Guide for Completing the Fuel Tax Distributor Return FT817

Published: April 2010
Content last reviewed: April 2010

The information in this guide will help you complete the Fuel Tax Distributor Return FT817. This guide also provides information about filing requirements including the time for filing a Return, penalties for filing a late Return, the required supporting schedules and payment information. The information in this guide does not replace the law found in the Fuel Tax Act and related regulations.

File, pay and view your account online

ONT-TAXS online is the Ministry of Finance's secure, convenient and free online tax service. It saves time, reduces paper and is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Getting started is fast and easy!

Visit ontario.ca/finance (enter webpage number 2587 into the 'Find page' field at the bottom of the website) or call us at 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

General Information

If you are designated as a Distributor under the Fuel Tax Act, you must complete the Fuel Tax Distributor Return FT817 and the supporting schedules for the reporting period. You are required to complete a Return even if you did not have any activity during the reporting period.

You are also required, if applicable, to complete and attach to your return the following schedules:

  • Sales of Product Exempt of Tax in Ontario Schedule GT/FT7
  • Adjustment Schedule GT/FT8
  • Details of Verifiable Losses of Gasoline/Fuel Product Schedule GT/FT11
  • Sales/Deliveries of Special Product Schedule FT18

If you require paper copies of the return or schedules contact the Ministry of Finance (ministry) at the address or telephone provided in this guide.

If you choose, you may submit your own computer produced facsimile(s) of the returns and schedules, but they must be approved by the ministry before you use them for filing a return. Please contact the ministry for computer produced facsimile approval information.

Filing Requirements

The Return, supporting schedules and remittance for any tax collectable or tax payable must be filed on or before the 25th day of the month following the last day of your reporting period.

Should your return due date fall on a day when the ministry is not open during its regular hours of business then the due date is extended to include the next business day when the ministry is open during its regular hours of business.

Penalty

The penalty for late filing a Return or short/non-payment of taxes owing is equal to 10% of the tax collectable or 5% of the tax payable.

Records Retention

You are required to keep, at your principal place of business, records and books of account as well as any other documents to verify the information in the records and books, that will enable the accurate determination of the tax collectable and payable under the Fuel Tax Act, for a period of seven years following the end of your fiscal year.

For further information regarding records retention, please refer to the Tax Information Bulletin entitled Retention/Destruction of Books and Records. Copies are available at ontario.ca/finance (enter webpage number 2217 into the 'Find page' field at the bottom of the website) or by calling the ministry at 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Reference No.

This is a unique number assigned by the ministry to each return and accompanying schedule(s) issued to a taxpayer. When communicating with the ministry, you must provide this unique Reference Number to identify a particular return/schedule(s), in addition to quoting your Identification Number if you have one (federal business number).

Change of Information

Please notify the ministry of any change in your name and address. When contacting the ministry, be sure to use your Identification Number found at the top left of the return. The ministry contact information is detailed below.

Freedom of Information

Personal information contained within the Fuel Tax Distributor Return FT817 is collected under the authority of the Fuel Tax Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.F.35, and will be used for the purposes of the Fuel Tax Act. Questions about this information collection should be directed to:

Senior Manager, Account Management
Client Services Branch
Ministry of Finance
33 King Street West, PO Box 625,
Oshawa ON  LIH 8H9

1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)

Delivery of Returns and Payments

Returns and payments may be filed using ONT-TAXS online at ontario.ca/finance or by mail to Ministry of Finance, 33 King St. W, PO Box 620, Oshawa, ON  L1H 8E9.

Returns and payments are also accepted at ServiceOntario Centre locations on behalf of the ministry. For ServiceOntario Centre locations, hours of operation and telephone numbers, visit ontario.ca (enter webpage number 4020859 into the 'Find page' field at the bottom of the website) or call toll-free 1 888 745-8888 (TTY toll-free 1 800 268-7095).

Print your Identification Number on the back of your cheque or money order. Your cheque/money order should be made payable to the Minister of Finance.

Payments cannot be made at financial institutions.

