Guide for Completing the Fuel Tax Railway Return FT826

Published: April 2010
Content last reviewed: April 2010

As announced in the 2013 Ontario Budget, the fuel tax exemption for biodiesel is repealed effective April 1, 2014, making biodiesel taxed in the same way as diesel fuel.

The information in this guide will help you complete the Fuel Tax Railway Return FT826. The guide also provides information about filing requirements including the time for filing a Return, penalties for filing a late Return, the required supporting schedule and payment information. The information in this guide does not replace the law found in the Fuel Tax Act and related regulations.

File, pay and view your account online

ONT-TAXS online is the Ministry of Finance's secure, convenient and free online tax service. It saves time, reduces paper and is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Getting started is fast and easy!

Visit (enter webpage number 2587 into the 'Find page' field at the bottom of the website) or call us at 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

General Information

If you are registered as an Interjurisdictional Carrier or a Registered Consumer, under the Fuel Tax Act, and operating a railway in Ontario as part of a public transportation system, you must complete the Fuel Tax Railway Return FT 826 and the required schedules for the reporting period. All fuel used, whether clear or coloured, must be reported. You are required to complete a Return even if you did not have any activity during the reporting period.

You are also required, if applicable, to complete and attach to your return the following schedules:

  • Product Purchased/Received from Non-Collectors in Ontario Schedule GT/FT5
  • Adjustment Schedule GT/FT8

If you require paper copies of the return or schedules contact the Ministry of Finance (ministry) at the address or telephone provided in this guide.

If you choose, you may submit your own computer produced facsimile(s) of the returns and schedules, but they must be approved by the ministry before you use them for filing a return. Please contact the ministry for computer produced facsimile approval information.

Filing Requirements

The Return, supporting schedules and remittance for any tax collectable or tax payable must be filed on or before the 25th day of the month following the last day of your reporting period.

Should your return due date fall on a day when the ministry is not open during its regular hours of business then the due date is extended to include the next business day when the ministry is open during its regular hours of business.


The penalty for late filing a Return or short/non-payment of taxes owing is equal to10% of the tax collectable or 5% of the tax payable.

Records Retention

You are required to keep, at your principal place of business, records and books of account as well as any other documents to verify the information in the records and books, that will enable the accurate determination of the tax collectable and payable under the Fuel Tax Act, for a period of seven years following the end of your fiscal year.

For further information regarding records retention, please refer to the Tax Information Bulletin entitled Retention/Destruction of Books and Records. Copies are available at (enter webpage number 2217 into the 'Find page' field at the bottom of the website) or by calling the ministry at 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Reference No.

This is a unique number assigned by the ministry to each return and accompanying schedule(s) issued to a taxpayer. When communicating with the ministry, you must provide this unique Reference Number to identify a particular return/schedule(s), in addition to quoting your Identification Number if you have one (federal business number).

Change of Information

Please notify the ministry of any change in your name and address. When contacting the ministry, be sure to use your Identification Number found at the top left of the return. The ministry contact information is detailed below.

Freedom of Information

Personal information contained within the Fuel Tax Railway Return FT826 is collected under the authority of the Fuel Tax Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.F.35, and will be used for the purposes of the Fuel Tax Act. Questions about this information collection should be directed to:

Senior Manager, Account Management
Client Services Branch
Ministry of Finance
33 King Street West, PO Box 625,
Oshawa ON  LIH 8H9

1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)

Delivery of Returns and Payments

Returns and payments may be filed using ONT-TAXS online at or by mail to Ministry of Finance, 33 King St. W, PO Box 620, Oshawa, ON  L1H 8E9.

Returns and payments are also accepted at ServiceOntario Centre locations on behalf of the ministry. For ServiceOntario Centre locations, hours of operation and telephone numbers, visit (enter webpage number 4020859 into the 'Find page' field at the bottom of the website) or call toll-free 1 888 745-8888 (TTY toll-free 1 800 268-7095).

Print your Identification Number on the back of your cheque or money order. Your cheque/money order should be made payable to the Minister of Finance.

Payments cannot be made at financial institutions.


Toll free 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
Hours of Service: Monday to Friday, 8:30am to 5:00pm

Teletypewriter (TTY) 1 800 263-7776

Fax 905 433-5680


Ministry of Finance
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9


Instructions to Complete the Return


If your Legal Name, Address and Identification Number (federal business number) are preprinted, please verify the information. If the information is incorrect, make the necessary corrections on the Return. If blank, record your Legal Name, Address, and Identification Number if you have one.

Verify that the pre-printed Reporting Period (year-month-day) is correct. Indicate if there was No activity during this reporting period or if it is an Amended return by placing an X in the appropriate box.


