Gross Revenue Charge (GRC) Instalment Instructions

Published: September 2016
Content last reviewed: September 2016

Owners of hydro‑electric generating stations and water power lease holders are required to make monthly or quarterly instalment payments on account of amounts payable under section 92.1 of the Electricity Act, 1998 (Act). Commencing 2010, however, instalment payments are no longer required for persons whose total amounts payable under section 92.1 of the Act for the immediately preceding year is less than $1,000.

These instalment payments are to be made using one or a combination of the enclosed remittance advice forms A, B and C. Please complete and send the applicable remittance advice form(s) to the Ministry of Finance, together with your payment, in the enclosed self-addressed envelope. Instalment payments must be received by the ministry on or before the instalment due date. Refer to the information provided on the reverse side to determine which remittance advice form(s) will apply to your particular situation.

Monthly Instalments

If the total of the amounts payable for all of your stations under section 92.1 of the Act for the immediately preceding year is $10,000 or more, you are required to pay monthly instalments on or before the 16th day of each month, calculated as follows:

  • If the month is January or February, the instalment is the lesser of,
    • 1/12th of the total of the amounts payable for the year, and
    • 1/12th of the total of the amounts payable for the year immediately before the immediately preceding year.
  • If the month is after February, the instalment is the lesser of,
    • 1/12th of the total of the amounts payable for the year, and
    • 1/12th of the total of the amounts payable for the immediately preceding year.

Quarterly Instalments

If the total of the amounts payable for all of your stations under section 92.1 of the Act for the immediately preceding year is $1,000 or more and less than $10,000, you may pay quarterly instalments for the year, instead of monthly instalments, on the 16th day of March, June, September and December of the year, equal to one quarter of the lesser of:

  • the total of the amounts payable for the year, and
  • the total of the amounts payable for the immediately preceding year.

Payment of the GRC Property Tax Component Payable to the Minister of Finance and payment of the GRC Water Rental Component must be in the form of cheque or money order made payable to the Minister of Finance. Payment of the GRC Property Tax Component Payable to the Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation must be in the form of cheque or money order made payable to the Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation. Payments cannot be made at financial institutions.

If more than one of your hydro-electric generating stations are subject to the same GRC component, please consolidate the amounts payable by such stations in respect of that GRC component onto one remittance advice form.

Debit interest is calculated and charged daily on the unpaid portion of any amount payable, from the day on which the payment is due to the day on which the amount plus interest is received. Credit interest is allowed on instalment payments in the same manner that interest is allowed on instalment payments under the Corporations Tax Act.

Remittance Advice A

GRC Property Tax Component Payable to the Minister of Finance

Remittance Advice A is to be completed by hydro-electric generating station owners paying the tax under subsection 92.1(1) of the Electricity Act, 1998. The tax under subsection 92.1(1) represents the property tax component of the GRC payable to the Minister of Finance. Remittance Advice A applies to any hydroelectric generating station other than a station owned by Ontario Power Generation Inc., Hydro One Inc., their subsidiaries, or a municipal electricity utility, or a station that was owned by any of these entities after March 31, 1999.

Remittance Advice B

GRC Property Tax Component Payable to the Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation (OEFC)

Remittance Advice B is to be completed by hydro-electric generating station owners paying the charge under subsection 92.1(2) of the Electricity Act, 1998. The charge under subsection 92.1(2) represents the property tax component of the GRC payable to the OEFC. Remittance Advice B applies to any hydro‑electric generating station owned by Ontario Power Generation Inc., Hydro One Inc., their subsidiaries, or a municipal electricity utility, or a station that was owned by any of these entities after March 31, 1999.

Remittance Advice C

GRC Water Rental Component Payable to the Minister of Finance

Remittance Advice C is to be completed by water power lease holders paying the water rental charge imposed under subsection 92.1(5) of the Electricity Act, 1998. The charge under subsection 92.1(5) represents the water rental component of the GRC payable to the Minister of Finance. Remittance Advice C applies in respect of any person who has entered into an agreement, lease or other writing respecting the use of water under subsection 42(2) of the Public Lands Act or under the Niagara Parks Act or The St. Lawrence Development Act, 1952 (No. 2) or who is required to enter into such agreement, lease or other writing in order to be entitled to occupy public lands.

For Further Information

Write:

Ministry of Finance
Account Management and Collections Branch
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON L1H 8H9

Phone: 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297)

Fax: 905‑436‑4511

Teletypewriter (TTY): 1‑800‑263‑7776

For information on other Ministry of Finance programs, please call the ministry toll free at 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) or visit our website at ontario.ca/finance.

Related topics

 

Page: 2916  |

Redevance sur le revenu brut (RRB) instructions de versement

Date de publication : septembre  2016
Dernière mise à jour : septembre  2016

Les propriétaires de centrales hydroélectriques et les titulaires d'un bail pour l'exploitation de ressources hydroélectriques doivent faire des versements mensuels ou trimestriels au titre des montants exigibles en vertu de l'article 92.1 de la Loi de 1998 sur l'électricité (la Loi). Par contre, à compter de 2010, des versements échelonnés ne sont plus obligatoires pour les personnes dont le montant total à payer en vertu de l'article 92.1 de la Loi pour l'année précédente est inférieur à 1 000 $.

Ces versements doivent être effectués par le biais de l'un ou plusieurs des avis de versement A, B and C ci‑joints. Veuillez remplir et envoyer l'avis (les avis) de versement applicable(s) au ministère des Finances, accompagné(s) de votre paiement, dans l'enveloppe préadressée ci‑jointe. Les paiements doivent parvenir au ministère au plus tard à la date d'échéance. Consultez l'information fournie ci‑dessous afin de déterminer quel(s) avis de versement s'applique(nt) à votre situation.