Enquiries

Toll free 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
Hours of Service: Monday to Friday, 8:30am to 5:00pm

Teletypewriter (TTY) 1 800 263-7776

Fax 905 433-5680

Mail

Ministry of Finance
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

Website ontario.ca/finance

Instructions to Complete the Return

Identification

If your Legal Name, Address and Identification Number (federal business number) are preprinted, please verify the information. If the information is incorrect, make the necessary corrections on the Return. If blank, record your Legal Name, Address, and Identification Number if you have one.

Verify that the pre-printed Reporting Period (year-month-day) is correct. Indicate if there was No activity during this reporting period or if it is an Amended return by placing an X in the appropriate box.

Schedules

Complete applicable schedules. See schedule for instructions and attach your completed copies.

Accountable Volumes

Separate columns are provided for the reporting of waste product, special product, clear and coloured fuel. Please use the appropriate column(s).

Line 1 Opening inventory: Fuel on hand at the beginning of the reporting period.

Line 2 Ontario purchases: Waste and special product purchased in Ontario. Please complete the schedule(s) on the back of the Return. If you purchased waste product in Ontario, complete Schedule A. If you purchased special product in Ontario, complete Schedule B. Both Schedule A and Schedule B are found in the Return package of the Fuel Tax Distributor Return FT817.

Line 3 Closing inventory of waste product: Waste product on hand at the end of the reporting period.

Line 4 Waste product refined into special product: The total quantity of litres of waste product available to be refined into special products. Add line 1 and line 2, and then subtract line 3.

Line 5 Special product refined from waste product: You would have refined waste product (line 4) into special product. Carry the line 4 volume of waste product refined into special product to line 5 under the special products column.

Line 6 Special product refined into clear fuel: If you converted/refined special product into clear fuel, you would show this amount as a minus on the special product column and a plus in the clear fuel column.

Line 7 Clear fuel dyed into coloured fuel: If you dyed clear fuel into coloured fuel show the amount as a minus in the clear fuel column and a plus in the coloured fuel column.

Line 8 Verifiable Losses: Total litres of product to be accounted for from your completed Details of Verifiable Losses of Gasoline/Fuel Product Schedule GT/FT11.

Line 9 Unverifiable Losses: Total litres lost due to evaporation and handling. You are not required to submit with your Return documentation to support the amount you have declared as unverifiable losses/gains. However, you must be able to substantiate the amount when requested by ministry personnel – see Records Retention information detailed above.

Line 10 Less: Closing inventory: Fuel on hand at the end of the reporting period.

Line 11 Product available for distribution: Calculate the sum of lines 1 to 10. Attach your completed Sales/Deliveries of Special Product Schedule FT18. The Total Litres from the schedule should equal the amount entered on Line 11.

Line 12 Sales of Product Exempt of Tax to Designated Collectors in Ontario: Enter the Total Litres of clear fuel from your completed Sales of Product Exempt of Tax in Ontario in Ontario Schedule GT/FT7.

Line 13 Total Taxable Volume: Enter the total taxable volume for clear fuel by subtracting line 12 from line 11.

Tax Calculation

Tax Rates

Note: The Return has a provision for calculating tax due at the Current Tax Rate and at the Previous Tax Rate. Usually, you would report all your consumption and/or sales for the reporting period at the Current Tax Rate. The Previous Tax Rate will be used in the event of a tax rate change during the reporting period.

Rate Change Example: When the rate of tax for clear fuel was changed from 12.6 cents per litre to the current rate of 14.3 cents per litre, assume that the total taxable volume (line 13) for the month was 50,000 litres of product. From your records, you calculated that the total taxable volume at 12.6 cents per litre was 10,000 litres and 40,000 litres at the new rate.

On line 14, you would have entered 40,000 in the Litres box. In the Current Tax Rate box, you would have enter 14.3 cents and enter $5,720.00 (40,000 litres ¢s; 14.3 cents) in the Amount column. On line 15, you would have entered 10,000 in the Litres box and in Previous Tax Rate box you would have enter 12.6 cents for a total of $1,260.00 (10,000 litres ¢s; 12.6 cents) in the Amount column.