Complete applicable schedules. See schedule for instructions and attach your completed copies.

Fuel used

Lines 1, 2, 3 & 4 Fuel used in railway equipment on rails in Ontario. Enter the current and previous amount(s) of clear and/or coloured fuel consumed by railway equipment in Ontario on which Ontario tax at the railway rate is due. You will calculate this amount by referring to your issues records and other source documentation.

Tax Calculation

Tax Rate

The Return has a provision for calculating tax due at the Current Railway Tax Rate and at the Previous Railway Tax Rate. Usually, you would report all your consumption and/or sales for the reporting period at the Current Railway Tax Rate. The Previous Railway Tax Rate will be used in the event of a tax rate change during the reporting period.

Rate Change Example: Using Clear Fuel as an example, when the rate of tax on clear fuel used in railway equipment was changed from 3.95 cents per litre to the current rate of 4.5 cents per litre, assume that the total consumption and/or sales for the month was 50,000 litres of product. From your records, you calculated that consumption and/or sales at 3.95 cents per litre was 10,000 litres and 40,000 litres at the new rate.

On Line 1 you would have enter 40,000 in the first Litres box; in the Current Railway Tax Rate box 4.5 cents and in box (1) $1,800 (40,000 litres ¢s; 4.5 cents). On Line 2 you would enter 10,000 in the Litres box; in the Previous Railway Tax Rate box you would enter 3.95 cents and in box (2) you would enter $395.00 (10,000 litres ¢s; 3.95 cents).

Line 5 Tax Due before adjustments: Total of lines 1 to 4.

Line 6 Ontario tax paid on clear fuel used in railway equipment on rails: If, during the reporting period, you purchased clear fuel used in railway equipment and paid the Ontario tax at the Regular Clear Fuel Rate, enter the quantity of tax paid fuel purchased and used in railway equipment in the Litres box.

In the Regular Tax Rate box, enter the tax rate.

Multiply the number of litres used by the tax rate and enter the amount in line 6.This calculates the amount of refund on clear fuel purchased, including tax, at the regular clear fuel tax rate. If you used the fuel in railway equipment at railway rate, you are entitled to a refund on the tax rate differential between the regular clear fuel tax rate and the railway rate.

For any tax paid purchases made during this period, please attach your completed Product Purchased/Received from Non-Collectors in Ontario Schedule GT/FT5.

Note: The litres shown on line 6 of the return will not exceed the Product Purchased/Received from Non-Collectors in Ontario Schedule GT/FT5 for the current or previous reporting period. The Return is based on the fuel you actually consumed. If you did not consume the entire amount shown on your schedule then you cannot report it on the Return.

Line 7 Ontario tax paid on clear fuel used in unlicensed/auxiliary equipment: If you own unlicensed diesel powered equipment and you fueled the unlicensed diesel equipment with clear fuel on which you paid the Ontario tax at the regular clear fuel tax rate you can apply for a refund of the tax (provided you cannot use coloured fuel in the equipment) by completing this line.

Line 8 Adjustment amount: If you are making an adjustment, enter the amount in line 8 and attach your completed Adjustment Schedule GT/FT8.

Note: In Ontario, biodiesel is not taxable under FTA. If you have included litres of biodiesel or blended diesel with clear fuel in the tax calculation lines above, calculate the amount of litres of biodiesel, multiply by the current tax rate and enter the amount in line 8.

Line 9 Net Tax Due: To calculate the Net Tax Due, subtract line 6 and 7 from line 5, then add or subtract line 8. Indicate with a check mark whether this amount is a credit or if tax is due. If tax is due check the Tax Due box and this will represent the amount of your remittance that must accompany your Return. If a credit is due then check the Credit box and you will receive a refund of tax.


If you are not filing your return through ONT-TAXS online then the Return must be signed and dated by an authorized signing officer. The information contained in the return must, to the knowledge of the authorized signing officer, be true, correct and complete.

If this Return is signed by a third party (such as your accountant or solicitor) the ministry needs your authorization. A properly completed Authorizing or Cancelling a Representative form [PDF - 407 KB] must be returned to the ministry. Forms are available on the Ministry of Finance internet (enter webpage number 113 into the 'Find page' field at the bottom of the website) or forms.

The name and title of the person signing the Return must also be printed in the space provided.

Related topics

Page: 2924  |

Comment remplir la Déclaration relative à la taxe sur les carburants pour des compagnies ferroviaires – FT826

Date de publication : avril 2010
Dernière mise à jour : avril 2010

Tel qu'annoncé dans le budget de l'Ontario 2013, l'exonération de la taxe sur les carburants pour le biodiesel sera abrogée en date du 1er avril 2014, et le biodiesel sera par conséquent taxé de la même manière que le carburant diesel à partir de cette date.

