Guide for Completing the Fuel Acquisition Permit Holder Return FT814

Published: April 2010
Content last reviewed: April 2010

The information in this guide will help you complete the Fuel Acquisition Permit Holder Return FT814. The guide also provides information about filing requirements including the time for filing a Return, the required supporting schedules and payment information. The information in this guide does not replace the law found in the Fuel Tax Act and related regulations.

File, pay and view your account online

ONT-TAXS online is the Ministry of Finance's secure, convenient and free online tax service. It saves time, reduces paper and is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Getting started is fast and easy!

Visit ontario.ca/finance (enter webpage number 2587 into the 'Find page' field at the bottom of the website) or call us at 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

General Information

If you are registered as a Fuel Acquisition Permit Holder under the Fuel Tax Act, you must complete the Fuel Acquisition Permit Holder Return FT814 and the supporting schedules for the reporting period. You are required to complete a Return even if you did not have any activity during the reporting period.

You are also required, if applicable, to complete and attach to your return the following schedules:

  • Product Purchased/Received from Designated Collectors in Ontario Schedule GT/FT3
  • Product Purchased/Received from Non-Collectors in Ontario Schedule GT/FT5

If you require paper copies of the return or schedules contact the Ministry of Finance (ministry) at the address or telephone provided in this guide.

If you choose, you may submit your own computer produced facsimile(s) of the returns and schedules, but they must be approved by the ministry before you use them for filing a return. Please contact the ministry for computer produced facsimile approval information.

Filing Requirements

The Return, supporting schedules and remittance for any tax collectable or tax payable must be filed on or before the 25th day of the month following the last day of your reporting period.

Should your return due date fall on a day when the ministry is not open during its regular hours of business then the due date is extended to include the next business day when the ministry is open during its regular hours of business.

Penalty

The penalty for late filing a Return or short/non-payment of taxes owing is equal to 10% of the tax collectable or 5% of the tax payable.

Records Retention

You are required to keep, at your principal place of business, records and books of account as well as any other documents to verify the information in the records and books, that will enable the accurate determination of the tax collectable and payable under the Fuel Tax Act, for a period of seven years following the end of your fiscal year.

For further information regarding records retention, please refer to the Tax Information Bulletin entitled Retention/Destruction of Books and Records. Copies are available at ontario.ca/finance (enter webpage number 2217 into the 'Find page' field at the bottom of the website) or by calling the ministry at 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Reference No.

This is a unique number assigned by the ministry to each return and accompanying schedule(s) issued to a taxpayer. When communicating with the ministry, you must provide this unique Reference Number to identify a particular return/schedule(s), in addition to quoting your Identification Number if you have one (federal business number).

Change of Information

Please notify the ministry of any change in your name and address. When contacting the ministry, be sure to use your Identification Number found at the top left of the return. The ministry contact information is detailed below.

Freedom of Information

Personal information contained within the Fuel Acquisition Permit Holder Return FT814 is collected under the authority of the Fuel Tax Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.F.35, and will be used for the purposes of the Fuel Tax Act. Questions about this information collection should be directed to:

Senior Manager, Account Management
Client Services Branch
Ministry of Finance
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  LIH 8H9

1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)

Delivery of Returns and Payments

Returns and payments may be filed using ONT-TAXS online at ontario.ca/finance or by mail to Ministry of Finance, 33 King St. W, PO Box 620, Oshawa, ON  L1H 8E9.

Returns and payments are also accepted at ServiceOntario Centre locations on behalf of the ministry. For ServiceOntario Centre locations, hours of operation and telephone numbers, visit ontario.ca (enter webpage number 4020859 into the 'Find page' field at the bottom of the website) or call toll-free 1 888 745-8888 (TTY toll-free 1 800 268-7095).

Print your Identification Number on the back of your cheque or money order. Your cheque/money order should be made payable to the Minister of Finance.

Payments cannot be made at financial institutions.

Enquiries

Toll free 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
Hours of Service: Monday to Friday, 8:30am to 5:00pm

Teletypewriter (TTY) 1 800 263-7776

Fax 905 433-5680

Mail

Ministry of Finance
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

Website ontario.ca/finance

Instructions to Complete the Return

Identification

If your Legal Name, Address and Identification Number (federal business number) are preprinted, please verify the information. If the information is incorrect, make the necessary corrections on the Return. If blank, record your Legal Name, Address, and Identification Number if you have one.