Line 14 Tax due on taxable volumes at current tax rate: Enter the amount of Total Taxable Volume on which tax is due along with the current tax rate (litres purchased at current rate, included in line 13). To calculate tax due at current tax rate, multiply the Litres by the current tax rate.

Line 15 Tax due on taxable volumes at previous tax rate: Complete this line only if the tax rate was changed during this reporting period. Enter the amount of Total Taxable Volume on which tax is due along with the previous tax rate (litres purchased at previous rate, included in line 13). To calculate Tax due at previous tax rate, multiply the Litres by the previous tax rate.

Line 16 Total tax before adjustments: To calculate the Total tax before adjustments, add line 14 to line 15.

Line 17 Compensation claimed for dyeing: To calculate compensation for dyeing, multiply the litres you entered in Line 7, clear fuel dyed into coloured fuel, by the compensation rate of $0.00023.

Line 18 Other adjustments: Enter the Total Adjustment Amount from your completed Adjustment Schedule GT/FT8. Please check the appropriate Minus or Plus box to indicate whether the amount should be subtracted or added to calculate the total.

Line 19 Net Tax Due: Enter the Net Tax Due. This is the amount of the payment that must accompany your Return, subtract line 17 from line 16 plus or minus line 18.

Certification

If you are not filing your return through ONT-TAXS online then the Return must be signed and dated by an authorized signing officer. The information contained in the return must, to the knowledge of the authorized signing officer, be true, correct and complete.

If this Return is signed by a third party (such as your accountant or solicitor) the ministry needs your authorization. A properly completed Authorizing or Cancelling a Representative form [PDF - 407 KB] must be returned to the ministry. Forms are available on the Ministry of Finance internet ontario.ca/finance (enter webpage number 113 into the 'Find page' field at the bottom of the website) or forms.

The name and title of the person signing the Return must also be printed in the space provided.

Related topics

Page: 2922  |

Comment remplir la Déclaration relative à la taxe sur les carburants pour des distributeurs – FT817

Date de publication : avril 2010
Dernière mise à jour : avril 2010

Les renseignements contenus dans ce guide vous aideront à remplir la Déclaration relative à la taxe sur les carburants pour des distributeurs – FT817. Ce guide renferme aussi des renseignements sur les exigences de production, notamment le temps de production des déclarations, les pénalités en cas de production tardive, ainsi que de l'information sur les paiements. L'information contenue dans ce guide ne remplace pas les dispositions figurant dans la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants ou dans les règlements qui en découlent.

Produire vos déclarations, effectuer des paiements et consulter votre compte en ligne

ONT-TAXS en ligne est le système de services fiscaux en ligne du ministère des Finances qui est sécurisé, pratique et gratuit. Il permet de gagner du temps, de réduire la paperasserie et il est disponible 24 heures sur 24, et sept jours sur sept.

C'est facile et simple de commencer!

Visitez ontario.ca/finances (tapez le numéro de la page Web 2587 dans le champ « Trouver la page » au bas de la page Web) ou appelez-nous au 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Informations générales

Si vous êtes considéré comme un distributeur en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants, vous devez remplir la Déclaration relative à la taxe sur les carburants pour des distributeurs – FT817 et les annexes justificatives pour la période de déclaration. Vous devez remplir une déclaration même si vous n'avez eu aucune activité pendant la période visée.

Le cas échéant, vous devez également remplir et joindre à votre déclaration les annexes suivantes :

  • Annexe GT/FT7 – Vente de produits exonérés de taxe en Ontario
  • Annexe GT/FT8 – Rajustements
  • Annexe GT/FT11 – Détails concernant les pertes vérifiables – Produit d'essence/de carburant
  • Annexe FT18 – Ventes/livraisons de produit particulier

Si vous souhaitez obtenir des copies papier de la déclaration ou des annexes, veuillez communiquer avec le ministère des Finances (le Ministère) à l'adresse ou au numéro de téléphone fournis dans ce guide.

Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez transmettre votre (vos) propre(s) fac-similé(s) informatisé(s) des déclarations et des annexes, mais ils doivent être approuvés par le Ministère avant que vous ne puissiez les utiliser pour produire une déclaration. Veuillez communiquer avec le Ministère pour obtenir des renseignements sur l'approbation des fac-similés informatisés.

