RST Clearance Certificate Checklist

Published: August 2005
Content last reviewed: August 2013

Businesses are required to obtain a clearance certificate from the Minister of Finance under the Retail Sales Tax Act (RSTA) for sales to which the Bulk Sales Act applies. To enhance the effectiveness of clearance certificates, the 2011 Budget amended the RSTA to allow the minister to withhold clearance certificates until tax debts under the following additional statutes were paid or secured: the Alcohol and Gaming Regulation and Public Protection Act, 1996; Fuel Tax Act; Gasoline Tax Act, Race Tracks Tax Act and Tobacco Tax Act.

Persons who sell their business or business assets, in whole or in part, through a sale in bulk to which the Bulk Sales Act applies, are required to obtain a Clearance Certificate from the Ministry of Finance. A Clearance Certificate certifies that all Retail Sales Tax (RST) collectable or payable by the seller has been paid or secured. It also protects the purchaser from the responsibility for the outstanding RST liabilities of the seller.

Where the Bulk Sales Act applies to a sale in bulk, the purchaser is required to obtain from the seller a copy of the Clearance Certificate obtained by the seller. If the purchaser fails to obtain a Clearance Certificate from the seller, the purchaser may be held liable for any RST owing by the seller at the time of the sale.

The Bulk Sales Act may apply where there is a sale of stock (i.e., fixtures, goods, chattels) in bulk out of the usual course of business or trade of the seller. To determine whether the Bulk Sales Act applies to a particular situation, sellers should consult their legal advisor.

In certain circumstances, such as where RST is owed by the seller or where an audit has been scheduled but not completed prior to the closing date of the sale, the Ministry of Finance may require funds to be held back from the proceeds of the sale prior to issuing the Clearance Certificate or the seller may be asked to agree in writing to a condition being placed on the certificate.

All requests for Clearance Certificates must be made in writing, at least two weeks before the sale takes place, and signed by the seller or the seller's authorized representative. The request should be sent by fax to 905 436-4474 or by mail to:

Ministry of Finance
Collections Branch
33 King Street West
PO Box 627
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H5

The following information should be included in the written request for a Clearance Certificate:

  1. Legal name and business/trade name of seller
  2. Address and telephone number of seller
  3. Forwarding address of seller
  4. Date of sale/closing
  5. Details of the sale, i.e., sale of assets, sale of shares, etc.
  6. Whether the sale is for a portion of the assets only
  7. Description of assets included in the sale and value if known
  8. RST Vendor Permit number (if applicable)
  9. Whether the Vendor Permit is to be cancelled
  10. Purchaser's legal name, address and telephone number
  11. Written authorization from the seller allowing the release of confidential account details if the request is made by a third party (i.e., seller's representative)
  12. Whether the Clearance Certificate is to be mailed, or picked up

The information contained in this publication is only a guideline. For more information on the sale of business assets, contact the Ontario Ministry of Finance at 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Page: 2532  |

Liste de contrôle pour le Certificat de décharge à l'égard de la taxe de vente au détail

Date de publication : août 2005
Dernière mise à jour : août 2013

Les entreprises sont tenues d’obtenir un certificat de paiement du ministre des Finances en vertu de la Loi sur la taxe de vente au détail (LTVD) lors d’une vente assujettie à la Loi sur la vente en bloc. Pour étoffer l’efficacité des certificats de paiement de taxes, le budget de 2011 avait modifié la LTVD pour permettre au ministre de refuser de délivrer un certificat de paiement tant que les taxes exigibles n’avaient pas été payées ou garanties en vertu des autres lois suivantes : la Loi de 1996 sur la réglementation des alcools et des jeux et la protection du public, la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants, la Loi de la taxe sur l’essence, la Loi de la taxe sur le pari mutuel et la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac.

Les personnes qui vendent leur entreprise ou des éléments d'actif de celle-ci, en totalité ou en partie, dans une vente en bloc visée par la Loi sur la vente en bloc, doivent obtenir un Certificat de décharge du ministère des Finances. Un Certificat de décharge atteste que toute la taxe de vente au détail (TVD) percevable ou payable par le vendeur a effectivement été payée ou fait l'objet d'une garantie. Il protège aussi l'acheteur contre la responsabilité de payer les montants de TVD non réglés par le vendeur.

Lorsque la Loi sur la vente en bloc s'applique dans le cas d'une telle vente, l'acheteur doit demander au vendeur une copie du Certificat de décharges qu'il a obtenu. S'il n'obtient pas une copie du Certificat de décharge du vendeur l'acheteur peut être tenu responsable de tout montant de TVD redevable par le vendeur au moment de la vente.

La Loi sur la vente en bloc peut s'appliquer lorsqu'il y a vente de stock (comme des accessoires fixes, des marchandises, des biens meubles) en bloc en dehors du cadre habituel de l'entreprise ou du commerce du vendeur. Pour savoir si la Loi sur la vente en bloc s'applique à une situation particulière, le vendeur devrait consulter son conseiller légal.

Dans certaines circonstances, comme lorsque le vendeur doit la TVD ou lorsqu'une vérification est prévue mais n'est pas terminée avant la date de conclusion de la vente, le ministère des Finances peut exiger que les fonds soient retenus sur le produit de la vente avant d'émettre le Certificat de décharge ou encore demander au vendeur d'accepter, par écrit, une condition placée dans le certificat.

Toutes les demandes de Certificat de décharge doivent être faites par écrit, au moins deux semaines avant la vente et être signées par le vendeur ou son représentant autorisé. Cette demande doit être soumise par télécopieur au 905 436-4474 ou par courier au :

Ministère des Finances
Direction de la perception des revenus
33, rue King Ouest
CP Box 627
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H5

Les renseignements suivants doivent figurer dans la demande d'un Certificat de décharge :

  1. Raison sociale/nom commercial du vendeur
  2. Adresse et numéro de téléphone du vendeur
  3. Adresse de réexpédition du vendeur
  4. Date de la vente/de la conclusion de la vente
  5. Détails de la vente (vente d'éléments d'actif, de parts, etc.)
  6. S'il s'agit de la vente d'une partie seulement de l'actif
  7. Description des éléments d'actif compris dans la vente et leur valeur si elle est connue
  8. Numéro de permis de vendeur pour la TVD (s'il y a lieu)
  9. Si le permis de vendeur doit être annulé
  10. Nom, prénom, adresse et numéro de téléphone officiels de l'acheteur
  11. Autorisation écrite du vendeur permettant la divulgation de détails confidentiels sur ses comptes, si une tierce partie le demande (comme le représentant du vendeur)
  12. Si le Certificat de décharge doit être posté ou ramassé

Les informations contenues dans cette publication ne sont données qu'à titre d'indication. Pour plus de renseignements sur la vente des actifs d'une entreprise, adressez-vous au ministère des Finances de l'Ontario en composant le 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Page : 2532  |