Verify that the pre-printed Reporting Period (year-month-day) is correct. Indicate if there was No Activity during this reporting period, or if it is an Amended return by placing an X in the appropriate box.

Schedules

Complete applicable schedules. See schedule for instructions and attach your completed copies.

Total Accountable Volumes

Total Accountable Volumes are captured in two product type columns being Clear Fuel and Clear Kerosene. Please use the appropriate column(s).

Line 1 Opening inventory: Fuel on hand at all Ontario locations at the beginning of the reporting period.

Line 2 Product Purchased/Received from Non-Collectors in Ontario: If you purchased product on which you paid the Ontario tax, record the purchases on the Product Purchased/Received from Non-Collectors in Ontario Schedule FT5 and transfer the Total Litres to line two Product Purchased/Received from Non-Collectors in Ontario. All invoices showing purchases of tax-paid product, for which a claim is being made, must be submitted with the return for audit purposes.

Line 3 Product Purchased/Received from Designated Collectors in Ontario: Transfer the Total Litres Purchased by Type of Product from the Product Purchased/Received from Designated Collectors in Ontario Schedule FT3 to line three Product Purchased/Received from Designated Collectors in Ontario.

Line 4 Closing inventory: Fuel on hand at the end of the reporting period.

Line 5 Total Accountable Volumes: To calculate the Total Accountable Volumes, subtract line 4 from the sum of lines 1 to 3.

Usage of Clear Fuel

For this section, please complete the appropriate line(s) for usage of Clear Fuel:

Line 6 As a raw material to be wrought into or to become part of goods for sale: Enter the total litres of clear fuel used as a raw material to be wrought into or to become part of goods for sale.

Line 7 Clear fuel used in fire fighting training: Enter the total litres of clear fuel used in fire fighting training.

Line 8 In the operation of railway maintenance equipment that is only used on rails for the maintenance of a public transportation system: Enter the total litres of clear fuel used in the operation of railway maintenance equipment that was used on rails for the maintenance of a public transportation system.

Line 9 In the development and quality assurance testing of fuel: Enter the total litres of clear fuel used in the development and quality assurance testing of fuel.

Line 10 In the bench testing of an aircraft engine before installation of the engine into an aircraft: Enter the total litres of clear fuel used in the bench testing of an aircraft engine before installation.

Line 11 In the testing of a motor vehicle engine before installation of the engine in a motor vehicle: Enter the total litres of clear fuel used in the testing of a motor vehicle engine before installation.

Usage of Clear Bulk Kerosene

For this section, please complete the appropriate line(s) for usage of clear kerosene:

Line 12 Repackaged into containers less than 25 litres: Bulk kerosene (1K) packaged into containers for resale to consumers to be used in certain lighting, heating or cooking appliances designed to be used unvented, indoors, in containers that are not more than 25 litres.

Line 13 Repackaged into containers between 25 litres and 210 litres: Bulk kerosene (1K) packaged into containers of more than 25 litres and not more than 210 litres.

Usage of Clear Kerosene for Industrial Purposes

Line 14 As a raw material to be wrought into or to become part of goods for sale: Enter the total litres of clear kerosene used by an industry as a raw material to be wrought into or to become part of goods for sale.

Adjustments

Line 15 Adjustments: Enter the total litres of clear fuel or clear kerosene that you are claiming as an adjustment. Please provide a written explanation.

Line 16 Credit Due on Ontario tax paid purchases: To calculate credit due on Ontario tax paid purchases, multiply the sum of the litres of line 2 from the clear fuel column and the clear kerosene column by the tax rate paid at the time of purchase. Upon verification, the ministry will process a refund for this amount.

Certification

If you are not filing your return through ONT-TAXS online then the Return must be signed and dated by an authorized signing officer. The information contained in the return must, to the knowledge of the authorized signing officer, be true, correct and complete.

If this Return is signed by a third party (such as your accountant or solicitor) the ministry needs your authorization. A properly completed Authorizing or Cancelling a Representative form [PDF - 407 KB] must be returned to the ministry. Forms are available on the Ministry of Finance internet ontario.ca/finance (enter webpage number 113 into the 'Find page' field at the bottom of the website) or forms.