Exigences de production

La déclaration, les annexes justificatives et le règlement de toute taxe à percevoir ou à payer doivent être produits au plus tard le 25e jour du mois suivant le dernier jour de votre période de déclaration.

Si la date limite pour la production de votre déclaration tombe un jour où le Ministère n'est pas ouvert pendant ses heures d'ouverture habituelles, la date limite sera alors reportée pour inclure le jour ouvrable suivant lorsque le Ministère sera ouvert pendant ses heures d'ouverture habituelles.

Pénalités

Les pénalités en cas de production tardive d'une déclaration ou de paiement insuffisant/non-paiement des taxes exigibles correspondent à 10 % de la taxe à percevoir ou à 5 % de la taxe à payer.

Conservation des documents

Vous devez conserver dans votre principal lieu d'affaires les registres et les livres comptables, ainsi que tous les autres documents nécessaires à la vérification des renseignements contenus dans les registres et les livres comptables, qui permettront d'établir avec exactitude la taxe à percevoir et à payer en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants, pendant une période de sept ans à compter de la fin de votre exercice financier.

Pour obtenir plus d'information au sujet de la conservation des documents, veuillez consulter le Bulletin d'information fiscale intitulé Conservation/Destruction des livres et dossiers. Vous pouvez vous procurer des copies à ontario.ca/finances (tapez le numéro de la page Web 2217 dans le champ « Trouver la page » au bas de la page) ou en appelant le Ministère au 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Numéro de référence

Il s'agit d'un numéro unique attribué par le Ministère à chaque déclaration ainsi qu'à chaque annexe jointe remises à un contribuable. Lorsque vous contactez le Ministère, vous devez fournir ce numéro de référence unique afin d'identifier une déclaration ou une annexe donnée, en plus d'indiquer votre numéro d'identification si vous en avez un (numéro d'entreprise fédéral).

Demande de modification

Veuillez informer le Ministère de tout changement de nom et d'adresse. Lorsque vous contactez le Ministère, assurez-vous d'indiquer votre numéro d'identification qui se trouve dans la partie supérieure gauche de votre déclaration. Les coordonnées du Ministère sont fournies plus bas.

Accès à l'information

Les renseignements personnels figurant dans la Déclaration relative à la taxe sur les carburants pour des distributeurs – FT817 sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants, L.R.O. 1990, ch. F. 35, et serviront aux fins de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants. Toutes les questions sur la collecte de ces renseignements doivent être adressées à :

Ministère des Finances
Direction des services à la clientèle
À l'attention du Chef, Gestion des comptes
33, rue King Ouest, C.P. 625,
Oshawa ON  LIH 8H9
1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)

Envoyez vos déclarations et vos paiements à :

Les déclarations et les paiements doivent être effectués en utilisant ONT-TAXS en ligne à l'adresse ontario.ca/finances ou envoyés par la poste au Ministère des Finances, 33, rue King Ouest, C.P. 620, Oshawa, ON  L1H 8E9.

Les déclarations et les paiements sont aussi acceptés dans les Centres ServiceOntario pour le compte du Ministère. Pour connaître l'adresse, les heures d'ouverture et le numéro de téléphone des Centres ServiceOntario, visitez ontario.ca (tapez le numéro de page Web 4020859 dans le champ « Trouver la page » au bas de la page) ou composez, sans frais, le 1 888 745-8888 (Appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (sans frais) 1 800 268-7095).

Veuillez indiquer votre numéro d'identification au dos de votre chèque ou mandat. Votre chèque/mandat doit être libellé à l'ordre du Ministre des Finances.

Les paiements ne peuvent pas être faits dans les institutions financières.

Renseignements

Sans frais 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
Heures d'ouverture du lundi au vendredi
De 8 h 30 à 17 h

Appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS) 1 800 263-7776

Télécopieur 905 433-5680

Par la poste Ministère des Finances
33, rue King Ouest
C.P. 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

Site Web ontario.ca/finances

Instructions pour remplir la déclaration

Identification

Si votre raison sociale, votre adresse et votre numéro d'identification (numéro d'entreprise fédéral) sont préimprimés, veuillez vérifier l'information qu'ils contiennent. Si des renseignements sont inexacts, faites les changements nécessaires sur la déclaration. Si les cases sont vierges, veuillez indiquer votre raison sociale, votre adresse et votre numéro d'identification (si vous en avez un).

