Ontario Research Employee Stock Option Credit

Expired

Notice to the reader: The Ontario Research Employee Stock Option Credit was available for taxation years up to and including 2009. The tax credit is not available after December 31, 2009.

Frequently Asked Questions about Refunds


How does the federal legislation allowing deferrals affect an employer's reporting requirements?

For each calendar year, an eligible employer must provide to the Ministry of Finance, for each eligible employee, the amount of the taxable benefit and the amount of the benefit that has been deferred by the employee.


How does the federal legislation allowing employees to defer the taxable benefit arising from exercising stock options affect the ORESO credit?

Federal legislation requires that the taxable benefit arising from the exercise of stock options to acquire publicly-listed shares be included in income in the year the options are exercised or defer the inclusion of the taxable benefit to the year in which you dispose of the shares.

If you elect to defer a taxable benefit arising from the exercise of stock options eligible for the ORESO credit, do not include the benefit in income until the shares acquired under the stock option are sold.  You will be able to apply for the ORESO credit for the tax year in which you sell the shares and include the benefit in income.


What if I owe other amounts to the Province of Ontario?

The amount of a taxpayer's refund and interest will be applied to reduce any other outstanding amounts that are owed to the province of Ontario instead of paying the refund. The taxpayer's Notice of Entitlement will explain how the refund was applied.


What happens if my income tax return is adjusted or re-assessed after I receive my ORESO credit?

You must advise the Ontario Ministry of Finance of any changes made to your income tax return by CRA which would affect the calculation of your ORESO refund. The Ministry will recalculate your adjusted Ontario income tax using the additional information and an additional refund or request for repayment will be sent to you.


When can I expect to receive my refund?

The Ontario Ministry of Finance will process the applications once all required documents are received, and issue refund cheques as soon as possible to taxpayers eligible for the refund.

The Ministry will provide a Notice of Entitlement to all taxpayers who submit an application. The Notice of Entitlement will indicate:

  • the amount of the refund, if any
  • how the Ministry determined the amount of the refund, and
  • information on the taxpayer's right to object to the Notice of Entitlement.

How will my refund be calculated?

You must pay the amount of Ontario income tax as filed on your income tax return with CRA, without taking into account the ORESO credit. You then apply to the Ontario Ministry of Finance for the ORESO credit after you receive your Notice of Assessment from CRA. On the application form, you are allowed to deduct the credit, up to $100,000, from your taxable income. Your Ontario income tax is then recalculated to determine the amount of adjusted Ontario income tax.

The adjusted Ontario income tax is subtracted from the amount of Ontario income tax you actually paid, and the difference is refunded by the Ministry of Finance. The recalculation of Ontario tax payable does not affect your Ontario tax credits and other deductions as calculated on your income tax return.

For the 2005 and subsequent taxation years, compound daily interest on a tax refund will be paid starting on the day that is the later of:

  • 30 days after the individual's income tax balance due day for the taxation year (usually April 30) and
  • the date of the individual's income tax Notice of Assessment for the taxation year.

For taxation years up to and including 2004, compound daily interest on a tax refund will be paid starting on the day that is the later of:

  • 45 days after the individual's income tax balance due day for the taxation year (usually April 30) and
  • the date of the individual's income tax Notice of Assessment for the taxation year.
Page: 2333  |

Crédits, prestations et incitatifs

Expirer

Avis aux lecteurs : Le crédit d'impôt de l'Ontario relatif aux options d'achat d'actions accordées aux employés pour le développement de la recherche a été proposé pour les années d'imposition jusques et y compris l'année d'imposition 2009. Ce crédit d'impôt n'est plus offert depuis le 31 décembre 2009.

Foire aux questions remboursements


Quel effet aura la législation fédérale permettant aux employés de reporter un avantage imposable découlant de l'exercice d'options d'achat d'actions sur le Crédit?

Pour chaque année civile et pour chaque employé admissible, un employeur admissible doit fournir au ministère des Finances le montant de l'avantage imposable et le montant de l'avantage reporté par l'employé.


Quel effet aura la législation fédérale permettant aux employés de reporter un avantage imposable découlant de l'exercice d'options d'achat d'actions sur le Crédit?

