Educational Technology Tax Incentive


Notice to the reader: The Educational Technology Tax Incentive ceased to be in effect as of January 1, 2005. This incentive is not available for donations made or discounts offered after December 31, 2004.

The Educational Technology Tax Incentive (ETTI) is available to Ontario businesses which support Ontario's community colleges and universities in acquiring new teaching equipment and learning technologies.

The Benefit

For corporations, the incentive is a 15 per cent tax deduction in computing income.


The ETTI is available to a business that donates or gives special price discounts on new eligible equipment or learning technologies to an eligible educational institution after May 2, 2000 and before January 1, 2005.

How to Apply

The corporation must obtain and retain a certificate issued by the eligible educational institution which received the donation or price discount stating that the equipment or technology meets the conditions of eligibility for the ETTI.

The ETTI is a deduction in calculating Ontario taxable income.  The amount of the ETTI is claimed on Line 673 of the tax return.

Page: 81  |

Incitatif fiscal pour la technologie éducative

Expirer

Avis aux lecteurs : L'incitatif fiscal pour la technologie éducative n'est plus en vigueur à compter du 1er janvier 2005. Cet incitatif n'est plus disponible pour les dons ou rabais offerts après le 31 décembre 2004.

L'incitatif fiscal pour la technologie éducative à l'intention des sociétés (IFTÉ) a pour but d'inciter les entreprises ontariennes à encourager les collèges communautaires et les universités de l'Ontario à faire l'acquisition de nouveau matériel pédagogique et de nouvelles technologies d'apprentissage.

Avantage(s)

Dans le cas des sociétés, l'incitatif fiscal correspond à une déduction fiscale de 15% sur le revenu calculé.

Admissibilité

L'IFTÉ est proposé aux entreprises qui ont fait des dons ou accordé des rabais spéciaux, relativement à du matériel pédagogique ou des technologies d'apprentissage admissibles, à l'état neuf, à un établissement d'enseignement admissible, après le 2 mai 2000 et avant le 1er janvier 2005.

Comment en faire la demande

La société doit obtenir et conserver un certificat émis par l'établissement d'enseignement admissible qui reçoit le don ou la réduction de prix, attestant que l'équipement ou la technologie répond effectivement aux critères d'admissibilité de l'IFTÉ.

L'IFTÉ est une déduction sur le calcul du revenu imposable en Ontario. Le montant de l'IFTÉ est demandéà la ligne 673 de la déclaration d'impôt.

Page : 81  |