2011 CENSUS HIGHLIGHTS: Factsheet 6

Mother Tongue and Language

Population by Mother Tongue, Ontario Population by Language Spoken at Home, Ontario Non-official Mother Tongues, Ontario Mother Tongue Distribution, Toronto CMA Mother Tongue Distribution, Ontario CMAs, 2011 Ontario Municipalities (5,000+) with High Shares of Non-Official Mother Tongues, 2011

This factsheet looks at mother tongue and language information released by Statistics Canada as part of the 2011 Census.

English, French and Non-Official Languages Grew at Similar Pace, Keeping the Shares Stable

  • In 2011, 8.8 million Ontarians reported English as their mother tongue, half a million more than in 2006. The share increased slightly to 69.3% from 69.1% in 2006.
  • There were 525,960 people reporting French as their mother tongue in Ontario in 2011, a slight increase from 510,240 in 2006. They represented 4.1% of population in 2011, a modest change from 4.2% in 2006.
  • In 2011, 3.4 million Ontarians were Allophones (people with a mother tongue other than English or French), up from 3.2 million in 2006. However, the share of this group remained the same as in 2006, at 26.6%.
  • The 2011 Census showed that English remained the language spoken most often at home. Also, the percentage of Ontarians speaking English most often at home (81.1%) was substantially higher than the share of the population with English as mother tongue (69.3%).

Some Non-official Mother Tongues Grew Significantly

  • Around 200 languages were reported by Ontarians as mother tongue in the 2011 Census. The top 25 of these accounted for 96% of Ontario’s total population.
  • Among mother tongues spoken by over 20,000 Ontarians in 2011 (28 of them), the fastest growing since 2006 were Bengali (31.3%), Hindi (25.8%), Persian (25.6%), Tagalog (24.2%), Arabic (20.3%), and Punjabi (18.0%).
  • In 2011, Chinese languages remained the most numerous non-official mother tongue group in Ontario. More than half a million people reported one of the Chinese languages as their mother tongue, representing 4.1% of Ontario’s population, unchanged from 2006.
  • Italian remained the fourth largest mother tongue in Ontario, but its numbers declined 8.8% since 2006. Spanish remained in fifth place. Punjabi and Tagalog rose to the sixth and seventh places, pushing Portuguese and German to the eighth and tenth positions.

Toronto CMA: Largest Proportion of Allophones

  • More than four in 10 people had a mother tongue other than English or French in the Toronto Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) in 2011.
  • The Chinese language group remained the dominant non-official language group in the Toronto CMA, having been reported by 455,200 people, or 19.8% of the CMA's population whose mother tongue was neither English nor French.
  • Italian ranked second with 178,750 people, followed by Punjabi (164,855), Tagalog (140,010) and Spanish (127,830).

Other Ontario Census Metropolitan Areas

  • Peterborough, Brantford, and Barrie CMAs had the highest shares of Anglophones in their population, at 93.3%, 89.2% and 88.4%, respectively.
  • The CMAs with the highest shares of Francophones were Greater Sudbury (27.7%), Ottawa-Gatineau (Ont. part) (16.8%), Windsor (3.7%) and St. Catharines- Niagara and Kingston (tied at 3.5%).
  • Toronto had the highest share of non-official languages as mother tongue (43.3%), followed by Kitchener (23.3%), Windsor (22.4%) and Hamilton (21.7%).
  • The dominant non-official languages in Ottawa-Gatineau (Ont. Part) were Chinese languages and Arabic. European languages (Italian, Polish, Portuguese, German) were more prominent in Hamilton and Kitchener.

Ontario Municipalities (Population 5,000+)

  • Among Ontario’s municipalities of at least 5,000 people in 2011, Markham had the highest share of non-official languages as mother tongue (58.9%), followed by Richmond Hill (56.8%), Vaughan (51.6%), Mississauga > (49.1%) and Toronto (46.1%).
  • The highest shares of Anglophones were found in the municipalities of Stone Mills (96.3%), Brockton (95.8%), Greater Napanee and Douro-Dummer (tied at 95.7%), and St. Clair and Perth (tied at 95.4%).
  • The highest shares of Francophones were in the municipalities of Hearst (87.6%), Hawkesbury (79.6%), Alfred & Plantagenet (76.0%), Kapuskasing (69.1%) and The Nation (67.7%).

November 5, 2012

Contact: Huan Nguyen (416) 325-0816

Office of Economic Policy
Labour and Demographic Analysis Branch

Faits saillants du recensement 2011 : Feuille de renseignements 6

Langues maternelles et langues

Répartition de la population par langue maternelle, Ontario Répartition de la population selon la langue parlée à la maison, Ontario Langues maternelles non officielles, Ontario Répartition de la population par langue maternelle, RMR de Toronto Répartition de la population par langue maternelle, RMR de L'Ontario, 2011 Municipalités de l'Ontario (5 000+) ayant de fortes proportions de personnes qui ne parlent pas une langue officielle, 2011

Cette fiche d’information examine les données sur les langues
maternelles et les langues publiées par Statistique Canada dans le cadre du Recensement de 2011.

