2006 CENSUS HIGHLIGHTS: Factsheet 7

Immigration and Citizenship

Bar graph: Share of Foreign-born Individuals in Ontario Population Pie charts: Provincial Distribution of Immigrants to Canada, before 2001 and 2001-2006 Pie charts: Region of Origin of Recent Immigrants to Ontario, 2001 Census and 2006 Census Bar graph: Canadian Census Metropolitan Areas with Highest Shares of Foreign-born in 2006 Pie charts: Toronto's Census Metropolitan Area's share of foreign-born population in Ontario, before 2001 and 2001-2006 Bar graph: Ontario Municipalities with Highest Shares of Foreign-born, 2001 and 2006

This factsheet looks at immigration and citizenship information released by Statistics Canada as part of the 2006 Census.

Proportion of Foreign-born Highest in Ontario

  • The 2006 Census enumerated 3,398,725 foreign-born individuals in Ontario, representing 28.3% of the total population, the highest proportion among the provinces. (British Columbia was second highest at 27.5%.) In 1971, foreign-born individuals accounted for 22.2% of Ontario’s population.
  • Between 2001 and 2006, Ontario’s foreign-born population increased by 12.2%, nearly three times faster than the Canadian-born population in Ontario, which grew by 4.3% over the period.
  • Ontario continued to be the province of choice for more than half (52.3%) of the 1.1 million newcomers who arrived in Canada during the 2001-2006 period.
  • According to the Census, 580,740 immigrants came to Ontario between January 1, 2001 and May 16, 2006. These recent newcomers made up 17.1% of the foreign-born population, and 4.8% of total population.

Recent Immigrants Mainly from Asia

  • Immigrants born in Asia made up the largest proportion of newcomers to Ontario between 2001 and 2006 at 64.6%, up from 61% between 1996 and 2001.
  • Newcomers born in Europe made up the second-largest group at 14.6% of recent immigrants in 2006, down from 20% in 2001.
  • An estimated 10.3% of recent immigrants were born in Central and South America and the Caribbean, up from 9.6% in 2001. Another 6.9% of recent newcomers to Ontario in 2006 were born in Africa, up from 6.3% in 2001.

India was Top Source Country for Newcomers

  • India was the leading source country of newcomers to Ontario between 2001 and 2006. Fifteen per cent of recent immigrants came from India, followed by China (14%), Pakistan (7.5%), the Philippines (6.5%) and Sri Lanka (3.2%).

Toronto: Canadas Major Immigrant Gateway

  • The census enumerated 2,320,160 foreign-born individuals in Toronto in 2006, the largest number of any metropolitan area in the country. Between 2001 and 2006, the foreign-born population grew by 14.1%, compared to 4.6% for the Census Metropolitan Area’s (CMA) Canadian-born population.
  • The foreign-born population accounted for 45.7% of total population in the Toronto CMA in 2006, up from 43.7% in 2001, still the highest share among CMAs in Canada. Vancouver came second with 39.6%.

Nearly Eight of Every Ten New Immigrants to Ontario Settled in the Toronto CMA

  • Of the 580,740 foreign-born people who arrived in Ontario between 2001 and 2006, a growing share — an estimated 447,930, or 77.1% — chose to settle in the Toronto CMA. These recent immigrants made up 8.8% of Toronto's total population in 2006.
  • The top two source countries for recent immigrants to Toronto were India and China. Combined, these two countries accounted for nearly one-third of all newcomers to the Toronto CMA.
  • In 2006, India surpassed China as the number one source country of immigrants settling in Toronto. About 77,800 immigrants or 17.4% of all newcomers settling in the Toronto CMA were from India. An additional 67,000 newcomers, or 15% of the total, came from China.

High Share of Foreign-born in Municipalities Surrounding the City of Toronto

  • The City of Toronto (or Toronto CSD) was home to the largest number of foreign-born people in 2006 among Ontario municipalities. However, other municipalities surrounding the city have higher shares of foreign-born.
  • In Markham, more than half (56.5%) of residents in 2006 were born outside Canada, the highest proportion in Ontario and the second highest in Canada after Richmond, BC (57.4%).
  • The other Ontario municipalities with high shares of foreign-born were Mississauga (51.6%), Richmond Hill (51.5%), Toronto (50%) and Brampton (47.8%).

Contact Paul Lewis (416) 325-0821 / Victor Caballero (416) 325-0825.

Office of Economic Policy
Labour and Demographic Analysis Branch

Page: 2545  |

Faits saillants du recensement 2006 : Feuille de renseignements 7

Immigration et citoyenneté

Diagramme à barres : Proportion des personnes nées à l'étranger dand las population de l'Ontario Deux diagrammes à secteurs : Répartition provinciale des immigrants au Canada, avant 2001 et 2001-2006 Deux diagrammes à secteurs : Région d'origine des nouveaux immigrants en Ontario, 2001 et 2006 Diagramme à barres : Région métropolitaine  de recensement canadiennes avec le plus haut taux de personnes nées à l'étranger en 2006 Deux diagrammes à secteurs : Proportion de personnes nées à l'étranger dans la Région métropolitaine  de recensement de Toronto CMA et en Ontario Diagramme à barres : Municipalités de l'Ontario avec les plus hautes proportions de résidents nés à l'étranger, 2001 et 2006

La présente feuille de renseignements examine les renseignements sur l’immigration et la citoyenneté publiés par Statistique Canada suite au Recensement de 2006.