The name and title of the person signing the Return must also be printed in the space provided.

Related topics

Page: 2920  |

Comment remplir la Déclaration à l'intention des titulaires d'un permis d'acquisition de carburant – FT814

Date de publication : avril 2010
Dernière mise à jour : avril 2010

Les renseignements contenus dans ce guide vous aideront à remplir la Déclaration à l'intention des titulaires d'un permis d'acquisition de carburant – FT814. Ce guide renferme aussi des renseignements sur les exigences de production, notamment le temps de production des déclarations, les pénalités en cas de production tardive, ainsi que de l'information sur les paiements. L'information contenue dans ce guide ne remplace pas les dispositions figurant dans la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants ou dans les règlements qui en découlent.

Produire vos déclarations, effectuer des paiements et consulter votre compte en ligne

ONT-TAXS en ligne est le système de services fiscaux en ligne du ministère des Finances qui est sécurisé, pratique et gratuit. Il permet de gagner du temps, de réduire la paperasserie et il est disponible 24 heures sur 24, et sept jours sur sept.

C'est facile et simple de commencer!

Visitez ontario.ca/finances (tapez le numéro de la page Web 2587 dans le champ « Trouver la page » au bas de la page Web) ou appelez-nous au 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Informations générales

Si vous êtes enregistré en tant que titulaire d'un permis d'acquisition de carburant en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants, vous devez remplir la Déclaration à l'intention des titulaires d'un permis d'acquisition de carburant – FT814 et les annexes justificatives pour la période de déclaration. Vous devez remplir une déclaration même si vous n'avez eu aucune activité pendant la période visée.

Le cas échéant, vous devez également remplir et joindre à votre déclaration les annexes suivantes :

  • Annexe GT/FT3 – Produits achetés/reçus auprès de percepteurs désignés en Ontario
  • Annexe GT/FT5 – Produits achetés/reçus auprès de non-percepteurs en Ontario

Si vous souhaitez obtenir des copies papier de la déclaration ou des annexes, veuillez communiquer avec le ministère des Finances (le Ministère) à l'adresse ou au numéro de téléphone fournis dans ce guide.

Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez transmettre votre (vos) propre(s) fac-similé(s) informatisé(s) des déclarations et des annexes, mais ils doivent être approuvés par le Ministère avant que vous ne puissiez les utiliser pour produire une déclaration. Veuillez communiquer avec le Ministère pour obtenir des renseignements sur l'approbation des fac-similés informatisés.

Exigences de production

La déclaration, les annexes justificatives et le règlement de toute taxe à percevoir ou à payer doivent être produits au plus tard le 25e jour du mois suivant le dernier jour de votre période de déclaration.

Si la date limite pour la production de votre déclaration tombe un jour où le Ministère n'est pas ouvert pendant ses heures d'ouverture habituelles, la date limite sera alors reportée pour inclure le jour ouvrable suivant lorsque le Ministère sera ouvert pendant ses heures d'ouverture habituelles.

Pénalités

Les pénalités en cas de production tardive d'une déclaration ou de paiement insuffisant/non-paiement des taxes exigibles correspondent à 10 % de la taxe à percevoir ou à 5 % de la taxe à payer.

Conservation des documents

Vous devez conserver dans votre principal lieu d'affaires les registres et les livres comptables, ainsi que tous les autres documents nécessaires à la vérification des renseignements contenus dans les registres et les livres comptables, qui permettront d'établir avec exactitude la taxe à percevoir et à payer en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants, pendant une période de sept ans à compter de la fin de votre exercice financier.

Pour obtenir plus d'information au sujet de la conservation des documents, veuillez consulter le Bulletin d'information fiscale intitulé Conservation/Destruction des livres et dossiers. Vous pouvez vous procurer des copies à ontario.ca/finances (tapez le numéro de la page Web 2217 dans le champ « Trouver la page » au bas de la page) ou en appelant le Ministère au 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Numéro de référence

Il s'agit d'un numéro unique attribué par le Ministère à chaque déclaration ainsi qu'à chaque annexe jointe remises à un contribuable. Lorsque vous contactez le Ministère, vous devez fournir ce numéro de référence unique afin d'identifier une déclaration ou une annexe donnée, en plus d'indiquer votre numéro d'identification si vous en avez un (numéro d'entreprise fédéral).

