Ontario Sales Tax Credit

Frequently Asked Questions


What if I turn 19 years of age during the 2014 benefit year?

If you turn 19 between July 2014 and June 2015, you should apply for the 2014-15 Ontario Sales Tax Credit on your 2013 personal income tax and benefit return. If you qualify, you will receive the next scheduled payment after you turn 19.


If I'm married or have a common-law partner, who should apply for the Ontario Sales Tax Credit?

If you are married or have a common-law partner, only one of you should apply for the credit for the family. The payment will be the same regardless of which one of you applies. If you both apply, the credit will be paid to the one whose personal income tax and benefit return is assessed first.


I share custody of my dependent child(ren) with my former spouse/common-law partner. How is the Ontario Sales Tax Credit payment determined?

If you qualify for the credit, you will receive payment equal to your own credit plus 50 per cent of the amount you would have received if the child(ren) lived with you on a full-time basis. The payment will form part of the Ontario Trillium Benefit and your child's portion of the Ontario Sales Tax Credit will be calculated and paid in equal amounts to both shared-custody parents.

Page: 2337  |

Crédit de taxe de vente de l'Ontario

Foire aux questions


Qu'arrive-t-il si je célèbre mon 19e anniversaire durant l'année de versement 2014?

Si vous célébrerez votre 19e anniversaire entre juillet 2014 et juin 2015, vous devriez demander le crédit de taxe de vente de l'Ontario pour 2014-2015 sur votre déclaration de revenus et prestations des particuliers de 2014. Si vous y avez droit, le prochain paiement prévu vous sera versé une fois que vous aurez atteint 19 ans.


Si j'ai un conjoint par mariage ou un conjoint de fait, lequel de nous deux doit demander le crédit de taxe de vente de l'Ontario?

Si vous avez un conjoint par mariage ou un conjoint de fait, seul l'un de vous deux devrait demander le crédit pour la famille. Le montant du crédit ne changera pas, peu importe qui en fait la demande. Si vous en faites tous deux la demande, le crédit sera versé à la personne dont la déclaration est traitée en premier.


Je partage la garde de mon/mes enfant(s) à charge avec mon ex-conjoint par mariage/de fait. Comment le crédit de taxe de vente de l'Ontario sera-t-il établi?

Si vous avez droit au crédit, vous recevrez des paiements équivalant à votre propre crédit, plus 50 pour cent du montant que vous auriez reçu si l'enfant/les enfants habitai(en)t avec vous en permanence. Ce paiement fera partie de la prestation Trillium de l'Ontario, et la portion du crédit de taxe de vente de l'Ontario applicable à votre enfant sera calculée et versée sous forme de montants égaux aux deux parents qui assument la garde partagée.

Page : 2337  |