Les renseignements contenus dans ce guide vous aideront à remplir la Déclaration relative à la taxe sur les carburants pour des compagnies ferroviaires – FT826. Ce guide renferme aussi des renseignements sur les exigences de production, notamment le temps de production des déclarations, les pénalités en cas de production tardive, ainsi que de l'information sur les paiements. L'information contenue dans ce guide ne remplace pas les dispositions figurant dans la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants ou dans les règlements qui en découlent.

Produire vos déclarations, effectuer des paiements et consulter votre compte en ligne

ONT-TAXS en ligne est le système de services fiscaux en ligne du ministère des Finances qui est sécurisé, pratique et gratuit. Il permet de gagner du temps, de réduire la paperasserie et il est disponible 24 heures sur 24, et sept jours sur sept.

C'est facile et simple de commencer!

Visitez ontario.ca/finances (tapez le numéro de la page Web 2587 dans le champ « Trouver la page » au bas de la page Web) ou appelez-nous au 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Informations générales

Si vous êtes enregistré en tant que transport interterritorial ou en tant que consommateur inscrit, en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants, et que vous exploitez une compagnie ferroviaire en Ontario dans le cadre d'un réseau de transport en commun, vous devez remplir la Déclaration relative à la taxe sur les carburants pour des compagnies ferroviaires – FT826 et les annexes requises pour la période de déclaration. L'ensemble du carburant utilisé, qu'il soit ou non coloré, doit être déclaré. Vous devez remplir une déclaration même si vous n'avez eu aucune activité pendant la période visée.

Le cas échéant, vous devez également remplir et joindre à votre déclaration les annexes suivantes :

  • Annexe GT/FT5 – Produits achetés/reçus auprès de non-percepteurs en Ontario
  • Annexe GT/FT8 – Rajustements

Si vous souhaitez obtenir des copies papier de la déclaration ou des annexes, veuillez communiquer avec le ministère des Finances (le Ministère) à l'adresse ou au numéro de téléphone fournis dans ce guide.

Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez transmettre votre (vos) propre(s) fac-similé(s) informatisé(s) des déclarations et des annexes, mais ils doivent être approuvés par le Ministère avant que vous ne puissiez les utiliser pour produire une déclaration. Veuillez communiquer avec le Ministère pour obtenir des renseignements sur l'approbation des fac-similés informatisés.

Exigences de production

La déclaration, les annexes justificatives et le règlement de toute taxe à percevoir ou à payer doivent être produits au plus tard le 25e jour du mois suivant le dernier jour de votre période de déclaration.

Si la date limite pour la production de votre déclaration tombe un jour où le Ministère n'est pas ouvert pendant ses heures d'ouverture habituelles, la date limite sera alors reportée pour inclure le jour ouvrable suivant lorsque le Ministère sera ouvert pendant ses heures d'ouverture habituelles.

Pénalités

Les pénalités en cas de production tardive d'une déclaration ou de paiement insuffisant/non-paiement des taxes exigibles correspondent à 10 % de la taxe à percevoir ou à 5 % de la taxe à payer.

Conservation des documents

Vous devez conserver dans votre principal lieu d'affaires les registres et les livres comptables, ainsi que tous les autres documents nécessaires à la vérification des renseignements contenus dans les registres et les livres comptables, qui permettront d'établir avec exactitude la taxe à percevoir et à payer en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants, pendant une période de sept ans à compter de la fin de votre exercice financier.

Pour obtenir plus d'information au sujet de la conservation des documents, veuillez consulter le Bulletin d'information fiscale intitulé Conservation/Destruction des livres et dossiers. Vous pouvez vous procurer des copies à ontario.ca/finances (tapez le numéro de la page Web 2217 dans le champ « Trouver la page » au bas de la page) ou en appelant le Ministère au 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Numéro de référence

Il s'agit d'un numéro unique attribué par le Ministère à chaque déclaration ainsi qu'à chaque annexe jointe remises à un contribuable. Lorsque vous contactez le Ministère, vous devez fournir ce numéro de référence unique afin d'identifier une déclaration ou une annexe donnée, en plus d'indiquer votre numéro d'identification si vous en avez un (numéro d'entreprise fédéral).

Demande de modification

Veuillez informer le Ministère de tout changement de nom et d'adresse. Lorsque vous contactez le Ministère, assurez-vous d'indiquer votre numéro d'identification qui se trouve dans la partie supérieure gauche de votre déclaration. Les coordonnées du Ministère sont fournies plus bas.