Vérifiez que la période de déclaration préimprimée (année-mois-jour) est exacte. Indiquez s'il n'y a eu Aucune activité pendant la période de déclaration visée ou s'il s'agit d'une déclaration modifiée en mettant un × dans la case correspondante.

Annexes

Veuillez remplir les annexes correspondantes. Consultez l'annexe contenant les instructions et joignez vos copies remplies.

Volumes à comptabiliser

Des colonnes distinctes sont prévues pour déclarer les produits résiduaires, les produits particuliers, le carburant non coloré et coloré. Veuillez utiliser la (les) colonne(s) correspondante(s).

Ligne 1 Stock d'ouverture : Carburant disponible au début de la période de déclaration.

Ligne 2 Achats en Ontario : Produits résiduaires et particuliers achetés en Ontario.

Veuillez remplir l'annexe (les annexes) au verso de la déclaration. Si vous avez acheté des produits résiduaires en Ontario, veuillez remplir l'Annexe A. Si vous avez acheté des produits particuliers en Ontario, veuillez remplir l'Annexe B. L'Annexe A et l'Annexe B se trouvent dans la trousse de déclaration de la Déclaration relative à la taxe sur les carburants pour des distributeurs – FT817.

Ligne 3 Stock de clôture des produits résiduaires : Les produits résiduaires disponibles à la fin de la période de déclaration.

Ligne 4 Produits résiduaires transformés en produits particuliers : La quantité totale de litres de produits résiduaires pouvant être transformé en produits particuliers. Additionnez les lignes 1 et 2, puis soustrayez la ligne 3.

Ligne 5 Produits particulies transformés en produits résiduaires : Vous avez transformé des produits résiduaires (ligne 4) en produits particuliers. Reportez la ligne 4 (volume des produits résiduaires transformés en produits particuliers) à la ligne 5, dans la colonne Produits particuliers.

Ligne 6 Produits particuliers transformés en carburant non coloré : Si vous avez converti/transformé un produit particulier en carburant non coloré, vous indiquerez ce montant à l'aide d'un moins dans la colonne Produits particuliers et d'un plus dans la colonne Carburant non coloré.

Ligne 7 Carburant non coloré teinté pour obtenir du carburant coloré : Si vous avez teinté du carburant non coloré pour obtenir du carburant coloré, indiquez le montant à l'aide d'un moins dans la colonne Carburant non coloré et d'un plus dans la colonne Carburant coloré.

Ligne 8 Pertes vérifiables : Total de litres de produit à comptabiliser à partir de votre Annexe GT/FT11 – Détails concernant les pertes vérifiables – Produit d'essence/de carburant.

Ligne 9 Pertes invérifiables : Total des litres perdu à cause de l'évaporation ou lors de la manipulation. Vous n'avez pas besoin de transmettre cette information avec vos documents de déclaration pour étayer le montant que vous avez indiqué comme pertes/gains invérifiables. Par contre, vous devrez pouvoir justifier ce montant si le personnel du Ministère le demande – voir les détails fournis à la rubrique Conservation des documents plus haut.

Ligne 10 Moins : Stock de clôture : Carburant disponible à la fin de la période de déclaration.

Ligne 11 Produits disponibles pour la distribution : Calculez la somme des lignes 1 à 10. Joignez votre Annexe FT18 – Ventes/livraisons de produit particulier dûment remplie. Le Total des litres tiré de l'annexe doit correspondre au montant indiqué à la ligne 11.

Ligne 12 Ventes de produits exonérés de taxe à des percepteurs désignés en Ontario : Indiquez le Total des litres de carburant non coloré tiré de votre Annexe GT/FT7 – Vente de produits exonérés de taxe en Ontario dûment remplie.

Ligne 13 Total du volume taxable : Indiquez le total du volume taxable pour le carburant non coloré en soustrayant la ligne 12 de la ligne 11.

