Aboriginal Peoples of Ontario

Aboriginal Groups of Ontario Aboriginal Population Living on Reserves, Ontario Age Distribution of Population, Ontario The Aboriginal Population, by Province 2006-2011 Aboriginal Population Growth, by Province Share of Aboriginal People in Total Population

This factsheet looks at the National Household Survey data on the Aboriginal peoples of Canada released by Statistics Canada.

Ontario’s Aboriginal Population

  • In the 2011 National Household Survey (NHS), 301,430 people self-identified as Aboriginal persons in Ontario. This represented 2.4% of the province’s total population, an increase from 2.0% in 2006.
  • North American Indians accounted for a majority of the aboriginal population, representing 66.7% in 2011 (slightly increased from 65.3% in 2006). The Métis followed at 28.5% (down from 30.4% in 2006), and the Inuit at 1.1% (up from 0.8% in 2006).
  • Between 2006 and 2011, Ontario’s Aboriginal population grew faster than the non-Aboriginal population, increasing 24.3%, five times faster than the 4.8% rate of growth for the non-Aboriginal population. Several factors may account for the faster growth, both demographic and non-demographic (e.g. more individuals choosing to identify themselves as an Aboriginal person).
  • Of the three Aboriginal groups, the fastest gains in population between 2006 and 2011 occurred among the Inuit and the North American Indian people with growth rates of 64.7% and 27%, respectively. The Métis increased by 16.9%.

One in Six Aboriginal people Lived on Reserves

  • 15.9% of all Aboriginal peoples in Ontario lived on reserves in 2011, down from 19.6% in 2006. Of those on reserves, nearly all (99%) were North American Indian, virtually unchanged from 2006. Within the North American Indian population 23.6% lived on reserved in 2011, down from 29.7% in 2006.

The Aboriginal Population is Relatively Younger

  • The Aboriginal population is younger than the non- Aboriginal population. A third of the Aboriginal population consists of children and teenagers aged 19 and under, compared with 23.8% for the non- Aboriginal population. The share of seniors in the Aboriginal people in 2011 increased to 6.7% from 5.2% in 2006, but was less than half the share of seniors in the non-Aboriginal population.

The Aboriginal Population Across Canada

  • In 2011, over half (53.9%) of Canada’s Aboriginal population lived in three provinces: Ontario, British Columbia and Alberta.
  • Ontario, the most populous province, is also the province with the largest Aboriginal population. One in five of the country’s Aboriginal peoples (21.5%) lived in Ontario in 2011.
  • BC had the second-largest Aboriginal population (16.6% of Canada), followed by Alberta (15.8%).

Aboriginal Population Growth Fastest East of Manitoba

  • Most Aboriginal people lived in Ontario and the West, but the fastest increase in the last five years occurred east of Manitoba.
  • Between 2006 and 2011, the number of people identifying themselves as Aboriginal increased 52.7% in Newfoundland and Labrador, 40% in Nova Scotia, 30.9% in Quebec, 28.9% in PEI, 28.1% in New Brunswick, and 24.3% in Ontario.
  • Among regions with a high concentration of Aboriginal people in the population (above 15%, the fastest increases were in Manitoba (11.7%) and the Saskatchewan (11.2%).

The Territories and Prairie Provinces have the Highest Concentration of Aboriginal Population

  • The Territories and in the Prairies remain the regions with highest concentrations of Aboriginal population.
  • Nunavut had the highest proportion of Aboriginal people in its population (86%) in 2011, followed by the Northwest Territories (52%) and the Yukon (23%).
  • Among the provinces, Manitoba and Saskatchewan have the largest proportion of Aboriginal people at 17% and 16%, respectively.
  • All provinces east of Manitoba had less than 4% of Aboriginal people in their populations, with the exception of Newfoundland and Labrador whose Aboriginal people accounted for 7% of the total population.
  • In Ontario, Aboriginal people accounted for 2.4% of the total population in 2011, up from 2.0% in 2006.
  • 52% of Aboriginal people in Ontario lived in the Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs). Brantford, Greater Sudbury, and Thunder Bay CMAs had the highest share of Aboriginal people in the total population, at 8.3%, 8.5% and 10.0% respectively.

June 2013

Contact: Huan Nguyen (416) 325-0816

Office of Economic Policy
Labour and Demographic Analysis Branch

Faits saillants de l’Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 : Fiche d’information 3

Les peuples autochtones de l’Ontario

Groupes autochtones de l'Ontario Populations autochtones vivant dans des réserves, Ontario Distribution des âges dans la population, Ontario Les populations autochtones par province Croissance de la population autochtones - 20016-2011, par province Population autochtones en pourcentage de la population totale

Cette fiche d’information examine les données de l'Enquête nationale auprès des ménages concernant les Autochtones du Canada, publiées par Statistiques Canada.