Versements mensuels

Si le total des montants à payer pour toutes vos centrales en vertu de l'article 92.1 de la Loi pour l'année précédente est de 10 000 $ ou plus, vous devez produire des versements mensuels au plus tard le 16e jour de chaque mois, calculés comme suit :

  • Dans le cas des mois de janvier ou février, le versement correspond au moindre des deux montants suivants :
    • 1/12 du total des montants à payer pour l'année, et
    • 1/12 du total des montants à payer pour l'année précédant immédiatement l'année précédente.
  • Dans le cas d'un mois suivant le mois de février, le versement correspond au moindre des deux montants suivants :
    • 1/12 du total des montants à payer pour l'année, et
    • 1/12 du total des montants à payer pour l'année précédente.

Versements trimestriels

Si le total des montants à payer pour toutes vos centrales en vertu de l'article 92.1 de la Loi pour l'année précédente est de 1 000 $ ou plus et inférieur à 10 000 $, vous pouvez produire des versements trimestriels pour l'année, au lieu de versements mensuels, au plus tard le 16e jour des mois de mars, juin, septembre et décembre de l'année, correspondant à un quart du moindre des deux montants suivants :

  • le total des montants à payer pour l'année, et
  • le total des montants à payer pour l'année précédente.

Le paiement de l'élément Impôt foncier de la RRB payable au ministre des Finances, ainsi que le paiement de l'élément Utilisation d'énergie hydraulique, doivent être versés sous forme de chèque ou mandat fait à l'ordre du Ministre des Finances. Le paiement de l'élément Impôt foncier de la RRB payable à la Société financière de l'industrie de l'électricité de l'Ontario doit être versé sous forme de chèque ou mandat fait à l'ordre de la Société financière de l'industrie de l'électricité de l'Ontario. Les paiements ne peuvent pas être effectués dans une institution financière.

Si plusieurs de vos centrales hydro-électriques sont assujetties au même élément de la RRB, veuillez regrouper les montants à payer par ces centrales aux fins dudit élément de la RRB sur un même avis de versement.

Des intérêts débiteurs sont calculés et perçus quotidiennement sur la partie impayée de tout montant exigible, à compter du jour où le paiement est exigible jusqu'au jour où le montant, augmenté des intérêts applicables, est reçu. Des intérêts créditeurs s'appliquent également aux versements effectués selon le même principe que les paiements d'acomptes provisionnels en vertu de la Loi sur l'imposition des sociétés.

Avis de versement A

Élément impôt foncier de la RRB payable au ministre des Finances

L'avis de versement A doit être rempli par les propriétaires d'une centrale hydroélectrique qui paient l'impôt en vertu de l'alinéa 92.1 (1) de la Loi de 1998 sur l'électricité. L'impôt exigé en vertu de l'alinéa 92.1 (1) représente l'élément Impôt foncier de la RRB payable au ministre des Finances. L'avis A s'applique à toute centrale hydroélectrique autre qu'une centrale appartenant à la Ontario Power Generation Inc., Hydro One Inc., leurs sociétés affiliées, ou un service municipal d'électricité, ou une centrale appartenant à une telle entité après le 31 mars 1999.

Avis de versement B

Élément Impôt foncier de la RRB payable à la Société financière de l'industrie de l'électricité de l'Ontario (SFIEO)

L'avis de versement B doit être rempli par les propriétaires d'une centrale hydroélectrique qui paient la redevance en vertu de l'alinéa 92.1 (2) de la Loi de 1998 sur l'électricité. La redevance exigée en vertu de l'alinéa 92.1 (2) représente l'élément impôt foncier de la RRB payable à la Société financière de l'industrie de l'électricité de l'Ontario. L'avis B s'applique à toute centrale hydroélectrique autre qu'une centrale appartenant à la Ontario Power Generation Inc., Hydro One Inc., leurs sociétés affiliées, ou un service municipal d'électricité, ou une centrale appartenant à une telle entité après le 31 mars 1999.

Avis de versement C

Élément Utilisation d'énergie hydraulique de la RRB payable au ministre des Finances

L'avis de versement C doit être rempli par le titulaire d'un bail pour l'exploitation de ressources hydroélectriques qui paie la redevance imposée en vertu de l'alinéa 92.1 (5) de la Loi de 1998 sur l'électricité. La redevance exigée en vertu de l'alinéa 92.1 (5) représente l'élément Utilisation d'énergie hydraulique de la RRB payable au ministre des Finances. Le formulaire C s'applique à toute personne ayant conclu un contrat, un bail ou autre accord écrit concernant l'utilisation d'énergie hydraulique en vertu du paragraphe 42 (2) de la Loi sur les terres publiques, de la Loi sur les parcs du Niagara, ou de la Loi de 1952 sur la Commission des parcs du Saint‑Laurent (no 2), ou qui est tenue de conclure tel contrat, bail ou autre accord écrit afin d'être autorisée à occuper des terres publiques.

Pour plus de précisions, communiquez avec le ministère :

Par écrit :

Ministère des Finances
Direction de la gestion des comptes et de la perception
33, rue King Ouest
CP 625
Oshawa ON L1H 8H9

Par téléphone : 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297)

Par télécopieur : 905‑436‑4511

Pour le service appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS) : 1‑800‑263‑7776

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur d'autres programmes du ministère, communiquez sans frais avec le ministère au 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297), ou visitez notre site Web à l'adresse ontario.ca/finances.

Page : 2916  |