L’Ontario détient la plus importante proportion de personnes nées à l’étranger

  • En Ontario, le recensement de 2006 a dénombré 3 398 725 personnes nées à l’étranger, soit 28,3 % de la population totale de la province, la proportion la plus élevée parmi toutes les provinces. (La Colombie-Britannique est arrivée au deuxième rang avec 27,5 %.) En 1971, les personnes nées à l’étranger représentaient 22,2 % de la population de l’Ontario.
  • Entre 2001 et 2006, le nombre d’habitants de l’Ontario nés à l’étranger a connu une hausse de 12,2 %, une croissance trois fois plus rapide que le nombre des Ontariens nés au Canada, lequel a augmenté de 4,3 % au cours de la même période.
  • Entre 2001 et 2006, l’Ontario était toujours la province de choix pour plus de la moitié (52,3 %) des 1,1 million de nouveaux immigrants arrivant au Canada.
  • Selon le recensement, 580 740 immigrants sont arrivés en Ontario entre le 1er janvier 2001 et le 16 mai 2006. Ces nouveaux arrivants représentaient 17,1 % de la population née à l’étranger et 4,8 % de la population totale.

La plupart des nouveaux immigrants sont originaires d'Asie

  • Entre 2001 et 2006, les immigrants nés en Asie constituaient la plus grande proportion des nouveaux arrivants en Ontario avec 64,6 %, une augmentation par rapport aux 61 % comptés entre 1996 et 2001.
  • En 2006, les nouveaux arrivants nés en Europe formaient le deuxième groupe en importance avec 14,6 % des nouveaux immigrants, une diminution par rapport aux 20 % comptés en 2001.
  • Environ 10,3 % des nouveaux arrivants étaient nés en Amérique Centrale, en Amérique du Sud et dans les Caraïbes, une hausse par rapport aux 9,6 % de 2001. De plus, en 2006, 6,9 % des nouveaux arrivants en Ontario étaient nés en Afrique, une hausse par rapport aux 6,3 % de 2001.

L’Inde est le principal pays de la majorité des nouveaux arrivants

  • Entre 2001 et 2006, l’Inde était le principal pays d’origine des nouveaux arrivants en Ontario avec 15 % des nouveaux immigrants. Elle était suivie par la Chine (14 %), le Pakistan (7,5 %), les Philippines (6,5 %) et le Sri Lanka (3,2 %).

Toronto : la principale porte d’entrée pour les immigrants au Canada

  • Le recensement de 2006 a dénombré 2 320 160 personnes nées à l’étranger à Toronto, soit un nombre plus important que dans toutes les autres régions métropolitaines au pays. Entre 2001 et 2006, la population née à l’étranger a augmenté de 14,1 % comparativement à 4,6 % pour la population née au Canada dans cette Région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR).
  • En 2006, la population née à l’étranger représentait  45,7 % de la population totale de la RMR de Toronto, une augmentation par rapport aux 43,7 % mesurés en 2001 qui représentaient aussi, à l’époque, la proportion la plus élevée des RMR du Canada. Vancouver était au deuxième rang avec 39,6 %.

En Ontario, près de huit nouveaux immigrants sur dix se sont installés dans la RMR de Toronto

  • Sur 580 740 personnes nées à l’étranger et arrivées en Ontario entre 2001 et 2006, une proportion accrue --  447 930, ou  77,1 % -- a décidé de s’installer dans la RMR de Toronto. Ces nouveaux immigrants représentaient 8,8 % de la population totale de Toronto en 2006.
  • Les deux principaux pays d’origine des immigrants récemment arrivés à Toronto étaient l’Inde et la Chine. Les nouveaux arrivants en provenance de ces deux pays représentaient environ un tiers du nombre total de nouveaux arrivants dans la RMR de Toronto.
  • En 2006, l’Inde a surpassé la Chine en tant que principal pays d’origine des immigrants s’installant à Toronto. Près de 77 800 immigrants ou 17,4 % de tous les nouveaux arrivants ayant décidé de s’installer dans la RMR de Toronto étaient originaires de l’Inde, alors que 67 000 nouveaux arrivants, ou 15 % du total, venaient de Chine.

Un grand nombre de personnes nées à l’étranger vivent dans les municipalités entourant la Ville de Toronto

  • Comparativement aux autres municipalités de l’Ontario, en 2006, la Ville de Toronto (ou la SDR de Toronto) était habitée par le plus grand nombre de personnes nées à l’étranger. Toutefois, d’autres municipalités entourant cette ville contenaient de plus importantes proportions de personnes nées à l’étranger.
  • En 2006, plus de la moitié des résidents de Markham (56,5 %) étaient nés à l’extérieur du Canada, la plus importante proportion en Ontario et la deuxième plus importante au Canada après Richmond, C.-B. (57,4 %).
  • Les autres municipalités ontariennes avec une proportion importante de résidents nés à l’étranger étaient Mississauga (51,6  %), Richmond Hill (51,5 %), Toronto (50 %) et Brampton (47,8 %).  

Communiquez avec Paul Lewis au 416 325-0821 ou Victor Caballero au 416 325-0825.


Bureau des politiques économiques
Direction de l'analyse en matière de démographie et de travail

Page : 2545  |