L’anglais, le français et les langues non officielles ont progressé au même rythme, maintenant les proportions à un niveau stable

  • En 2011, 8,8 millions d’Ontariens ont déclaré avoir l’anglais comme langue maternelle, un demi-million de plus qu’en 2006. Le pourcentage a augmenté légèrement par rapport à 2006, passant de 69,1 % à 69,3 %.
  • En 2011, 525 960 personnes vivant en Ontario ont déclaré avoir le français comme langue maternelle, contre 510 240 en 2006. En 2001, ces personnes représentaient 4,1 % de la population, contre 4,2 % en 2006.
  • En 2011, 3,4 millions d’Ontariens étaient allophones (personnes dont la langue maternelle n’est ni l’anglais ni le français), contre 3,2 millions en 2006. Le pourcentage représenté par ce groupe est resté le même qu’en 2006, soit 26,6 %.
  • Selon les résultats du recensement de 2011, l’anglais est resté la langue le plus souvent parlée à la maison. En outre, le pourcentage d’Ontariens parlant l’anglais le plus souvent à la maison (81,1 %) était considérablement plus élevé que la proportion de la population dont l’anglais est la langue maternelle (69,3 %).

Certaines langues maternelles non officielles ont progressé considérablement

  • Lors du Recensement de 2011, quelque 200 langues ont été déclarées comme langues maternelles en Ontario. Les 25 langues arrivant en tête de liste comptaient pour 96 % de l’ensemble de la population de l’Ontario.
  • En 2011, parmi les langues maternelles parlées par plus de 20,000 Ontariens (28), celles qui ont progressé le plus rapidement depuis 2006 étaient le bengali (31,3 %), l’hindi (25,8 %), le persan (25,6 %), le tagalog (24,2 %), l’arabe (20,3 %) et le punjabi (18,0 %).
  • En 2011, le chinois est resté la langue maternelle non officielle la plus parlée en Ontario. Plus d’un demi-million de personnes ont déclaré avoir une langue chinoise comme langue maternelle, soit 4,1 % de la population, la même proportion qu’en 2006.
  • L’italien est resté la quatrième langue maternelle la plus parlée en Ontario, mais le nombre de personnes qui parlent cette langue a baissé de 8.8 % depuis 2006. L’espagnol s’est maintenu à la cinquième place. Le punjabi et le tagalog sont passés à la sixième et à la septième place, poussant le portugais et l’allemand à la sixième et à la septième place.

RMR de Toronto : Plus forte proportion d’allophones

  • En 2011, plus de quatre personnes sur 10 vivant dans la région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) de Toronto ont déclaré avoir une langue maternelle autre que l’anglais ou le français.
  • Le groupe parlant une langue chinoise est resté le principal groupe de la RMR de Toronto qui ne parle pas une langue officielle; 455 200 personnes (19,8 %) appartenant à ce groupe ont déclaré que leur langue maternelle n’est ni l’anglais ni le français.
  • L’italien s’est placé deuxième avec 178 750 personnes, suivi du punjabi (164 855 personnes), du tagalog (140 010 personnes) et de l’espagnol (127 830).

Autres régions métropolitaines de recensement de l’Ontario

  • Les RMR de Peterborough, Brantford et Barrie comptaient les plus fortes proportions d’anglophones au sein de leur population, soit 93,3 %, 89,2 % et 88,4 % respectivement.
  • Les RMR abritant les plus fortes proportions de francophones étaient le Grand Sudbury (27,7 %), Ottawa-Gatineau (côté Ontario) (16,8 %), Windsor (3,7 %) et St. > Catharines-Niagara et Kingston (à égalité avec 3,5 %).
  • Toronto a enregistré la plus forte proportion de langues maternelles non officielles (43,3 %), suivi de Kitchener (23,3 %), Windsor (22,4 %) et Hamilton (21,7 %).
  • Les langues non officielles qui dominaient à Ottawa-Gatineau (côté Ontario) étaient les langues chinoises e l’arabe. Les langues européennes (italien, polonais, portugais, allemand) dominaient à Hamilton et à Kitchener.

Municipalités de l’Ontario (population de 5 000+)

  • En 2011, parmi les municipalités de l’Ontario comptant au
    moins 5 000 habitants, Markham a enregistré la plus forte proportion de langues maternelles non officielles (58,9 %), suivi de Richmond Hill (56,8 %), Vaughan (51,6 %), Mississauga (49,1 %) et Toronto (46,1 %).
  • Les plus fortes proportions d’anglophones ont été constatées dans les municipalités de Stone Mills (96,3 %), Brockton (95,8 %), le Grand Napanee et Douro-Dummer (à égalité avec 95,7 %), et St. Clair et Perth (à égalité avec 95,4 %).
  • Les plus fortes proportions de francophones se trouvaient dans les municipalités de Hearst (87,6 %), Hawkesbury (79,6 %), Alfred et Plantagenet (76,0 %), Kapuskasing (69,1 %) et La Nation (67,7 %).

5 novembre 2012

Renseignements : Alex Munger 416-325-0102

Bureau des politiques économiques
Direction de l'analyse en matière de démographie et de travail