claim the apprenticeship training tax credit on eligible expenditures paid by it to the apprentice provided the eligible apprenticeship period has not ended. The apprenticeship period is still considered to have begun on the original registration date (i.e., the date the original training agreement or contract of apprenticeship was registered with the ministry by the first employer, or the first employer acting through a union or a local or joint apprenticeship committee and the apprentice.)


What is the eligible period for Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program (OYAP) students retained as salaried apprentices after leaving high school and the completion of their OYAP program?

The apprenticeship training tax credit eligibility begins on the date the original training agreement or contract of apprenticeship was registered under the Ontario College of Trades and Apprenticeship Act, 2009 or a predecessor of that Act (i.e., Apprenticeship and Certification Act, 1998 or Trades Qualification and Apprenticeship Act) with the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities.

For apprenticeship programs that commence on or after April 24, 2015, the eligibility period extends up to 36 months from the original registration date.

For apprenticeship programs that commenced before April 24, 2015, for eligible expenditures incurred after March 26, 2009, the eligibility period extends up to 48 months from the original registration date.


When an apprentice is registered for two separate trades simultaneously, can the business claim the credit for both trades?

Yes. The business would have to allocate the eligible expenditures to each specific trade.


What do I do if I forgot to claim the apprenticeship training tax credit?

Corporations and unincorporated businesses may file adjustments to a tax return for a previous tax year within certain time limits. Requests for adjustments should be directed to the Canada Revenue Agency tax centre that serves your business.

The apprenticeship training tax credit for the various periods are as follows:

Apprenticeship program commencement date Eligible expenditures Yearly maximum per apprentice Qualifying period
On or after April 24, 2015 25 per cent (30 per cent for small businesses) $5,000 Up to 36 Months
Before April 24, 2015 (for eligible expenditures incurred after March 26, 2009) 35 per cent (45 per cent for small businesses) $10,000 Up to 48 Months

For more information on reassessments please read:


Page: 3038  |

Crédit d'impôt pour la formation en apprentissage

Foire aux questions


Que dois-je faire si j'embauche un apprenti qui s'était déjà inscrit auprès d'une autre compagnie ou qui assume un emploi par l'entremise d'un syndicat ou d'une agence de placement?

À titre d'employeur de l'apprenti, il est important que vous demandiez et que vous obteniez une copie de l'accord de formation original ou du contrat d'apprentissage qui a été enregistré en vertu de la Loi de 2009 sur l'Ordre des métiers de l'Ontario et l'apprentissage ou d'une loi précédente (c'est‑à‑dire, la Loi de 1998 sur l'apprentissage et la reconnaissance professionnelle ou la Loi sur la qualification professionnelle et l'apprentissage des gens de métier) avant de signer un nouvel accord de formation. Ces documents sont utilisés pour justifier les demandes et vérifier la période d'apprentissage admissible.

Remarque : Les employeurs ne peuvent demander les originaux des accords de formation ou des contrats d'apprentissage au ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités à moins qu'ils constituent l'une des parties figurant sur ledit contrat ou aient obtenu une autorisation écrite de l'apprenti.


Comment puis‑je déterminer les dates de début/fin d'un stage de formation en apprentissage admissible?

Le stage de formation en apprentissage débute à la date d'enregistrement de l'accord de formation original ou du contrat d'apprentissage en vertu de la Loi de 2009 sur l'Ordre des métiers de l'Ontario et l'apprentissage ou d'une loi précédente (c'est‑à‑dire, la Loi de 1998 sur l'apprentissage et la reconnaissance professionnelle ou la Loi sur la qualification professionnelle et l'apprentissage des gens de métier) auprès du ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités.

Dans le cas des programmes d'apprentissage qui ont commencé le 24 avril 2015 ou après cette date, la période admissible s'étend jusqu'à 36 mois à compter de la date d'enregistrement initiale.

Dans le cas des programmes d'apprentissage qui ont commencé avant le 24 avril 2015, pour les dépenses admissibles engagées après le 26 mars 2009, la période admissible s'étend jusqu'à 48 mois à compter de la date d'enregistrement initiale.

Une entreprise qui embauche un apprenti qui s'est inscrit auprès d'un employeur précédent peut tout de même demander le crédit d'impôt pour la formation en apprentissage sur les dépenses admissibles engagées à l'égard de l'apprenti pourvu que la période d'apprentissage admissible ne soit pas écoulée. On considère que la période d'apprentissage débute à la date initiale d'enregistrement (soit la date à laquelle l'accord de formation original ou le contrat d'apprentissage a été enregistré auprès du ministère par le premier employeur, ou par le premier employeur agissant par l'entremise d'un syndicat ou d'un comité d'apprentissage local ou conjoint, et l'apprenti).


Quelle est la période d'admissibilité pour les étudiants participant au Programme d'apprentissage pour les jeunes de l'Ontario (PAJO) qui sont retenus en tant qu'apprentis salariés après avoir terminé leurs études secondaires et le PAJO?

La période d'admissibilité du crédit d'impôt pour la formation en apprentissage débute à la date d'enregistrement de l'accord de formation original ou du contrat d'apprentissage en vertu de la Loi de 2009 sur l'Ordre des métiers de l'Ontario et l'apprentissage ou d'une loi précédente (c'est‑à‑dire, la Loi de 1998 sur l'apprentissage et la reconnaissance professionnelle ou la Loi sur la qualification professionnelle et l'apprentissage des gens de métier) auprès du ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités.

Dans le cas des programmes d'apprentissage qui ont commencé le 24 avril 2015 ou après cette date, la période admissible s'étend jusqu'à 36 mois à compter de la date d'enregistrement initiale.

Dans le cas des programmes d'apprentissage qui ont commencé avant le 24 avril 2015, pour les dépenses admissibles engagées après le 26 mars 2009, la période admissible s'étend jusqu'à 48 mois à compter de la date d'enregistrement initiale.


Lorsqu'un apprenti s'inscrit à deux métiers en même temps, l'entreprise peut‑elle demander le crédit pour les deux métiers?

Oui. L'entreprise doit indiquer les dépenses admissible pour chacun des métiers.


Que dois‑je faire si j'ai oublié de demander le crédit d'impôt pour la formation en apprentissage?

Les sociétés et les entreprises non constituées en personne morale peuvent déposer une demande de modification à leur déclaration de revenus pour les années d'imposition précédente, à l'intérieur d'un certain délai. Les demandes de modification doivent être envoyées au centre fiscal de l'Agence du revenu du Canada qui dessert votre entreprise.

Voici les crédits d'impôt pour la formation en apprentissage qui correspondent aux périodes suivantes :

Date du début du stage de formation en apprentissage admissible Dépenses admissibles Maximum par année, par apprenti Période admissible
Le 24 avril 2015 ou après cette date
25 pour cent (30 pour cent pour les petites entreprises) 5 000 $ Jusqu'à 36 mois
Avant le 24 avril 2015 (pour les dépenses admissibles engagées après le 26 mars 2009) 35 pour cent (45 pour cent pour les petites entreprises) 10 000 $ Jusqu'à 48 mois

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'établissement d'une nouvelle cotisation, consultez les documents suivants :


 

Page : 3038  |