Demande de modification

Veuillez informer le Ministère de tout changement de nom et d'adresse. Lorsque vous contactez le Ministère, assurez-vous d'indiquer votre numéro d'identification qui se trouve dans la partie supérieure gauche de votre déclaration. Les coordonnées du Ministère sont fournies plus bas.

Accès à l'information

Les renseignements personnels figurant dans la Déclaration à l'intention des titulaires d'un permis d'acquisition de carburant – FT814 sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants, L.R.O. 1990, ch. F. 35, et serviront aux fins de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants. Toutes les questions sur la collecte de ces renseignements doivent être adressées à :

Ministère des Finances
Direction des services à la clientèle
À l'attention du Chef, Gestion des comptes
33, rue King Ouest, C.P. 625,
Oshawa ON  LIH 8H9
1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)

Envoyez vos déclarations et vos paiements à :

Les déclarations et les paiements doivent être effectués en utilisant ONT-TAXS en ligne à l'adresse ontario.ca/finances ou envoyés par la poste au Ministère des Finances, 33, rue King Ouest, C.P. 620, Oshawa, ON  L1H 8E9.

Les déclarations et les paiements sont aussi acceptés dans les Centres ServiceOntario pour le compte du Ministère. Pour connaître l'adresse, les heures d'ouverture et le numéro de téléphone des Centres ServiceOntario, visitez ontario.ca (tapez le numéro de page Web 4020859 dans le champ « Trouver la page » au bas de la page) ou composez, sans frais, le 1 888 745-8888 (Appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (sans frais) 1 800 268-7095).

Veuillez indiquer votre numéro d'identification au dos de votre chèque ou mandat. Votre chèque/mandat doit être libellé à l'ordre du Ministre des Finances.

Les paiements ne peuvent pas être faits dans les institutions financières.

Renseignements

Sans frais 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
Heures d'ouverture du lundi au vendredi
De 8 h 30 à 17 h

Appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS) 1 800 263-7776

Télécopieur 905 433-5680

Par la poste Ministère des Finances
33, rue King Ouest
C.P. 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

Site Web ontario.ca/finances

Instructions pour remplir la déclaration

Identification

Si votre raison sociale, votre adresse et votre numéro d'identification (numéro d'entreprise fédéral) sont préimprimés, veuillez vérifier l'information qu'ils contiennent. Si des renseignements sont inexacts, faites les changements nécessaires sur la déclaration. Si les cases sont vierges, veuillez indiquer votre raison sociale, votre adresse et votre numéro d'identification (si vous en avez un).

Vérifiez que la période de déclaration préimprimée (année-mois-jour) est exacte. Indiquez s'il n'y a eu Aucune activité pendant la période de déclaration visée ou s'il s'agit d'une déclaration modifiée en mettant un × dans la case correspondante.

Annexes

Veuillez remplir les annexes correspondantes. Consultez l'annexe contenant les instructions et joignez vos copies remplies.

Total des volumes à comptabiliser

Le Total des volumes à comptabiliser est saisi dans deux colonnes de type de produit (Carburant non coloré et Kérosène non coloré). Veuillez utiliser la (les ) colonne(s) correspondante(s).

Ligne 1 Stock d'ouverture : Carburant disponible dans tous les endroits en Ontario au début de la période de déclaration.

Ligne 2 Produits achetés/reçus auprès de non-percepteurs désignés en Ontario : Si vous avez acheté un produit pour lequel vous avez payé la taxe en Ontario, consignez les achats dans l'Annexe FT5 – Produits achetés/reçus auprès de non-percepteurs désignés en Ontario et reportez le Total des litres à la ligne 2 (Produits achetés/reçus auprès de non-percepteurs en Ontario). Toutes les factures indiquant des achats de produit pour lesquels la taxe a été payée, et pour lesquels une demande est faite, doivent être transmises avec la déclaration à des fins de vérification.

Ligne 3 Produits achetés/reçus auprès de percepteurs désignés en Ontario : Reportez le Total des litres acheté par Type de produit tiré de l'Annexe FT3 – Produits achetés/reçus auprès de percepteurs désignés en Ontario à la ligne 3 (Produits achetés/reçus auprès de percepteurs désignés en Ontario).

Ligne 4 Stock de clôture : Carburant disponible à la fin de la période de déclaration.