Les peuples autochtones de l’Ontario

  • Dans l'Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 (ENM), 301 430 personnes vivant en Ontario se sont dites Autochtones, soit 2,4 % l’ensemble de la population de la province, contre 2,0 % en 2006.
  • Les Amérindiens représentaient une forte proportion des Autochtones, soit 66,7 % en 2011 (65,3 % en 2006). Les Métis venaient ensuite avec 28,5 % (30,4 % en 2006), et les Inuits avec 1,1 % (0,8 % en 2006).
  • Entre 2006 et 2011, la population autochtone de l’Ontario s’est accrue plus rapidement que la population non autochtone, augmentant de 24,3 %, soit cinq fois plus rapidement que la population non autochtone (4,8 %). Plusieurs facteurs peuvent expliquer cet essor, aussi bien démographiques que non démographiques (p. ex., un nombre plus élevé de personnes se disent Autochtones).
  • Les trois peuples autochtones qui ont enregistré les gains démographiques les plus rapides entre 2006 et 2011 sont les Inuits et les Amérindiens, avec des taux de croissance de 64,7 % et de 27 % respectivement. La population métisse s’est accrue de 16,9 %.

Un Autochtone sur six vivait dans une réserve

  • En 2011, 15,9 % de l’ensemble des Autochtones de l’Ontario vivait dans des réserves, contre 19,6 % en 2006. La quasi-totalité (99 %) des personnes vivant dans les réserves étaient amérindiennes, à peu près comme en 2006. En 2011, 23,6 % de la population amérindienne du Nord de la province vivait dans des réserves, contre 29,7 % en 2006.

Les Autochtones sont relativement plus jeunes

  • Les Autochtones sont plus jeunes que les non- Autochtones. Un tiers des Autochtones comprend des enfants et des adolescents âgés de 19 ans et moins, comparativement à 23,8 % pour les non-Autochtones. En 2011, le pourcentage d’Autochtones âgés par rapport à l’ensemble de la population autochtone est passé à 6,7 % (5,2 % en 2006), mais est deux fois moins élevé que le pourcentage de personnes âgées chez les non-Autochtones.

Les peuples autochtones du Canada

  • En 2011, plus de la moitié (53,9 %) des Autochtones du Canada vivaient dans trois provinces : l’Ontario, la Colombie-Britannique et l’Alberta.
  • L’Ontario, la province la plus peuplée, est aussi celle qui abrite le plus grand nombre d’Autochtones. En 2011, un Autochtone sur cinq (21,5 %) vivait en Ontario.
  • La Colombie-Britannique arrivait en deuxième position (16,6 % de l’ensemble de la population autochtone du Canada), suivie de l’Alberta (15,8 %).

La population autochtone s’accroît le plus rapidement à l’est du Manitoba

  • La plupart des Autochtones vivaient en Ontario et dans l’Ouest, mais la hausse la plus rapide des cinq dernières années a été enregistrée à l’est du Manitoba.
  • Entre 2006 et 2011, le nombre de personnes se disant Autochtones a augmenté de 52,7 % à Terre-Neuve et Labrador, de 40 % en Nouvelle-Écosse, de 30,9 % au Québec, de 28,9 % à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, de 28,1 % au Nouveau-Brunswick, et de 24.3 % en Ontario.
  • Parmi les régions affichant une forte concentration d’Autochtones (plus de 15 %) , les hausses les plus rapides ont été enregistrées au Manitoba (11,7 %) et en Saskatchewan (11,2 %).

Les territoires et les provinces des Prairies affichent la plus forte concentration d’Autochtones

  • Les territoires et les provinces des Prairies restent les régions qui affichent les plus fortes concentrations d’Autochtones.
  • En 2011, le Nunavut comptait la plus forte proportion d’Autochtones par rapport à l’ensemble de la population (86 %), suivi des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (52 %) et du Yukon (23 %).
  • Le Manitoba et la Saskatchewan sont les provinces qui comptaient les plus fortes proportions d’Autochtones, soit 17 % et 16 % respectivement.
  • Toutes les provinces à l’est du Manitoba avaient moins de 4 % d’Autochtones, sauf Terre-Neuve et Labrador dont les Autochtones comptaient pour 7 % de l’ensemble de la population.
  • En Ontario, les Autochtones comptaient pour 2,4 % de l’ensemble de la population en 2011, contre 2,0 % en 2006.
  • En Ontario, 52 % des Autochtones vivaient dans les régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR). Les RMR de Brantford, du Grand Sudbury et de Thunder Bay comptaient la plus forte proportion d’Autochtones par rapport à l’ensemble de la population, soit 8,3 %, 8,5 % et 10,0 % respectivement.

Juin 2013

Renseignements : Alex Munger 416-325-0102

Bureau des politiques économiques
Direction de l'analyse en matière de démographie et de travail