Calcul des taxes et impôts

Nota Taux de taxe :

La déclaration contient une disposition pour calculer la taxe exigible au taux de taxe en vigueur et au taux de taxe antérieur. D'habitude, vous déclarerez l'ensemble de votre consommation et (ou) de vos ventes pendant la période visée au taux de taxe en vigueur. Le taux de taxe antérieur servira en cas de changement du taux de taxe au cours de la période de déclaration.

Exemple de changement de taux : Si le taux de taxe du carburant non coloré passe de 12,6 cents le litre au taux actuel de 14,3 cents le litre, supposons que le total du volume taxable (ligne 13) pour le mois s'élevait à 50 000 litres de produit. D'après vos registres, vous avez calculé que le total du volume taxable à 12,6 cents le litre s'élevait à 10 000 litres et à
40 000 litres au nouveau taux.

À la ligne 14, vous auriez indiqué 40 000 dans la case Litres. Dans la case Taux de taxe en vigueur, vous auriez indiqué 14,3 cents, et dans la colonne Montant, 5 720,00 $ (40 000 litres × 14,3 cents). À la ligne 15, vous auriez indiqué 10 000 dans la case Litres, et dans la case Taux de taxe antérieur, vous auriez indiqué 12,6 cents, pour un total de 1 260,00 $ (10 000 × 12,6 cents) dans la colonne Montant.

Ligne 14 Taxe à payer sur les volumes taxables au taux de taxe en vigueur : Indiquez le Total du volume taxable sur lequel la taxe est à payer ainsi que le taux de taxe en vigueur (les litres achetés au taux en vigueur, figurant à la ligne 13). Pour calculer la taxe à payer au taux de taxe en vigueur, multipliez les Litres par le taux de taxe en vigueur.

Ligne 15 Taxe à payer sur les volumes taxables au taux de taxe antérieur : Ne remplissez cette ligne que si le taux de taxe a changé au cours de la période de déclaration visée. Indiquez le Total du volume taxable sur lequel la taxe est à payer ainsi que le taux de taxe antérieur (les litres achetés au taux antérieur, figurant à la ligne 13). Pour calculer la taxe à payer au taux de taxe antérieur, multipliez les Litres par le taux de taxe antérieur.

Ligne 16 Taxe totale avant les rajustements : Pour calculer la taxe totale avant les rajustements, additionnez les lignes 14 et 15.

Ligne 17 Demande d'indemnisation consécutive à la coloration : Pour calculer l'indemnisation consécutive à la coloration, multipliez le nombre de litres que vous avez indiqué à la ligne 7, Carburant non coloré teinté pour obtenir du carburant coloré, par le taux d'indemnisation de 0,00023 $.

Ligne 18 Autres rajustements : Indiquez le Montant total du rajustement tiré de votre Annexe GT/FT8 – Rajustements. Veuillez cocher la case appropriée (Moins ou Plus) pour indiquer si le montant doit être déduit ou ajouté au calcul du total.

Impôt net à payer

Ligne 19 Impôt net à payer : Indiquez le montant net de la taxe à payer. Il s'agit du montant du paiement que vous devrez joindre à votre déclaration; soustrayez la ligne 17 de la ligne 16, plus ou moins la ligne 18.

Attestation

Si vous ne produisez pas votre déclaration en utilisant ONT-TAXS en ligne, la déclaration devra alors être signée et datée par un signataire autorisé. Les renseignements contenus dans la déclaration doivent être, à la connaissance du signataire autorisé, vrais, exacts et complets.

Si cette déclaration est signée par une tierce partie (comme votre comptable ou votre avocat), le Ministère doit avoir votre autorisation. Le formulaire Autorisation ou annulation d'un(e) représentant(e) [PDF] dûment rempli devra être envoyé au Ministère. Ce formulaire est disponible sur le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse ontario.ca/finances (tapez le numéro de la page Web 113 dans le champ « Trouver la page » au bas de la page).

Le nom et le titre de la personne signant la déclaration doivent aussi être écrits en caractères d'imprimerie à l'endroit prévu à cet effet.

Sujets connexes

Page : 2922  |