Accès à l'information

Les renseignements personnels figurant dans la Déclaration relative à la taxe sur les carburants pour des compagnies ferroviaires – FT826 sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants, L.R.O. 1990, ch. F. 35, et serviront aux fins de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants. Toutes les questions sur la collecte de ces renseignements doivent être adressées à :

Ministère des Finances
Direction des services à la clientèle
À l'attention du Chef, Gestion des comptes
33, rue King Ouest, C.P. 625,
Oshawa ON  LIH 8H9
1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)

Envoyez vos déclarations et vos paiements à :

Les déclarations et les paiements doivent être effectués en utilisant ONT-TAXS en ligne à l'adresse ontario.ca/finances ou envoyés par la poste au Ministère des Finances, 33, rue King Ouest, C.P. 620, Oshawa, ON  L1H 8E9.

Les déclarations et les paiements sont aussi acceptés dans les Centres ServiceOntario pour le compte du Ministère. Pour connaître l'adresse, les heures d'ouverture et le numéro de téléphone des Centres ServiceOntario, visitez ontario.ca (tapez le numéro de page Web 4020859 dans le champ « Trouver la page » au bas de la page) ou composez, sans frais, le 1 888 745-8888 (Appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (sans frais) 1 800 268-7095).

Veuillez indiquer votre numéro d'identification au dos de votre chèque ou mandat. Votre chèque/mandat doit être libellé à l'ordre du Ministre des Finances.

Les paiements ne peuvent pas être faits dans les institutions financières.

Renseignements

Sans frais 1 866 ONT-TAXS (1 866 668-8297)
Heures d'ouverture du lundi au vendredi
De 8 h 30 à 17 h

Appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS) 1 800 263-7776

Télécopieur 905 433-5680

Par la poste Ministère des Finances
33, rue King Ouest
C.P. 625
Oshawa ON  L1H 8H9

Site Web ontario.ca/finances

Instructions pour remplir la déclaration

Identification

Si votre raison sociale, votre adresse et votre numéro d'identification (numéro d'entreprise fédéral) sont préimprimés, veuillez vérifier l'information qu'ils contiennent. Si des renseignements sont inexacts, faites les changements nécessaires sur la déclaration. Si les cases sont vierges, veuillez indiquer votre raison sociale, votre adresse et votre numéro d'identification (si vous en avez un).

Vérifiez que la période de déclaration préimprimée (année-mois-jour) est exacte. Indiquez s'il n'y a eu Aucune activité pendant la période de déclaration visée ou s'il s'agit d'une déclaration modifiée en mettant un × dans la case correspondante.

Annexes

Veuillez remplir les annexes correspondantes. Consultez l'annexe contenant les instructions et joignez vos copies remplies.

Carburant utilisé

Lignes 1, 2, 3 et 4 : Carburant utilisé pour le matériel de chemin de fer sur rails en Ontario. Indiquez la (les) quantité(s) actuelle(s) et antérieure(s) de carburant non coloré et (ou) coloré utilisé par du matériel de chemin de fer en Ontario pour lequel est exigible la taxe de l'Ontario au taux des compagnies ferroviaires. Vous calculerez ce montant en consultant vos reconnaissances d'inscription et d'autres documents sources.

Calcul des taxes et impôts

Taux de taxe

La déclaration contient une disposition pour calculer la taxe exigible au taux de taxe des compagnies ferroviaires en vigueur et au taux de taxe des compagnies ferroviaires antérieur. D'habitude, vous déclarerez l'ensemble de votre consommation et (ou) de vos ventes pendant la période visée au taux de taxe en vigueur. Le taux de taxe antérieur servira en cas de changement du taux de taxe au cours de la période de déclaration.

Exemple de changement de taux : Prenons comme exemple le carburant non coloré, si le taux de taxe du carburant non coloré utilisé pour du matériel de chemin de fer passe de 3,95 cents le litre au taux actuel de 4,5 cents le litre, supposons que la consommation totale et (ou) les ventes du mois s'élevaient à 50 000 litres de produit. D'après vos registres, vous avez calculé que la consommation et (ou) les ventes à 3,95 cents le litre s'élevaient à 10 000 litres et à 40 000 litres au nouveau taux.

À la ligne 1, vous auriez indiqué 40 000 dans la case Litres; dans la case Taux de taxe en vigueur, 4,5 cents, et dans la case (1), 1 800,00 $ (40 000 litres × 4,5 cents). À la ligne 2, vous auriez indiqué 10 000 dans la case Litres; dans la case Taux de taxe antérieur, vous auriez indiqué 3,95 cents, et dans la case (2), vous auriez indiqué 395,00 $ (10 000 litres × 3,95 cents).

