Frequently Asked Questions

General Questions About Taxes


How are my tax dollars spent by the Ontario government?

Many of the services and benefits Ontarians enjoy are made possible through taxes. Ontario's tax system funds integral services such as roads and highways, health care, hospitals, education, social services, provincial parks and the environment.

Information on government expenditures is contained in the annual financial report and consolidated financial statement of the Province of Ontario.


How much money does the Ontario government collect yearly?

For 2014-15, the Ontario government's estimated revenue is $118.9 billion of which $83.4 billion, or about 70 per cent, is expected to come from taxation revenues. Three taxes within this category - Personal Income Tax, Sales Tax and Corporations Tax - account for 51 per cent of total revenues. (Source: Chapter 2, 2014 Ontario Budget)


Why can't the Ministry of Finance reply to a tax interpretation request by email?

The Ministry of Finance website is primarily an information service. It provides electronic access to the majority of the ministry's forms, publications, and guides.

The ministry cannot respond to interpretation requests via email due to the confidentiality of taxpayer information. Please call or write us with requests for interpretations on the tax and benefit programs administered by the ministry.

We do, however, welcome general questions and comments about the site content as well as comments on the quality of the site or suggestions on how to improve it.


Are Ontario laws, such as the Corporations Tax Act, on this website?

The Ministry of Finance does not publish consolidated statutes and regulations – either in print or electronically.

However, the Ministry of Government Services and the Attorney General offer consolidated statutes and regulations on their websites (ontario.ca/e-laws) where the Corporations Tax Act can be found.


What records am I required to keep and for how long?

In general, you must keep your books and records for at least seven years. However, there are some exceptions and conditions that must be met before you can destroy any books or records. Please refer to Tax Information Bulletin Retention/Destruction of Books and Records for information pertaining to the consent to destroy records.

The specific records that need to be retained differ with each statute; however, books and records must indicate the taxes payable or collected and substantiate any tax exempt status claimed and must be supported by documents necessary to verify that the information in the books and records is correct.

Page: 2185  |

Foire aux questions

FAQ sur les taxes et impôts


Comment le gouvernement de l'Ontario dépense-t-il l'argent des contribuables?

Nombre des services et avantages dont profitent les Ontariennes et les Ontariens sont rendus possibles gràce aux taxes et impôts perçus. Le régime fiscal de l'Ontario finance des services intégrés tels que les routes et autoroutes, les soins de santé, les hôpitaux, l'éducation, les services sociaux, les parcs provinciaux et l'environnement.

L'information sur les dépenses du gouvernement est publiée dans le document intitulé Rapport annuel et états financiers consolidés de la Province d'Ontario.


Combien d'argent le gouvernement de l'Ontario perçoit-il chaque année?

Pour 2014-15, on prévoit que les revenus du gouvernement de l'Ontario s'élèveront à 118.9 milliards de dollars, dont 83,4 milliards de dollars, ou environ 70 %, devraient provenir des revenus fiscaux. Trois impôts qui tombent dans cette catégorie - l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, la taxe de vente au détail et l'impôt des sociétés - représentent environ 51 % du total des revenus. (Source : Chapitre 2, Budget de l'Ontario 2014).


Pourquoi le ministère des Finances ne peut-il pas répondre à une demande d'interprétation fiscale par courriel?

Pour le moment, le site Web du ministère des Finances assure une fonction principalement informative. Il fournit l'accès électronique à la plupart des formulaires, publications et guides du ministère.

Le ministère ne peut répondre aux demandes d'interprétation par courriel pour des raisons de confidentialité des renseignements des contribuables. Veuillez communiquer avec nous par téléphone ou par écrit pour toute demande d'interprétation au sujet des taxes ou impôts, ou des programmes administrés par le ministère.

Ceci dit, nous nous ferons un plaisir de répondre à toute question ou observation d'ordre général sur le contenu du site, et nous restons ouverts à toute remarque sur sa qualité, de même qu'à toute suggestion susceptible de favoriser son amélioration.


Les lois de l'Ontario, tels que la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés, figurent-ils sur le site Web du ministère des Finances?

Le ministère des Finances ne publie pas les lois et règlements consolidés, ni par écrit ni sous forme électronique.

Cependant, les ministères des Services gouvernementaux et du Procureur général affichent tous deux les lois et règlements consolidés sur leurs sites Web (ontario.ca/lois-en-ligne), y compris la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés.


Quels dossiers suis-je tenu de conserver et pendant combien de temps?

En général, vous devez conserver vos livres et dossiers pendant au moins sept ans.  Il y a, cependant, certaines exceptions et aussi des conditions qui doivent être remplies avant que vous puissiez détruire des livres ou des dossiers. Veuillez consulter le bulletin d'information fiscale Conservation/Destruction des livres et dossiers pour avoir plus de détails sur l'autorisation de détruire des dossiers.

Les dossiers précis qui doivent être conservés dépendent de chaque loi; toutefois, les livres et dossiers doivent indiquer les taxes, impôts ou droits à payer ou perçus et justifier toute exemption demandée; ils doivent aussi s'accompagner des pièces justificatives nécessaires pour vérifier si l'information qu'ils contiennent est correcte.

Page : 2185  |