Ligne 5 Total des volumes à comptabiliser : Pour calculer le Total des volumes à comptabiliser, soustrayez la ligne 4 de la somme des lignes 1 à 3.

Utilisation de carburant non coloré

Pour cette section, veuillez remplir la (les) ligne(s) correspondante(s) pour l'utilisation de carburant non coloré :

Ligne 6 Matière brute destinée à être intégrée à des marchandises à des fins de vente : Indiquez le total des litres de carburant non coloré utilisé comme matière brute destinée à être intégrée à des marchandises à des fins de vente.

Ligne 7 Carburant non coloré utilisé pour la formation des pompiers : Indiquez le total des litres de carburant non coloré utilisé pour la formation des pompiers.

Ligne 8 Fonctionnement de matériel d'entretien de chemin de fer utilisé uniquement sur rails pour l'entretien d'un réseau de transport en commun : Indiquez le total des litres de carburant non coloré utilisé pour faire fonctionner le matériel d'entretien de chemin de fer uniquement sur rails pour l'entretien d'un réseau de transport en commun.

Ligne 9 Essais de mise au point et d'assurance de la qualité du carburant : Indiquez le total des litres de carburant non coloré utilisé pour les essais de mise au point et d'assurance de la qualité du carburant.

Ligne 10 Essai au banc d'un moteur d'aéronef avant son installation sur un aéronef : Indiquez le total des litres de carburant non coloré utilisé pour faire des essais au banc d'un moteur d'aéronef avant son installation sur un aéronef.

Ligne 11 Essai d'un moteur de véhicule automobile avant son installation sur un véhicule automobile : Indiquez le total des litres de carburant non coloré utilisé pour faire des essais sur le moteur d'un véhicule automobile avant son installation sur un véhicule automobile.

Utilisation de kérosène non coloré en vrac

Pour cette section, veuillez remplir la (les) ligne(s) correspondante(s) pour l'utilisation de kérosène non coloré :

Ligne 12 Remballé dans des contenants de moins de 25 litres : Kérosène en vrac (1K) emballé dans des contenants avant d'être revendu à des consommateurs pour certains appareils d'éclairage, de chauffage ou de cuisson conçus pour être utilisés sans être raccordés, à l'intérieur, dans des contenants ne dépassant pas 25 litres.

Ligne 13 Remballé dans des contenants de 25 litres à 210 litres : Kérosène en vrac (1K) emballé dans des contenants de plus de 25 litres et de moins de 210 litres.

Utilisation de kérosène non coloré à des fins industrielles

Ligne 14 Matière brute destinée à être intégrée à des marchandises à des fins de vente : Indiquez le total des litres de kérosène non coloré utilisé par une industrie comme matière brute destinée à être intégrée à des marchandises à des fins de vente.

Rajustements

Ligne 15 Rajustements : Indiquez le total des litres de carburant ou de kérosène non coloré que vous demandez à titre de rajustement. Veuillez fournir des explications par écrit.

Crédit exigible sur les achats en Ontario libérés de taxe

Ligne 16 Crédit exigible sur les achats libérés de taxe en Ontario : Pour calculer le crédit exigible sur les achats libérés de taxe en Ontario, multipliez la somme des litres à la ligne 2 (dans la colonne Carburant non coloré et dans la colonne Kérosène non coloré) par le taux de taxe payé au moment de l'achat. Après vérification, le Ministère procédera au remboursement dudit montant.

Attestation

Si vous ne produisez pas votre déclaration en utilisant ONT-TAXS en ligne, la déclaration devra alors être signée et datée par un signataire autorisé. Les renseignements contenus dans la déclaration doivent être, à la connaissance du signataire autorisé, vrais, exacts et complets.

Si cette déclaration est signée par une tierce partie (comme votre comptable ou votre avocat), le Ministère doit avoir votre autorisation. Le formulaire Autorisation ou annulation d'un(e) représentant(e) [PDF] dûment rempli devra être envoyé au Ministère. Ce formulaire est disponible sur le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse ontario.ca/finances (tapez le numéro de la page Web 113 dans le champ « Trouver la page » au bas de la page).

Le nom et le titre de la personne signant la déclaration doivent aussi être écrits en caractères d'imprimerie à l'endroit prévu à cet effet.

Sujets connexes

Page : 2920  |