Ligne 5 Taxe à payer avant les rajustements : Total des lignes 1 à 4.

Ligne 6 Taxe payée en Ontario sur le carburant non coloré utilisé par le matériel de chemin de fer sur rails : Si, au cours de la période de déclaration, vous avez acheté du carburant non coloré utilisé pour du matériel de chemin de fer et avez payé la taxe de l'Ontario au taux ordinaire de la taxe sur le carburant non coloré, indiquez le montant du carburant libéré de taxe acheté et utilisé pour le matériel de chemin de fer dans la case Litres.

Dans la case Taux de taxe ordinaire, indiquez le taux de taxe.

Multipliez le nombre de litres utilisé par le taux de taxe et indiquez le montant à la ligne 6. Cela calcule le montant du remboursement sur l'achat de carburant non coloré, y compris la taxe, au taux ordinaire de la taxe sur le carburant non coloré. Si vous avez utilisé le carburant pour du matériel de chemin de fer au taux des compagnies ferroviaires, vous avez droit à un remboursement pour la différence du taux de taxe entre le taux ordinaire de la taxe sur le carburant non coloré et le taux des compagnies ferroviaires.

Pour tous les achats libérés de taxe effectués pendant cette période, veuillez joindre votre Annexe GT/FT5 – Produits achetés/reçus auprès de non-percepteurs en Ontario dûment remplie.

Nota : Les litres indiqués à la ligne 6 de la déclaration ne dépasseront pas ceux de l'Annexe GT/FT5 – Produits achetés/reçus auprès de non-percepteurs en Ontario pour la période de déclaration actuelle ou précédente. La déclaration se base sur le carburant que vous avez effectivement utilisé. Si vous n'avez pas utilisé la totalité du montant indiqué dans votre annexe, vous ne pourrez pas l'indiquer dans la déclaration.

Ligne 7 Taxe payée en Ontario sur le carburant non coloré utilisé pour de l'équipement non immatriculé/auxiliaire : Si vous possédez de l'équipement immatriculé fonctionnant au diesel et que vous avez alimenté cet équipement avec du carburant non coloré pour lequel vous avez payé la taxe de l'Ontario au taux ordinaire de la taxe sur le carburant non coloré, vous pouvez demander un remboursement de la taxe (à condition de ne pas pouvoir utiliser de carburant coloré pour l'équipement) en remplissant cette ligne.

Ligne 8 Montant du rajustement : Si vous faites un rajustement, indiquez le montant à la ligne 8 et joignez votre Annexe GT/FT8 – Rajustements dûment remplie.

Nota : En Ontario, le biodiesel n'est pas taxable en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur les carburants. Si vous avez inclus des litres de biodiesel ou de diesel mixte dans le carburant non coloré dans les lignes pour le calcul de la taxe ci-dessus, calculez la quantité de litres de biodiesel, multipliez-la par le taux de taxe en vigueur et indiquez le montant à la ligne 8.

Impôt net à payer

Ligne 9 Impôt net à payer : Pour calculer l'impôt net à payer, soustrayez les lignes 6 et 7 de la ligne 5, puis additionnez ou soustrayez la ligne 8. Indiquez à l'aide d'une coche si ce montant est un crédit ou si la taxe est à payer.
Dans ce dernier cas, cochez la case Taxe à payer et cela représentera le montant du paiement que vous devrez joindre à votre déclaration. S'il s'agit d'un crédit, cochez la case Crédit et vous recevrez un remboursement de la taxe.

Attestation

Si vous ne produisez pas votre déclaration en utilisant ONT-TAXS en ligne, la déclaration devra alors être signée et datée par un signataire autorisé. Les renseignements contenus dans la déclaration doivent être, à la connaissance du signataire autorisé, vrais, exacts et complets.

Si cette déclaration est signée par une tierce partie (comme votre comptable ou votre avocat), le Ministère doit avoir votre autorisation. Le formulaire Autorisation ou annulation d'un(e) représentant(e) [PDF]dûment rempli devra être envoyé au Ministère. Ce formulaire est disponible sur le site Web du ministère des Finances à l'adresse ontario.ca/finances (tapez le numéro de la page Web 113 dans le champ « Trouver la page » au bas de la page).

Le nom et le titre de la personne signant la déclaration doivent aussi être écrits en caractères d'imprimerie à l'endroit prévu à cet effet.

Sujets connexes

Page : 2924  |