La législation fédérale exige qu'un avantage imposable découlant de l'exercice d'options d'achat d'actions en vue d'acquérir des actions cotées en bourse soit inclus dans le revenu de l'année au cours de laquelle les options ont été exercées ou les employés peuvent opter de reporter l'inclusion de l'avantage imposable jusqu'à l'année où ils cèdent les actions.

Les employés qui choisissent de reporter un avantage imposable découlant de l'exercice d'options d'achat d'actions admissibles aux fins du Crédit n'incorporeront pas l'avantage dans le revenu tant que les actions acquises en vertu de l'option d'achat ne seront pas vendues. Ils pourront demander le Crédit pour l'année d'imposition au cours de laquelle les actions sont vendues et l'avantage est inclus dans le revenu.


Et si je dois d'autres montants à la province de l'Ontario?

Le montant du remboursement accordé au contribuable, plus intérêts, servira à réduire tout montant qu'il doit à la province de l'Ontario au lieu de lui être versé. L'avis d'admissibilité envoyé au contribuable expliquera comment le remboursement a été effectué.


Qu'arrive-t-il si ma déclaration de revenus fait l'objet d'un rajustement ou d'une nouvelle cotisation une fois que j'ai reçu le Crédit?

Vous devez informer le ministère des Finances de l'Ontario de toute modification apportée par l'ARC à votre déclaration de revenus, susceptible d'avoir un effet sur le calcul de votre Crédit. Le ministère des Finances calculera à nouveau votre impôt rajusté en s'appuyant sur les renseignements additionnels fournis et vous enverra un remboursement supplémentaire ou vous demandera de rembourser le paiement en trop.


Quand puis-je m'attendre à recevoir mon remboursement?

Le ministère des Finances de l'Ontario traitera les demandes après avoir reçu tous les documents requis et établira les chèques de remboursement dès que possible à l'ordre des contribuables qui y ont droit.

Le ministère fournira un avis d'admissibilité à tous les contribuables qui ont soumis une demande, indiquant :

  • le montant du remboursement, le cas échéant;
  • comment le ministère a calculé le montant du remboursement, le cas échéant; et
  • les renseignements sur le droit du contribuable de faire opposition l'avis d'admissibilité.

Comment sera calculé mon remboursement?

Vous devez d'abord calculer votre impôt sur le revenu des particuliers de l'Ontario dans la déclaration de revenus que vous produirez pour l'ARC et le payer, sans tenir compte du Crédit. Vous pourrez ensuite demander le Crédit au ministère des Finances de l'Ontario après voir reçu votre avis de cotisation de l'ARC. Sur votre demande, vous pourrez déduire le crédit, jusqu'à concurrence de 100 000 $, de votre revenu imposable. Votre impôt sur le revenu de l'Ontario sera alors recalculé pour déterminer le montant de l'impôt rajusté de l'Ontario devant être payé.

L'impôt rajusté de l'Ontario sera soustrait du montant d'impôt sur le revenu de l'Ontario que vous avez effectivement payé, et le ministère des Finances remboursera la différence. Le nouveau calcul de l'impôt de l'Ontario payable n'aura aucun effet sur les autres crédits d'impôt de l'Ontario ou déductions du contribuable, calculés dans votre déclaration de revenus.

Pour 2005 et les années suivantes, un intérêt quotidien composé sera calculé sur votre remboursement d'impôt et vous sera versé à compter de la dernière des dates suivantes :

  • 30 jours après la date d'échéance du solde de votre impôt sur le revenu de l'Ontario (habituellement le 30 avril); ou
  • la date de votre Avis de cotisation d'impôt sur le revenu pour l'année d'imposition.

Pour 2004 et les années précédentes, un intérêt quotidien composé sera calculé sur votre remboursement d'impôt et vous sera versé à compter de la dernière des dates suivantes :

  • 45 jours après la date d'échéance du solde de votre impôt sur le revenu de l'Ontario (habituellement le 30 avril); ou
  • la date de votre Avis de cotisation d'impôt sur le revenu pour l'année d'imposition.
Page : 2333  |